Getting a Wii, what must i consider when buying?

TSkane_WWE_07
post Nov 14 2008, 10:57 PM, updated 18y ago

86 posts

hello im getting a wii. I want to ask all experts what i must consider when buying a wii. 2nd how much is the wii(roughly). 3rd if i mod my wii will the wii automatically connect itself to the internet?
RAMChYLD
post Nov 15 2008, 12:29 PM

1,715 posts

1. Consider the region. Weigh which region has more games you would like to play, and consider their quality. Remember: The needs of many outweighs the need of a few. Also, make sure you're willing to buy accessories. I.e. USB keyboard (handy when replying to messages tongue.gif ), Classic controller, etc. Lastly, understand that you might have to buy a step-down transformer or a new adapter if you go for the Japanese or US units (I opted for the latter, because for some stupid reason the US adapter head cannot fit into my stepdown, and I dun want to modify the adapter).

2. Most usually somewhere between RM1299 and RM1399 for US version, Japanese version is for some reason cheaper. Also, for some reason, modded Wii is cheaper than unmodded one (at least, when I surveyed Summit USJ and Subang Parade). Toys R Us and Best Denki sells unmodded US wii, but at an exorbitant price of RM1599. I'm betting you can get best deal if you ask Djinn, Ooj or other shopowners here.

3. The Wii usually cannot connect itself unless you go set up the internet connection. But do consider my advice: Dun get modded Wii. It's not worth the restrictions and the heartache in the unlikely event that some clueless lackey of a friend go and set up the Wi-Fi for you and do a update, and it bricks the Wii (after all, not many can resist the call of a Mario Kart Wii or Brawl session with complete strangers online).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 15 2008, 12:32 PM
john1010_ma
post Nov 16 2008, 02:03 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Nov 15 2008, 12:29 PM)
Toys R Us and Best Denki sells unmodded US wii, but at an exorbitant price of RM1599.
Hi Ramchyld, I believe the price at Best Denki at 1 utama is rm1300 without the Sonic game as that's where I bought my Wii around a month ago.

This post has been edited by john1010_ma: Nov 16 2008, 02:05 PM
TSkane_WWE_07
post Nov 17 2008, 10:01 AM

86 posts

Any1 want to help pm me.ty
Sairenji
post Nov 17 2008, 12:41 PM

78 posts

Speaking of wii version, Bernard and Nelson selling japan wii converted into US version. Is that a modded console? or it's just a modification so it can play all version of wii games. If i plan to buy wii, what version should i use? Japan or US? What version of wii of most Malaysian gamers usually have?
penman
post Nov 17 2008, 01:54 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Sairenji @ Nov 17 2008, 12:41 PM)
Speaking of wii version, Bernard and Nelson selling japan wii converted into US version. Is that a modded console? or it's just a modification so it can play all version of wii games. If i plan to buy wii, what version should i use? Japan or US? What version of wii of most Malaysian gamers usually have?
that's Mod.

Everyone should always get UNMODDED NTSC/US, and support ORIGINAL. 'cos that's the region designated for ASIA. icon_rolleyes.gif
Sairenji
post Nov 17 2008, 02:06 PM

78 posts

Gotcha, thanx for the info.
RAMChYLD
post Nov 17 2008, 02:40 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(john1010_ma @ Nov 16 2008, 02:03 PM)
Hi Ramchyld, I believe the price at Best Denki at 1 utama is rm1300 without the Sonic game as that's where I bought my Wii around a month ago.
My bad, sorry. Because last time I checked in on the price at Best Denki was almost a year ago rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 17 2008, 02:41 PM
Heero Yuy
post Nov 17 2008, 03:36 PM

505 posts

U can mod your wii to be region free!!!!!!!!!!!

0.0184sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:40 AM