Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

amy_n_juss
post Jan 2 2009, 12:33 PM

69 posts

last week, a lady called my house number and offered me a free Maybank Petronas credit card. all i have to do is confirm some personal details. it's free for life and no minimum usage

is it possible for a bank to offer me a card without application etc?

is it legitimate as it sounds too good to be true? hmm.gif
amy_n_juss
post Jan 2 2009, 03:14 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 2 2009, 02:27 PM)
I received similar call early 2008. The call that I received is true from Maybank. I told them to give me Platinum if the really want to give me the card. Haha.
so that means it's real lah?
i thought it was some sort of scam.
was very sceptical.

any "trap" if i take the offer?
amy_n_juss
post Jan 2 2009, 03:50 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 2 2009, 03:40 PM)
For my case it was true. one week after I agree on the card, Maybank card Center card me for confirmation. One week later I received the card. Unfortunately they did not give me Platinum card as I request. I call them to complain, they still do want to give me Platinum, so I decided to cancel. haha

By the way, there is no trap for their CC offer.

Just be careful maybe call that you received is scam. Most importantly, they do not ask if you have any other CC with other bank nor CC number that you already own. If they do, most likely the call is not from Maybank.
no, they didn't ask me those questions. the lady asked for my address and ic number.
i was sceptical, so i asked her to read out the info that they have since she said i was chosen because i have an Maybank account.
she was reluctant, saying that the info is confidential.
in the end, she gave in and read out the details.

anyway, this is really weird for me as i thought u need to apply to get a CC, not the opposite.

0.1231sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:46 AM