4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Stock Market V18, Stock Market Chit Chat

sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 08:38 AM

453 posts

Resort is good to buy, but i will keyin the order when it reached at rm2.20 and below. icon_idea.gif
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 10:18 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(lowyat888 @ Nov 28 2008, 11:06 AM)
MORGAN Stanley slashed its target price for Malayan Banking Bhd (1155) , the country's biggest bank, by more than 50 per cent, warning that more profit downgrades could be in the offing.

Its target price is now RM3.70 a share from RM8 before. Maybank faces multiple risks, among them aggressive lending into the Singapore property market that may result in unanticipated additional loan-loss charges.

Maybank, the largest foreign bank in Singapore, saw loans grow by 14.2 per cent on Singapore dollar basis, between September 2008 and September 2007.

"Maybank is a 'value-destroyer', we expect return on equity (ROE) to stay below our assumed cost of equity (13 per cent) over the next three forecast years ... In a nutshell, we see no reason to own the stock," analyst Roger Lum wrote in the report.

The research firm cut its earnings per share (EPS) forecast by between 33 and 42 per cent for the next three financial years. It also doesn't expect positive contributions from Maybank's recent acquisitions to exceed the increased financing costs before the end of 2011.
"It does not help that both the Indonesian rupiah and Pakistan rupee have been weakening against the Malaysian ringgit, thus reducing translated earnings," wrote Lum in the report.

As such, dividend expectations have also been trimmed, with the house now expecting Maybank to pay a dividend of 20 sen a share for the year ending June 2009.

In the financial year just ended, Maybank paid a 33 sen a share dividend, while in 2007 and 2006 it parted with 70 per cent and 82 per cent of its profits in dividend respectively.

In October, Cazenove Asia Ltd said that in the worst-case scenario Maybank could cut its short-term payout ratio by half to 30 per cent.

Morgan Stanley's steep cut comes barely two weeks after CLSA Asia valued Maybank at RM3.60 a share, the first to value the bank at below the RM4 mark this year.

The bank's share price, which have fallen by more than 40 per cent this year, currently trades above RM5.

Maybank this year embarked on its biggest overseas spending spree, paying US$2 billion (RM7.24 billion) for control of Indonesia's sixth-largest lender, and for stakes in banks in Pakistan and Vietnam.

It faced stinging criticism over the premiums paid for the acquisitions, which had triggered downgrades and selldowns on the stock.

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html
Citibank cuts Genting’s target price to RM3.79 and fiscal 2008 earnings by 6.5 per cent

SHARES of Malaysian power to gaming firm Genting fell 1.35 per cent by 9.08 am today after the company reported a third quarter loss of RM40.38 million and warned that its UK gaming operations would be hit.

The company said that its power division would be hit by lower demand and lower prices.

Citibank today cuts Genting’s target price to RM3.79 from RM3.88 ringgit and cut fiscal 2008 earnings by 6.5 per cent.

The stock was trading at RM4.38, having been as low as RM4.24. The main index was down 0.79 per cent. - Reuters

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html
Tq. This is a good news to me. rclxm9.gif
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 10:56 AM

453 posts

the resort chances to drop till rm2 is still possible. icon_question.gif

who buy it at this price will be save. i will doing strong buy at this price range. drool.gif rclxm9.gif
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 11:11 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Nov 28 2008, 12:08 PM)
cause "ye ye fat" mah tongue.gif
then, i will rather buy at RM1.18 for resort.

yet yet FAT. brows.gif
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 02:53 PM

453 posts

tenaga also x sustain, may break the record. my target below rm5.
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 03:09 PM

453 posts

all the blue chip is seem picking up and prepare for the year end rally.
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 03:21 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(jvcpcv55 @ Nov 28 2008, 04:12 PM)
early window dressing???? ohmy.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
God known. thumbup.gif rolleyes.gif shakehead.gif
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 04:22 PM

453 posts

walau leh, genting is really want to go to down my target price of RM3.50.

RM3.50. come come. icon_idea.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by sampoo: Nov 28 2008, 04:23 PM
sampoo
post Nov 28 2008, 04:33 PM

453 posts

ci down back lioa. doh.gif
sampoo
post Nov 29 2008, 09:57 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 10:04 AM)
But, 99% of those buying 4D are lossing over the long term. Even one wins 10K or 100K, in the process, one might already 'invested' more than that amount already, just not realised about it only.
Actually it really want to bet, better bet on Toto, or big sweep that can win 10+ millions. OT already.

Just raise some comparison of fear part, as seen lot of people fear this stock would drop and that stock would plunge.

For stock, over 10-20 years, some good stocks already double or triple or more already. See IOI, Pbbank, BAT, are the classic example. IOI was merely a Rm1.00 or slight below that 10+ years ago. BAT was in teen number only (not including the generous dividend every year).
Fundamental (like in term of profitability and competitive within their industry) of the company is the most important part that dictate the ability of the stock can appreciate in value.

Although luck does play some important part in stock market, it is not entirely luck as well, there are some good fundamental stocks that we can see from the market, while some potato chips are only relied on goreng goreng for stock price appreciation but will fall back once goreng goreng finish.

Added on November 29, 2008, 9:14 am

If market really turn afterwards, (although not now, surely one day, it will, if the stock fundamentally still in good shape), then one will gain the peanut and lose out the opportunity of bigger upside.

When people start feel the market is bullish, the market already surge quite significantly already. As generally when people bought at the bottom, they won't know it is the bottom, they scare it will go down somemore. Because only when extreme bearishness in the market, then one only able to buy at the bottom, be it temporarily short term bottom, or long term bottom.

Just like TM few days ago, people bought at 2.5-2.6 one, all are in fear, up 5-10 cents, all cabut, now more than 3.10 already. But those people bought at 2.50 are in fear in the first place, that's why I said, why fear, the worst is losing some money only, but you already bought a lot cheaper than a lot of people!

Not said which strategy is better, whether to take fast gain and buy back later when it drops or go for longer term is right or wrong. Just when people feel good about the market, it is already late.
Yes, i agreed. when ever the ci is good, all the news in newspaper and media will tell this stock is good and that stock is good. but, when the market is bad. the media will said pls sell this and sell that. i wonder why the news can change so fast or react so fast. this may just the trapped. so, when ever the stock is good and far below the actual value. keep it and leverage down. recently the wawasan 2020 is not "laku", i think the investor may think this is the right time to invest for stock and get return for more than 30% annually after 2012 (election time mah), insted of earn the 7% annually. icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif

sampoo
post Dec 1 2008, 09:23 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 1 2008, 10:19 AM)
new system .. market open down so many haha
what new system is it? blink.gif
sampoo
post Dec 1 2008, 09:33 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 1 2008, 10:30 AM)
Everytime, new system kick starts, most of the time, problematic one.

But at least it is running, not like last time trading halt (drop more than 10% time) which causing the whole market into stand still.
again, wat is the new system? drool.gif rclxms.gif
sampoo
post Dec 1 2008, 10:32 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 1 2008, 11:28 AM)
Sime its forecast heavily (about 50%), so research houses might downgrade it, which prompt fund managers especially foreign one are at the sell side.
sime is too BIG to manage. it is easy to expose to any business uncertainty due to too diversify. it is risky stock in fact. brows.gif
sampoo
post Dec 1 2008, 11:05 AM

453 posts

BIG BURST will follow by BIG BOOM! Be ready. rclxm9.gif brows.gif
sampoo
post Dec 1 2008, 02:35 PM

453 posts

sime is drop 5.15, my target is 4 - 4.5. brows.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
sampoo
post Dec 2 2008, 03:46 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Dec 2 2008, 04:32 PM)
KNM Q at 0.495....

SIME Q at 5.05....

If get these two, me no more bullets for this month...  sad.gif
why, no more bullet. todie is just 2nd dec leh. so fast meh. still got 20 over day leh. icon_idea.gif
sampoo
post Dec 2 2008, 03:48 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Dec 2 2008, 04:45 PM)
You guys are missing the big picture. Go check a longer timeframe for DJIA and you will see what i see.
yes, adam. i still got bullet for the coming tsunami. brows.gif

waiting! Waiting! rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

Target dj 7000 and below. thumbup.gif
sampoo
post Dec 2 2008, 03:51 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Dec 2 2008, 04:49 PM)
If you are focus on long term, its a good time to buy for 2-3 months, if you are focus on contra, we still have room to fall.
u mean we shud buy after 2 -3 months or hold on the current stock for only 2-3 month b4 the big Burst. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sampoo: Dec 2 2008, 03:52 PM
sampoo
post Dec 2 2008, 04:01 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Dec 2 2008, 04:55 PM)
Well, if the chart is true to its words, this month we should see a push up to 9500. BUT, will collapse after.
that mean we shud see some window dressing at end dec and after that Big Burst somewhere around feb onward. rclxms.gif

no matter gain or lost all must offload the stock, Big burst the in next 2 - 3 months times. hmm.gif

expecially April - September. 2nd wave of financial crisis - ur CC. icon_question.gif

rclxm9.gif brows.gif
sampoo
post Dec 2 2008, 11:36 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 3 2008, 12:27 AM)
wow, this is hard hitting statement. laugh.gif
I agreed too, that is way i never told the figure i trade as i lazy to scan my trading account statement to ur. icon_idea.gif

To tech someone the technic to catch fish is better than to give someone a Fish. nod.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0628sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:17 PM