[GUIDE] Upgrade & Replacement of Xbox 360 HDD, UPDATED - V3.5 23/01/2009

Jcsy
post Apr 2 2009, 03:52 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

u need a mobo with sata

this is requirement of the tools to flash

it has specificly written to observe sata ports on mobo and if not there, you have 2 hex edit

using USB is not possible
TSMmxZero
post Apr 2 2009, 06:39 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(DarkSaviour @ Apr 2 2009, 02:37 PM)
i dun think u can flash ur hdd with USD to SATA
I think can. If my memory serve me right, I think someone in the net was able to do it. But I might be wrong. I remember reading it somewhere.

But I can be wrong also. icon_rolleyes.gif
Jcsy
post Apr 3 2009, 02:11 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

msn83235502, msn83235502

well, u gotta hex edit to enable the mobo to boot up and identify that sata drive

as the guide stated, its best to find a mobo with sata built in ports and hex edit towards that direction

thats what i did anyways and was successful

i read that USB cant actually , mmxzero smile.gif

however a small fraction of people might actually maybe got past the detection

msn83235502
post Apr 4 2009, 01:17 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 2 2009, 03:52 PM)
u need a mobo with sata

this is requirement of the tools to flash

it has specificly written to observe sata ports on mobo and if not there, you have 2 hex edit

using USB is not possible
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 3 2009, 02:11 AM)
msn83235502, msn83235502

well, u gotta hex edit to enable the mobo to boot up and identify that sata drive

as the guide stated, its best to find a mobo with sata built in ports and hex edit towards that direction

thats what i did anyways and was successful

i read that USB cant actually , mmxzero smile.gif

however a small fraction of people might actually maybe got past the detection
ok..first of all.. my laptop dont detect the drive. (disk management didnt show any drive when i connect with it).
ermm.. one thing, when i read the tutorial, it says that u cant connect directly to sata port, is it means that we still need to use usb? did i miss anything? i'm sure the thing is not faulty since i'm using it with my external hdd.
TSMmxZero
post Apr 4 2009, 10:54 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Apr 4 2009, 01:17 AM)
ok..first of all.. my laptop dont detect the drive. (disk management didnt show any drive when i connect with it).
ermm.. one thing, when i read the tutorial, it says that u cant connect directly to sata port, is it means that we still need to use usb? did i miss anything? i'm sure the thing is not faulty since i'm using it with my external hdd.
Which tutorial said not directly to sata port? I suggest you tryng using a sata cable to test it out

msn83235502
post Apr 4 2009, 12:11 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

please do not connect your old hdd to pc through SATA directly, this may corrupt the old hdd sector and cause the x360 console can't recognize it. Once your hdd couldn't recognize by console or xplorer360, then just call it a day.
that one.
TSMmxZero
post Apr 4 2009, 11:16 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Apr 4 2009, 12:11 PM)
that one.
Dude read the whole sentence. He says connecting it for the 2nd time. This is a rare effect but it's for connecting for 2nd time.
rayns
post Apr 16 2009, 02:24 AM

i have problem here...my xbox hdd 120gb can't detect in pc..when using xplore360...it fatx could not find bla bla bla...can some guys help me...
hdd become unallocated disk in pc but can open in xbox...plz really need help
ralli_art
post Apr 19 2009, 02:04 AM

130 posts

heyy....sorry for asking a noob question. would like to find out how can i actually transfer all my files, profile, savegames from the old harddisk to the new flashed harddisk??

Added on April 19, 2009, 11:55 pmcan somebody pls help me....i manage to flash, format and did everything correctly on my new 120gb harddisk.

now i am having prob with my old harddisk. i connect my old harddisk to my pc using external case and when i open up xplore360 i dont see anything in partition 3.

anybody encounter this b4?? really need a solution for this.

This post has been edited by ralli_art: Apr 19 2009, 11:55 PM
DarkSaviour
post Apr 22 2009, 09:59 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(rayns @ Apr 16 2009, 02:24 AM)
i have problem here...my xbox hdd 120gb can't detect in pc..when using xplore360...it fatx could not find bla bla bla...can some guys help me...
hdd become unallocated disk in pc but can open in xbox...plz really need help
u need xplorer to open it up

ralli_art  Posted Apr 19 2009, 02:04 AM
  heyy....sorry for asking a noob question. would like to find out how can i actually transfer all my files, profile, savegames from the old harddisk to the new flashed harddisk??

Added on April 19, 2009, 11:55 pmcan somebody pls help me....i manage to flash, format and did everything correctly on my new 120gb harddisk.

now i am having prob with my old harddisk. i connect my old harddisk to my pc using external case and when i open up xplore360 i dont see anything in partition 3.

anybody encounter this b4?? really need a solution for this.
u can't use external casing.. u need direct from board to ur hdd

msn83235502
post Apr 22 2009, 12:55 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

hurm.. i guess no luck for me to upgrade the hdd... later need to buy a desktop lah... sad.gif
tradewind
post Jun 4 2009, 09:07 AM

What about us arcade users with no such hard disk? is the steps similar?

Added on June 12, 2009, 10:59 ammanaged to upgrade my Xbox360 HDD using a WD1600BEVT, but the hddhckr1.00 did not work with the harddisk, had to hex hddhackr0.91 then it works. Good luck to all

This post has been edited by tradewind: Jun 12 2009, 10:59 AM
figure8
post Jun 13 2009, 03:32 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

.manage to flash 3200bevt - 00zat0 without a problem. can't find 160G or 250G in my place..
tradewind
post Jun 13 2009, 08:06 PM

figure8, which hddcrck u used? ya... hard to get 160gig
figure8
post Jun 13 2009, 08:24 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

hddhacker 0.91...

This post has been edited by figure8: Jun 13 2009, 08:29 PM
DrizziTx
post Jul 19 2009, 04:07 PM

hey all,
I registered to this forum just so I could reply here as this thread has helped me too thumbup.gif

a friend of mine requested my help in helping him convert his 20gig hdd to 120gig. all we could find was a 160gig hdd and so we ordered a WD scorpion blue 160GB disk, which should have been bevs, as the site we ordered from stated, but ended up getting a bevt. first few minutes I told him that I think it would be best to return the HDD and keep looking for a bevs, but seeing as how people succeeded with it we got bold and adventurous blush.gif thus we kept going and so I found hddhackr version 1.11 which solves 99% of the problems.

it supports ... wait , let me paste what they write, better , no?! wink.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(v1.11)
* Fixed issue, that sometimes caused flashing of Model Name to incorrect offset.

(v1.10)
* Added option to create Partitions 0/2/3 (no more manual hex editing)
* Bug fixed, that caused errors like "LBA size does not match"
* Improved compatibility
* Minor changes

(v1.00)
* Completely new version core
* Two flashing modes, Auto and Manual
* Western Digital Vendor Intro Power Brute for misflashed drives
* Minimized incompatibility problems
* Improved exception handling
* Confirmed HddHacker supports
- WD Scorpio Series BEVS/BEAS
- WD Scorpio Blue Series BEVS/BEVT
- WD Scorpio Black Series BEKT/BJKT
- WD VelociRaptor Series
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and so I can confirm that the auto mode did everything, created undo files, partitions, recognized the hdd as wd and so on, maybe the tutorial need some revision?
plugged it into his xbox, formatted it, as instructed by me, he played a game and saved. all worked fine. then I went on with transferring the data between the two hard drives.

personally I prefer the xport 360 program, I used version 2.03 and it's awesome in comparison to the other things recommended here and in other places, we tried the other ones and they didn't work well, plus xport 360 tells which file is connected to which game. I did a full image backup for him, so he has all files on his computer and in case of need can restore what ever he may need to the new hdd, that way he also have all the files on his pc in case I forgot to transfer something or HDD gets corrupted for any reason.

good luck y'all

p.s.
about corrupted saves talked about in previous pages, there are games that won't let you transfer saves no matter what, one list I found on the net stated the following games:

UNMOVABLE SAVE GAME FILES:
Ace Combat 6 (can move but not copy)
Call of Cthulu: Dark Corners of the Ear
Crimson Skies
Dead or Alive 4
Fable: The Lost Chapters
Ghost Recon 2
Indigo Prophecy
Perfect Dark Zero
Raze's Hell

I do know rockband won't let you (I bought a new console, used the old hard drive ,bought an arcade which comes with no HDD as i already had one, and saves did not work anymore) and I've seen somewhere that burnout 3 won't let ya either
Takako
post Jul 26 2009, 01:43 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(DrizziTx @ Jul 19 2009, 04:07 PM)
hey all,
I registered to this forum just so I could reply here as this thread has helped me too  thumbup.gif

a friend of mine requested my help in helping him convert his 20gig hdd to 120gig. all we could find was a 160gig hdd and so we ordered a WD scorpion blue 160GB disk, which should have been bevs, as the site we ordered from stated, but ended up getting a bevt. first few minutes I told him that I think it would be best to return the HDD and keep looking for a bevs, but seeing as how people succeeded with it we got bold and adventurous blush.gif thus we kept going and so I found hddhackr version 1.11 which solves 99% of the problems.

it supports ... wait , let me paste what they write, better , no?! wink.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(v1.11)
* Fixed issue, that sometimes caused flashing of Model Name to incorrect offset.

(v1.10)
* Added option to create Partitions 0/2/3 (no more manual hex editing)
* Bug fixed, that caused errors like "LBA size does not match"
* Improved compatibility
* Minor changes

(v1.00)
* Completely new version core
* Two flashing modes, Auto and Manual
* Western Digital Vendor Intro Power Brute for misflashed drives
* Minimized incompatibility problems
* Improved exception handling
* Confirmed HddHacker supports
  - WD Scorpio      Series BEVS/BEAS
  - WD Scorpio Blue  Series BEVS/BEVT
  - WD Scorpio Black Series BEKT/BJKT
  - WD VelociRaptor  Series
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and so I can confirm that the auto mode did everything, created undo files, partitions, recognized the hdd as wd and so on, maybe the tutorial need some revision?
plugged it into his xbox, formatted it, as instructed by me, he played a game and saved. all worked fine. then I went on with transferring the data between the two hard drives.

personally I prefer the xport 360 program, I used version 2.03 and it's awesome in comparison to the other things recommended here and in other places, we tried the other ones and they didn't work well, plus xport 360 tells which file is connected to which game. I did a full image backup for him, so he has all files on his computer and in case of need can restore what ever he may need to the new hdd, that way he also have all the files on his pc in case I forgot to transfer something or HDD gets corrupted for any reason.

good luck y'all

p.s.
about corrupted saves talked about in previous pages, there are games that won't let you transfer saves no matter what, one list I found on the net stated the following games:

UNMOVABLE SAVE GAME FILES:
Ace Combat 6 (can move but not copy)
Call of Cthulu: Dark Corners of the Ear
Crimson Skies
Dead or Alive 4
Fable: The Lost Chapters
Ghost Recon 2
Indigo Prophecy
Perfect Dark Zero
Raze's Hell

I do know rockband won't let you (I bought a new console, used the old hard drive ,bought an arcade which comes with no HDD as i already had one, and saves did not work anymore) and I've seen somewhere that burnout 3 won't let ya either
thanks for ya information,
it's useful!
nicolaspower
post Aug 9 2009, 08:43 AM

WILL A WESTERN DIGITAL 160GB WD1600BEVT SCORPIO BLUE SATA

# Μέγεθος Σκληρού: 2,5''.
160 GB.
5.400 rpm.
SATA 3.0 Gb/s (Max).
Read Seek Time: 12 ms.
Average Latency: 5.5 ms.
Buffer: 8 MB.
WD1600BEVT.

PLEASE REPLY A.S.A.P

BY THE WAY AWESOME GUIDE GOOD JOB!! rclxms.gif biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
Lakum
post Sep 1 2009, 08:04 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(nicolaspower @ Aug 9 2009, 08:43 AM)
WILL A WESTERN DIGITAL 160GB WD1600BEVT SCORPIO BLUE SATA

# Μέγεθος Σκληρού: 2,5''.
160 GB.
5.400 rpm.
SATA 3.0 Gb/s (Max).
Read Seek Time: 12 ms.
Average Latency: 5.5 ms.
Buffer: 8 MB.
WD1600BEVT.
  PLEASE  REPLY  A.S.A.P
BY THE WAY AWESOME GUIDE GOOD JOB!! rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
By looking at the post above (2 above) it looks like that person (Takako) manage to do it with WD 160gb Scorpio Blue BEVT. I'm planning to get that model too.
Lakum
post Sep 5 2009, 11:45 AM

Slave New World
690 posts

HddHackr 1.11 is great with Auto flashing mode. I dont need to do hexing too. I dont even know what it for, maybe for someone who got problem? I manage to do the mod with WD3200BEVT. Ya i know its way too big sweat.gif I dont care..hehe. Most fully i just follow the on screen instructions with HddHackr 1.11. It is easier than the 1st page shows here.

I hope the "250gb Super Elite" is true so i can upgrade the HDD again later thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Lakum: Sep 5 2009, 02:02 PM

21 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:06 AM