Nov 28 2008, 11:18 PM
2,359 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
You bought alot at high price?
I think the credit suisse report is too much .... the TP 1.86 is only after minus off all the 35% Foreign shareholders. Its the worst case scenario which i feel hard to achieve if Resort n local fund manager start buying in back its shares. Compare to Resort own big capital.. the Foreign shareholders are still far behind. Only this Credit Suisse report paint Resort -ve with lowest TP I chk today Resort closing report. Resort have initiate start buying back their shares to support it. =========================== 4715 RESORTS RESORTS WORLD BHD Notice of Shares Buy Back - Immediate Announcement Date of Buy Back : 28/11/2008 Description of Shares Purchased : Ordinary Shares of RM0.10 each No. of Shares Purchased : 9,105,100 shares Minimum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 2.330 Maximum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 2.350 Total Consideration Paid : RM 21,355,771.98 No. of Shares Purchased Retained in Treasury : 9,105,100 shares No. of Shares Which Are Proposed To Be Cancelled : shares Cumulative Net Outstanding Treasury Shares As At To-Date : 156,033,600 shares Adjusted Issued Capital After Cancellation : 0 Date Lodged With Registrar of Company : Lodged By : Remarks: N/A Submitted By: MS LOH BEE HONG 28/11/2008 06:28 PM ========================== Hope this updates can give u some relief. I also have some Resort shares. v_viper88 QUOTE(sharesa @ Nov 28 2008, 09:24 PM) This post has been edited by viper88: Nov 28 2008, 11:21 PM |
Nov 28 2008, 11:22 PM
5,587 posts Joined: May 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 11:18 PM) You bought alot at high price? Thanks Viper for the info I think the credit suisse report is too much .... the TP 1.86 is only after minus off all the 35% Foreign shareholders. Its the worst case scenario which i feel hard to achieve if Resort n local fund manager start buying in back its shares at low price. Compare to Resort own big capital.. the Foreign shareholders are still far behind. Only this Credit Suisse report paint Resort -ve with lowest TP I chk today Resort closing report. Resort have initiate start buying back their shares to support it. =========================== 4715 RESORTS RESORTS WORLD BHD Notice of Shares Buy Back - Immediate Announcement Date of Buy Back : 28/11/2008 Description of Shares Purchased : Ordinary Shares of RM0.10 each No. of Shares Purchased : 9,105,100 shares Minimum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 2.330 Maximum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 2.350 Total Consideration Paid : RM 21,355,771.98 No. of Shares Purchased Retained in Treasury : 9,105,100 shares No. of Shares Which Are Proposed To Be Cancelled : shares Cumulative Net Outstanding Treasury Shares As At To-Date : 156,033,600 shares Adjusted Issued Capital After Cancellation : 0 Date Lodged With Registrar of Company : Lodged By : Remarks: N/A Submitted By: MS LOH BEE HONG 28/11/2008 06:28 PM ========================== Hope this updates can give u some relief. I also have some Resort shares. v_viper88 Yes, recently bought @ 2.54, the rest average price @ 3.01 |
Nov 28 2008, 11:25 PM
296 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 28 2008, 11:37 PM
Nov 28 2008, 11:39 PM
170 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Nov 28 2008, 11:43 PM
357 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(PBB boleh @ Nov 28 2008, 05:02 PM) Wow, I Q some of my Zelan at RM 0.89 (for fun), didn't expect it to match at last min....wonder if i put too low Congrats to those managed to sell Zelan last mins Just want to share my trading for past 2 days... I still consider myself new... so bare wit me & mistake that I made Nov 27 - DJ close green Bought KNM 10,000 @ 0.545 the day b4, target to sell 0.575 (high hopes See the price didn't really move that much, around 10.30am revised sell price to 0.565 then revised again to 0.56 -> sold although there are possibility to get match @ 0.565 but thinking better lock gains the one already hv… Bought Sapcres-WA 10,000 @0.17 the day b4, target to sell 0.185 (high hopes again…) Same, see the price stuck at 0.18, revised sell price to 0.18 -> sold Lucky already sold those shares in the morning, cause the afternoon session, price start droping… Nov 28 Bought Zelan 10,000 @ 0.81 (high price for yesterday), target to sell 0.84 In the afternoon, see the price getting weaker, going below 0.80, revised to 0.825 (minimum price b4 making losses) -> sold I know I may not be able to sell at highest price but if I didn’t gatal tangan change my sell Q frm 0.840 -> 0.825, I may get extra money instead of making only rm60 for today... As Adam told me before, transaction already done, cannot regret anymore… After finish cursing and banging my head, I just thought if the reverse things happened… For example.. Highest price for Zelan today is 0.825, managed to sold my share then it drop back to 0.80 I know myself would definitely feel grateful with my rm60 instead of making paper loss… Lesson learned (I think... ) : Stick to the plan. but sometime the plan need to revised according to situation... but how to know when to revise the plan... This post has been edited by tsarena: Nov 28 2008, 11:46 PM |
Nov 29 2008, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(tsarena @ Nov 28 2008, 11:43 PM) Congrats to those managed to sell Zelan last mins Tsarena, I'm too experiencing these. I reckon at this period, market is bearish and uncertain, so our guts get shaken, then we try to sell-off fast with some gains as we feel that it will drop again.Just want to share my trading for past 2 days... I still consider myself new... so bare wit me & mistake that I made Nov 27 - DJ close green Bought KNM 10,000 @ 0.545 the day b4, target to sell 0.575 (high hopes See the price didn't really move that much, around 10.30am revised sell price to 0.565 then revised again to 0.56 -> sold although there are possibility to get match @ 0.565 but thinking better lock gains the one already hv… Bought Sapcres-WA 10,000 @0.17 the day b4, target to sell 0.185 (high hopes again…) Same, see the price stuck at 0.18, revised sell price to 0.18 -> sold Lucky already sold those shares in the morning, cause the afternoon session, price start droping… Nov 28 Bought Zelan 10,000 @ 0.81 (high price for yesterday), target to sell 0.84 In the afternoon, see the price getting weaker, going below 0.80, revised to 0.825 (minimum price b4 making losses) -> sold I know I may not be able to sell at highest price but if I didn’t gatal tangan change my sell Q frm 0.840 -> 0.825, I may get extra money instead of making only rm60 for today... As Adam told me before, transaction already done, cannot regret anymore… After finish cursing and banging my head, I just thought if the reverse things happened… For example.. Highest price for Zelan today is 0.825, managed to sold my share then it drop back to 0.80 I know myself would definitely feel grateful with my rm60 instead of making paper loss… Lesson learned (I think... ) : Stick to the plan. but sometime the plan need to revised according to situation... but how to know when to revise the plan... But, if market is bullish, I think most people will hold a bit more longer for more gains. Could be the reason why many of us are experiencing this these days. About when to revise the plan according to situation,for my case is when I " feel" market is gonna be bullish for next few days but that is also not guaranteed. |
Nov 29 2008, 12:39 AM
357 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(sharesa @ Nov 29 2008, 12:00 AM) Tsarena, I'm too experiencing these. I reckon at this period, market is bearish and uncertain, so our guts get shaken, then we try to sell-off fast with some gains as we feel that it will drop again. yeah... agreed But, if market is bullish, I think most people will hold a bit more longer for more gains. Could be the reason why many of us are experiencing this these days. About when to revise the plan according to situation,for my case is when I " feel" market is gonna be bullish for next few days but that is also not guaranteed. Lately, me too depending on my instinct ... but as you said not guaranteed... sometime there is also false instinct... DJ rally for 5th day... closed at +102.43 pts 8829.04 This post has been edited by tsarena: Nov 29 2008, 03:29 AM |
Nov 29 2008, 07:25 AM
14,576 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(tsarena @ Nov 29 2008, 12:39 AM) yeah... agreed Errr... why do you need to quickly sell off the shares.... is it because of the T+3 or you're afraid it might drop further? Lately, me too depending on my instinct ... but as you said not guaranteed... sometime there is also false instinct... DJ rally for 5th day... closed at +102.43 pts 8829.04 I'm still holding on to Zelan which I bought at 0.785 (2000 shares, peanuts amount compare to you guys) as I'm waiting for the market to go up around year-end or chinese new year..... Might even keep longer if the market is recovering (unlikely, looking at world economy).... At the moment, I'm also stuck with KINSTEL and RESORT as the price I bought was higher. Again, will be waiting for those counters to go up (maybe next year or two |
Nov 29 2008, 09:04 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(PBB boleh @ Nov 28 2008, 10:08 PM) But people who buys 4D hopes (against all odds) that their ten dollar betting could bring returns of more than 10000% INSTANTLY and therefor view 100% lost of capital as acceptable. But, 99% of those buying 4D are lossing over the long term. Even one wins 10K or 100K, in the process, one might already 'invested' more than that amount already, just not realised about it only.Where as if you buy stocks, it's common to lose or gain 20-30% in 10-20years even if u are lucky (Law of average, since it's impossible gain or lose every time) Just my 2 cents. Actually it really want to bet, better bet on Toto, or big sweep that can win 10+ millions. OT already. Just raise some comparison of fear part, as seen lot of people fear this stock would drop and that stock would plunge. For stock, over 10-20 years, some good stocks already double or triple or more already. See IOI, Pbbank, BAT, are the classic example. IOI was merely a Rm1.00 or slight below that 10+ years ago. BAT was in teen number only (not including the generous dividend every year). Fundamental (like in term of profitability and competitive within their industry) of the company is the most important part that dictate the ability of the stock can appreciate in value. Although luck does play some important part in stock market, it is not entirely luck as well, there are some good fundamental stocks that we can see from the market, while some potato chips are only relied on goreng goreng for stock price appreciation but will fall back once goreng goreng finish. Added on November 29, 2008, 9:14 am QUOTE(sharesa @ Nov 29 2008, 12:00 AM) Tsarena, I'm too experiencing these. I reckon at this period, market is bearish and uncertain, so our guts get shaken, then we try to sell-off fast with some gains as we feel that it will drop again.But, if market is bullish, I think most people will hold a bit more longer for more gains. If market really turn afterwards, (although not now, surely one day, it will, if the stock fundamentally still in good shape), then one will gain the peanut and lose out the opportunity of bigger upside.Could be the reason why many of us are experiencing this these days. About when to revise the plan according to situation,for my case is when I " feel" market is gonna be bullish for next few days but that is also not guaranteed. When people start feel the market is bullish, the market already surge quite significantly already. As generally when people bought at the bottom, they won't know it is the bottom, they scare it will go down somemore. Because only when extreme bearishness in the market, then one only able to buy at the bottom, be it temporarily short term bottom, or long term bottom. Just like TM few days ago, people bought at 2.5-2.6 one, all are in fear, up 5-10 cents, all cabut, now more than 3.10 already. But those people bought at 2.50 are in fear in the first place, that's why I said, why fear, the worst is losing some money only, but you already bought a lot cheaper than a lot of people! Not said which strategy is better, whether to take fast gain and buy back later when it drops or go for longer term is right or wrong. Just when people feel good about the market, it is already late. This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 29 2008, 09:14 AM |
Nov 29 2008, 09:22 AM
1,040 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 09:04 AM) But, 99% of those buying 4D are lossing over the long term. Even one wins 10K or 100K, in the process, one might already 'invested' more than that amount already, just not realised about it only. My Zelan is good example.Actually it really want to bet, better bet on Toto, or big sweep that can win 10+ millions. OT already. Just raise some comparison of fear part, as seen lot of people fear this stock would drop and that stock would plunge. For stock, over 10-20 years, some good stocks already double or triple or more already. See IOI, Pbbank, BAT, are the classic example. IOI was merely a Rm1.00 or slight below that 10+ years ago. BAT was in teen number only (not including the generous dividend every year). Fundamental (like in term of profitability and competitive within their industry) of the company is the most important part that dictate the ability of the stock can appreciate in value. Although luck does play some important part in stock market, it is not entirely luck as well, there are some good fundamental stocks that we can see from the market, while some potato chips are only relied on goreng goreng for stock price appreciation but will fall back once goreng goreng finish. Added on November 29, 2008, 9:14 am If market really turn afterwards, (although not now, surely one day, it will, if the stock fundamentally still in good shape), then one will gain the peanut and lose out the opportunity of bigger upside. When people start feel the market is bullish, the market already surge quite significantly already. As generally when people bought at the bottom, they won't know it is the bottom, they scare it will go down somemore. Because only when extreme bearishness in the market, then one only able to buy at the bottom, be it temporarily short term bottom, or long term bottom. Just like TM few days ago, people bought at 2.5-2.6 one, all are in fear, up 5-10 cents, all cabut, now more than 3.10 already. But those people bought at 2.50 are in fear in the first place, that's why I said, why fear, the worst is losing some money only, but you already bought a lot cheaper than a lot of people! Not said which strategy is better, whether to take fast gain and buy back later when it drops or go for longer term is right or wrong. Just when people feel good about the market, it is already late. I try to let my profit run, but no luck leh. Q too high 0.88 when I know the market sentiment is good, then market turn around at 0.875 and missed the boat Kick myself, and then the next day/days sold at a lower price when market rallies a bit. 0.815 Then see the market goes down some more, selling vindicated 0.78 but i didn't went in!!, only to see it shoot back up to 0.89 today Actually, why TM will shoot up ar? Their debts issue still tied to the US dollar, it's not like suddenly their problems is gone right? |
Nov 29 2008, 09:37 AM
1,470 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Securities Industry |
Now testing BTS in office,so far so good.No problem.
New feature for odd lots,can get matched partially,so be careful,if you ask your Remisier to sell 66 shares,you may end up selling 15 shares only and the proceed may not be enough to pay for the comm. |
Nov 29 2008, 09:57 AM
453 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 10:04 AM) But, 99% of those buying 4D are lossing over the long term. Even one wins 10K or 100K, in the process, one might already 'invested' more than that amount already, just not realised about it only. Yes, i agreed. when ever the ci is good, all the news in newspaper and media will tell this stock is good and that stock is good. but, when the market is bad. the media will said pls sell this and sell that. i wonder why the news can change so fast or react so fast. this may just the trapped. so, when ever the stock is good and far below the actual value. keep it and leverage down. recently the wawasan 2020 is not "laku", i think the investor may think this is the right time to invest for stock and get return for more than 30% annually after 2012 (election time mah), insted of earn the 7% annually. Actually it really want to bet, better bet on Toto, or big sweep that can win 10+ millions. OT already. Just raise some comparison of fear part, as seen lot of people fear this stock would drop and that stock would plunge. For stock, over 10-20 years, some good stocks already double or triple or more already. See IOI, Pbbank, BAT, are the classic example. IOI was merely a Rm1.00 or slight below that 10+ years ago. BAT was in teen number only (not including the generous dividend every year). Fundamental (like in term of profitability and competitive within their industry) of the company is the most important part that dictate the ability of the stock can appreciate in value. Although luck does play some important part in stock market, it is not entirely luck as well, there are some good fundamental stocks that we can see from the market, while some potato chips are only relied on goreng goreng for stock price appreciation but will fall back once goreng goreng finish. Added on November 29, 2008, 9:14 am If market really turn afterwards, (although not now, surely one day, it will, if the stock fundamentally still in good shape), then one will gain the peanut and lose out the opportunity of bigger upside. When people start feel the market is bullish, the market already surge quite significantly already. As generally when people bought at the bottom, they won't know it is the bottom, they scare it will go down somemore. Because only when extreme bearishness in the market, then one only able to buy at the bottom, be it temporarily short term bottom, or long term bottom. Just like TM few days ago, people bought at 2.5-2.6 one, all are in fear, up 5-10 cents, all cabut, now more than 3.10 already. But those people bought at 2.50 are in fear in the first place, that's why I said, why fear, the worst is losing some money only, but you already bought a lot cheaper than a lot of people! Not said which strategy is better, whether to take fast gain and buy back later when it drops or go for longer term is right or wrong. Just when people feel good about the market, it is already late. |
Nov 29 2008, 10:16 AM
2,359 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Well for me, its based on no. of transaction and no. of buying/selling queue pressures. I will monitor its movement and follow the buyer/seller trend till a certain point where i feel at safer zone or lesser risk when buy or hold on to a stock. During Bearish market, strong stocks movement also will be volatile due to faster profit taking n its easier to get BURNED easily if didnt exit fast.
This is why i feel the opportunity to buy and sell one stock counter back several times is possible. Buy In at strong support price and Sell out when the selling pressure is strong, and later when drop back to strong support lvl i'll go buy in back. Eg. like Zelan, i play this counter in and out more than 3X. Still want to buy in back but 2bad it didn't drop till my safe zone price. Zelan jump from 0.80 to 0.87 yesterday at closing is quite unexpected as the buyers seems in a hurry to grab at higher price and push up its price. It seems like being plan and execute well by some players. Resort.. I chk this counter drop from 2.6+ to its support lvl at 2.4 and seems stable around that price on Thursday. But on friday mornng i notice selling pressure start to build up back as more seller queue appear. Too bad i didn't stick to my plan to exit fast at 2.43 after notiice more selling pressures coming. So now i either buy back at low price or sell when it rebound. I also notice this week alot fishy news play and erratic stock movement. Airasia - news about privatisation? i monitor this counter not much movement even after the news is out... buying vol. is low and den... later come out news Airasis lost millions.. The earlier news more like a trap to bring its price up to cushion Ramunia - limit down. very bad.. Zelan - drop alot before this .. MMC - privatisation Zelan news? mmc drop... den later no privatisation.. go up... but den drop again. Resort - drop n drop ... even all local research papers give good TP. Yes, buy strong counters at low price for mid/long term investment good but if the movement trend and selling pressure high, there will be higher chance to buy it even lower price. Nobody wants to get stuck at high price for long time. Either cut or buy back at lower price to average down. If no more ammo and dun want to cut, have to be patient and wait slowly till it goes up again. v_viper88 This post has been edited by viper88: Nov 29 2008, 10:22 AM |
Nov 29 2008, 10:16 AM
594 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Unless you think you can accurately time the market, have deep pockets to average down or have insider information, you should invest long-term instead of day-trading. And now's a perfect time to invest because stocks have fallen up to 70% from their peaks and trading way below their NTA.
Whatever you buy today has a very high probability of turning in a handsome profit in 3 to 5 years time. Safe stocks like Pbbank, Resorts and IOI could double by then, and if you can stomach more risks, stocks like Zelan and KNM could triple or quadraple. Try diversifying because you'll get to spread your risks and ride the economic recovery in other countries as well. My current long-term investments are as follows: - 50% in Unit Trusts (4 types - US & Europe, China, Asia Pacific ex Japan, East Asia). - 25% in Aussie Dollar. - 25% in Bursa stocks (Zelan, KNM, Scomi, Resorts, Pelikan, Gpacket) Hope this helps. |
Nov 29 2008, 10:41 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(lklatmy @ Nov 29 2008, 09:37 AM) Now testing BTS in office,so far so good.No problem. So, confirm going live on next Monday?New feature for odd lots,can get matched partially,so be careful,if you ask your Remisier to sell 66 shares,you may end up selling 15 shares only and the proceed may not be enough to pay for the comm. QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 29 2008, 10:16 AM) Airasia - news about privatisation? i monitor this counter not much movement even after the news is out... buying vol. is low and den... later come out news Airasis lost millions.. Airasia's rumour privitisation price is Rm1.30, so at Rm1.1x currently, there is no incentive for people to goreng already.The earlier news more like a trap to bring its price up to cushion Yes, buy strong counters at low price for mid/long term investment good but if the movement trend and selling pressure high, there will be higher chance to buy it even lower price. Nobody wants to get stuck at high price for long time. Either cut or buy back at lower price to average down. If no more ammo and dun want to cut, have to be patient and wait slowly till it goes up again. v_viper88 The investment strategy differ primary the intention in the first place whether one buy the forget about it and every year earn 6-7% dividend out of it, or want to trade daily. For PLC (political linked stock like MMC, Zelan, MRCB) especially those high 'flavour' of politic influence one, trade is always a better option, as those are not quite suitable for really long term. Just my opinon, and experience. If stuck at higher price in some good stocks while the stock still can sustain a high dividend yield like 2x FD rate, then not much worry at all. |
Nov 29 2008, 10:43 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,851 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
I prefer to buy sold down stocks ( more or less penny now ) but they are still fundamental good though not very strong. I do check with analyst reports from time to time.
Why I prefer Penny Stocks ( with fundamentals ) for medium to long term ? 1) I can buy in bulk e,g 30,000 to 40,000 shares 2) using DCA is not a real problem 3) What comes down , would eventually go up one day 4) Stocks that have the chances to appreciate 50% to 100% in 6 months or 1 year time. Stocks I still hold 1) KNM 2) Kinsteel 3) Huaan Sold down stocks bought and sold 1) IOI 2) TM My weakness is I tend to take profit if stocks surge 20% or more , instead of holding for long term. Holding Power is the key to investments now. For the purpose of sharing. Do not suggest you to buy. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 29 2008, 11:15 AM |
Nov 29 2008, 11:20 AM
1,470 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Securities Industry |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 29 2008, 10:41 AM) So, confirm going live on next Monday? Yeah,barring some other unforseen happenings,the system should go live (99.9%) on Monday.Airasia's rumour privitisation price is Rm1.30, so at Rm1.1x currently, there is no incentive for people to goreng already. The investment strategy differ primary the intention in the first place whether one buy the forget about it and every year earn 6-7% dividend out of it, or want to trade daily. For PLC (political linked stock like MMC, Zelan, MRCB) especially those high 'flavour' of politic influence one, trade is always a better option, as those are not quite suitable for really long term. Just my opinon, and experience. If stuck at higher price in some good stocks while the stock still can sustain a high dividend yield like 2x FD rate, then not much worry at all. Airasia will be sold down heavily on Monday due to he huge loss in the last Q.(just my opinion,buy/sell at your own risk.) |
Nov 29 2008, 11:40 AM
448 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 29 2008, 10:43 AM) I prefer to buy sold down stocks ( more or less penny now ) but they are still fundamental good though not very strong. I do check with analyst reports from time to time. May I ask waht is your avg price for Kinsteel and Huaan? Why I prefer Penny Stocks ( with fundamentals ) for medium to long term ? 1) I can buy in bulk e,g 30,000 to 40,000 shares 2) using DCA is not a real problem 3) What comes down , would eventually go up one day 4) Stocks that have the chances to appreciate 50% to 100% in 6 months or 1 year time. Stocks I still hold 1) KNM 2) Kinsteel 3) Huaan Sold down stocks bought and sold 1) IOI 2) TM My weakness is I tend to take profit if stocks surge 20% or more , instead of holding for long term. Holding Power is the key to investments now. For the purpose of sharing. Do not suggest you to buy. |
| Change to: | 0.0164sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:52 AM |