SteelSeries Fan Club V2, Professional Gaming Gear
RMaliff
Mar 13 2009, 12:46 AM
The SteelSeries usb soundcard wasn't designed to be a main card for your sound. It was meant for gamers that travel alot. It doesnt really make you sound that much better but it gives you the option of customizing and keeping the same sound all the time no matter which pc you are at.
Performance between the neckband and the normal siberia is the same. They use the same speaker. Only the design varies.
I too was contemplating between the neckband and the normal siberia. In the end I got myself the Siberia with USB and I'd say it was very worth it. =D
RMaliff
Mar 13 2009, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(CasaNova™ @ Mar 13 2009, 01:01 AM) nope. the mousepad. actually we all know that. those usb soundcard are for lan purposes mostly. we are actually comparing the soundcard to the x-fi go. which sounds way better. lol i agree. steelseries isnt a sound company, but have to give them credit for doing a rather good job with it
RMaliff
Mar 13 2009, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(SuBryN3 @ Mar 13 2009, 08:41 AM) thx for the good info...thats the answer i wanted haha...if performance is the same then i know which one to get ady hehe =p means it is not recommended to get the sound card la??? coz it is kinda expensive for that sound card... =( If you are buying the bundle i recommend you to get it. I got the bundle for 380. If you buy separately the soundcard will cost 180 by itself. It's all up to your own preference actually =D
RMaliff
Mar 13 2009, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(9048 @ Mar 13 2009, 08:27 PM) Let me do the job. They have mentioned that Ikari Optical doesn't work well on Qck+ Fnatic Limited Edition.  Hence, yes optical mice do not function well on color surface( p/s: I dunno what colors are them) I've seen countless Ikari optical users using coloured mousepads. Doesn't seem to be giving problems from what I can see
RMaliff
Mar 14 2009, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(bv2427 @ Mar 14 2009, 12:21 AM) Nah. I have an Ikari Optical and the Fnatic SteelSeries edition. It's skips horribly when I move fast. lol. I better not get the Fnatic series when i get my ikari then
RMaliff
Mar 14 2009, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(lycan01 @ Mar 14 2009, 05:42 PM) i notice that there are 2 versions of ikari, namely optical and laser. i would like to ask, what are the differences? The main difference is the engine. As you can already know, one is using a laser engine, another an optical engine. The laser version can read and scan surfaces better and also at a higher rate. The exterior of the mouse is also different with the laser having a rubbery like finish on the middle. There is also a tiny lcd screen under the mouse to display your profile and settings. The optical has a lower rate and the exterior is made of shiny-ish plastic. According to most people, the optical is best optimized for fps games and sorts and the laser is best for rts and rpgs. But I guess anything works. All up to personal preference as I myself am using a laser mouse for fps
RMaliff
Mar 17 2009, 01:16 PM
maybe i should retire my g9 and opt for an ikari laser instead This post has been edited by RMaliff: Mar 17 2009, 01:17 PM
RMaliff
Mar 31 2009, 12:16 AM
Have to keep in mind that these headsets a first and foremost gaming spec. They are best tuned for gaming frequencies. The only headset that gives compromise for both music and gaming is the siberia. Though most audiophiles will certainly say that the siberia is not up to par with most music headsets.
RMaliff
Mar 31 2009, 04:14 PM
I want a neckband too! T_T
RMaliff
Mar 31 2009, 04:32 PM
Music, movies, games all have different set of frequencies set to them. Headphones like the siberia and 5h are focused on gaming frequencies.
RMaliff
Mar 31 2009, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(nazseha @ Mar 31 2009, 10:52 PM) oh..i really thinking to grab the siberia..maybe can get nice price at PC fair later... wana ask noob question,the usb sound card really increase performance of the headset? not only in gaming but in movie / music also is it? the sound improvement is very ok-ish for the SS sound card. but for me, the thumbs up for it is the ease of use. especially when u go to CC. the usb card will automatically take over as the main sound profile on the pc. because sometimes when you plug in straight to the jack, the computer doesn't recognize that you plugged something in. for me, having the usb card eliminated this problem
RMaliff
Apr 1 2009, 02:30 AM
QUOTE(Calvin_PB @ Apr 1 2009, 12:25 AM) haha, the card is just wan to make my self more convenient, and im no no rich  , i get x-fi go cos my 5hv2 mouz doesnt come wit usb card, and i tot it wound me easy for me, but too bad, it nid to install to use the setting every different pc i use...deng... since bought ady, no choice la, use lor... but in my experience this things not bad also.. , just hassle nid install wit different pc and not cheap also...lol  hehe. luckily SS soundcard just plug and play
RMaliff
Apr 1 2009, 02:35 AM
as it seems now. if u want better sound go fo xifi. if u want ease SS i guess.
RMaliff
Apr 1 2009, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(SuBryN3 @ Apr 1 2009, 06:03 AM) anyone got tips on how to hold the siberia neckband properly??? i have been trying it the whole night cant seems to wear it properly...keep falling down leh....and now my ears start to pain ady ARGHHHH wasted my money la... This has always been the neckband's problem. It will slide and it won't be comfy for long hours. I think i read somewhere last time saying you can make it better by adjusting the tensioners. Not sure how though.
RMaliff
Apr 1 2009, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(CasaNova™ @ Apr 1 2009, 11:47 AM) not only i get pwns, it get pwned so hard the ss soundcard would run and cry in the corner.  dun la kutuk my usb T_T damn sad hahaha
RMaliff
Apr 1 2009, 02:30 PM
I'm not sure about xi-fi but though the SS card can plug and play. but for customization of course you still need to install the software. For me I just plug and play at CCs. Too lazy to install the 7.1 surround software everytime This post has been edited by RMaliff: Apr 1 2009, 02:32 PM
RMaliff
Apr 1 2009, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(Calvin_PB @ Apr 1 2009, 03:40 PM) actually the x-fi also can plug and play, just when u nid the setting u has to install it to get that kind of sound setting tat u already been set and use to it at home, i stil can plug and play, but the sound would be slightly different from what i already install and set at home, so i nid to install everytime go wit different pc, so i guess the SS card also has to install to get the settings... but if u get the x-fi and don use it setting, for what getting the x-fi rite... pay so much just for usb output meh, then better get the cheaper version of creative usb soundcard... which is ony about RM 80+...  I guess. but I'm not very particular about sound. As long as its clear, crispy and solid. I'm good to go =D
RMaliff
Apr 1 2009, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(Calvin_PB @ Apr 1 2009, 03:56 PM) depends on what game u play mer, like fps game, footstep has to be very detail and clear...  yea. but for me, the siberia can give quite solid footstep positions
RMaliff
Apr 3 2009, 01:04 AM
 siberia neckband huhu
RMaliff
Apr 3 2009, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(SuBryN3 @ Apr 3 2009, 04:34 AM) yo bro hows ur neckband? nice??? XD im loving it. =D thanks bro!