Gamers Retirement Lounge

Lord_Ashe
post Nov 18 2008, 09:44 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Nope, me not retiring any time soon. Pushing 30+, married, with a kid, it's the only thing that keeps me sane when work stress gets bad.

Besides, it's cheaper than going out for entertainment, I get to switch off the machine to play with my son, and like anything else, moderation is key. I'm hoping to still be alive when my son's generation gets his PS45 or Xbot9800.

Then I can say stuff like "when I was yer age I didn't have thought sticks!"
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 18 2008, 10:35 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Nov 18 2008, 10:01 AM)
Huhu, won't retire at all.

When I was a kid, I was hampered by limited funds.

Now when I'm working I can buy any games I want thumbup.gif
Kaya leh la buy any games you want tongue.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 19 2008, 09:08 AM

1,495 posts

It's true that gaming can cost some $ but if we look at the ratio of hours of entertainment/price it can be even cheaper than going to the movies!

i.e from my experience
COD4 (360): RM 170
Hours of play: 100 (SP + MP, based on 2 hours a day for 2 months)
Price/hours of entertainment ratio: RM 1.7 per hour.

Go to a cinema (if you're a family guy like me):
2 tickets = RM 22
Drink/popcorn combo = RM 10
Hours of play: 2
Parking: RM 3 (average)
Price/hours of entertainment ratio: RM 17.5 per hour

I'm sure there's flaws in that logic, but to me it's easy to justify the habit, plus if I get bored I can always switch it off.

Lord_Ashe
post Nov 19 2008, 02:27 PM

1,495 posts

Old geezer? Mana? Let me at him! tongue.gif

0.0161sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:12 PM