Sugar Glider V10, marsupial madness

sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 03:14 AM

Hey, Anna here, I'm new to the forums. Registered just because I got my own suggie. So much I've gained from these forums. Thanks. Anyways, would like to share some photos I took of my suggie named Charlie. Got him last Saturday, about 3 months, from a pet shop near my house.

Here's Charlie sleeping, and well doing stuff. Sorry so many pictures, too excited. Unable to resist the cuteness!!

And this is the cage.

About the cage, I did read something about having bedding, is it okay if I have a cloth as the bottom part instead of bedding? I do have other cloths to change and replace, and get it cleaned.

And, how often should I clean the cage accessories, hammock and the tent thingy? Also, it's okay right to use soap to wash it, just as long as I rinse it off properly?

Thanks,
Anna

p/s: Excuse me if I violated any thread rules that I probably missed out on.

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 2 2008, 04:36 AM
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 03:28 AM

Hey buttercup07, fixed it! =] Thanks.
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 03:58 AM

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 2 2008, 03:48 AM)
how much did u buy ur glider? 3 months? u sure?
I'm quite positive, I do trust that petshop, have been going there since I was small. Plus they bred the sugar gliders themselves. Charlie is a male, got him for RM 280, initially RM 300, they threw in a cage, but it was way too small, so I upgraded to a bigger cage as you see in the photo, for RM 100. It's the same price as sold at Pet Shack in Sunway Mentari (the cage).

sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 04:16 AM

QUOTE(mingwei86 @ Dec 2 2008, 04:06 AM)
hey anna,
charlie look kinda young!! better refer to some of the seniors here to get some advice regarding the attention needed for such little joey..
btw, he's adorable!!! i got my sasha about a month ago.. the seller claim the joey to be about 2 months old.. and i think she was slightly bigger than charlie... so maybe charlie might need some extra attention.. but dont worry, with the help u can get here, he will be fine...
Yeah, there can be two possibilities, he's younger than 3 months, or, he's not getting enough loving. Ahaha. As much as I trust the pet shop owners, I still do have my doubts. As I saw that he and the parents was not that well taken care of, and is in such a small cage. And there were a few more next to the parents cage that were not for sale.

I might visit again, just to check out and ask around and investigate. At that time, I didn't know anything much to have said anything or question them. Some people are not aware, and not informed enough, lagi-lagi these old school pet shops, and yeah they people are also old.

The parents, are available for purchase, about RM 200 or was it RM 250 each. If anyone is somewhat willing to purchase the both of them, and give better care, that would be great. As for me, I'm really new to this, I think it'll be a long while before I get another suggie, or not at all, since I really want to give as much care and loving possible for Charlie.

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 2 2008, 04:18 AM
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 01:41 PM

QUOTE(mattemily_85 @ Dec 2 2008, 08:52 AM)
Hi Anna,welcome to our family.

1.i think your suggie might be underaged,due to his size.

2.anyway,pls do more research for this cutie creature especially their diet and spend more time for them.

3.try to cover up 1-2 side with fleece or cloth at the cage cause suggie not so prefer exposed to sunlight.

4.for the bedding you can change the cloth that u place bottom into celect breeder.Not so prefer that place the cloth under the cage cause suggie are messy eater and pee or poo everywhere inside the cage,so for more hygienic then you are reccomended to use celect breeder.

love your cagestuff so much coz suits my taste for male suggie.hehe...
1. Yeah, could be, atau lack of nutrition?
2. I am currently, so many terms here I don't know of. Macam BML and whatnot. Takut I don't give proper diet!
3. I noticed that, that's why suka sangat hide inside his little hanging tents. Where its dark.
4. I'll have to check that out, thanks.

Wahaha, yeah, I like to color coordinate. You like huh? We got good taste! Ahahaha.

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Dec 2 2008, 09:05 AM)
Hola, Anna [Anna Sui izit? tongue.gif]

Welcome abroad.

Ur suggie very cute le!

The cloth that's safe is fleece. Coz they dont have loose strings that can make the suggie nails stuck at it, and when they try to free themselves, hell roke out later.

S, change to a fleece type or better, put layers of newspaper and then kitchen paper towel, before putting the wire divider.

Economic yet safe. Make sure she dint directly touch the newspaper coz got ink which r not safe.

Cheers
Kelvin
Thank you. I think everyones suggie is cute. And everyone thinks their suggie is the cutest. Right? Hehehe.
Yeah, before I got the cage accessories, I used a tshirt as a hammock, Charlie was stuck there for a bit. I thought he was just lying down and did not want to move. Ahaha. But now okay already. The material at the bottom is well, meant for curtains, but so far, he doesn't seem to get stuck on it, but I guess I should change it nonetheless kan?

Thanks for the tips. Didn't think of the ink thing.

QUOTE(naskrieg² @ Dec 2 2008, 09:08 AM)
welcome to gliders thread  ANNA smile.gif

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Dec 2 2008, 09:52 AM)

Added on December 2, 2008, 9:54 am

this is sooooooooooo sweet!!
Haih, suggies are damn sweet lah. That's why you love em! Thank you.

QUOTE(shutterstar @ Dec 2 2008, 10:27 AM)

hi anna, welcome to the suggie thread..i know that u love photography n u're in a band right?haha..this gal is famous guys! nod.gif  tongue.gif

as wat the other people said, ur suggie are quite underage but dun worry as long u give charlie good food n good place to live, he will be just fine...n 1 more thing is TIME,LOVE n CARE (TLC).

about the bedding, i think most of the people here just use a newspaper to put at the bottom of cage..coz its menjimatkn n easy to clean..just change it once a day that wat i do la..
Yeah and yeah. No laaaaah. *tutup muka*
Yup, TLC is what every suggie needs. In fact what we need too. Hehe.
Okie, thanks for the bedding info. Yeah, but newspaper tak cantik. Ahahahahhaha.

QUOTE(luc @ Dec 2 2008, 10:44 AM)
anna...which band are you from..and welcome to suggie thread...sini banyak jugak buaya....syaril..bonai dan nazkreig....jaga2.......i bukan buaya...tetapi cinta.. biggrin.gif
A few project bands, none that you've heard of, very lame. Huhu. You "bukan buaya tapi cinta?" Wahaha, ayat cannot go. You need to rework that ayat. Hahaha. Thanks for the warning.

QUOTE(shakeera @ Dec 2 2008, 10:57 AM)
welcome on board anna...cute glider u have there...
i love the pic where the glider slept on ur shoulder... wub.gif  wub.gif
Thanks. Hehe, wah my shoulder damn big. Hehe, that's my husband's shoulder. tongue.gif

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Dec 2 2008, 01:09 PM)
betol, betol si syaril ngn bonai tu buaya... tongue.gif  luc ketua kiotrg merangkap ketua buaya... biggrin.gif
I also buaya ma. Girls kan be even more buayayer okay. Berhati-hati.

sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(shutterstar @ Dec 2 2008, 03:01 PM)
yezzaa! im coming tonite to see ur new female...not new awek ah??..anybody wanna come, jom laaa trun shah alam..hehhe
Hmm, if I wanna sibuk can ah? Can ask tips etc for my Charlie. Is it tonight? Where? When? rclxm9.gif
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(mattemily_85 @ Dec 2 2008, 03:14 PM)
where do u live?

we maybe wanna meet at section 24 there and yumcha few ppl there...no prob for u to join us 2nite.

I live in Petaling Jaya, only a few minutes away. I'll think about it. Have to ask hubby. Hehe. Is it okay to bring Charlie along?

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 2 2008, 04:01 PM
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Dec 2 2008, 02:35 PM)
Ah, congratulation on your new glider. Love your cage deco, how much in total you spend on your cage?

Thank you.

The cage is RM 100.
The accesories cost alamak can't remember, but campur campur everything with food, about RM 215. I think somewhat around RM 155 perhaps. I could have gotten the stuff cheaper online here, but then I wanted it right away. So yeah. Together with the cage, RM 255.

QUOTE(onezkatana @ Dec 2 2008, 03:54 PM)
nak bring sape pun ok.bwk Sg pun ok jer....i also bring my fiance..selalu sibuk nak ikut
hahahahahahhahahah
Your fiance as in your suggie? Or an actual person? Hehehe.

Anyways thought I'd share another photo of Charlie. Lepaking on the hammock I made out of a tshirt. Replaced it after with a proper hammock, he got his nails stuck to the tshirt. Kesian.

-Anna

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 2 2008, 08:54 PM
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 08:47 PM

HELP.

Okay, so I've been reading, I think I'm a bit lost as to what exactly to feed my joey. Charlie, male is about 3 months or less (according to those who saw his picture, looks kinda small for 3 months).

I feel that what I'm feeding him now is not enough. I got him last Saturday. Went to Pet Shack, and they lady gave me a tupperware of Suggie Smoothie, Gliderade, and I got some Fruit Medley Treats. Which I think is not sufficient to its diet. But still not sure what to add on.

From what I see, Charlie absolutely loves the smoothie, does not eat the Fruit Medley Treats. It seems that he prefers liquid. But then, he doesn't seem to be interested in drinking water from the bottle or at all.

He looks fine and healthy now, but I'm still worried.

I have yet to get him those mealworms. From what I understand I have to feed him mealworms everyday as a source of fresh protein right?

I did feed him some oranges and apples which he ate, but what confuses me a bit is that the smoothie already has those included.

Also, what is BML and HPW, I have read up on it, but still am not clear about it. Do I make them myself? The smoothie that I got, is it already a certain diet?

And my suggie Charlie seems to always be hungry, how much is too much or too little to feed him in a day?

I know there's already info about Sugar Glider's diet, but still I'm unclear of them. I hope someone can help me out here. I really want to provide the best care for my Charlie.

Thank you. Anna

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 2 2008, 08:58 PM
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 10:14 PM

Thank you saramic for the info. Okay, I was guessing that the smoothie was BML, but now I know for sure!! Yeay.

pink_baby very lovely hammock! good idea of making it triangular, fill up those corners!
sueannajoe
post Dec 2 2008, 11:41 PM

Question on biting / gnawing / nibbling

It's been about 3 days with Charlie, and today he seems particularly active. I just fed him, and put him back in the cage. And started playing with him, he was inside his hammock peeking out, so I wiggled my fingers in front of him, and he started sniffing as usual, and reached out his tiny little marsupial hands trying to grab my fingers and starting to bite / gnaw / nibble on my fingers. It was more like playing around, you know like how cats do, kittens especially, how the try to catch our fingers and start nibbling on them. So yeah. He's doing that.

At first, I thought he was being defensive, I kept on doing it, and yeah it seems that it was more of him being playful. Then, he also started nibbling on the cage, the hammock's cloth and strings.

I tried putting in other objects, and he did the same thing as well. He did not make any crabbing sounds, he just seemed playful. This is normal is it not?

I don't mind him doing that, but at 3 months its okay, how bout when he's older, bigger and stronger teeth? Or is it something I shouldn't really be worried about. For now it's super cute and fun though. Especially making him try to grab my fingers. He looks so darn silly and cute. At times he does bite a bit harder, but I do quickly withdraw my fingers, and I wiggle my fingers again, letting him grab and gnaw on my fingers once in a while.

Should I let it be? Is he just being playful?

I've been asking so many questions. One after another. I hope you guys don't mind. Thanks again.

Anna
sueannajoe
post Dec 3 2008, 12:33 AM

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Dec 3 2008, 12:00 AM)
Anna, if he's only nibbling it shouldnt be a problem.. but if he's trying to bite ur finger after nibbling it and not only one or two times better train him not to bite.. if not later he became biter laugh.gif
Yeah, that's what I'm worried about. But tonight's the first he's been doing that. Will see how it goes tomorrow. I'd really like to handle him without having to be careful all the time, so that he doesn't bite.

QUOTE(exoduskeira @ Dec 3 2008, 12:12 AM)
Dun worry about it Anna.. this is supposedly a place where ppl hu are new to gliders ask questions.. sometimes our questions dont get answered for some odd reason or so.. but theres no harm asking around.. PMs work wonders.. gatherings are good as well.. i got most of my info from gatherings.. verbally asking questions make u understand more.. well thats for me la.. hahahaha.. when we hold gatherings dont hesitate to join.. it benefits u and ur glider.. dont bother about other factors.. as long as its for ur glider's well being u should join.. and when u get all the info u need u can compare and research some more thru the net or a reliable source.. pls excuse the flammings that randomly happen here.. just collect wut information u need to noe and ur all set ^.^..
Yeah, I guess because the thread goes really fast, so sometimes they miss out on it, or perhaps its a repeated question and ppl are too lazy to answer. Don't see much flaming, just yet lah.

I wanted to go to the little meet up tonite at shah alam, but hubby got back home late, so couldn't make it. Hopefully next time a proper suggie gathering I'll be joining in.

QUOTE(saramic @ Dec 3 2008, 12:14 AM)
like what muchan said....
nibbling & a lil gnawing is normal for gliders...
charlie's just tasting u out  biggrin.gif

do try to get apple sticks...
they love it & u know where to get all ur suggies things  nod.gif
I hope it's normal! Just worried that it becomes a habit till he has bigger, stronger teeth. I don't mind blood, but yalah, better not lah kan.

Oooo, and yeahh I think I definitely need to get those apple sticks. Sounds delicious, I might even want to gnaw on it. Oh, my 2 year old niece almost put the fruit meadly treat in her mouth. And I was like, nooo. And she was really sad saying "nakk.. nakkk". Ahhahaha kesian, I think she wanted to put in the pineapple or was it the peach one. Smells too good lah. Even the sugie smoothie. Ayo, even I'm tempted to eat it myself. Huhuhuhu.

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 3 2008, 12:33 AM
sueannajoe
post Dec 3 2008, 01:02 PM

Love your gliders for what they are, not where they're from. Hehe.
sueannajoe
post Dec 4 2008, 01:22 AM

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Dec 4 2008, 01:21 AM)
very long time didnt post .. but sorry hor .. picture louzy low quality ...

Yuri + 2 little brothers

Oh wow, so adorable, so big. How old are all of them? I just got mine a few days ago. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 4 2008, 01:28 AM
sueannajoe
post Dec 4 2008, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Dec 4 2008, 01:26 AM)
Chika is 2 years pluss .. Aiko is 1 year and half .. yuri is 7 months ... the two boys is a month pluss i think ..

p/s: please use spoiler to quote pictures .. thanks .... notworthy.gif
oops.gif

Yes Sir!

A month plus? Wah so big? Then I guess the ppl here might be right, cause my suggie, the shop owner said is about 3 months, but looks so much smaller compared to yours! I do trust the owners there since I've always went to their shop since I was a kid, but don't knowlah if they lied to me about his age or he lacks enough nutrition.

But, he's really happy, active, and looks healthy now. Taking really good care of him. Sayanglah, and also too darn cute not to give all the care in the world.

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 4 2008, 01:33 AM
sueannajoe
post Dec 4 2008, 02:54 AM

QUOTE(luc @ Dec 4 2008, 02:19 AM)

Added on December 4, 2008, 2:26 amALEX!...MAKE SURE FARAH'S GLIDER TAK MATI BECAUSE OF THE THINGS U DID...MASUK DALAM SAMBAL NASIK LEMAK....i'll kill u mate... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
blink.gif

masuk sambal nasik lemak? alamak, if i go for any tt next time i dunwan to bring my charlie. haish the things you ppl do. tsk tsk tsk. ahahahha.
sueannajoe
post Dec 4 2008, 03:47 PM

Eh do you potong your suggies nails? Charlie's nails is getting pretty sharp and long.
sueannajoe
post Dec 4 2008, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(mattemily_85 @ Dec 4 2008, 03:55 PM)
yup,u also can trim their nails as well...

see youtube for proper technique.
A bit scared to trim them, thanks. Will look for the vid.
sueannajoe
post Dec 4 2008, 10:30 PM

Yeay, have a video of Charlie up! Check it out yo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWp1onWgLq8

ANNA

This post has been edited by sueannajoe: Dec 4 2008, 10:31 PM
sueannajoe
post Dec 7 2008, 11:53 PM

Sorry lambat reply.

QUOTE(mingwei86 @ Dec 5 2008, 01:21 AM)
anna!!
honestly about ur video... i think i prefer ur voice more than the glider!! haha
nice song and charlie is adorable!!
Wahaha. Tq tq. Haih kembang la like this. Thanks, I think all suggies are adorable.

QUOTE(emino @ Dec 5 2008, 11:47 AM)
Anna's voice so lovely. I'm in lurve...  wub.gif
blush.gif

QUOTE(luc @ Dec 5 2008, 02:28 PM)
anna..would u like to be my vocalist......for a project band.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif...
Err, too many project bands already. What kinda music?

----

For those who have not seen my video of my new pet suggie Charlie, check it out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWp1onWgLq8

0.0283sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:34 AM