6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

SQ210a soundcard users thread, Big sound for a small price!

rxy
post Sep 24 2010, 01:00 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

Maybe u can ask boomber to lend u to do comparison.
Well,I'd say it would be wiser to lend to do comparison,instead of grabbing one.
Either someone lend out HD 2 or someone lend out SQ210A.
maxwelx64
post Sep 24 2010, 01:16 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 24 2010, 12:00 PM)
Maybe u can ask boomber to lend u to do comparison.
Well,I'd say it would be wiser to lend to do comparison,instead of grabbing one.
Either someone lend out HD 2 or someone lend out SQ210A.
last time i brought my SQ210 to compare ur HD2 but didn't made it...
haiz.. wink.gif
rxy
post Sep 24 2010, 03:12 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

lol..also not enough time..nvm la..
however,if got ppl lend me his,i can lend him to do review also..
otherwise i dun have things to play with..
boomber
post Sep 24 2010, 06:34 PM

447 posts

Haha, agree with rxy, i think both of us pairing Aego with HD2, so kinda similar set up, just different interconnect I guess.

I did some reading on this card, I think the main difference on the OPAMP section, both card using same DAC and ENVY24 so the deciding factor will be the circuit and cap. smile.gif

HD2 is a very warm sounding card, not sure bout SQ210A
rxy
post Sep 25 2010, 12:03 AM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

@boomber:What interconnect are u using?
I'm currently using CopperColour First Anniversary,later have to change back to Audiotrak ori interconnect.
Erm,I changed the opamp too.
IMHO,it doesn't sound warm to me.
Or perhaps I tested an even warmer DAC thus found this still ok.
Bonchi
post Sep 28 2010, 12:43 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

SQ210A somehow can be tweaked to suit the sound ... each drivers rolled produce a whole different signature hmm.gif also opamps make drastic changes ... i had a LME4562 on mine
for drivers... 5.40a is bright as mentioned in the first page.. 5,40f is a little more neutral than 5.40a but still quite bright.. and now using 5.50a which i find flat
(according to page one, using 5.20 makes the card sound warm but warm is not my preference so i didnt bother trying) ..im using DIY canare l4e6s terminated with switchcrafts RCAs
also to my surprise.. using driver 5.50A .. this card can support hardware buffering with asio shocking.gif
all i can say this card has alot of potential

Najmods
post Sep 28 2010, 04:15 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

The AK DAC is quite bright so use a neutral or warm opamp to balance them. LM4562/LME49720 is quite bright as well, I suggest LT1364 or LT1361 opamp as I have quite a good result from using this opamp smile.gif
Bonchi
post Oct 2 2010, 10:42 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

tho i find using LM4562 made the SQ210A quite balanced (maybe the driver tweaking) however i do suggest to change the stock JRC as it sounded pretty harsh to me

but heck as a user here ive made the SQ210A to sound like a whole different species everytime i do minor tweaks..

users can also try browndog adapter with 2X OPA627
its often being talked about in china forums biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Oct 2 2010, 10:43 AM
chchyong89
post Oct 6 2010, 06:51 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

At last i manage to found a review between HD2 and SQ210A at HERE

This post has been edited by chchyong89: Oct 6 2010, 06:51 PM
peter32
post Oct 6 2010, 07:16 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Very interesting soundcard and review. I just got myself a Prodigy HD2 before knowing there is such a card !

Just a quick question: can the op Amp be changed in this card? Thank you.

Edited:

Just read above someone has just changed to LT1361 & 1364. Sorry.

Issit easy to change the op Amp in this card? (HD comes with a Amp holder, just pull and plug in the new Amp)

This post has been edited by peter32: Oct 6 2010, 07:22 PM
Cosef
post Oct 6 2010, 08:49 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Yes this sound card is good because the swappable op-amp ready thumbup.gif
rxy
post Oct 6 2010, 10:09 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Oct 6 2010, 07:16 PM)
Very interesting soundcard and review.  I just got myself a Prodigy HD2 before knowing there is such a card ! 

Just a quick question: can the op Amp be changed in this card?  Thank you.

Edited:

Just read above someone has just changed to LT1361 & 1364.  Sorry. 

Issit easy to change the op Amp in this card? (HD comes with a Amp holder, just pull and plug in the new Amp)
This card can only change one opamp,iinm,unlike hd2 can change 3..
maxwelx64
post Oct 6 2010, 11:30 PM

234 posts

actually changing the opamps in HD2 is much difficult than SQ210 since the capacitor in HD2 is high and near the opamp socket... wink.gif
rxy
post Oct 6 2010, 11:39 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

==really?
then hd 2 is not that good already?
maxwelx64
post Oct 7 2010, 12:26 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Oct 6 2010, 10:39 PM)
==really?
then hd 2 is not that good already?
juz the ease of changing opamp...
i think HD2's sound quality will be better than SQ210A...
miss the chance for AB test last time... doh.gif

Bonchi
post Oct 7 2010, 12:29 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ Oct 7 2010, 12:26 AM)
wont know untill we try.. i dont know of any HD2 user in melaka (tho i was almost one untill i got poisoned by SQ210)
rxy
post Oct 7 2010, 12:46 AM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ Oct 7 2010, 12:26 AM)
Haha,next time,there will be a next time..
I let u try until u satisfied want?
Just let me know ur time..
peter32
post Oct 7 2010, 01:19 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Haha.. it will be interesting to do blind test. I read the vietnamese forum mentioned above with translation, apparently they conclude that this card is almost half the price of HD2 but sounds better.

It is truly interesting to join the test. Do keep me posted if there is such test in PJ or KL.

Bonchi
post Oct 7 2010, 04:11 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

if only someone can help transport my 25kg PC.. then i wont mind doing it whenever there's a headphone gathering lolx
maxwelx64
post Oct 7 2010, 07:55 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Oct 6 2010, 11:46 PM)
Haha,next time,there will be a next time..
I let u try until u satisfied want?
Just let me know ur time..
definitely no time for this because my final exam is quite near ady...
may be 2 months later... wink.gif

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Oct 7 2010, 03:11 PM)
if only someone can help transport my 25kg PC.. then i wont mind doing it whenever there's a headphone gathering lolx
juz bring the sound card lo..
less than 1 kg... rclxms.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0428sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:47 AM