[GUIDE] Upgrade & Replacement of Xbox 360 HDD, UPDATED - V3.5 23/01/2009

benghee
post Nov 20 2008, 06:03 PM

Does this consider as console modded thread? i tot this is not tolerate in this forum...with the upgraded hdd suggested above, u probably can flash the firmware to play pirated games.
benghee
post Nov 20 2008, 06:57 PM

If i do this, will my warranty void? If so, then this method cant b practice at all, rite?
benghee
post Nov 24 2008, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(MmxZero @ Nov 20 2008, 07:08 PM)
Does your HDD located inside your console? If so then you have to open your console and then yes it will void your warranty console.
Just dig out the old question, but this modded trick is 100% definitely void your xbox warranty, no matter you remove the inside Microsoft sticker or not, as long as you modify/change any unofficial xbox original assembled parts without Microsoft service center, then your warranty is void. This is part of the Product Warranty statement in xbox.com:

(blah blah blah....)
F. EXCLUSIONS FROM LIMITED WARRANTY.

This Limited Warranty shall not apply and Microsoft has no liability under this Limited Warranty if the Xbox Product:

* is used with products not sold or licensed by Microsoft (including, but not limited to, non-licensed games and game enhancement devices, adaptors and power supply sources) or which are otherwise not compatible;
* is used for commercial purposes (including rental or lease);
* is modified or tampered with;
* • is damaged by act of God, power surge, misuse, abuse, negligence, accident, wear and tear, mishandling, misapplication or other unrelated to defective workmanship; • serial defaced, altered or removed;
* is damaged by programs, data, viruses, or files or during shipments;
* is not used in accordance with the accompanying documentation and use instructions; or

* is repaired, modified or altered by other than Microsoft authorised repair centers.

This Limited Warranty does not cover your data, any separate software or Xbox games whether or not packaged or included with the Xbox Product, or any Xbox accessories or peripheral devices that are not manufactured by or for Microsoft.
(blah blah blah....)

Since we dun hav any official xbox center here to claim our warranty, so who giv a sh** about above warranty? There is no such fairy tales about, ooo...i just void my HDD and console is still under the protection. well, ITS VOID YOUR WHOLE FREAKING 3 YEARS WARRANTY, ok. I just hate seeing some ppl who bought original console and against poor pirated console user while another hand also breaking its own xbox warranty by practicing some so-called-official-modification method.
benghee
post Nov 24 2008, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(MmxZero @ Nov 24 2008, 03:32 PM)
Like I said, these do VOID YOUR HDD WARRANTY, NOT CONSOLE .
Well, there is no such seperate warranty for your HDD and console, which mean, if u buy ur beloved xbox, it only has 1 warranty comes with and that represent all parts. In other words, if i ask you that i modify my controller, will it void my warranty, then you probably will answer, of coz no, my friend, u only void your controller warranty, not console biggrin.gif ...uhm, which is kinda stupid, rite coz there will be few warranty need to claim in a xbox system?

And i know u dun need to ship your hdd along wif 3ROD console to service center, but the issue is not regarding to any hardware failure here, its about whether have you broke Microsoft User Agreement if you tend to alter your genuine xbox 20GB hard disk to some self-modded laptop larger size hdd. Well, i dun really need to inform the moderator coz they also hard to differentiate which thread is modded tuition and which is not. Anyway, sorry for disturb those who really wanna learn this trick. Good luck modding. icon_rolleyes.gif
benghee
post Nov 25 2008, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 24 2008, 08:43 PM)
Lol... NO separate HDD warranty? Who fking told u so, benghee? Same like u go buy handphone, when u send for warranty, they ask for ur battery? Even i work at a shop, selling electronic dictionary, we request them to keep the battery and their memory card which BUNDLED together. And this self-modded shit is for the community. Hell yea, it broke watever shit microsuck agreement, but any pirating shit? Can u read lowyat.net xbox rules? Tat is void ur on warranty, on ur own sick. And we din do anything illegal by LAW. If u mod this hdd in front of microsoft HQ at redmond, CA, what can they do? They just say dude, u just void ur warranty. And that's all. Sorry for harsh language, becos ppl show this up to help the community, not like pirating. Everyone benefit from it, well except microsoft, where it suck ur money with rm600 for a 120gb hdd.
Sorry, ben3003, for offending your brother's thread here. There is really no separate part warranty in xbox system, just only one product warranty comes with your retail box. Well, i dunno others electronic like phone or dictionary coz different company has different warranty on their own stuff and we discuss xbox here, dun out of topic, please. And you seems angry on giant company sucking your blood money and turn out you do some modding just to not "agree" with their pricing strategies. I do appreciate your brother guide here and i just want to know more about the warranty agreement, not banning anyone and discourage anyone to follow this guideline. Just fyi, RM600 for a 120gb HDD also including the seller import duty, all operating cost (if u ever studied economy in class) and currency rate.

I have another out-of-topic personal question to ask u, isnt selling electronic dictionary a sunset business? coz nowadays almost everyone use any online device can google more accurate definition words over internet...and its free.

0.0268sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:56 AM