Stock Market V18, Stock Market Chit Chat

asambuffett
post Nov 29 2008, 12:18 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(sampoo @ Nov 29 2008, 09:57 AM)
........................... keep it and leverage down. recently the wawasan 2020 is not "laku", i think the investor may think this is the right time to invest for stock and get return for more than 30% annually after 2012 (election time mah), insted of earn the 7% annually.  icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
I read yesterday the "non bumi " was sold out in like few hours...however me like u..I think going direct into Bursa at this moment is much better.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by asambuffett: Nov 29 2008, 12:19 PM
tsarena
post Nov 29 2008, 12:19 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 07:25 AM)
Errr... why do you need to quickly sell off the shares.... is it because of the T+3 or you're afraid it might drop further?  hmm.gif

I'm still holding on to Zelan which I bought at 0.785 (2000 shares, peanuts amount compare to you guys) as I'm waiting for the market to go up around year-end or chinese new year..... Might even keep longer if the market is recovering (unlikely, looking at world economy)....

At the moment, I'm also stuck with KINSTEL and RESORT as the price I bought was higher. Again, will be waiting for those counters to go up (maybe next year or two  sweat.gif) before I sell them....
No, it's not because T+3, still hv time ...
At the moment, I don't hv plan to buy for long term, mostly do day trade or contra trade. That's my objective.
So for this kind of objective, the longer I keep the share more risk the price can go down...

Haven't decide which share to include in my new portfolio.
My previous portfolio, I already cash out since last June...
keep the cash... now need to start buy back ...

Although before this I said I've bought Zelan 2000 shares avg prices 0.84 for keeping,
later I've bought more Zelan managed to avg down and sold off all of it...

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 29 2008, 10:16 AM)
Well for me, its based on no. of transaction and no. of buying/selling queue pressures. I will monitor its movement and follow the buyer/seller trend till a certain point where i feel at safer zone or lesser risk when buy or hold on to a stock. During Bearish market, strong stocks movement also will be volatile due to faster profit taking n its easier to get BURNED easily if didnt exit fast.
This is why i feel the opportunity to buy and sell one stock counter back several times is possible. Buy In at strong support price and Sell out when the selling pressure is strong, and later when drop back to strong support lvl i'll go buy in back.  laugh.gif Another trading strategy i set if i fail to exit early is to buy back the stock at its next support lvl and sell if rebound back.

Eg. like Zelan, i play this counter in and out more than 3X.
Still want to buy in back but 2bad it didn't drop till my safe zone price.
Zelan jump from 0.80  to  0.87 yesterday at closing is quite unexpected as the buyers seems in a hurry to grab at higher price and push up its price.
It seems like being plan and execute well by some players.

Resort..
I chk this counter drop from 2.6+ to its support lvl at 2.4 and seems stable around that price on Thursday.
But on friday mornng i notice  selling pressure start to build up back as more seller queue appear. Too bad i didn't stick to my plan to exit fast at 2.43 after notiice more selling pressures coming.
So now i either buy back at low price or sell when it rebound.

I also notice this week alot fishy news play and erratic stock movement.

Airasia - news about privatisation? i monitor this counter not much movement even after the news is out... buying vol. is low and den... later come out news Airasis lost millions.. laugh.gif
The earlier news more like a trap to bring its price up to cushion

Ramunia - limit down. very bad..

Zelan - drop alot before this ..

MMC - privatisation Zelan news? mmc drop... den later no privatisation.. go up... but den drop again.

Resort - drop n drop ... even all local research papers give good TP.

Yes, buy strong counters at low price for mid/long term investment good but if the movement trend and selling pressure high, there will be higher chance to buy it even lower price.
Nobody wants to get stuck at high price for long time. Either cut or buy back at lower price to average down. If no more ammo and dun want to cut, have to be patient and wait slowly till it goes up again.  sweat.gif 
icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
Agreed... nod.gif
I'm also looking at Resort for short term buying opportunity... tongue.gif

QUOTE(wirelessdude @ Nov 29 2008, 10:16 AM)
Unless you think you can accurately time the market, have deep pockets to average down or have insider information, you should invest long-term instead of day-trading. And now's a perfect time to invest because stocks have fallen up to 70% from their peaks and trading way below their NTA.

Whatever you buy today has a very high probability of turning in a handsome profit in 3 to 5 years time. Safe stocks like Pbbank, Resorts and IOI could double by then, and if you can stomach more risks, stocks like Zelan and KNM could triple or quadraple.

Try diversifying because you'll get to spread your risks and ride the economic recovery in other countries as well. My current long-term investments are as follows:

- 50% in Unit Trusts (4 types - US & Europe, China, Asia Pacific ex Japan, East Asia).
- 25% in Aussie Dollar.
- 25% in Bursa stocks (Zelan, KNM, Scomi, Resorts, Pelikan, Gpacket)

Hope this helps. wink.gif
Thanks...
yeah now it's a good time to buy back good shares at lower price

kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 12:32 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

That's the reason I started buying stocks. The fact that the prices of shares dropped so much and will go up one day. Even though trading shares involves high risk, the risks are much less when the stocks are cheap as they have fallen much and probably would not drop that much more (that's excluding companies that go bust!!!).

I didn't plan to play stocks yet as my strategy was to save money for savings/emergency funds, then unit trust, then only invest in stocks. Due to the current GREAT depression that is happening now, I actually had to skip the "unit trust investment" part and jump straight to buying stocks!!! biggrin.gif

My initial plan was for long-term investment but after starting to trade, I'm getting addicted to this intra-day trading!! sweat.gif Haven't started doing it yet.....

I don't know about you guys but I experience something quite illogical when I started trading:

Before trading stocks - I like my weekends where I can rest and enjoy
After trading stocks - AAAaaaarrggghhh!! Such a long weekend!!! Monday come quick! QUICK!!! laugh.gif

Anyway, today is my D12 of stocks trading (yes, I'm counting blush.gif) and I'm getting very good info from you guys. thumbup.gif

lklatmy
post Nov 29 2008, 12:36 PM

1,470 posts

BTS testing first session over,didn't encounter any problem.

Going back ady,signing off and have a nice wkend.
wirelessdude
post Nov 29 2008, 12:46 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 12:32 PM)
That's the reason I started buying stocks. The fact that the prices of shares dropped so much and will go up one day. Even though trading shares involves high risk, the risks are much less when the stocks are cheap as they have fallen much and probably would not drop that much more (that's excluding companies that go bust!!!).

I didn't plan to play stocks yet as my strategy was to save money for savings/emergency funds, then unit trust, then only invest in stocks. Due to the current GREAT depression that is happening now, I actually had to skip the "unit trust investment" part and jump straight to buying stocks!!!  biggrin.gif

My initial plan was for long-term investment but after starting to trade, I'm getting addicted to this intra-day trading!!  sweat.gif Haven't started doing it yet.....

I don't know about you guys but I experience something quite illogical when I started trading:

After trading stocks - AAAaaaarrggghhh!! Such a long weekend!!! Monday come quick! QUICK!!!  laugh.gif

Anyway, today is my D12 of stocks trading (yes, I'm counting  blush.gif) and I'm getting very good info from you guys.  thumbup.gif
That's the problem with trading - it becomes addictive. Almost everyone will become emotional and will lose in the end ...like going to the casinos. If you make more, you'll become more confident and trade even more each time. And if you lose, you'll also trade more to try to "make back" because your ego has been hurt.

Back in 2000, I turned $30,000 to almost $100,000 and then lost it all back ...including the initial $30,000. Sepandai-pandai tupai melompat, akhirnya jatuh juga ke tanah. Of course the good thing is I've learnt my lesson and I'm a better investor today.
tsarena
post Nov 29 2008, 12:52 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 12:32 PM)

I didn't plan to play stocks yet as my strategy was to save money for savings/emergency funds, then unit trust, then only invest in stocks. Due to the current GREAT depression that is happening now, I actually had to skip the "unit trust investment" part and jump straight to buying stocks!!!  biggrin.gif

My initial plan was for long-term investment but after starting to trade, I'm getting addicted to this intra-day trading!!  sweat.gif Haven't started doing it yet.....

After trading stocks - AAAaaaarrggghhh!! Such a long weekend!!! Monday come quick! QUICK!!!  laugh.gif

Anyway, today is my D12 of stocks trading (yes, I'm counting  blush.gif) and I'm getting very good info from you guys.  thumbup.gif
I also feeel like that .... laugh.gif

I've been trading since end of 2006.
Frm my previous portfoilo, I already sold all of it except left 1000 share of Kencana
which is kind a sayang to sell -> I know I'm not suppposed to love the stock but...
it's my first trade and I don't think I can ever get the price that I've bought for this counter...
unless the company hv problem...

This post has been edited by tsarena: Nov 29 2008, 01:29 PM
rayloo
post Nov 29 2008, 01:18 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(kmarc)
After trading stocks - AAAaaaarrggghhh!! Such a long weekend!!! Monday come quick! QUICK!!! 
biggrin.gif Me too....I pray Monday comes early since I am in stock market. Last time I could hardly wake up in the morning despites snoozing few times of my alarm, now no second delay when alarming. Then straight go to on PC to watch DJ movement. whistling.gif Sometimes I even woke up before my alarm time. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by rayloo: Nov 29 2008, 01:21 PM
yang yang
post Nov 29 2008, 01:19 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(tsarena @ Nov 29 2008, 12:52 PM)
I also feeel like that ....  laugh.gif

I've been trading since end of 2005.
Frm my previous portfoilo, I already sold all of it except left 1000 share of Kencana
which is kind a sayang to sell -> I know I'm not suppposed to love the stock but...
it's my first trade and I don't think I can ever get the price that I've bought for this counter...
wanted to know how much u buy for that sentimental value kencana ? rclxms.gif
rayloo
post Nov 29 2008, 01:20 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(tsarena)
I don't think I can ever get the price that I've bought for this counter...
Yes, you can. Buy extra amount of the stocks. Sell some when you have gain to reduce the cost of your remaining stock.
tsarena
post Nov 29 2008, 01:29 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(yang yang @ Nov 29 2008, 01:19 PM)
wanted to know how much u buy for that sentimental value kencana ?  rclxms.gif
Managed to get 5000 share at IPO price last time - 0.41 brows.gif

Sold 2 lot when it's around 2.80 -2.90
Sold another 2 lot when it's 2.20 - 2.30

This post has been edited by tsarena: Nov 29 2008, 01:30 PM
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 02:34 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wirelessdude @ Nov 29 2008, 12:46 PM)
That's the problem with trading - it becomes addictive. Almost everyone will become emotional and will lose in the end ...like going to the casinos. If you make more, you'll become more confident and trade even more each time. And if you lose, you'll also trade more to try to "make back" because your ego has been hurt.

Back in 2000, I turned $30,000 to almost $100,000 and then lost it all back ...including the initial $30,000. Sepandai-pandai tupai melompat, akhirnya jatuh juga ke tanah. Of course the good thing is I've learnt my lesson and I'm a better investor today.
Yeah, I'm aware of the risk. Hope I don't lose everything too.... sweat.gif

Once I get a few long-term stocks, will wanna play intraday/intraweek trading!!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tsarena @ Nov 29 2008, 12:52 PM)
I also feeel like that ....  laugh.gif

QUOTE(rayloo @ Nov 29 2008, 01:18 PM)
QUOTE(kmarc)
After trading stocks - AAAaaaarrggghhh!! Such a long weekend!!! Monday come quick! QUICK!!! 
biggrin.gif Me too....I pray Monday comes early since I am in stock market. Last time I could hardly wake up in the morning despites snoozing few times of my alarm, now no second delay when alarming. Then straight go to on PC to watch DJ movement. whistling.gif Sometimes I even woke up before my alarm time. rclxms.gif
thumbup.gif

Me too. So easy to jump out of bed! laugh.gif Last time, had to press the snooze button many many times!!! sweat.gif

@ Cherroy - Maybe we should have a list/database which is updated frequently, you know, for reference. Something like this:

1) Long-term stocks e.g. Public bank, maybank, IOICORP, YTLPOWER, Resort, etc
2) Short-term stocks
3) Good dividend stocks
4) Don't buy stocks
5) Urgent! Must buy stocks
6) Urgent! Must sell stocks e.g. Airasia on monday!!!

Although we have threads for those, it would be really useful to list them down, don't you think? Info will come from our forumers, of course, buy at your own judgement/risk!!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 29 2008, 02:44 PM
ProGamerCF
post Nov 29 2008, 02:49 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 03:34 PM)

Me too. So easy to jump out of bed!  laugh.gif Last time, had to press the snooze button many many times!!!  sweat.gif

@ Cherroy - Maybe we should have a list/database which is updated frequently, you know, for reference. Something like this:

2) Short-term stocks
3) Good dividend stocks
4) Don't buy stocks

Although we have threads for those, it would be really useful to list them down, don't you think? Info will come from our forumers, of course, buy at your own judgement/risk!!!  smile.gif
is a good idea, but is very hard to maintain..
dun u think so?
cherroy
post Nov 29 2008, 02:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 02:34 PM)

2) Short-term stocks
3) Good dividend stocks
4) Don't buy stocks

Although we have threads for those, it would be really useful to list them down, don't you think? Info will come from our forumers, of course, buy at your own judgement/risk!!!  smile.gif
Better stick with those existing individual thread, as there are details information posted by forumers already.

Create another will result in cross-linked discussion, which by then dividend stock thread become like public bank thread on one day, and another day become BAT thread. Just like this thread, last 2 days, it more like Resort thread already.

Some more, one may not agree abc stock is long term stock as well etc.

This thread serves quite good for general discussion already until now. Always welcomed any idea. smile.gif

Cheers.

kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 03:16 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ProGamerCF @ Nov 29 2008, 02:49 PM)
is a good idea, but is very hard to maintain..
dun u think so?
Won't be that hard, I think (if don't spam too much for that particular thread)

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 02:58 PM)
Better stick with those existing individual thread, as there are details information posted by forumers already.

Create another will result in cross-linked discussion, which by then dividend stock thread become like public bank thread on one day, and another day become BAT thread. Just like this thread, last 2 days, it more like Resort thread already.

Some more, one may not agree abc stock is long term stock as well etc.

This thread serves quite good for general discussion already until now. Always welcomed any idea. smile.gif

Cheers.
Ok, just thought that a database thread (minus the spam) would be nice and convenient. smile.gif

For example, if I want to find good dividend stocks, I have to practically browse and read through the whole "Good dividend thread" before I can come up with a list.....

Anyway, I have gained lots of information from this thread. V19 coming soon! thumbup.gif
cherroy
post Nov 29 2008, 03:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 03:16 PM)
Ok, just thought that a database thread (minus the spam) would be nice and convenient.  smile.gif

For example, if I want to find good dividend stocks, I have to practically browse and read through the whole "Good dividend thread" before I can come up with a list.....

Because the term and classification of it can be subjective, so kind of troublesome and might not agreed by others.

LYN forumers are famous for spam, tongue.gif no offence, even the pinned useful link/website and must website thread which being created for sharing and reference, also being spammed. doh.gif

Cheers, appreciated for the suggestion.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 29 2008, 03:34 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 29 2008, 03:33 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 03:16 PM)
Ok, just thought that a database thread (minus the spam) would be nice and convenient.  smile.gif

Anyway, I have gained lots of information from this thread. V19 coming soon!  thumbup.gif
I notice that Bursa does put up some good stocks for special offers almost every week.

But next week, AA might not be good. Judge your own.

The sad thing is most forumers are happy with only 2sen profit in the short term.
. Again, I personally would disagree a 2sen profit expected from Resort World like the other forumers.

But I still respect their decisions, after all.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 29 2008, 03:34 PM
kmarc
post Nov 29 2008, 04:32 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 03:32 PM)
Because the term and classification of it can be subjective, so kind of troublesome and might not agreed by others.

LYN forumers are famous for spam, tongue.gif  no offence, even the pinned useful link/website and must website thread which being created for sharing and reference, also being spammed.  doh.gif

Cheers, appreciated for the suggestion.
Haha.... I'm also sometimes guilty of spamming...

However, to tell you the truth, spamming sometimes make the thread more lively....... that's my opinion anyway.... wink.gif

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 29 2008, 03:33 PM)
I notice that Bursa does put up some good stocks for special offers almost every week.

The sad thing is most forumers are happy with only 2sen profit in the short term.
. Again,  I personally would disagree a 2sen profit expected from Resort World like the other forumers.

Errr.... where to get the special offers? I went to their website but couldn't find any "sales" biggrin.gif
PBB boleh
post Nov 29 2008, 04:49 PM

566 posts

This thread is more about the Stock Market in General, so I would imagine that the topic/stock of the day would depends very much on us the forummers. In fact if the forum keeps talking about the same topic/stock over and over again, not much people would bother come here smile.gif
htt
post Nov 29 2008, 05:58 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 29 2008, 03:33 PM)

. Again,  I personally would disagree a 2sen profit expected from Resort World like the other forumers.

Think might average down my AA next week, if they drop enough for me to do that. tongue.gif But to loss 200+m of shareholder money in Lehman Bros is really frustrating... mad.gif

Added on November 29, 2008, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(PBB boleh @ Nov 29 2008, 04:49 PM)
This thread is more about the Stock Market in General, so I would imagine that the topic/stock of the day would depends very much on us the forummers. In fact if the forum keeps talking about the same topic/stock over and over again, not much people would bother come here smile.gif
Maybe we miss someone?

This post has been edited by htt: Nov 29 2008, 05:59 PM
aurora97
post Nov 29 2008, 06:12 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

yeah this thread is more vibrant, sometimes even an eye opener at times to opportunities that i have not known and made some money from it...

i think this particular thread shud remain dynamic and multi faceted compared to individual topics... so troublesome have to get out a thread go in and get out just tp type smthing ...

this shud be a place where traders congregate...

i suggest a lounge shud be the next edition to this thread.

126 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:28 PM