Stock Market V18, Stock Market Chit Chat

SKY 1809
post Nov 21 2008, 02:32 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 21 2008, 02:29 PM)
that's prediction. Anything can happened. That's why I'm scared to buy 10000000million shares
Hi Bro watch out for your Kinsteel.

No time to argue hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Nov 21 2008, 02:37 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 21 2008, 02:34 PM)
green green green --> greed greed greed
I think KLCI meter spoils odeli , not moving.
SKY 1809
post Nov 21 2008, 03:09 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 21 2008, 03:04 PM)
DJIA Futures green; woohoo time to offload my shares. biggrin.gif
Which stocks are you selling ?

SKY 1809
post Nov 21 2008, 03:12 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 21 2008, 03:10 PM)
My CHS... hopefully can hit 3 bucks...haha wishful thinking
Dow up 500++ tonight biggrin.gif
SKY 1809
post Nov 21 2008, 03:21 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Nov 21 2008, 03:17 PM)
siang lagi, bang. mimpi malam lah tongue.gif
Asians odeli dreaming Dow will be Up. rclxms.gif

SKY 1809
post Nov 21 2008, 03:24 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Nov 21 2008, 03:23 PM)
any1 entering ioi?
Just wake up from the dream . sweet dream. biggrin.gif

SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 08:58 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Nov 22 2008, 07:47 AM)
yay! Monday can sell my Sapcres already! rclxm9.gif
Kinwawa, are you selling yours?
Congratulation to you.

Holding 1000 lots ? drool.gif

SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 10:08 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Nov 22 2008, 10:01 AM)
Sometime penny stock doesn't means fragile business, you have to check the fundamental of the company before making your decision. Any company can go insolvent, but those with high short term liabilities and little cash especially dangerous. Just me 2 cents. smile.gif
Yes, I do agree with you.

Big banks in US also failed badly.

There are risks that you have to take. Whether you can bear the risks.

Being penny, the sum involved is smaller unless you buy 1000 lots. Not all penny stocks are without fundamental, though not so solid as blue chips.

Let say a share e.g A costs only 24sen . There are many stocks that not so blue chips, also lose about 20sen this or last week.

Practically you are writing off this share A almost completely with 20sen loss ( e.g buying Zelan at rm one ).

It is easier to do Dollar Cost Averaging on penny stocks.

Not comparing apple with apple.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 10:43 AM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 10:17 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Nov 22 2008, 10:13 AM)
thanks....1000 lots how I wish brows.gif

altogether 80 lots bought last week one maybe can sell next week.
How about you, Sky, any shares you plan to sell next week?
Selling Kinsteel bought at 40sen 100 lots, hold if it falls.

Huaan, need to release some from stockpile, 800 lots.

SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 11:17 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 22 2008, 10:49 AM)
Wonder whether KINSTEL can fall further.... monday would probably be green?

Say, how do we buy HSBC stocks?  hmm.gif
Nowaday , I buy stocks, I have to constantly ask what if it falls. What should i do.

I do not have any data on HSBC, so i cannot help you either.

But Pound is still dropping, could have some currency risk in investing in HSBC.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 11:22 AM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 02:54 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 22 2008, 11:32 AM)
RBA scheduled another rate cut? That's means Aussie dollars have further downside.   tongue.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 11:36 am

I'm sure I understand the correlation there.

You're not buying the HSBC  in UK pounds right?
Well, EEC banks are on the way to retrench thousands of staff.

Any investments not quoted on Bursa are in foreign currencies, including unit trusts.

Pounds can be the currency where accounts are kept.

Correct me if I am wrong.

Added on November 22, 2008, 3:00 pmHSBC Holdings plc is a public limited company incorporated in England and Wales, headquartered in London.[2] As of 2008, it is both the world's largest banking group and the world's largest company according to a composite measure by Forbes magazine.[3][4] "HSBC" is an abbreviation for The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation. Today, while Hong Kong continues to be a significant source of income for the group, no single geographical area dominates earnings. Recent acquisitions and expansion in China are returning HSBC to part of its roots.[5] HSBC is Europe's biggest bank and has an enormous operational base in Asia and significant lending, investment, and insurance activities around the world. The company has a global reach and financial fundamentals matched by few other banking or financial multinationals.[6]
HSBC is listed on the London, New York, and Hong Kong Stock Exchanges, and is a constituent of the FTSE 100 Index and the Hang Seng Index.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 03:00 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 03:11 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 22 2008, 03:04 PM)
laugh.gif Dow is bipolar, one day he is sad, one day he is happy..

Celebratation is a must, a job well done after a long week. smile.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 3:05 pm

Woohoo, make sure you make a lot of money on Monday.  thumbup.gif
Thank you, Sifu.

Certainly have to offload some on Monday.

Dow is in the "mood" of catching short sellers at the bottom, am I right ?

There seems to be a link in Asia for that purpose.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 06:15 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 03:17 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 22 2008, 03:14 PM)
The volatility and fX movements are showing signs of bottoming for Dow, but Dow has more room to drop before reaches "fair value". I think we are close. Now its better to be on the long side rather than the short side.
Ok noted. notworthy.gif
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 03:36 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 22 2008, 03:23 PM)
I am waiting for Citigroup to hit below 1, and then i will buy shares. Another wachovia in the making...

1000 shares for less than 1000 usd, if Citi bks, i lose 1000, but if Citi does it indeed got sold off, 5-6 usd per share...lol....
Good venture. Lose a bit but win big in time to come.

Afterall, Singapore Government odeli poured Billions of US $ into Citibank last year.

Share price could shoot up once they change the CEO of Citi.

Gold is everywhere in US for investors like you to pick.

Best of luck to you.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 03:42 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 10:41 PM

23,851 posts

Obama says drafting bold economic stimulus
By Caren Bohan and Jeff Mason

CHICAGO (Reuters) - U.S. President-elect Barack Obama said on Saturday that he was crafting an aggressive, two-year stimulus plan to revive the troubled economy, warning that swift action was needed to prevent a deep slump and a spiral of falling prices.

President-elect Barack Obama smiles as he goes to pay his bill at Manny's Coffee Shop and Deli in Chicago, Illinois November 21, 2008. (REUTERS/Frank Polich)
"If we don't act swiftly and boldly, most experts now believe that we could lose millions of jobs next year," Obama said in prepared remarks for the weekly Democratic radio and video address.

"We now risk falling into a deflationary spiral that could increase our massive debt even further," he said.

A day after U.S. stock markets rallied on his apparent choice of Timothy Geithner as Treasury secretary, Obama gave a bleak assessment of the economy in his most detailed comments on the subject since winning the Nov. 4 election.

Obama in October called for a $175 billion stimulus measure, but his comments in the radio address on Saturday signaled he was prepared to push for a much larger package, though he did not give a price-tag.

He said the plan would set a goal of creating 2.5 million more jobs by January 2011 and would be "big enough to meet the challenges we face."

The proposal for a two-year stimulus plan further indicated a sizable effort. Most such plans are aimed at covering a one-year period.

The number of Americans on the unemployment rolls surged to the highest in 16 years, up more than 540,000, the Labor Department said on Thursday.

Government data also painted an increasingly dire picture of the housing market.

"The news this week has only reinforced the fact that we are facing an economic crisis of historic proportions," Obama said.

GEITHNER LIKELY TO HEAD TREASURY

Democratic sources said Obama had chosen Geithner, the respected president of the New York Federal Reserve, to take the helm at Treasury and help pull the United States out of an economic nosedive.

U.S. stocks, which had been sinking all week, surged more than 6 percent on the news that Geithner, 47, had been selected. U.S. Treasuries fell and the dollar surged.

Obama is expected to formally announced the pick of Geithner on Monday, according to NBC.

The president-elect and his team have worked to lower expectations that he will be able to fix the economic challenges right away, a theme he reiterated in his address.

"There are no quick or easy fixes to this crisis, which has been many years in the making, and it's likely to get worse before it gets better," Obama said.

Obama, who takes over from President George W. Bush on Jan. 20, said he had directed his economic team to draft the stimulus proposal and predicted the Democratic-led Congress would quickly approve it for his signature.

"We'll be working out the details in the weeks ahead, but it will be a two-year, nationwide effort to jump-start job creation in America and lay the foundation for a strong and growing economy," Obama said.

Congressional Democrats have promised to make a broad economic stimulus a top priority when they reconvene in January. The package is expected to include tax cuts for the middle class and billions of dollars for public works projects, such as the construction of roads, bridges and mass transit.

Hobbled U.S. automakers are negotiating with lawmakers and the White House over a bailout package which they say is urgently needed.

While supporting the idea of a cash infusion for the automakers, Obama has kept a low profile in that debate.

Invoking the principle that the United States should have only one president at a time, he is remaining for now in his home city of Chicago, focusing on forming his Cabinet and putting together his policy plans.

Copyright © 2008 Reuters
SKY 1809
post Nov 23 2008, 10:14 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 23 2008, 06:51 AM)
Yup  nod.gif y in a hurry to jump into the trap since the big fish has just jumping out?

Remember the case of gamuda? Lim yin Ling sell his gamuda at RM 4.40? How many % gamuda has been sliding down till today? I don mean to say that zelan may slide till 20 sen or whatever....But we at least need some patience first don jump in so fast....If not you are the one who bear the losses...
Yes, you are right.

From my past observations, a stock needs to stabilise after FF has almost pulled out of this stock. Then, it is a better time to buy.

Having say that, it is my personal opinion that it is advisible to avoid political linked stocks at this particular moment.

They certainly need more cashflow, government bail out in term of projects or indirectly using EPF to buy up their shares.

And during the good time, they just privatalise the companies at suppressed share prices ( e.g T.. )

One sad thing, is the colors of the cats ( the management ) still the top priority when selecting the good management to run their companies ( political linked ). Nissan of Japan engages a Brazilian CEO to help them to turnaround their company. It is a good cat that can catch rats that matters most in a Globalised World.

The bottom line is whether you are short term traders or long term investors.

Judge your own.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 23 2008, 10:35 AM
SKY 1809
post Nov 23 2008, 04:00 PM

23,851 posts

Obama has his own ways of handing the corporate people. If he is not happy with the auto makers , he would use the congress to pass the news that no bail outs and so on. The auto makers in a way have to give some concessions in exchange for some forms of bail out. Many auto makers oledi returned their private corporate jets.

Citi has to beg the US Government or else facing the risks of being nationalised .

The drop in shares would indicate that.

SKY 1809
post Nov 23 2008, 04:39 PM

23,851 posts

Investing in shares could be both in the form of Science and Art.

Share prices could drop like stones, could rock up as gold.

The important thing is whether :-

You see gold in stones ( in bad times )

or You see stones in gold ( in boom times ).

Citi share is dropping like a stone now, it does not mean that it could not become gold later.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 23 2008, 04:47 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 23 2008, 11:05 PM

23,851 posts

There are some blue chips that you could buy at rm 5 and stay at rm 5 for a long long time.

The good thing is you do not have to monitor, only once a a while check when they are going to pay out the dividends.

And you do not need to come to this forum on daily basis , bcos it ie deemed to be safe.

The risk level is less also.

These the the pros of buying blue chips, esp good for the beginners. If you make a mistake, the share price still stays there for you. It is peace of mind.

Sometimes a penny stock could lose 10sen a day, whereas losing only 5sen for some blue chips.

Beside that you need to do more home works, perhaps coming to this forum to find out more.

The efforts and time that you put in be might not be compensated. You could be penalised too.

So be careful, even F1/GP drivers or riders could fall sometimes. It is not that simple as you may think.

Just my 2sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 23 2008, 11:54 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 24 2008, 09:55 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 24 2008, 09:52 AM)
I grab another 41000 units at 0.79 this morning.  tongue.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
Why are you not buying KNM brows.gif