All Things About BLU-RAY | V9

Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 13 2008, 12:32 AM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 12 2008, 10:50 PM)
For vpost, best deal is to order per bulk is 10-15 titles per shipment but
as long you can get good deal and not the exceed the RM500 limit otherwise
there is a risk in getting taxed by customs.
that one should be good for bulk order business. like what you guys are doing. thumbup.gif

but for personal..hehe...4-5 titles cukup la.

aiyo..i'm selling off Dr. No, and also Forbidden Kingdom. Whoever interested, please PM me!

(need to pay off bills!)

icon_question.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 13 2008, 12:20 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

wah..caspian in cantonese? cool!

hmm..everybody holiday shopping for blu-ray..hehe..good2! dunno whether santa gonna bring me some BDs or not.

Santa also can kena tahan by kettam. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 15 2008, 08:23 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

hey guys, just to share with you something. maybe most of the veterans here already know this la.

i called up DHL to ask on my still-delayed Tropic Thunder which is at stupid finas. Long story short, had a nice chat with the DHL guy in charge of handling release permits from finas.

basically, nowadays finas giving orders to kastam to forward all amazon boxes with dvds to them because they are aware of blu-rays and they want to look it through. to check whether the titles have been shown here in Malaysia or not. reason? because blu-ray is very clear and they're afraid of piracy.

but of course this depends on the kettam side. if they get a lot of packages in one flight, most probably those duty free packages will escape them. so no finas.

but ur unlucky, and the flight carrying your package has little stuff, and u get those hard@$$ pegawai, they will be a very good little boy scout and give it to finas.

hence that's why i still have my ONE keping of blu-ray STILL bloody stuck at finas as they have backlogs of amazon stuff.

and they need to come up with the letter of release before they give the thing to dhl...guess what? the office has 2 people (like mentioned previously), one of them is in charge of typing the damn letter (whom the counter people say "bermasalah") and then he has to give the letter to the other one guy to sign the damn thing. the guy supposed to sign this is always busy because he needs to jaga the bilik tayangan and whatever la.

stupid, inefficient, and time wasting. the only thing i'm glad is that they're not charging me. so that's the only reason why i'm waiting for it with my sanity intact. shakehead.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 15 2008, 08:29 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 15 2008, 08:17 PM)
(shakeshead)

OMg u guys dare to use Amazon.com to order... it's like... WTH happen if I click buy, credit card processed but nothing happens...  blink.gif

I still dare not... If I order oso just Msia oni...

Anyways, what's the advantage of buying via Amazon when can get the movies here ? I know certain titles like Musical BDs are rare... but movies like 'Hulk' and 'Wanted' ??
amazon.com is 100% trusted and certified and their packages ALWAYS reach to us unless it gets lost during shipping (which could happen for standard airmail, but rarely so). Even if you never receive your item, you can ask for a refund after 30 days (IINM).

a lot of forumers here have been ordering from amazon.com a lot of times and there's nothing to worry about.

HOWEVER, what's to worry is our beloved customs or FINAS. they are the usual pain in the necks.

what's the advantage? despite the high shipping price (if you order via courier - standard shipping is very cheap), the price of a BD (provided you order by bulks) is way cheaper than buying here locally.

It could be as low as RM 110 per piece compared to RM 149 or RM 179 from speedy. (Even lower if you use services like vPost, etc).

So yeah, if you don't mind spending the extra RM 40 - RM 60 per piece, sure..buy at our local shops. nobody is stopping you. smile.gif

there are definitely pros and cons for both methods, but well..to survive you must know the survival tips.
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 15 2008, 08:36 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(kkChan @ Dec 15 2008, 08:09 PM)
Oh!! I juz received their reply (from India?/).. quite a confusing process...

damn!! now they want to charge me higher than my purchased black friday price!!??  shakehead.gif

Only see their lousy service!!  doh.gif
Just shouted them back to ask them just send me the goddamn disc 4!!!
kkChan..read properly what they wrote before you go firing their behinds.

from what i understand, same as kianwee:

they have to charge you on the invoice when shipping back the replacement item...but they will refund the same amount for the original order. meaning that you're not paying anything la. it's just their process.

then you have to return the item which you lodged a report to them, and let them know the costs. IINM they will bear the costs, and probably refund you too.

they're experienced with this, so they know what they're doing.

unless if it's our local setup, then yeah they could be incompetent.

QUOTE(tepetlah @ Dec 15 2008, 08:29 PM)
just call BPA (biro pengaduan awam).tell them your story..
will it actually matter? cos basically they're supposedly doing their 'job'. they can always say that they have backlog bla bla bla [insert government bulldinky here].

but nonetheless, i will look up on that. thanks bro! smile.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 15 2008, 08:43 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Dec 15 2008, 08:38 PM)
So from now on all Amazon boxes will be passed on to finas 1st eh?
for now, IF you get a giddy boy scout, by the book kettam officer.

so:

1. finas knows well about blu-rays now
2. finas thinks it will be pirated
3. finas forgot that most of the movies that come out to blu-ray have been shown here months ago (except for indies or banned ones..which are few nowadays)
4. finas is stupid
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 15 2008, 08:59 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Dec 15 2008, 08:56 PM)
OT - RM1.80/liter from tomorrow, yeah more BDs to buy!  tongue.gif

SOS
good news. now when are blu-rays gonna be priced lower at speedy?

oh wait. finas still needs money.

(forgive me for the trend i'm making here laugh.gif )
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 15 2008, 09:03 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Dec 15 2008, 09:00 PM)
my package should arrive on dec 12(amazon(uk) estimate delivery date). using standard shipping. is;t normal? which party that i should call/verify to check this shipment. any helps much appreciated. thx
correct me if i'm wrong, but standard shipping is via pos malaysia, so they'll deliver it like normal letters. wait until a month, if it still doesn't arrive, then contact amazon.

since you have no tracking number, i don't think you can find the shipment. well unless you consider to go to your nearest post office and check it out there. hmm.gif

Added on December 15, 2008, 9:05 pm
QUOTE(ferricide @ Dec 15 2008, 09:00 PM)
Okla, now its costs lower to drive to Sepang to get ur BDs released rclxms.gif

Added on December 15, 2008, 9:01 pmDepressed, need to watch a feel good BD now smile.gif
aik harga minyak turun pun depressed? hehehe

i feel like watching a movie with heads exploding. Kill Bill? maybe. Sweeney Todd? Probably.

ah hell. i'll watch Hairspray.

at least it whets my appetite for HSM trilogy on BD. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Dec 15 2008, 09:05 PM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 15 2008, 09:10 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Dec 15 2008, 09:07 PM)
Yeah, the 10cent drop good news is being overwritten by the Amazon box tahan news.
It's times like these that the 'Pirates' BD is useful. Cheer you up for sure. laugh.gif laugh.gif

no..not even referring to that famous trilogy with Johnny Depp. brows.gif brows.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 20 2008, 11:41 AM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 20 2008, 10:03 AM)
g5sim posted this in the other section. You guys might wanna check it out:

http://search.inetvideo.com/search?w=blu-ray&view=grid
hmm..interesting! but they ship with which service? seems to me they give out standard shipping only.

can't find the FAQ..

but the prices and shipping rates are interesting enough. smile.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 20 2008, 11:45 AM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 20 2008, 11:13 AM)
44.17 x the difference 0.2/0.3 perhaps? from originally 5.4? ?
how much saving/difference?? tongue.gif not enuff makan 1 meal also biggrin.gif
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 20 2008, 11:42 AM)
boss u so humble la  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
hehe..actually correct what. savings will cover meals...depending on what type of meals u always have lor.

in fact if u always makan at gerai..sure cannot cover one. have to eat bread or the staple diet of noodles. hehe sweat.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 20 2008, 03:33 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(horray @ Dec 20 2008, 03:30 PM)
Yes, it was bugging me for the whole of last week! Feeling down, having withdrawal symptoms, cold sweat, shivering, etc. due to lack of quality HD content! Got my fix already and now ready for more! Grrr! rclxm9.gif
that's very good news bro! happy that you finally found a fix. i know how it feels when your beloved gadget just won't work properly and you search hi and low for the solution and get sleepless nights. and the feeling of relief that you got the solution and didn't have to spend a single cent (except for the streamyx subscription, but really, who's counting? tongue.gif ).

congrats! rclxms.gif

maybe those who had similar problems can also try what bro horray has done. smile.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 21 2008, 11:09 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

i can't really confirm which looks better, but i just read about native resolutions and stuff (late..i know) and realizing that pv80 has a native of 720p, you mean all this time i have been watching 1080p movies 'down-converted' to align with the native?

well..from articles i read, they say there's not really much visible loss of detail (unless you have eagle eyes).

so my question is, when i play movies my tv displays the input resolution. so it just displays it as info la right?

if this is the case, then i'd say i'm pretty much impressed with my pv80 then. cos it still looks sharp and i love the black levels. nod.gif

Added on December 21, 2008, 11:11 pmmaybe for those who want to understand the importance of hdtv resolutions can check this link:

http://www.cnet.com/hdtv-resolution/ icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Dec 21 2008, 11:11 PM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 24 2008, 05:38 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

i took half day mc wor...cos my nose as red as rudolph. so doctor knows i have to work for santa tonight..ganti rudolph. laugh.gif

merry xmas everyone! and a happy new year!

and to all Muslims, Selamat Menyambut Tahun Baru Islam, Awal Muharram! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Dec 24 2008, 05:39 PM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 25 2008, 10:25 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 25 2008, 09:27 PM)
1 GBP = 5.1157 MYR
BUY BUY BUY!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 25 2008, 10:41 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Dec 25 2008, 10:31 PM)
no more buy..

got other HD plan also.. hehe
hmm...new BDP + Kuro + sound system? hmm.gif brows.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 26 2008, 08:07 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

fuiyoo..boxing day special! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 26 2008, 08:40 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 26 2008, 08:37 PM)
Boxing Day also marks a sad day in history. Hundreds of thousands perished in 2004, may God bless their soul. Rest in peace.
oh yeah, totally forgot about that. Rest in Peace. notworthy.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 28 2008, 10:58 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Dec 28 2008, 08:42 PM)
finally got a chance to watch iron-man bd last nite. (a bit late huh smile.gif )

AQ is disappointing. PQ so so only. Gonna sell it soon. what a waste.

also, watched Harold & Kumar 2, the special features is damn cool. there is one feature which u could select which storyline u want and the story will move from it. for e.g. there is one scene where these 2 goons goin into a party, and you could choose all the chicks there to be either topless or bottomless, hehe, damn cool. full nudity also.

escape or c**k meat sandwich? hahaha laugh.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0399sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:02 PM