Showing Chinese Character in Filename

TSkelvinyam
post Nov 15 2008, 11:38 PM, updated 18y ago

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

I have loaded some music files with Chinese filename into the PC (running Vista Premium) but I can't have the filename decoded. I installed the latest version of NJS Viewer but it seems it doesn't work (an older version of NJS Viewer does work on my XP machine). I just tried with NJS Communicator and yet the Chinese filename still can't be decoded.

Help appreciated.
asellus
post Nov 16 2008, 03:40 AM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

Does Windows Explorer shows the Chinese filename? What player did you use anyway?
Ash
post Nov 16 2008, 04:10 AM

Legend
1,697 posts

make sure you have east asian language file pack installed in the regional and languages options @ control panel. With that installed you don't need any 3rd party chinese software to have your chinese characters decoded at all
TSkelvinyam
post Nov 16 2008, 07:49 AM

1,766 posts

My Vista comes with Dell PC, doesn't the language pack included? I mean I can select a Chinese input (via keyboard under regional setting), but I just can't get the filename to be displayed accordingly.
TSkelvinyam
post Nov 16 2008, 08:03 AM

1,766 posts

I think I have found a temporary solution from NJS website:
http://www.njstar.com/cms/support/howto/ho...vistas-explorer

The font does look ugly and not every letter is being decoded correctly. But I can still recognise the file name with 70~80% character decoded correctly.
andrekua
post Nov 16 2008, 03:13 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Just download a copy of Vista online and use it as backup whenever you want to install some extra stuffs. Some of the big retailer like Dell do have a copy of the i386 folder copied onto the hdd wor. Just search and see got or not.
hong0228
post Nov 19 2008, 10:34 AM

51 posts

in Vista, u should able to c ur music folder or file name in chinese character.
or u can do following method:
go to control panel > Regional and Language Options
at Administrative Tab, change ur system locale to Chinese (Simplified, PRC)

for example, if playing the music with windows media player, u may encounter that the music name in the list unable to display Chinese character.
try right click on the file, properties.
go to details tab.
u can re-edit the info of the file, then u should able to c the chinese character display correctly in windows media player.

FarCry3r
post Nov 19 2008, 01:07 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

My Vista Ultimate doesn't have problem displaying both Chinese and Korean characters. All files opened without problem unless the particular application doesn't have unicode support...
TSkelvinyam
post Nov 21 2008, 06:39 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(hong0228 @ Nov 19 2008, 10:34 AM)
in Vista, u should able to c ur music folder or file name in chinese character.
or u can do following method:
go to control panel > Regional and Language Options
at Administrative Tab, change ur system locale to Chinese (Simplified, PRC)

for example, if playing the music with windows media player, u may encounter that the music name in the list unable to display Chinese character.
try right click on the file, properties.
go to details tab.
u can re-edit the info of the file, then u should able to c the chinese character display correctly in windows media player.
I have tried that. Those file names would be decoded accordingly but English characters on the folder description became square boxes.
oxx_xx
post Jan 14 2009, 09:27 PM

99 posts

my video file name in chinese, but cant run when using real player...
then i put in another xp pc, can open...
how ?? help my vista lappy///

thx
ZeneticX
post Jan 14 2009, 10:14 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

there was a way to install applocale on vista

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/05/26/w...-windows-vista/

Shinja
post Jan 15 2009, 09:02 AM

112 posts

Need to install chinese for window lor...

0.0192sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:16 AM