Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)
wirelessdude
Dec 25 2008, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(RockIron @ Dec 25 2008, 09:51 PM) HSBC MC Premier is open for application at other country in Asia Pacific. But in Malaysia, u hav to place 200k(to be their Premier Account holder) in the bank in order to qualify for this MC. Maybe HSBC Malaysia will open application for public soon. Any comment for this HSBC MC????? Nothing special except no annual fees and high CL - mine's RM40k. HSBC staff will try to convince you that it's better than plat, but you don't ever find any special offers for premiere while there are always offers for plat like one-for-one business class air tix. Added on December 25, 2008, 10:55 pmQUOTE(Chester @ Dec 25 2008, 09:21 PM) Anyone using HSBC for their 7 swipes promotion to get Sushi king voucher? Haven't gotten mine yet. But for the previous Padini vouchers, I got 9! This post has been edited by wirelessdude: Dec 25 2008, 10:55 PM
wirelessdude
Jan 3 2009, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(Chester @ Jan 1 2009, 01:07 AM) 1U got HSBC? I need to go to their branch to get the token for online banking. No need 3 weeks, i got mine in 2 weeks with 17k CL (visa + master)  Did you need to supply proof of income, employment etc? The sales guy at 1U just asked for my HSBC Premier card and said it was good enough to apply, although I've only had it for less than a year. By the way, I must be a valued credit card user cos HSBC gave me 2 tix to watch Mamma Mia yesterday - worth RM400 each. This post has been edited by wirelessdude: Jan 3 2009, 08:54 PM
wirelessdude
Jan 3 2009, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(Chester @ Jan 3 2009, 09:38 PM)  Premier holder need to have obese deposit with them right? nope mine jz IC and current C/C. Yup. Ok. I was asking cos I'm a freelancer without salary slip etc, so my applications are always not so straight-forward. Coming to two weeks and no news yet so am wondering about my chances.
wirelessdude
Jan 10 2009, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(siutimtim @ Jan 10 2009, 02:45 PM) so many ppl got reject when apply amanah platinum card de.. so high class de meh? Just received my Platinum card today - applied almost 3 wks ago at Midvalley roadshow. Funny thing is the CL is the same as my gold card, i.e. RM21k. When I applied, they used my Premier card as reference and which has RM40K CL.
wirelessdude
Jan 10 2009, 03:12 PM
Btw, anyone receive Sushi King voucher from HSBC yet?
Reventon: that's a really nice looking card!
wirelessdude
Jan 11 2009, 12:27 PM
Geez... I never realized that there are no reward points for HSBC Amanah - the sales guy only talked about the cash back and said others same as conventional one. Now undecided whether to cancel my old Visa Gold or not.
wirelessdude
Jan 12 2009, 08:20 AM
QUOTE(arsenal @ Jan 12 2009, 12:45 AM) hsbc amanah got rebate but no point collections? Yup. Also not eligible to take part in promotions like the current 7 swipes for Sushi King voucher. I think merchant offers also less than conventional platinum because of Islamic Shariah. If you consider that 11,000 reward points converts to RM50 or that 8,500 points gives you RM38 cash back, then the conventional cards are as good as Amanah's 0.5% yet you're getting the extra privilleges above with conventional. I think I should just upgrade my conventional gold and cancel my Amanah plat.
wirelessdude
Jan 18 2009, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(niuchin @ Jan 18 2009, 12:54 PM) IMHO Easy acess to Credit Cards are the bane of our society. In tandem with relaxed regulations it leads to one's 'addiction'. Five (5) or more credit cards that a person possess, in most cases, meant that the credit card holder is carrying a huge debt load, juggling from one acct. to another. Do you agree. Share your thots. Personally, I can never understand why a person would need more than 2 credit cards (1 for backup). Say if someone has 5 credit cards, how much do you spend on each card annually? If it's a small amount, how then do you ask for a fee waiver?
wirelessdude
Jan 19 2009, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 19 2009, 11:02 AM) Hi tgeoklin, My collection still short as below: PBB(2 cards)- rejected few times although full documents submited. HLB(2 cards) OCBC(1 card) Citibank(1 card) SCB(1 card) CIMB(1 card) After my collection done, I will attach photo to share.  Added on January 19, 2009, 11:09 amHi, Yup, I never owe cc even a single cent when I start using. Pay in full every month and never late payment. Also, I never pay for AF as well..... Will attach the photo once I done my collection....... Wow... so many cards and don't need to pay annual fee! Are they usually automatic or you need to call up to ask for a waiver?
wirelessdude
Jan 23 2009, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 23 2009, 10:50 PM) finally the longines watch has arrived! they courier the watch and no need to redemp the watch ourself. Very nice packaging and the actual price is RM 2250. Tinky, gotta your watch ? Lucky man! I spent over RM100k on my HSBC card last year and all I got was rewards points - they won't even upgrade my gold to plat.
wirelessdude
Jan 24 2009, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 24 2009, 12:47 AM) if you're a heavy plastic user i strongly recommend this card to you, 1. 2x points for every purchases, i've get around 220k with this card in 4 months, some of the point is 10x from plat partners. 2. Prestige platinum membership for exclusive dining for up to 50% discount. Worth rm499 if i'm not wrong for 1 year. 3. Free longines watch if usage over 20k in first 6 months. I think this is still available at the moment. Very worth it and i went to the shop earlier and saw the price tag at 2250 however discount is given la. Just the 800 annual fee is unwaivable. Yeah, I did look at the card a while back when you or Tink mentioned it. Quite interested but hard for me to apply such cards cos I'm a freelancer, i.e. no salary slip nor business reg. The banks have thus far refuse to consider my earnings and credit card history. I'll just have to be patient to wait for HSBC to upgrade my card to plat then use it to apply.
wirelessdude
Jan 24 2009, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(numx @ Jan 24 2009, 01:55 PM) Amex platinum. And please stop spamming me - I'm not interested to apply for Alliance cards. Almost all your 9 posts are promoting your cards. I'd strongly advise you to stop doing that or you'll be banned sooner or later. This post has been edited by wirelessdude: Jan 24 2009, 04:56 PM
wirelessdude
Jan 26 2009, 07:03 AM
QUOTE(arsenal @ Jan 26 2009, 02:52 AM) How long to get reply for HSBC amanah? Thanks.. I got mine 2~3 weeks after applying at Mid Valley roadshow.
wirelessdude
Jan 30 2009, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 30 2009, 12:28 PM) for me its Citibank, few years ago applied failed applied last month due to want to get the free mp4 also failed, lol other banks credit card no problem  I applied for Citibank AirAsia classic card exactly a year ago but was rejected because they didn't recognize a freelancer without business reg., although my bank statements clearly showed I have good income every month. Last week, I applied for Citibank AirAsia online but the gold card this time, using my 1 yr old HSBC gold card to support. I received the card today (pretty fast right?!) and they gave a CL of RM20k.
wirelessdude
Jan 30 2009, 09:20 PM
Hey guys, is it easy to ask for annual fee waiver from Citibank? Is there a minimum number of card usage that will automatically waive the fees?
wirelessdude
Feb 11 2009, 04:44 PM
When you move from normal Visa to MPower, your rewards points gone because they are different cards. So you should redeem before you move.
I also thought that HSBC MPower no rewards but when I clicked on "Account Overview" of the card in my online account, it shows I have 4,000+ points.
wirelessdude
Feb 11 2009, 11:08 PM
Hey has anyone receive their Sushi King voucher from HSBC? In the previous Padini promotion, I received about 8 vouchers but for Sushi King I've not received even 1 although I registered.
wirelessdude
Feb 12 2009, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(numx @ Feb 12 2009, 12:36 AM) i heard from my fren they said genting,pub,club cannot use haha cannot go thru ... MALU betul @@ Are you sure? If like that, I think I'll just cancel my Mpower since I've the normal HSBC Visa as well.
wirelessdude
Feb 16 2009, 05:22 PM
Anyone use a CIMB Enrich? Just got mine today and this was what happened:
1. Bought air tix to Beijing but was told I won't get any bonus miles because they're promotional fares. Ok, fair enough.
2. Asked for quote from Kasina car rental in Langkawi (6 miles per RM spent) and they gave a 20% discount because it's off-peak. When I clarified if I'll be getting the bonus miles, the lady on the phone claimed they've terminated the relationship with CIMB and I've to pay normal rates to get miles. But on CIMB's catalog, there is no mention of T&Cs and the offer is supposed to be valid until April 2010.
Sigh! Anyone else have such problems with CIMB "partners"?
wirelessdude
Mar 3 2009, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(High-End Power @ Mar 3 2009, 04:21 PM) Maybank branches are terrible service. Tried few times to request for upgrade credit limit..either they request for salary slip/other bank statements latest 3 months since salary not bank-in to Maybank...and EA Form..but no news at all. Maybe the staff there too lazy to submit or lost my forms. Called the card centre to check found out NO REQUEST been made all the while. Made me wasted few weeks waiting only. Finally called up the card centre customer service hotline and the CSO actually do it thru the phone for me  He said no documents required because im holding their card more than 24 months  1 day later credit limit increased already...fast service  I applied a Maybank Petronas supplementary card for my mom 3 weeks ago - still have not got it. I applied for Amex gold a month ago. Called the card center today to check on status. The guy said my status shows a request for a copy of my IC and existing credit card (which I faxed together with the form) on Feb 7! I said "Friend, today already March 3rd. Why nobody called me to tell me?"