Movies Saw Official Thread: Saw I,II,III,IV,V,VI & VII, 22 October 2010 | News: Saw VII the end?

TSCalvin871989
post Nov 13 2008, 03:30 AM, updated 15y ago

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Official SAW Website & Fan Club : http://www.officialsaw.com/
Official site : http://www.sawmovie.com/
Official II website : http://www.saw2.com/
Official III website : http://www.saw3.com/
Official IV website : http://www.saw4.com/
Official V website : http://www.saw5.com/
IMDb : http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0387564/
Wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saw_(film_series)

The Saw series is a horror film franchise created by director James Wan and screenwriter Leigh Whannell.

Premise

The series revolves around John Kramer, dubbed by the media the "Jigsaw Killer" (Tobin Bell), a dying man who kidnaps a series of victims and places them in deadly, elaborate traps designed to test them and give them an opportunity to repent their former lifestyles, in which Jigsaw feels that they took their lives for granted. Each concludes with a twist ending that wraps things up, but also creates more questions to be answered in the following film.

Media

There have been five Saw movies to date, with the latest being released on October 24, 2008. Each film has been released with an R rating by the MPAA, though each was originally rated NC-17, save for Saw V, which received an instant R. Each release made to date was released in theaters in consecutive years on the Friday before Halloween. An uncut version of each installment was subsequently released on DVD the following October before the next came out, save for Saw IV.

Films

- Saw, released on October 29, 2004.
- Saw II, released on October 28, 2005.
- Saw III, released on October 27, 2006.
- Saw IV, released on October 26, 2007.
- Saw V, released on October 24, 2008.

Other media

- Saw, a 2003 short film that served as a promotional tool in pitching the film's potential to Lions Gate, included on the DVD release of Saw.
- Saw: Rebirth, a comic book prequel to the original film released to promote Saw II. Its canonization was later contradicted by events in Saw IV.
- Saw, a video game based on the first film in the series, scheduled for an October 2009 release.

Future development

Tobin Bell has stated that he was signed on for a total of five sequels, and producer Oren Koules confirmed on June 22, 2007 that VI was being written at the time. The authors of the scripts include Marcus Dunstan and Patrick Melton, as well as Thomas Fenton. Costas Mandylor has signed up for the next installment in the horror franchise along with main character, Jigsaw, portrayed by Tobin Bell. Saw VI will be directed by Kevin Greutert, the editor on all the Saw films to date.

Synopsis

Saw

Saw is the first installment of the Saw horror film series. Directed by James Wan and written by Wan and Leigh Whannell, Saw was filmed during only eighteen days of production. It was first shown at the Sundance Film Festival in early 2004 and saw international release later that year on October 29. Saw is essentially an expansion of Wan and Whannel's 2003 short film of the same name.

The film's story revolves around two men who are kidnapped and trapped locked in an industrial bathroom with a dead body between them and given instructions related to escaping. Meanwhile, police detectives investigate and attempt to apprehend the criminal responsible, the "Jigsaw Killer".

Originally rated NC-17 for strong, graphic violence, the film was slightly edited to achieve an R rating. The unrated version is available as the Saw: Uncut Edition, a DVD special edition that was released around the same time that Saw II was released theatrically.

Plot

Cast

Cary Elwes as Dr. Lawrence Gordon
Leigh Whannell as Adam Faulkner Stanheight
Danny Glover as Detective David Tapp
Monica Potter as Alison Gordon
Michael Emerson as Zep Hindle
Ken Leung as Detective Steven Sing
Makenzie Vega as Diana Gordon
Tobin Bell as John Kramer / Jigsaw Killer
Shawnee Smith as Amanda Young
Dina Meyer as Detective Allison Kerry
Alexandra Bokyun Chun as Carla
Mike Butters as Paul Stallberg
Paul Gutrecht as Mark Rodriguez
Ned Bellamy as Jeff Ridenbour
Oren Koules as Unnamed man

Saw Trailer

Saw II

Saw II is a 2005 horror film, and the sequel to the 2004 Saw. The film (apart from external shots) was filmed in one building over the span of 25 days. It was released in most parts of the world on October 28, 2005, but not released in Australia until December 1, 2005. Darren Lynn Bousman took over directing duties, and also co-wrote the story's script with Leigh Whannell, the original film's co-writer.

The film features the Jigsaw Killer finally being apprehended, but trapping the arresting officer in one of his own games while showing another "game" of eight people in progress at the same time. It also explores the character's back story, explaining why he became "Jigsaw."

Saw II film is currently #16 on Bravo's Even Scarier Movie Moments. Following the film's opening weekend gross of $31.5 million, Lions Gate Films commissioned Saw III, released on October 27, 2006

Plot

Cast

Donnie Wahlberg as Detective Eric Matthews
Tobin Bell as John Kramer / Jigsaw
Erik Knudsen as Daniel Matthews
Emmanuelle Vaugier as Addison Corday
Franky G as Xavier Chavez
Beverley Mitchell as Laura Hunter
Glenn Plummer as Jonas Seager
Lyriq Bent as Sergeant Daniel Rigg
Timothy Burd as Obi Gee
Tony Nappo as Gus Colrand
Noam Jenkins as Michael Marks

Saw II Trailer

Saw III

Saw III is the third installment in the Saw series. The film is a joint effort of both Saw's writers/directors, James Wan and Leigh Whannell, and Saw II's writer/director, Darren Lynn Bousman.

The film focuses on the resurfaced Jigsaw Killer, the antagonist of the previous films, who works with his unstable apprentice Amanda to finish his final tests before he dies. The film contains additional back-story about the two antagonists.

The film has been dedicated to Gregg Hoffman, producer of the first two movies. Hoffman died on December 4, 2005, shortly after the official Lions Gate Entertainment announcement of Saw III.

Plot

Cast

Angus Macfadyen as Jeff Reinhart
Bahar Soomekh as Lynn Denlon
Mpho Koaho as Timothy Young
Barry Flatman as Judge Halden
Lyriq Bent as Lieutenant Rigg
J. Larose as Troy
Debra Lynne McCabe as Danica Scott
Costas Mandylor as Detective Hoffman
Betsy Russell as Jill Tuck
Stefan Georgiou as Dylan
Niamh Wilson as Corbett
Alan Van Sprang as Chris
Kim Roberts as Nurse Deborah
Leigh Whannell as Adam Faulkner (flashback)
Tim Burd as Obi Gee (flashback)
Franky G as Xavier Chavez (dead)
Oren Koules as Unnamed man (flashback)

Saw III Trailer

Saw IV

Saw IV is the fourth installment in the Saw series. The film was initially released on October 25, 2007, and in the United States on October 26, 2007. The film's North American release date follows the series' tradition that the films be released the Friday before or on Halloween of each year.

This installment continues the story of the Jigsaw Killer, and his obsession with teaching people the value of their own lives. Although Jigsaw died in the last installment (Saw III), this film focuses on his ability to manipulate people into continuing his work.

Saw IV was directed by Saw II and Saw III director Darren Lynn Bousman alongside with co-creators James Wan and Leigh Whannell returning as executive producers. Unlike the previous three films, Saw IV was not written by either Wan or Whannell.

Plot

Cast

Lyriq Bent as Lieutenant Rigg
Costas Mandylor as Detective Hoffman
Scott Patterson as Agent Peter Strahm
Athena Karkanis as Agent Lindsey Perez
Justin Louis as Art Blank
Billy Otis as Cecil Adams
Janet Land as Morgan
Ron Lea as Rex
Sarain Boylan as Brenda
Marty Adams as Ivan Landsness
Kevin Rushton as Trevor
Emmanuelle Vaugier as Addison Corday
Ingrid Hart as Tracy Rigg
Kim Roberts as Nurse Deborah
James Van Patten as Dr. Hefner
Mike Realba as Detective Fisk
Joanne Boland as Crime Scene Photographer
Alison Luther as Jane
Noam Jenkins as Michael Marks
J. Larose as Troy
Mike Butters as Paul Leahy
Oren Koules as Unnamed man

Saw IV Trailer

Saw V

Saw V is the fifth installment in the Saw film series. The film was released on October 23, 2008 in Australia, and October 24 in the United States, Canada, and United Kingdom. Saw V was directed by David Hackl, unlike the previous three installments which were directed by Darren Lynn Bousman. Hackl was the production designer of Saw II, Saw III and Saw IV, and second-unit director for Saw III and Saw IV.

Plot

Cast

Julie Benz as Brit
Costas Mandylor as Detective Lieutenant Mark Hoffman
Scott Patterson as Agent Peter Strahm
Mark Rolston as Dan Erickson
Carlo Rota as Charles
Greg Bryk as Mallick
Laura Gordon as Ashley
Joris Jarsky as Seth Baxter
Mike Butters as Paul Leahy
Meagan Good as Luba
Mike Realba as Detective Fisk
Lyriq Bent as Lieutenant Daniel Rigg
Athena Karkanis as Agent Lindsey Perez
Justin Louis as Art Blank
Danny Glover as Detective David Tapp
Niamh Wilson as Corbett Reinhart
Tim Burd as Obi Gee
Sarah Power as Angelina Hoffman

Saw V Trailer

Saw VI

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/news/14313

Rumor Control: Blood WILL Flow in Lionsgate's 'Saw VI'

While other websites are making assumptions (and you know what that makes...) based on the Lionsgate firings, we can confirm that Lionsgate and Twisted Pictures are currently working on the screenplay with Marcus Dunstan and Patrick Melton for Saw VI with plans to shoot the film for its regular October release in 2009. Anyone who thinks Lionsgate would abandon the one successful franchise that they own is out of their minds. SAW V is already close to making the same amount theatrically as the fourth, according to the Box Office Mojo. Unless things change, the plan is to have SAW VI directed by Kevin Greutert.

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Feb 9 2010, 08:08 PM
TSCalvin871989
post Nov 13 2008, 09:20 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Nov 13 2008, 08:55 AM)
Damnit I forgot to watch Saw V ohmy.gif
me to sweat.gif im waiting for the DVD rip from some one you know who la whistling.gif

tongue.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Nov 13 2008, 09:32 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Nov 13 2008, 09:27 AM)
Put spoiler for the plot, not everyone have watched the movie yet leh (i dun mind, just that some ppl are damn serious abt spoilers sweat.gif

your wish has been granted notworthy.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Nov 14 2008, 05:05 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/news/14335

Official Release Date For Lionsgate's 'Saw VI'

I might have been disappointed with Lionsgate's SAW V, but it was bound to happen eventually. Hopefully some lessons were learned and the next will be better. There's not a lot of time left to plan as an official date has been announced for SAW VI, which will bring the latest Jigsaw game to the big screen on October 23, 2009. Our plea... Bring Shawnee Smith back as Amanda, she's the only name from the first SAW I'd like to see return. What do you guys think?

TSCalvin871989
post Nov 15 2008, 03:59 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/news/14348

'Saw' Video Game in Peril? Game Over for Brash Entertainment?

Several sources have confirmed to Variety that Brash Entertainment is ceasing operations as of tomorrow. Not too surprising given its many problems, as I reported last week. In a nutshell, the few games it managed to put out sold poorly, it wasted money on some ill conceived ideas, and talented executives fled as they saw how things were going. Since co-founder Thomas Tull left the board, I understand that the investors who had committed $400 million when Brash launched last year had pulled out. So Brash was simply out of cash. Brash was developing the SAW video game with Twisted Pictures, leaving this title in a possible state of limbo. We'll make a few calls and see what we can find out.

TSCalvin871989
post Dec 9 2008, 05:32 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/news/14586

First Official 'Saw VI' Casting Comes From New 'Scream Queen'

Congratulations to Tanedra Howard (pictured inside) as she'll be taking on a role in Lionsgate's SAW VI, which begins shooting later next year for release on October 24th, 2009. Howard won VH1's "Scream Queens," which was judged by Shawnee Smith, James Gunn and John Homa. The prize? Her role in Saw VI, which will be scripted once again by Marcus Dunstan and Patrick Melton with Kevin Greutert taking on directing duties. No plot details have been revealed yet, but assume Jigsaw will once again make an appearance

TSCalvin871989
post Jan 9 2009, 09:32 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Feb 18 2009, 09:49 PM
TSCalvin871989
post Feb 18 2009, 09:52 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/news/15342

UPDATE: Does Lionsgate Mishap Confirm Dr. Gordon's Return in 'Saw' Franchise?

Update beyond the break. We had been hearing heavy rumors that Cary Elwes would be returning as Dr. Gordon in both the Saw videogame and in Lionsgate's forthcoming Saw VI. While we learned that the studio changes the film depending on what type of news leaks, we decided to keep a safe distance from that rumor -- until now. This evening Xbox Live featured Saw V on their platform for download, only the plot description wasn't for the fifth film by David Hackl. Read on for the interesting synopsis.

Update: We're being told this is for the game (if not a complete farce that both Xbox and iTunes used) and not the movie -- although we're also hearing Elwes could make an appearance in the sixth Saw film (although that's supposed to be top secret and it's being denied left and right), which goes along with reports that the game will tie into the film's release in October.

B-D reader 'JayKah' writes into Bloody-Disgusting. "Today on Xbox Live Saw V was featured, but for the description of the movie it said:

'One man. One plan. One foot. Yes, the doctor is in! With a strange twist of fate and a revengeful plot, get ready for the most anticipated event of Saw. Face your fears at his operating table. Know that no one is safe from his sickness. Chills and screams are his true pleasure. on...and Blood? You'll be drenched in it.' "

Who else could they be talking about? It's obviously the return of Dr. Lawrence Gordon. The question remains, did Lionsgate accidently send out the synopsis for the game, or for Saw VI? We'll dig and try and find out more, but until then, check out the video below as evidence.

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Feb 19 2009, 10:12 AM
TSCalvin871989
post Feb 9 2010, 08:00 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

SAW Finally Comes To An End. Screenwriter Patrick Melton Reveals ENDGAME

“I think it’s going to end with Saw VII. I have a very strong feeling its going to end with Saw VII. That’s something we’re debating now. You saw in previous interviews or discussions where we thought Saw VIII would be the last one where we had the first trilogy and the second trilogy and then sort of a grand finale wrapped up in two films. But frankly because Saw VI hasn’t performed as well as we anticipated, the idea is well why make two movies when we can make one really excellent movie that wraps up as best we can? And it’s going to be in 3-D which sort of adds to the spectacle. So if you had to ask me, I don’t own the franchise, nor do I run the studio, but I have a feeling, a strong feeling that it’s going to be Saw VII which will be also known as Endgame. And nothing’s official yet, but that’s where we’re hoping things will go. “

spoilers: http://www.latinoreview.com/news/saw-final...ls-endgame-9157

TSCalvin871989
post Jul 23 2010, 12:12 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

'Saw' Posters Come Full Circle in New Eye-Popping 'Saw 3D' One Sheets! : http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/news/20971

The Saw 3D poster is a blatant rip off : http://www.joblo.com/index.php?id=33123

doh.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Aug 7 2010, 12:57 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/popwrap/saw_...LsG48lQj9Eglz1J

'Saw' franchise to keep hacking away?

Although the cast and crew is talking about -- and treating -- "Saw 3D" as the final installment in the most successful horror franchise of all time, actress Betsy Russell reveals that much like the serial killer they've immortalized, the writers have one more trick up their sleeve.

"Before we thought it was ending [with 'Saw 7'], the writers came up with an unbelievable idea [for 'Saw 8']," Betsy revealed to PopWrap. "It's an amazing story that I would love to see."

When pressed for details Betsy (who plays Jigsaw's ex-wife Jill) remained mum since any hints could potentially ruin the "Saw 3D" twists that lie in wait -- like whether Jill picks up her husband's murderous mantle or ends up in a death trap (as the trailer implies).

But she did add that if fans turn out in droves for on October 29, "Saw 8" might not be that far off! "We want to end near the top, with our integrity in tact and not letting the characters die a slow death, so to speak. But I believe in my heart that someday, somehow, ['Saw 8'] will happen."

TSCalvin871989
post Dec 27 2010, 01:23 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

felt sorry for john/jigsaw wife.
the movie was alright i guess.
still, at the ending, it never ends does it ?

its been a fun ride from 1-7 but it got into a mess and should've just ended it after john/jigsaw was gone.
even though him being dead, the game will keep continuing.
there's really no end to this.

0.0238sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:17 PM