SteelSeries Fan Club V2, Professional Gaming Gear

Clavicus
post Mar 24 2009, 07:08 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Mar 23 2009, 10:24 AM)
hi all, new user steelseries siberia here biggrin.gif..

just curios the L shape with velcro thingy inside the plastic.. its for hang the headset izzit. but like not strong enough.. i also dunno which one side to put the velcro..
Should be able to hold the mic's weight la. Not that heavy pun. Feels cheap actually. But from what i tried, anywhere further than 10 cm away from me is practically useless. Buddies keep complaining not loud enough. I ended up clipping my mic to the headphones wire, right under the left earcup. Tried my shirt, doesn't work that well either. sad.gif
Clavicus
post Apr 7 2009, 11:56 PM

765 posts

Icemat is made out of glass. Not shatter proof unlike the corepad, but it's a non issue unless you're real clumsy or travel often. In that case, you might want a cloth pad instead.

Any steel series booths during pc fair? Good to see that the brand is slowly making itself known in the local market.
Clavicus
post Apr 8 2009, 05:39 PM

765 posts

SS booth = Inter Asia booth? Confusing.

Glass pad no recommended for people with limited table space la. The mouse pad itself isnt big, but like calvin said, drop it once and its gone. Better have some headroom for the mouse pad.
Clavicus
post Apr 8 2009, 10:38 PM

765 posts

You sure about that, mate? I'm currently using an icemat with a copperhead, which runs on a laser engine, and I have no tracking problems whatsoever. It may be true that it will work better on optical mice, but I don't see how my copperhead can get any better. Perhaps laser might have issues with the transparent one, or so I've read on forums. So, get the black one. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Clavicus: Apr 8 2009, 10:39 PM
Clavicus
post Apr 8 2009, 10:56 PM

765 posts

Ah, crud. Just when I thought of getting an ikari. Any one else care to verify this? Edifier, perhaps?
Clavicus
post Apr 9 2009, 02:43 PM

765 posts

Sheeez. SS FAQ confirmed that Ikari Laser does not work with glass pads. If you happen to get your gear by today, let me know whether they work well with each other or not. smile.gif
Clavicus
post Apr 9 2009, 07:46 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Apr 9 2009, 06:54 PM)
Brother & Sister,

Pls visit SS booth on the coming fair smile.gif we need your support.
U can touch touch and play play SS stuff during the fair smile.gif
Just a question/request. Will the SS Experience/Icemat be on display?

EDIT: Rejoice!

QUOTE(dragonsteelmods)

One odd thing I noticed about the Ikari, and it's not a bad thing, is that in the SteelSeries FAQ it mentions that the Ikari is NOT compatible with glass mousepads, but yet it worked flawlessly on my Icemat 2nd Edition, which is the same as the SteelSeries Experience Mousepad since the companies were combined. Odd side note I guess, but I just found it a bit weird...

This post has been edited by Clavicus: Apr 9 2009, 08:01 PM
Clavicus
post Apr 9 2009, 11:46 PM

765 posts

Refrain from posting stuff like that lar.

Question. How do we determine the authenticity of the ikari? I mean, there are imitation siberias right?cuz I've been offered a rather attractive price for the ikari, but I'm dubious about it's origins ANC whatnot.
Clavicus
post Apr 14 2009, 09:01 PM

765 posts

Why SS states that the Ikari Laser does not work with its glass mats still remains a mystery to me. Marketing strategy, perhaps?

Happy Ikari + Icemat user here. Got my Ikari from PCFair as well. rclxm9.gif
Clavicus
post Apr 15 2009, 11:46 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Apr 14 2009, 09:50 PM)
The same theory as why they say SP isnt compatible with laser.. It's the material they use.

Are you the one who got the ikari from me?
Yep. Now all i need is a keyboard from SS to complete the set. An improvement of the Logitech G-series would be just nice. The current SS keyboard line up is a major wallet buster. sad.gif
Clavicus
post Apr 16 2009, 10:50 PM

765 posts

I thought that both Ikaris are virtually identical?

Anyway, hunting for a new mousepad. Gonna sacrifice the quality of glass mats in turn for something bigger. Ikari needs a bigger hunting ground compared to its predecessor Copperhead. biggrin.gif
Clavicus
post Apr 16 2009, 11:07 PM

765 posts

EDIT: Had some Photoshop fun. biggrin.gif Feel free to ask for more comparisions.

Smooth is one thing. Icemat also plenty smooth. But Ikari manyak besar. Needs more space to run around, hence the big real estate cloth pads provide. Sides, they're cheap, so if they wear out, here come another one. biggrin.gif SX if worn out i meni sads. biggrin.gif Main reason why i love my Icemat to bits (pun intended). Still looks like she was from day one.

This post has been edited by Clavicus: Apr 16 2009, 11:10 PM
Clavicus
post Apr 16 2009, 11:11 PM

765 posts

Lol, no. Just a relative comparison. So if you have one of them, you can imagine how big (or small) another mousepad would be.
Clavicus
post Apr 16 2009, 11:43 PM

765 posts

LOL look closely. Got relative size comparison also. You're using ikari also? Dunno, I find it rather big. Destructor seems okay la, but price is steep. For that price can get a real big clothpad or two smaller ones already.

We'll see how things go. Hopefully I can return with a ikari + clothpad field report.
Clavicus
post Apr 17 2009, 04:42 PM

765 posts

Lack of bass? For me its pretty bassy already. It definitely has more bass than the Carcharias. Just that the bass from the Siberia is rather muddled, and a little EQ tweak is needed to strike a right balance.

Please bear in mind it is not audiophile grade, so please refrain from comparing it with other audiophile grade headphones.
Clavicus
post Apr 17 2009, 05:44 PM

765 posts

Oh, ash, is it possible to get those mouse skatez that are bundled with the icemat? The ones that look like bandages.

Or are there any other cloth pad that bundles the mouse skatez?
Clavicus
post Apr 18 2009, 11:29 AM

765 posts

D: Can i have some too?
Clavicus
post Apr 18 2009, 08:40 PM

765 posts

Woot, just got myself a qck. Not sure heavy or mass, just grabbed it.

Review + shootout with icemat coming soon. Might be letting my icemat go also. Let me know if you're interested.
Clavicus
post Apr 19 2009, 06:14 AM

765 posts

I had to clip my mic to the cable exiting the headphones itself. If not teamos cannot hear me sad.gif Other than that, the Siberia has no major flaws.

My buddy, who owns a Carcharias, also owns a Piranha, and we decided that while the Siberia is the bassiest of the lot, the pair of cans with the most balance is the Carcharias. He doesn't even touch his Piranha anymore after enjoying the comfort of full size cans. tongue.gif

So whatever talk of the Siberia being un-bassy is rather redundant. Try burning your unit in, or if you really feel that the bass is inadequate, try to get another unit for comparison. OR, just sell it off and go audiophile grade.

Oh, and my QcK is Mass. Just looked at the box. tongue.gif
Clavicus
post Apr 19 2009, 06:38 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(Calvin_PB @ Apr 19 2009, 06:18 AM)
i tot u say u nid a big pad, but u get a thick pad...haha  sweat.gif  shocking.gif
Mass is quite big for me edi, compared to my IceMat. Wanted to get Heavy, but after seeing the biggest Goliathus rolled out before me, i changed my mind. Sides, its just nice, as the surface is rough enough to give proper grip to the mouse. Feels like my CH + IceMat, but with the ergonomics of the Ikari. Win!

Anyway, i was wondering why my CH grips better on the Icemat compared to my Ikari. The Ikari just glides its way off the Icemat, resulting in piss poor gaming performance. Then i realized that the CH gives off a weird scraping sound when used with the Icemat. Its actually the bottom of the mouse, where the sensor is, scraping against the Icemat, giving the extra grip over the Ikari. Its surprising how my Icemat has no indents or scratches whatsoever. Goes to show that glass mats are the longest lasting of the lot.

QUOTE(Ash @ Apr 19 2009, 06:22 AM)
Nope you don't. It's about getting your headphone to work as long as possible before it could reach its highest potential.
You're early. tongue.gif

0.0455sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:41 AM