We have been experiencing a major surge in reported posts recently. A very high percentage of them are simply discarded as they are not of reportable nature.
Below is a guide of when to report and when not to report:
When should I report?
Personal attacks: When someone makes a post that is personally attacking another person.
Illegal / inappropriate: When someone is posting a link to or asking for help acquiring illegal, copyrighted or otherwise inappropriate material. This includes things such as warez, porn, or anything against any law of the country.
Blatant and persistent foul language: Excessive use of profanity is neither constructive nor communicative. The odd minor infraction in an otherwise helpful and on-topic post isn't such a big deal, but frequent use, or the use of 'harder' language certainly warrants a report.
Off-topic / hijacking: Blatant attempts to drag a thread offtopic, or to 'hijack' a thread, unless the thread is in the Lifestyle Sections.
When should I not?
Wrong information: Being incorrect is not grounds for the removal of a post. If you believe that someone has lead someone else astray, write a response to offer what you believe is correct.
Singe use of foul language: Ignore it.
Personal issues: Live with it.
Double posts/Triple posts: Its minor and unintentional. Ignore it.
Spam in Lifestyle Sections: This is unavoidable. The sheer volume of posts there makes it impossible for us to effectively and expeditiously attend to reports, particularly in Kopitiam.
How should I report
Provide us with sufficient information to make a good judgment call. If there are multiple posts that are infringing in the same page, report just one post and let the moderator know the details.
If there is a duplicate thread, provide us with a link to the other thread.
If the thread should be moved, a suggestion as to where you think its more suitable would be appreciated!
This post has been edited by RBR: Nov 26 2008, 05:10 PM
When reporting a post
Nov 21 2008, 08:16 PM, updated 17y ago
0.0132sec