Definition of SQL and SPL?, Who can define it clearly?
TSDaViDcHiN
Nov 16 2008, 01:20 AM, updated 18y ago
I know SQL is Sound Quality Level and SPL is Sound Pressure Level.
But I still unclear about it's concept.
For SQL, does that means we listen to music at average volume and enjoy the nice quality sound?
And SPL, does that means those who install huge woofer and play high bass music?
Noob here, I listen to normal music, like Kenny G, then Jay Chou, Westlife, not much of Rock, but very much into trance songs. Guess Trance songs are mostly high bass song? I like to hear song loudly, 40 out of 62(62 is the max of my HU volume), after 40, the speaker will start to "blast", have to turn the bass to 0 only can play more than 40.
Can you categories me as SQ or SPL user?
jimmylim85
Nov 16 2008, 01:44 AM
Kenny G best for being SQL, why? Well SQL most important part is playing instrumental close to natural feel and the bass is soft type.
Techno and Trance is best fit in SPL category as the bass must be loud and hard!
ckmoy007
Nov 16 2008, 05:12 AM
i dunno but according to some source, there r 3. SQ = sound quality SPL= Sound Pressure Level SQL= 50/50 As for TS question, SQL u can listen at high lvl and still sound nice, but the bass wun be as strong as SPL users, cos if bass too strong will spoil the SQ of ur system. I myself oso like instrumental music, most important thing in instrumental genre is how the instrument sounds, for example, violin shud sound like violin or saxophone should sound like one and not like clarinet. tonality balance, accuracy and staging. Like just recently i heard a full Pioneer ODR system with 2 way front, damn the stage is superb... the instruments are not in a row like wat we hear in other lower end systems, they each have their own place. but it costs a lot too.
zilole9729
Nov 17 2008, 10:00 AM

juz wondering la. all those ol skool rap, better use sq or spl? i like listening to them too.
gubim
Nov 17 2008, 10:50 AM
The beauty and character of goog of SQ 1. the singer seems to be singing in front of you, every musical instrument sound as it is 2. accurate sound reproduction in terms of tonality, sound staging(width, depth, height), ambience, imaging, linearity, dynamics
ckmoy007
Nov 17 2008, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(zilole9729 @ Nov 17 2008, 06:00 AM) juz wondering la. all those ol skool rap, better use sq or spl? i like listening to them too. i think SQL for rap is best. got bass and not losing too much in SQ. QUOTE(gubim @ Nov 17 2008, 06:50 AM) The beauty and character of goog of SQ 1. the singer seems to be singing in front of you, every musical instrument sound as it is 2. accurate sound reproduction in terms of tonality, sound staging(width, depth, height), ambience, imaging, linearity, dynamics very true, but do u know how hard is it to get these criteria correct? it's not so easy and at times can be very costly.
gubim
Nov 17 2008, 01:06 PM
yes ckmoy007 i agree with you...but i think there's nothing perfect. Every individual has their own preference and as for me i trust my ear and all my ICE is DIY. Basic thing in ICE is that...it is a combination of science and art of the system. Knowing the stuff we have and how we tune it corretly (based on frequency output it will produce) and also placement of every component in our car. Of course my stuff will not sound like it is if i put it at other car... The current technology and development in ICE world has improved a lot where some HU has time aligment and built-in crossover where can discriminate what i said above...
what i said is just my opinion and not necessarily fit to others
hushymushy
Nov 18 2008, 12:20 AM
SQ or SPL its just classification more importantly is to enjoy the music u like watever system doesnt matter...its the music
u'll find urself singing along and enjoying it whether its lousy or good system
with a good system, you probably get to enjoy more
TSDaViDcHiN
Nov 18 2008, 01:09 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 18 2008, 12:20 AM) SQ or SPL its just classification more importantly is to enjoy the music u like watever system doesnt matter...its the music u'll find urself singing along and enjoying it whether its lousy or good system with a good system, you probably get to enjoy more The reason I ask is to classified myself into the categories, If I don't know what category that I am, how am I going to buy those ICE stuff? Added on November 18, 2008, 1:10 amWhen I turn my engine off and listen to the music carefully, there's some "Qssssss" sound behind, does that means I need amplifier? This post has been edited by DaViDcHiN: Nov 18 2008, 01:10 AM
ckmoy007
Nov 18 2008, 03:02 AM
that is call 'pink noise', means there is distortion in ur system. u r more suitable to SQL, means half half. simple, get a decent HU and front component, and add 2x 12" subs at the back. there u go...  just mid end system will serve will real well, can enjoy music and show off whenever u wan to...
jimmylim85
Nov 18 2008, 08:46 AM
Usually SQ require one sub is good enough right? Having double or more seems to be more towards SPL basis right?
halia_merah
Nov 18 2008, 07:44 PM

i'm still lil'bit confuse bout SQ/SQL tat sound produce in front.i'm just tuning my ICE to SQ/SQL by some accessories shop tat can said hv win some competition in SQ.but when i go to another shop they said this tuning not right, some point or some tuning hv mistake.so adjust it again.and then another shop..also same got mistuned here and there..untill at last i hv tuning to wat nice to my ears.i'm sometimes got frustrated bout it...i hope tat sifu can give me an ide how i can adjust to be SQ/SQL.which mean, bout time allingment,cross over and so on..how to adjust it.. like time allingment..the basic adjustment wat's de meaning n how we can get it.. at least a basic..
bafukie
Nov 18 2008, 08:22 PM
lol... now why u wanna go visit so many audio shop for tuning purposes? Of coz each of them will say the previous tuning is not good/not correct because its quite obvious u are an easy meat to them! Hook up with some ppl with the same hobby. Learn and ask them to help u tune. Usually the cost is not more than 1 teh tarik
hushymushy
Nov 18 2008, 09:40 PM
first.....
SPL is just about loudness. as long as a system can achieve a certain db... thats it.... u hv achieved SPL
SQ is all about refinement. Tonality, musicallity, clean, transparent, wide, deep, height naturalness and so on....
i hope this is simple enough for you guys to understand
halia_merah
Nov 18 2008, 10:21 PM

QUOTE(bafukie @ Nov 18 2008, 08:22 PM) lol... now why u wanna go visit so many audio shop for tuning purposes? Of coz each of them will say the previous tuning is not good/not correct because its quite obvious u are an easy meat to them! Hook up with some ppl with the same hobby. Learn and ask them to help u tune. Usually the cost is not more than 1 teh tarik  here in my place very hard to find SQ lover..all crazy to SPL.tat's y i go to acc shop to be their friend.but in the end of the day i got lost.many thing tat confuse me..ha!3x QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 18 2008, 09:40 PM) first..... SPL is just about loudness. as long as a system can achieve a certain db... thats it.... u hv achieved SPL SQ is all about refinement. Tonality, musicallity, clean, transparent, wide, deep, height naturalness and so on.... i hope this is simple enough for you guys to understand how to archived it, then?
Vv.SoViEt.vV
Nov 18 2008, 11:54 PM
SQL is Structure Query Langauge and SPL is Sales and Purchase License..
jimmylim85
Nov 18 2008, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 18 2008, 09:40 PM) first..... SPL is just about loudness. as long as a system can achieve a certain db... thats it.... u hv achieved SPL SQ is all about refinement. Tonality, musicallity, clean, transparent, wide, deep, height naturalness and so on.... i hope this is simple enough for you guys to understand true, like the event happen in dB Drag Race, where there is a team using Soundstream product and recorded 170.6dB SPL level... imagine you're standing infront of those sound system pumping 170dB at you!
TSDaViDcHiN
Nov 19 2008, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Nov 18 2008, 11:54 PM) SQL is Structure Query Langauge and SPL is Sales and Purchase License..  F&F has enough of such post... please use your brain to think before you reply... Added on November 19, 2008, 12:10 amQUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Nov 18 2008, 08:46 AM) Usually SQ require one sub is good enough right? Having double or more seems to be more towards SPL basis right? Have the same question here, why 2 subwoofer instead of 1 woofer? 1 12" subwoofer is not strong enough for soft bass? This post has been edited by DaViDcHiN: Nov 19 2008, 12:10 AM
ckmoy007
Nov 19 2008, 02:43 AM
1x 12" can generate huge bass too, like if u r using Helix SPXL 12, can whack up to 140dB with single sub. it's not the number of dB or subs... it's the quality of bass needed in a SQ setup, precise, accurate, fast and able to play low as well, not necessary loud. While SQL, u gotta be loud while maintaining SQ, so, most will sacrifice on bass, use subs that can hit hard and low, especially those with heavy diffuser and large voice coil... can check through the sub specs, there's a unit call Qts and XMax, the larger the number of Qts, the heavier the diffuser, the larger the XMax, the excursion of the sub is larger, hence moving more air. they can go loud and low but they are not speedy. so, the choice is always urs on how u wan to set ur system. correct me if i am wrong. This post has been edited by ckmoy007: Nov 19 2008, 02:57 AM
Vv.SoViEt.vV
Nov 19 2008, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Nov 19 2008, 12:05 AM) F&F has enough of such post... please use your brain to think before you reply... chill la shessh. Looks like FnF is like Kopitiam now?
coldfusionpower
Nov 19 2008, 10:35 AM
yeah ... because dudes like u from kopitiam lor ... all migrate to fnf ...
mav_850
Nov 19 2008, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 18 2008, 09:40 PM) first..... SPL is just about loudness. as long as a system can achieve a certain db... thats it.... u hv achieved SPLSQ is all about refinement. Tonality, musicallity, clean, transparent, wide, deep, height naturalness and so on.... i hope this is simple enough for you guys to understand im not agree this.. bro in SPL oso hav quality... mid, tweet balance with bass.. not only the bass go too loud.. cant hear mid sound oso not good... cant hear song just bass.. fail rite? how bout if 2 woofer can beat 4 woofer?? this is quality... gegar or keras type... oso hav quality to consider rite... cara main pun lain... u must bumper to bumper then can beat... u know rite.. peace
driftmeister
Nov 19 2008, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(mav_850 @ Nov 19 2008, 05:02 PM) im not agree this.. bro in SPL oso hav quality... mid, tweet balance with bass.. not only the bass go too loud.. cant hear mid sound oso not good... cant hear song just bass.. fail rite? how bout if 2 woofer can beat 4 woofer?? this is quality... gegar or keras type... oso hav quality to consider rite... cara main pun lain... u must bumper to bumper then can beat... u know rite.. peace  No... in a SPL competition it's the dB which determines the winner no one will hell care about the balance u mentioned as for roadside "SPL" no idea
mav_850
Nov 19 2008, 05:08 PM

r u really sure?
bafukie
Nov 19 2008, 05:20 PM
mav, u been to a spl competition?
craziechild
Nov 19 2008, 06:15 PM
hehehe... check for iasca spl db drag in you tube la bro... i dun think that sq is good... dun even think they are bass sound...
for road side spl... well... i think if you follow what they said then you are just a rich kid they used to do free advertising for their shops...
i think the sifus are pretty sure how a spl competition should be...
driftmeister
Nov 19 2008, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(bafukie @ Nov 19 2008, 05:20 PM) mav, u been to a spl competition? lol i also wanna ask this lar..
hushymushy
Nov 19 2008, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(mav_850 @ Nov 19 2008, 05:02 PM) im not agree this.. bro in SPL oso hav quality... mid, tweet balance with bass.. not only the bass go too loud.. cant hear mid sound oso not good... cant hear song just bass.. fail rite? how bout if 2 woofer can beat 4 woofer?? this is quality... gegar or keras type... oso hav quality to consider rite... cara main pun lain... u must bumper to bumper then can beat... u know rite.. peace  bro.....i spoke about loudness....not bassiness how achieve SQ nirvana....first....ur ears and music feeling gotta be there understanding the tempo, feeling of the musical notes hahahahahahahaha the defination of SQ is just to subjective to argue....one man's ears r just different from another so how can u compare? SPL is something measured with d db meter...hence it is easier to gauge
TSDaViDcHiN
Nov 19 2008, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Nov 19 2008, 09:32 AM) chill la shessh. Looks like FnF is like Kopitiam now?  F&F is won't become Kopitiam if you stop you kopitiam style post. MOD already stop counting our post, you know that? Added on November 19, 2008, 8:57 pmQUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Nov 19 2008, 02:43 AM) 1x 12" can generate huge bass too, like if u r using Helix SPXL 12, can whack up to 140dB with single sub. it's not the number of dB or subs... it's the quality of bass needed in a SQ setup, precise, accurate, fast and able to play low as well, not necessary loud. While SQL, u gotta be loud while maintaining SQ, so, most will sacrifice on bass, use subs that can hit hard and low, especially those with heavy diffuser and large voice coil... can check through the sub specs, there's a unit call Qts and XMax, the larger the number of Qts, the heavier the diffuser, the larger the XMax, the excursion of the sub is larger, hence moving more air. they can go loud and low but they are not speedy. so, the choice is always urs on how u wan to set ur system. correct me if i am wrong.  Do you mean 2 sub can produce more solid bass than 1 sub? But 2 sub very expensive man.... This post has been edited by DaViDcHiN: Nov 19 2008, 08:57 PM
halia_merah
Nov 19 2008, 09:24 PM

so..wat is de creteria in SQ tat they take for competition?
jimmylim85
Nov 19 2008, 11:27 PM
besides SPL stands for Sound Pressure Level already clear our mind that the higher the pressure as in sense of dB level is the winner.
ckmoy007
Nov 20 2008, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Nov 19 2008, 04:54 PM) F&F is won't become Kopitiam if you stop you kopitiam style post. MOD already stop counting our post, you know that? Added on November 19, 2008, 8:57 pmDo you mean 2 sub can produce more solid bass than 1 sub? But 2 sub very expensive man....  2 sub is louder than 1 sub (given the same model and size of sub). but bass solid or not depends on the sub's and tuner capability regardless of how many subs u have. QUOTE(halia_merah @ Nov 19 2008, 05:24 PM) so..wat is de creteria in SQ tat they take for competition? there's a lot of criteria taken account for... like staging's width, depth and height, position of singer, bass coming from front or back, accuracy to hit every note, and etc... Added on November 20, 2008, 3:50 amQuoted from another forumer: Loudness is no substitute for musicianship, and partial deafness is no badge of honor. This post has been edited by ckmoy007: Nov 20 2008, 03:50 AM
MobyDick
Nov 20 2008, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Nov 18 2008, 03:02 AM) that is call 'pink noise', means there is distortion in ur system. u r more suitable to SQL, means half half. simple, get a decent HU and front component, and add 2x 12" subs at the back. there u go...  just mid end system will serve will real well, can enjoy music and show off whenever u wan to...  Thought 'Pink Noise' are only use for SQ tuning when we hook-up to the 30-band RTA. My opinion for SQ bass has always been to utilise single woofer configuration avoiding cancellation as no 2 woofer are produce with exact performance re-production within a small confine space of a car & we are also not goin in-car db beyond 120 for this application.
hushymushy
Nov 20 2008, 02:44 PM
well i heard very good SQ with 2 subs...but they were scanspeaks!
kenlimfornication
Nov 21 2008, 09:31 AM
So, how does roadside SPL people have db metres?
ckmoy007
Nov 21 2008, 02:42 PM
i saw some handheld SPL meters before, something like the old 'tai kor tai' handphone. although not so accurate but roughly can give u a reading.
adriankhoo153
Dec 19 2008, 10:48 PM
Now i baru understand bout SPL and SQL. Good info. I guess i am those SQL lover too. I dun like heavy deafening boom boom sound. I am more into power vocal like Billie Holiday type.
howiechoo
Dec 20 2008, 12:00 AM
think about it deeply, is it really SQL we should call for a loud n clear system? i would called it performance audio
while
SQL = sound quality level SPL = sound pressure level HPA = high performance audio
my mind telling me these make more sense.
ckmoy007
Dec 20 2008, 02:24 AM
SQL= Sound Quality Loud i think it's more appropriate HPA can be SPL or SQ, both can be very high performance.
howiechoo
Dec 20 2008, 12:09 PM
typical malaysian english
ckmoy007
Dec 20 2008, 05:07 PM
dun really agree about the 'typical malaysian english'. Even the russians understood when i said SQL, it's 50%SQ and 50% SPL.
hkspower
Dec 24 2008, 03:26 AM
SQL = sounds good and Loud and not like those one note fart machine