Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Ebay Conmen using AmBank credit card, MOHAMMAD ZAHAR BIN MOHD 5267-4878-0000-9

tonynk9
post Nov 21 2008, 01:22 AM, updated 18y ago

114 posts

yesterday i made a payment for item auction item that i won in ebay.com.my that is motorola mobile phones ....

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...em=250327648650

in the usual invoice that will be sent to my email after the auction ended.... ... he say that for payments instruction i need to go to this blogsite http://versalinks.blogspot.com/

these are some of the information that i get for payment instruction from his blog;

Name on card: MOHAMMAD ZAHAR BIN MOHD
Credit card numbers: 5267-4878-0000-9975
bank : ambank malaysia
phone number : 016-9269181

so i made the payment yesterday using CIMBclicks

in his ebay store i noticed that hes selling a lot of used mobile phones and paypal fund but i didn't suspect anything amiss since i checked that he had a lot of positive comment and rating and I also checked his previous buyer profile and it looks genuine to me

the seller store url is http://myworld.ebay.com.my/versalinks/
but when i checked it today and it will redirect to this http://myworld.ebay.com.my/fgb301lakje9hacked!/ page instead....

it looks like its has been hacked...
I just sent a report to ebay and I hope they will investigate this asap
cry.gif cry.gif vmad.gif

i dont know wheter its ebay fault or the seller should be responsible for this?
can anyone advice anything else that i should do???

This post has been edited by tonynk9: Nov 21 2008, 11:11 PM
ahcheap
post Nov 21 2008, 01:43 AM

TM UniFi/Streamyx Reseller
1,466 posts

How much u pay for it?
alien0110
post Nov 21 2008, 03:34 AM

272 posts

why would you buy from someone with this suspicious id: fgb301lakje9hacked!
tonynk9
post Nov 21 2008, 03:48 AM

114 posts

read again....his id is versalink not fgb301lakje9hacked .... i think the acct has been hacked

This post has been edited by tonynk9: Nov 21 2008, 03:50 AM
SUSnordingh
post Nov 21 2008, 04:37 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

Tony, his account is not hacked. He is conmen.

There already 2 cases similar to this being discuss here in lowyat (so far I know).

Add up this become 3 similar cases that use same way.

Modus operandi:

- Auction item in ebay
- Item are cheap 2nd hand phone
- payment instruction in blog
- use ambank credit card
- change ebay id after a few people transfer the money

1st case http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/661024
2nd case http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/734650

I don't know why, no one study first before buy something from ebay seller. At least check the feedback. See if got suspicious ebay id or not in feedback. Take time to check 1 by 1 the feedback.

Not only check the feedback, but also do a search for the ebay id at least at lowyat.net. When I search for '5267-4878-0000-9975', straight away I found the 1st case reported here.

This post has been edited by nordingh: Nov 21 2008, 04:43 AM
svage98
post Nov 21 2008, 07:16 AM

432 posts

Yes...you should always check feedback when buying anywhere online...especially ebay Malaysia. There's so many con cases yet ppl don't even have the awareness to be extra careful.

Tips: On ebay you should be caustious when dealing with members with less than 99% feedback. 94% is way dangerous! Have you read the negatives feedback the seller received? shocking.gif Darn...he even make his feedback private!? Wonder why? And deals that are temptingly low and sound too good are usual conmen trick to pancing potential buyers so please be very very careful the next time and you should edit your thread title...it's not ebay who stole your money...don't think it's ebay's fault but you still better make report to ebay about your situation whistling.gif

This post has been edited by svage98: Nov 21 2008, 08:16 AM
DEz012
post Nov 21 2008, 09:13 AM

574 posts

Everyone should be careful for those ebay seller selling things at price of 1 cent dvd or anything very cheap, mostly they will con your money even using paypal. Make sure check the seller recent negative feedback.

Please don't trade with this ebay-user : media-stop11 (Robert Pitcher) even he has 99.5% positive feedback just con me US$ 10 & went missing (no reply-email), even paypal can't get my money back after won the disputed.
havocx
post Nov 21 2008, 10:01 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(DEz012 @ Nov 21 2008, 09:13 AM)
Everyone should be careful for those ebay seller selling things at price of 1 cent dvd or anything very cheap, mostly they will con your money even using paypal. Make sure check the seller recent negative feedback.

Please don't trade with this ebay-user : media-stop11 (Robert Pitcher) even he has 99.5% positive feedback just con me US$ 10 & went missing (no reply-email), even paypal can't get my money back after won the disputed.
Heya mate,
How'd you win your dispute ie did you assume you won or were you notified ?
Was this dispute opened via ebay or via paypal ?
Its strange as to how paypal is not able to recover back your cash when you have won the dispute.
Is the item protected by the Paypal coverage on ebay ?
Ive always managed to recover back my cash when the dispute was opened to paypal via ebay thus
I find it strange that Paypal is not able to recover back your cash ? That does not seem correct.

DEz012
post Nov 21 2008, 10:53 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Nov 21 2008, 10:01 AM)

Heya mate,
How'd you win your dispute ie did you assume you won or were you notified ?
Was this dispute opened via ebay or via paypal ?
Its strange as to how paypal is not able to recover back your cash when you have won the dispute.
Is the item protected by the Paypal coverage on ebay ?
Ive always managed to recover back my cash when the dispute was opened to paypal via ebay thus
I find it strange that Paypal is not able to recover back your cash ? That does not seem correct.

1. Seller didn't reply after open disputed at Paypal for 2 weeks.
2. Paypal
3. I only got back US$1.12.
4. Yes by paypal.
5. I also don't know much why cant get all my money back but paypal do send me a e-mail regarding giving feedback about satisfaction & comment to help them improve their service.

This post has been edited by DEz012: Nov 21 2008, 10:57 AM
havocx
post Nov 21 2008, 11:23 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

Heya mate, is this your comment on the seller ?
Paid & wait for more than 1 month item still haven't arrive,CONMAN.

How long did you have to wait ya ? I once waited for an item to arrive for 2 months, in the end
I opened up a dispute and got my whole payment back. Guess what, on the third month
the item reached. For very very cheap items sometimes it takes a very long while for the item
to reach our shores. But you're right, seller should be in contact with you all throughout the time,
he does not seem to be ignoring other buyers though.

Cheap shipping means SUPER SLOW delivery. Still doesnt explain how come you were
only able to recover only a little of full payment and not full payment though. Ill try and find out more. hmm.gif

tonynk9
post Nov 21 2008, 11:59 AM

114 posts

is it possible if i calld cimb and tell them to cancel the transcaction? .... i banked in on wednesday around 9pm

This post has been edited by tonynk9: Nov 21 2008, 12:00 PM
DEz012
post Nov 21 2008, 12:02 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Nov 21 2008, 11:23 AM)
Heya mate, is this your comment on the seller ?
Paid & wait for more than 1 month item still haven't arrive,CONMAN.

How long did you have to wait ya ? I once waited for an item to arrive for 2 months, in the end
I opened up a dispute and got my whole payment back. Guess what, on the third month
the item reached. For very very cheap items sometimes it takes a very long while for the item
to reach our shores. But you're right, seller should be in contact with you all throughout the time,
he does not seem to be ignoring other buyers though.

Cheap shipping means SUPER SLOW delivery. Still doesnt explain how come you were
only able to recover only a little of full payment and not full payment though. Ill try and find out more.  hmm.gif

I already ask the seller to send it by air mail & this is not the first time i buy things from US, air mail only took 18 days to arrive from my previous purchase. Shipping cost were US$10 same cost as the ebay seller. Right now i still haven't receive it. Isn't this a con case. Not just me didn't receive my stuff there are around 60 negative feedback in less than 2 months most i can see is not receive item. The seller just trick people by selling dvd for 1 cent.
gyver
post Nov 21 2008, 01:07 PM

1,067 posts

Are you sure Paypal didn't refund you 100%? I thought if dispute can get money back 100% and not only that the merchant will be charge a service fee some more.

This post has been edited by gyver: Nov 21 2008, 01:08 PM
havocx
post Nov 21 2008, 01:49 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(tonynk9 @ Nov 21 2008, 11:59 AM)
is it possible if i calld cimb and tell them to cancel the transcaction? .... i banked in on wednesday around 9pm
Perhaps its best that you go to the branch you deposited to cancel the transaction.
Calling them will not do much good because you see, its just tantamount to asking someone to block another persons bank account without having sufficient proof or evidence. Pretty hard to do over the phone you see..

QUOTE(gyver @ Nov 21 2008, 01:07 PM)
Are you sure Paypal didn't refund you 100%? I thought if dispute can get money back 100% and not only that the merchant will be charge a service fee some more.
This is what Im interested to know as well, how Paypal is only refunding back only a percentage of the finalised amount you finally paid, unless of course your transaction was done out of Ebay and out of Paypal. Ie purchase the item over Ebay but agree to another deal outside ebay and in the end, you end up paying more for more stuff out of the original purchase. In which case, eBay protection by Paypal will not come into play.

Also looking at the sellers account, he is still actively selling meaning he is still registered via any credit card to ebay and to Paypal and there is no reason why Paypal is not able to recover 100% of the cash paid unless its there is a breach of terms by the Buyer on eBay site.

This post has been edited by havocx: Nov 21 2008, 01:52 PM
tonynk9
post Nov 21 2008, 04:53 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ Nov 21 2008, 01:49 PM)

Perhaps its best that you go to the branch you deposited to cancel the transaction.
Calling them will not do much good because you see, its just tantamount to asking someone to block another persons bank account without having sufficient proof or evidence. Pretty hard to do over the phone you see..
This is what Im interested to know as well, how Paypal is only refunding back only a percentage of the finalised amount you finally paid, unless of course your transaction was done out of Ebay and out of Paypal. Ie purchase the item over Ebay but agree to another deal outside ebay and in the end, you end up paying more for more stuff out of the original purchase. In which case, eBay protection by Paypal will not come into play.

Also looking at the sellers account, he is still actively selling meaning he is still registered via any credit card to ebay and to Paypal and there is no reason why Paypal is not able to recover 100% of the cash paid unless its there is a breach of terms by the Buyer on eBay site.

i went to cimb just now .... they money has already been transfered to ambank

they say it take 24hrs to processed interbank transfer....

Added on November 21, 2008, 5:01 pmPembayaran
Butiran Pembayaran

Terima kasih saya ucapkan kerana memenangi auction eBay.com.my saya.

For payment instruction in English please click here http://versalinks.blogspot.com/2008/11/det...of-payment.html

Pertanyaan? Telefon saya @ 016-9269181 Zahar dari jam 9 AM to 12 PM

Pembayaran hendalah dibuat ke dalam akaun kredit kad Ambank saya

Pembayaran boleh dibuat di kaunter ataupun cash deposit machine ( CDM ) di mana-mana cawangan AmBank yang berhampiran dengan anda ( sila rujuk di sini untuk mengetahui alamat cawangan terdekat di tempat anda http://www.ambg.com.my/personal/atmsbranches/index.asp

Anda juga boleh membuat pembayaran melalui MEPS Interbank Giro Fund Transfer melalui online system ( contoh seperti Maybank2U atau CIMBclick ) ataupun di kaunter jika anda mempunyai akaun di

Maybank or Maybank2U,Cimb,Affin Bank,Public Bank,RHB Bank,BSN,Bank Islam,EON bank,Hong Leong Bank HLB,Alliance Bank,Bank Rakyat/Bank Kerjasama Rakyat,Bank Muamalat,Standard Chartered Bank,United Oversease Bank UOB,HSBC,OCBC

Setelah selesai membuat pembayaran sila email saya butir-butir pembayaran sepeti berikut:-

Nama :

Alamat:

Contact number:

Tarikh dan masa pembayaran dibuat:

Cara pembayaran dibuat ( samada di kaunter atau CDM AmBank, ataupun melalui InterGIRO transfer )

Barang anda akan dihantar sebaik sahaja pengesahan pembayaran dibuat.

Ianya akan dihantar melalui Skynet. http://www.skynet.com.my/aboutus.html

Tracking number akan diberikan melalui email setelah saya menghantar barang anda.

Terima kasih

Zahar

016-9269181
theversalinks@yahoo.com
Links to this post
Details of payment

Thank you very much for winning my auction.
Aturan pembayaran dalam bahasa Melayu klik sini

http://versalinks.blogspot.com/2008/11/pembayaran.html
Questions? Call me @ 016-9269181 Zahar

Payment can be made to my AMBANK credit card account

Payment can be made at any Ambank branch counter or cash depost machine ( CDM ) at any Ambank outlet near you.

Please refer here for Ambank branch near http://www.ambg.com.my/personal/atmsbranches/index.asp

You can also make the payment through MEPS Interbank Giro Fund Transfer using online system ( for example Maybank2U or CIMBclick ) or at your bank counter if you have account at these banks :-

Maybank or Maybank2U,Cimb,Affin Bank,Public Bank,RHB Bank,BSN,Bank Islam,EON bank,Hong Leong Bank HLB,Alliance Bank,Bank Rakyat/Bank Kerjasama Rakyat,Bank Muamalat,Standard Chartered Bank,United Oversease Bank ( UOB ),HSBC,OCBC

Kindly please email me these details once you have made the payment.

Name:

Address:

Contact numbers:

Date & time you made the payment:

Payment method: ( either at the counter,Ambank CDM, or Intergiro Transfer )

Your item will be send via Skynet courier service http://www.skynet.com.my/aboutus.html

Please take note that the item will be send only after the payment has been made to my account. Tracking numbers will be given via email once I have send the item.

Thank you very much.

Zahar

016-9269181

theversalinks@yahoo.com

This post has been edited by tonynk9: Nov 21 2008, 05:01 PM
emjay_4u
post Nov 21 2008, 06:06 PM

249 posts

i do think this is the same person as the one who conned me and the other lyn members here.. The style of the instruction of 'cara pembayaran' is like almost similar.. I wonder why he still cheating..

bila la dia nak kene langgar kereta.. orang macam ni tak patut hidup aman damai.. biar cacat tangan tak boleh taip blog menipu tu lagi.. hohoho..
SUSnordingh
post Nov 21 2008, 09:18 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

emjay, how life now....have your case settle. Your shincan look fatter now. tongue.gif

tony, you should save the page, not just copy and paste here.

Word of caution, don't trust anyone ask to bank-in to credit card. Ask for normal saving account.

I just notice, 5267-48xx-xxxx-xxxx actually a prepaid card that can be purchase easily. Cost only RM25. All 3 case use same card.

AmBank NexG PrePaid MasterCard gives you cashless convenience with worldwide recognition. It offers convenience in online shopping while giving you ultimate security. All you need to do is to purchase the starter pack for only RM25 at any AmBank / AmAssurance branches nationwide, 7-Eleven (Klang Valley) outlets and the selected 404 POS Malaysia outlets.

http://www.ambank.com.my/personal/creditca...card/index.asp#

Take a look at the FAQ. Just need to fax IC to activate the card. So can use anyone IC.

Added on November 21, 2008, 9:22 pmHow come I didn't received any notification when someone reply to this thread. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nordingh: Nov 21 2008, 09:23 PM
tonynk9
post Nov 21 2008, 09:33 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Nov 21 2008, 09:18 PM)
emjay, how life now....have your case settle. Your shincan look fatter now.  tongue.gif

Word of caution, don't trust anyone ask to bank-in to credit card. Ask for normal saving account.

I just notice, 5267-48xx-xxxx-xxxx actually a prepaid card that can be purchase easily. Cost only RM25. All 3 case use same card.

Take a look at the FAQ. Just need to fax IC to activate the card. So can use anyone IC.

Added on November 21, 2008, 9:22 pmHow come I didn't received any notification when someone reply to this thread.  hmm.gif
QUOTE(nordingh @ Nov 21 2008, 09:18 PM)
emjay, how life now....have your case settle. Your shincan look fatter now.  tongue.gif

Added on November 21, 2008, 9:22 pmHow come I didn't received any notification when someone reply to this thread.  hmm.gif
i ady saved it yesterday rclxub.gif

i just got a reply from ebay

here's the (ehemm...computer generated) email that they sent me
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello

Thanks for writing to us. My name is Gazell and I appreciate the
opportunity to assist you regarding your recent purchase of the mobile
phone (250327648650) from 'fgb301lakje9hacked!'.

We understand your frustration with the delay in receiving this item.
Most likely, there is a very legitimate reason why you haven't received
it. We encourage you to communicate directly with the seller because he
or she may experience problems with transactions on occasion due to
emergencies, illnesses, or computer issues.

Since these examples may be the reason your item is late in arriving, I
would first like to ask that you request the seller's contact
information and give him or her a phone call to see if this issue can be
resolved amicably. eBay encourages open and honest communication, and we
believe that a misunderstanding can often be resolved with a simple
conversation. To request your transaction partner's contact information,
please follow the steps below:

1. Click the 'Advanced Search' link at the top right corner of any eBay
page.

2. Click the 'Find Contact Information' link that is shown under the
'Members' heading on the left hand side and follow the instructions
there.

We will investigate the seller and take appropriate action upon the
completion of our investigation. Such action may include issuing a
warning to the seller, temporarily or indefinitely suspending the
seller's account or, terminating the seller's membership with eBay. Due
to eBay's Privacy Policy, we cannot provide you with information
regarding the details of this investigation or the seller's account.
This policy is for the protection of all eBay members.

It's a good idea to review the email address and shipping information on
file with eBay to be sure your information is correct. You can review
this information by clicking the 'My eBay' link located at the top of
most eBay pages and then selecting 'Personal Information' from the list
under the 'My Account' section on the left-hand side of the page.

In the event that you are unable to resolve this transaction by
communicating directly with your seller, please file an Item Not
Received case at the Resolution Centre. eBay requires a minimum ten-day
waiting period after a transaction closes before a dispute can be
opened. This allows the seller sufficient time to receive and clear
payment, pack and ship the item, and address any of your questions and
concerns.

The dispute process is designed to make communication between buyers and
sellers easier. Once you have completed the dispute process, you may
also be eligible to file a claim under eBay's Standard Purchase
Protection Program. More information on this process can be found on the
following help page:

http://pages.ebay.com.com.my/help/tp/isgw-...tion-steps.html

Please keep in mind that eBay acts as a venue for buyers and sellers. As
such, we will investigate any reports received and sanction accounts
that violate our policies, but we do not take action on an eBay member's
behalf, nor do we directly intervene in disputes between eBay users.

I am happy to have been of some assistance to you in this matter. If you
need further assistance, please don't hesitate to reply to this email
and let us know.

Regards,

Gazell C.
eBay Southeast Asia Trust & Safety

Share your experiences, tips and tricks, or ask questions, on eBay's
community discussion boards. To access the community boards, please
visit the link below:

http://pages.ebay.com.my/community/community.html

For eBay's Board Usage policy, please visit the following link:

http://pages.ebay.com.my/help/policies/everyone-boards.html
svage98
post Nov 21 2008, 09:34 PM

432 posts

Dunno if this is relevant at all but one time I filed a dispute with the paypal over item received but not as described. You see, I won a bid from a US seller for a DVD. I paid and got the dvd within 10 days. Turned out the dvd was fake complete with dvd9 hologram and it was shipped from Singapore. At first I emailed back seller and want him to refund back 100%. He refused still insisted that dvd is original! Come on la...this guy think I was born yesterday or what. Any good citizen here know what a pirated dvd look like right?

So I contacted paypal and file the dispute and within 24hrs they contacted me and open the case. Paypal ask what option to choose in order to resolve the dispute and so I choose 100% refund after sending back item to seller. Other options are partial refund or replace item (I think). Anyway paypal investigate the case and the seller's responded instantly agreed (I just think he know he can't win because there was another buyer who complain the same issue as me). I sent back the dvd and as soon as I provide the tracking number to paypal, they instantly refunded me back 100% so I guess I was lucky thumbup.gif

Well...not sure how it is with you bro? But did you agreed to full refund or partial refund? Or maybe the seller only got that much fund in his account that's why paypal was able to refund you only that small amount unsure.gif

This post has been edited by svage98: Nov 21 2008, 09:35 PM
tonynk9
post Nov 21 2008, 09:40 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(ahcheap @ Nov 21 2008, 01:43 AM)
How much u pay for it?
rm100

0.0263sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled