Online trading with i*Trade@CIMB, Trading using i*Trade@CIMB? join here.

trainee06
post Nov 19 2008, 06:49 AM

36 posts

hope it helps.....

Actually the minimum brokerage is RM12 not RM28. Bettter give a call to your remisier.

"if you place in 1k and they let u trade up to 3k"
This is because your itrade account is actually securitised account which the limit be based on your collataral of shares and trust. Trust multiplier will be 3 times. That's why you got 3k when you place 1K.

If your using direct account (which is actually against remisier limit) you don't have to put in any collateral

"If you don't have money in your trust account, you could not trade (buy) right? Unless you have a margin account?"
If you have a direct account, you don't need to put in trust or any collateral.

Actually they have few type of trading account.
-Direct account.

-Securitised Trading Account (you will have Noms CDS account, so cannot apply IPO)

-Securitised Direct Trading Account. (It's actually is a mix of both account above. You will have your name in the CDS account but you need to have collateral in your account before you have limit to buy)

Remember if you have direct account, your limit will be against Remisier Limit. so it will depends on how much remisier deposit he got and how much losses his client inccur.

Securitised account, your limit will be base on the collateral you have. ie. shares and trust.

"actually cimb does not have invesment bank"
Actually CIMB has an investment bank just they change it to the name of investment bank since the name of investment bank so popular. Actually they started with investment bank aka merchant bank.
as you can see the name Commerce International Merchant Bankers.
after a period of time, they have an idea, "since we do all the corporate action for clients [such as IPO and etc], we should have a securities firm as well to earn more income." so, they bought an securities firm.

Later on, the CEO want to full banking services, so what is left out is commercial bank, therefore, Bumi-Commerce came in.
[correct me if I am wrong.thank you smile.gif ]

the name show up as "CIMB INVESTMENT". Is it safe for me to transfer the money into the account? Is it my account or a general account?
Well, it is safe, after you bank in better let your remisier know and remember to fact in your bank in slip or email to them. so they will punch it the trust into your trading account for you straight away. or else you will need 2-3 days only you can see your trust. yes a general account.
to withdraw your trust just feel up the withdrawal form (either your call your remisier to do it for you or you fill in yourself) and fax to them. IF TT my advice is better one day before, because bank have cut off time. Your form should reach to them before 9.30am.

The difference between normal and odd lot is:
normal lot will be 100, 5000 and etc
odd lot will be having something like 11, 101, 10005, 210

This post has been edited by trainee06: Nov 19 2008, 06:58 AM
trainee06
post Dec 18 2008, 04:51 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 1 2008, 08:52 AM)
What is the difference of trade using itrade and using CIMBClicks?
CIMBClicks (aka CLicktrader) is a special product where the brokerages is flat rate, RM8.88. No matter how big the volume you trade. i.e. your trade amount RM1k or RM1 mil.
However, they don't have the price averaging.
For example, you key in buy 100 units of stock X, then you key in another 300 units of stock X.
If you have price averaging it will combine two order, you will have one purchase contract 400 units of stock X. (your brokerage, stamping, and clearing fees on charge one time)

For CIMBClicks, you will have two diferent contract. therefore, you have two seperate brokerages charges, therefore, you are charging RM8.88 for your respective contract i.e. 100 units contract and 300 units contract. (including your stamping and clearing)

note: purchase contract number without price averaging will start with P0123456
with price averaging will start with PA12345
sales contract will be start with "S"

besides, clicktrader you have to have at least RM10k in your trust to have limit.
for example, you have RM10k and you bought RM3k today. tomorrow you will have no limit even you have balance RM7k. any amount less than RM10 will have no limit. the more trust you have the more limit you have (subject to the maximum trading limit you have, ie you have trust of RM200k but your maximum trading limit is RM100k. you only have RM100k.

you sales amount will not issue you cheque but will put back in your trust. so you need to withdraw from the trust.

Hope the above answer your question biggrin.gif

Added on December 18, 2008, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 26 2008, 10:00 AM)
What is the role of the dealer? Are they the same as remiser?
dealer role is the same as remisier.
remisier. run their business on their own. they find their own client.
dealer usually is under the broking house. company client will park under them.

Remisier income will be from the brokerage(commission) which is sharing basis with the broker house. e.g. 60-40. dealer income can be commission or salary.

nearly forgot. usually if your account under dealer, you need to bank in trust only have limit. because dealer unlike remisier where trading limit based on remisier deposit and your losses will "eat up" remisier trading limit

This post has been edited by trainee06: Dec 18 2008, 05:08 PM
trainee06
post Dec 18 2008, 07:34 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 18 2008, 05:46 PM)
Thank you, trainee06 for the wonderful explaination. You work at CIMB? tongue.gif Kidding ...

By the way, for:
I'm assuming you're referring to CIMB itrade not CIMBClicks.

A little further clarification needed. Do you mean the averaging will be done if you placed two seperate BUY instructions on the same day or what? How does the averaging be applied?

By the way, does i-trade down in the afternoon session? I got error message of maintenance.

Thank you.
yeah the order must be the same day, it will average the all the price and all order you trade in the same day for the same counter to one single contract. e.g.
1,000 unit of X at RM1.00
2,000 unit of X at RM0.99
1,500 unit of X of RM1.01

at the end of the day you will have one single contract of 4,500 unit of X at the "average price". since one contract you only need to pay brokerage, stamping, clearing for once.

without averaging will be 3 different contract, therefore, your brokerage, stamping, clearing will be charges respectively.
e.g. your minimum brokerage is RM40 then you have to pay for RM120.

correct me if i am wrong hahaha a lot of sifu in LYN. tongue.gif

i dunno whether i-trade down or not. Recently cimb having landslide. if not mistaken they cannot work in the building, so i guess they evacuvated to the disaster recovery centre. Might be some maintenance of their server or connection having problem.

trainee06
post Apr 1 2009, 02:02 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(jys @ Mar 27 2009, 10:00 AM)
I think this is the Click Trader account.. I went to CIMB branch yesterday wanted to ask them about ItradeCIMB and they kept telling me about this Click Trader account. It seems like they know nothing about the ITradeCIMB.

Oh ya, and the officer told me currently the click trader account, u don't need to maintain 10K in ur account, u can use that 10K to trade as well..
Of course lah. Because Click Trader Account is a product develop by the CIMB Bank (Red Colour) Itrade is develop by the CIMB Investment Bank (Blue).

Bear in mind if you account don't maintain 10k you don't enjoy the rate of RM8.88. the rate will charging normal internet rate. (like Itrade) sad.gif

Added on April 1, 2009, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(peace_fun @ Mar 29 2009, 09:08 PM)
so if i tick "Cross Border Securities Trading" as well, is it can be used immediately after my i-trade account been approved? normally how long need for the approval if i apply for I-trade Online Trading + Cross Border Securities Trading?
When i trade in US market, is the procedure to trade same as in Malaysia market?

Also i would like to know how much brokerage or any other fees for trading in US market?...thanks
Normally cross-border need a longer period of time, if not mistaken 2 days. Because the account is open at singapore (cimb-gk) not malaysia.

This post has been edited by trainee06: Apr 1 2009, 02:08 PM
trainee06
post May 5 2009, 08:08 PM

36 posts

What I heard are below:

CIMB is a "manual company" everything is still using man power to operate. Just like the click trader withdrawal. Yeah, 24 hours you can key in your withdrawal. However, you request is still pending the officer to do it manual. Their system is not that advance, plus using few different system between bank and investment bank. therefore, a lot of data need to extract manually to verify for each transactions.

for example for click trader withdrawal:
Your request is submitted and waiting for the approval from the investment bank side. So investment bank officer will first check their system any outstanding purchase and whether you have enough trust to withdraw. Too bad is the data showing is yesterday closing data which means the system is not in realtime. Every morning the data will be pump to the investment bank system are yesterday data. after that, anything you do during the day will not relect in the investment bank system and only show in the bank side only.

as a results, sometimes your request feedback shows insufficient funds because system in the investment bank side cannot see the latest info.

Lets said, the officer in the investment see the figure, and approve the request, it will route back to bank side officer to manual to perform the withdrawal (which means transferring the money into your respective account). once single request they have to route here and there.

Recently they try to automate the process but only to bank side which means only investment side only verify your request with the system manual and approve the request. then bank side will automate to transfer the money. Too bad is some account still yet ready especially those islamic account. It will show invalid account. Besides that, you cannot do full withdrawal, cause the bank side automatic reject. must have at least minimum RM10 in the account.

trainee06
post Jun 10 2009, 09:35 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Jackieboy @ Jun 8 2009, 08:31 PM)
Just wondering what's the difference between iTradecimb and Clicks Trader account?
Itrade is a normal intenet trading account. (cimb invesment bank product)
Click trader acount is actually develop by the cimb bank (red colour) using cimb investment bank platform. you can call it cross-selling between the group.

click trader is actually a product for a special RM8.88 flat rate per transaction (no price averaging). but there is a lopp hole many client have other account transfer the shares to click trader acount to enjoy the special rate. therefore, recently they charge for a transfer fees.

Besides, click trader RM8.88 is only apply for the min RM10k in your account. if you have no money in your account you don't have the limit to buy. so if you have RM14k, you can buy up to RM14k only. You need to top up if you buy further.

since click trader develop under cimb bank therefore any complaint request take longer time. every single section is separated into bank, investment bank and help desk. so, you complaint/request need to circulate from help desk to investment bank and follow to bank. sometimes need to route to ib then bank and back to IB again. any of you wthdraw your trust with a feedback of "Pending CIMB IB Trading account". this is because IB yet to receive the document from bank side and they cannot locate the account.

recently, Investment bank trying to cut cost. restructing of manpower (e.g. 3 person job become 1 person job) and start fired their staff if they do mistake. i heard some department staff already request for more staff because not enough staff and yet they purposely freeze the hiring. when the staff cannot complete, then they fired the staff. rumours got 4 staff already get fired. In paper they said no retrenchment but using dirty tactic to reduce head count.
trainee06
post Jul 22 2009, 06:29 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(jys @ Jun 24 2009, 03:43 PM)
wow.. tried to send email to itrade and my email bounce back..

" Error delivering to Retail Equities/MY/CORP; Router: Database disk quota exceeded"

since i split the ratio to 70:30, can i just use edeposit to deposit money into my itrade account, the 30 will automatically shown in cimbinvest?

can i do that?
2 Retail Equities staff resign......
trainee06
post Jul 26 2009, 08:46 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jul 22 2009, 10:35 AM)
cimb so bad meh?
I don't know. I heard is a manual working process company.
Few weeks ago, i even heard there is a loop hole of limits calculation for those who buy US shares. Their limit use for US shares previous night transaction will not adjusted. This is because, CIMB need to manually download the US transactions in the morning and manually calculate one by one. After that only manully adjust the BFE (Broker Front End )for local limit and sending email to CIMB-GK Singapore to adjust cross-border limit. As a result, early morning limit will not reflect the US shares trading usage. The adjustment will start after 9.00. Depends when the download finish. Imagine if a lot of transactions and a lot of people buying US shares. I guess they need more time to calculate. after 10amonly start adjusting? smile.gif All done by human and calculator....

The risk to CIMB. imagine you bought RM20k US shares last night. the next morning you have extra RM20k and you key in more local shares and order match. hahahah rclxms.gif
trainee06
post Jul 30 2009, 08:33 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jul 29 2009, 10:40 PM)
try call them

Added on July 29, 2009, 10:44 pm

cross border not direct under cimb singapore?
Not really.
All cross border account must go through CIMB-GK Singapore. You need to have an account with CIMB-GK Singapore only can trade overseas shares. However, you can open thru CIMB Malaysia. To trade with US shares remember to sign 8-Ben form (not BEN-10...hahahaha).

CIMB don't have the platform to trade foreign shares and they need to "deal" with CIMB-GK Singapore trading platform to trade foreign shares. Usually need to take 1-2 days to open cross-border account because they need to send the application form to Singapore. CIMB-GK Singapore then will assign a client code back to CIMB Malaysia and they will link the client code with your local client code. CIMB-GK Singapore will not recognise your local client code.

If you need to increase your Cross-Border ratio or limit. CIMB Malaysia need send them an email to increase using the Singapore client code. Usually it take longer time to increase Singapore limit because all limit will be update in Singapore trading platform. Malaysia can't do anything except follow up call only. Besides Malaysia have limited access of the info about your trading in Singapore. Therefore, until now not limit given for Singapore shares in Direct or non-direct Securitised (Collateral). Malaysia back system cannot accomodate. They plan to enhance their system. The matter is when????

If you want increase limit to buy US shares remember to tell them you want night limit. Or else you end up no limit.
Malaysia can't see exact limit you have in Singapore. They need to call them. Malaysia back system can see the shares you purchase on the next day after they downlad from Singapore. That's why US shares have a loop hole. Because US market open at night. when they run day end, data is not capture. So. they only acn download the data next morning and manually calculate before update accordingly to your cross-border account and local Bursa limit. So, in the morning again they need to email Singapore to adjust your limit accordingly.

About the limit calculation.
example: You have RM100k and ratio is 50:50.
Therefore, you have RM50k for Bursa and RM50k for Cross-border
If you need more limit for cross-border, either you need increase your limit or adjust your ratio.
usually, when you need urgently say additionaly 30k they will send an email to singapore to update your email and reduce your local bursa limit.

As a conclusion, you accout still manage by CIMB Malaysia and not CIMB-GK Singapore. If any issues, CIMB-GK Singapore will contact CIMB Malaysia not the client. To CIMB-GK singapore their client is CIMB Malaysia. Our account is something like the sub-account to CIMB Malaysia.

trainee06
post Aug 10 2009, 03:32 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(yapbswan @ Aug 4 2009, 11:25 PM)
Further your understanding, please refer to the scenario below:

Trust money: RM10k
Trading limt: RM30K (3 times based on your cash)
Trading limit ratio set at 70:30 (Bursa:Cross Border)

Available limit in bursa: RM21k
Available limit in cross border: RM9k

RM9k in SGD will shown in CIMBinvest when you click on buy/sell.

Added on August 4, 2009, 11:27 pm
WHO ARE YOU?
yes, how can I help you? smile.gif
trainee06
post Nov 12 2009, 02:22 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Nov 1 2009, 10:15 PM)
what is the difference between direct trading account and securitised trading account?
Direct trading limit against your remisier/dealer's collateral
securitesed against your own collateral.

if your remisier got not much deposit, shares and etc then most of the time you don't have limit to buy
e.g. remisier pledges in RM10,000 which have multiplier of 12 (just an example, some have lower multiplier)
so your remisier have 120,000 limit which shares among all his/her direct trading account clients.
if remisier other clients have outstanding (losses/purchase) is 100,000 then he left only 20,000.
even you have 50,000 approved limit, you only can buy up to 20,000. in order to buy more, your remisier/dealer need to top his/her deposit, settle other client losses or purchase, or you put some money in your trust.

when your remsier/dealer start asking you to convert securitised account, you should know one thing. his/her limit is not enough due to deposit is limited or he got client got outstanding (losses or purchase) that use up his trading limit.

for securitised,
normally cash 3x. shares depends on counter and some shares have capping price.
e.g. if you have Rm10,000 trust money in the account. you have Rm30,000 limit even if your approved limit is Rm50,000. however, if you have trust RM100k, you will have only RM50,000 cause approved limit is Rm50,000.

0.9519sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:23 AM