typically a RM2 can still apply for loan, but you need to be a guarantor and your payslip and bank statement will be used.
Im actually exploring this option now.
RDPD: Collecting houses for rent, Under company. Need details.
Nov 23 2008, 12:28 AM
3,318 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: 1Malaysia |
typically a RM2 can still apply for loan, but you need to be a guarantor and your payslip and bank statement will be used.
Im actually exploring this option now. |
Nov 23 2008, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(ttwangsa @ Nov 23 2008, 08:20 AM) i see, Im still learning, so not 100% sure on this, perhaps someone familiar with company taxes would be able to help us out here so basically the owner of the company becomes the guarantor of the loan. the owner has limited liability to the company, but since the owner is a guarantor , the owner's liability is extended to the loan, ok how do i calculate the company's income for a house? for a person, it's rent - interest paid to the bank but for company, is it the same formula for first month on a 72k loan @ 4.65% p.a (CIMB NZEC) rent = 550 pay bank = 370 interest = 276 maintenance = 20 cash after pay bank and maintenance = 550 - 370 - 20 = 160 taxable income = 28% of (160 - 276) = 28% of negative = 0? or taxable income = 28% of (550 - 20 - 276) = 28% of 254 = 71.12 if its 71.12 then 44.45% of 160, which is a lot. Any tax expert here? |
Nov 25 2008, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(getsmart @ Nov 25 2008, 05:37 PM) how to make profit when you buy if the price not go up after you buy? Its quite simple actually. Buy a property that is currently undervalued. That way, you still make $$$$ even if u opt to sell it off tomorow (Hipothetically speaking) Motivational books you can use those feel-good catchy phrase lar, but this about investment mah. While I agree that motivational authors often use feel-good catchy phrase, it takes REAL intelligence to fully understand the so called "catchy-phrase", then apply it in the real world. Added on November 25, 2008, 6:32 pm QUOTE(ttwangsa @ Nov 25 2008, 05:57 PM) so it doesn't matter if you sell or not Agreed. it doesn't matter if the house price increase or not it doesn't matter if the rent price go up, well if it goes up, you get more profit. One should always buy a property based on fact, and sell it based on own anticipation. This post has been edited by Pai: Nov 25 2008, 06:32 PM |
Nov 25 2008, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(getsmart @ Nov 25 2008, 06:34 PM) I see your point. I think u r not getting it. Suggest u do some research 1st to really getsmart Always calculate your profit as rent/house value. Assume house value = 120,000 that will give you 6000/120,000 = 5% profit. Think about this: You may get positive cashflow of RM100 every month but you can only buy your second rental property after 30 years? |
Nov 25 2008, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(getsmart @ Nov 25 2008, 07:04 PM) So, what does your research tells you? Added on November 25, 2008, 11:35 pm QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Nov 25 2008, 07:07 PM) my exact thoughts Added on November 25, 2008, 11:54 pm QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 25 2008, 11:22 PM) Buying property under co..will get more benefit only if the co is designated as 'property investment ' co..Otherwise, lots of expenses can't be offset for tax purpose. Like someone rightly said, got to think of audit , a/c ting fees and secretarial fees... but all this audit, a/c and secterial fees are all tax deducteable expenses, right? Can anyone confirms if the following expenses are tax deductable under company expenses :Benefit is if u have more than 1 property, then any losses can be offset from other that is showing profit. 1. Water + elec tariffs 2. Quit rent 3. Asessment fees. 4. Monthly Maintenance fees + sinking fund 5. INterest on monthly installments 6. Audit, accounting and secreterial charges. 7. Cleaning bills. 8. Repairs bill. This post has been edited by Pai: Nov 25 2008, 11:54 PM |
Nov 26 2008, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(getsmart @ Nov 26 2008, 11:13 AM) My research? That you can quickly decide whether property rental yield is good enough by rental/house price formula. Ask some real estate agent about investment property, then ask how they calculate the rental yield. I think 8% is consider good. 8% is good, but try to aim higher. Ultimately you want to earn more so property investment is really worth your while. QUOTE(getsmart @ Nov 26 2008, 11:13 AM) If you pay cash, that 8% is working for your money 100%. If you start with 15% dp, then only 15% of that 8% is working for your money (75% work for the bank). Overtime, your installments will increase that 15% to 100% when you settle the loan. QUOTE(getsmart @ Nov 26 2008, 11:13 AM) Why need to setup company when the tax for company is 26%? I think for employees if have 4 rental property can also deduct all those expenses like what Pai listed? Maybe only 1 rental property also can? |
Nov 29 2008, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Nov 29 2008, 10:04 AM) The key word is value, can the price of this house gives you a good rental return. wow' thats 12% gross per anum. My rule is to find a house where monthly rental is 1% of the purchase price. I also found someone in Melaka bought a "house" at 160k with a rental of RM3300. btw, what "house" is it that rents for 3.3k p/m yet only cost 160k? |
Nov 30 2008, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Nov 29 2008, 11:06 PM) Still searching for a second property. Didnt know Melaka properties can give such high yields. Is this an exception or the norm rental rate for this Century Mahkota?First one is a low cost unit. Century Mahkota. It's a condo. Post 105. It's in Chinese though... http://cforum3.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?...page%3D1&page=5 |
Nov 30 2008, 05:24 PM
Cool, 'lucky' dude. Whats the average rental rate for other units?
Dec 4 2008, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(ttwangsa @ Dec 3 2008, 10:33 PM) how to calculate return. This is COCR. It basically calculates your real returns for each property. Mine is the same, and here's a sample of my excel sheet snapshot on how I analyse a deal this is my formula, kinda new, so feel free to comment. one time payment: -(a) down payment 10%? 5%? -(b) Sales Purchase Docs -© Loan Docs (if i can use ZEC, i choose that one) monthly payment -(d) pay bank (321.04 -> 326.00)(round up to next ringgit, ad RM 2.00 for maybank2u transfer, maybank easiest for most tenants, but no way i',m getting a house loan from maybank) -(e) maintenance yearly payment -(f) land tax -(g) quit rent so basic formula is money coming in every year = (rent * 11) - ((d + e) * 12) - f - (2 * g) start up cost = a + b + c rent * 11 = expect half a month empty per year + misc expenses (d + e) * 12 = even if the unit is empty, still have to pay bank, maintenance fee f = once a year land tax g = twice a year quit rent so percentage is calculated in this way for me money coming in every year / start up cost * 100 any comments on this calculations? Attached thumbnail(s) |
Dec 5 2008, 10:33 AM
misc expenses : Set at RM300 p/a
Not having tenants : I know we should made some assumptions on this but I dont. Its a waste of time, IMO BLR fluctuation : This one, again its a waste of time to project. Rent increase or decrease : Waste of time to speculate. Rental increase : No rules on this, but 5% increase every 2 years is quite reasonable IMO. Hope this helps. |
| Change to: | 0.0142sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:06 PM |