Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

alexwsk
post Nov 12 2008, 02:18 PM

4,091 posts

Added on November 12, 2008, 12:12 pmUsing CIMB DA card doing 3 purchases in UK GBP.
1. Twice, the exchange rate given by DA are lower then BNM's interbank for the date. 6.249 vs BNM 6.305.  Forgot about the other one.
2. Once was higher. 6.359 vs BNM 6.225.

I could understand DA charging higher rate than BNM's interbank rate. But I could never understand as to the lower rates given for the other 2 occasion.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=6...ype=Mid&unit=rm
They don't follow BNM's rate. They will use the rate determined by VISA/MASTER. Refer to the last section of the following site.
http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?c...c_s&ac=1&tpt=da

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Nov 12 2008, 02:31 PM
alexwsk
post Nov 13 2008, 08:32 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 12 2008, 02:33 PM)
You missed my meaning completely.

Let me take this as an example:
Credit card charged me 6.249
BNM rate is 6.305

I have reason to believe those BNM rate of 6.305 is interbank or wholesale rate that is NOT available to us normal consumer. When we go to the bank to buy GBP, we are guaranteed to be charged higher retail rate.

Since bank typically add 200 to 500 base point to those wholesale rate, we will be charged:
MINIMUM of 6.305+0.02 = 6.325 or
MAXIMUM of 6.305+0.05 = 6.355.

If that assumption hold, then how is it possible for us to be charged a rate that is LOWER than the wholesale rate? In this particular case, I was charged 6.249!!!

I have a Vista gadget displaying almost real time exchange rate on my pc screen and I have never notice it going anywhere below 6.3 for the few days I tracked them. And of course, it might have momentarily done so when I am asleep at night. So it's either a mystery or I must be super lucky that day while sleeping.
I got what u meant, but u din get what i meant. Maybe my explanation not good enough blush.gif
Refer to this thread, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/402992

However, I hv no idea how visa/master determine their rates

Updated
======
VISA Forex rate = http://corporate.visa.com/pd/consumer_serv....jsp?src=ex_rez
For more info, read this

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Nov 13 2008, 08:36 PM
alexwsk
post Nov 14 2008, 10:21 AM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 14 2008, 05:43 AM)
You still do not get what I meant.

Based on my 2 past experience and using this as an example. Right now,
The Vista gadget (drawing data from some internet site) quoted 5.352
And assuming BNM quoted rate is 5.36
(These 2 must be wholesale or interbank rate not available to retail customer)

The Visa site you gave me quoted exchange rate of 5.40
(This must be the rate charged to retail customer)
But my credit card company is only charging me 5.29!!

How is that possible?
The site gave me a calculation of 5.30, which is pretty close to 5.29

Effective: Nov 13, 2008
10 MYR = 1.89 GBP / 1 GBP = 5.30 MYR

British Pounds to Malaysian Ringgit

1 = 5.30 50 = 265.00
5 = 26.50 75 = 397.50
10 = 53.00 100 = 530.00
20 = 106.00 150 = 795.00
25 = 132.50 200 = 1060.00
30 = 159.00 250 = 1325.00
40 = 212.00 300 = 1590.00
For Lost or Stolen Cards: Call 0800-89-1725
alexwsk
post Nov 14 2008, 01:53 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 14 2008, 11:05 AM)
No matter how you wanted to argue, the fact remains the credit card is making a lost in 2 of my previous transaction. That is simply NOT possible , hence the mystery.

Using your example, 5.40 vs 5.29 is 100 base point difference. AFAIK, bank normally mark up 200 to 400 base point as profit when they sell you foreign currency. For larger transaction, they may even be willing to mark up only 100 base point so your 100 base point difference is significant loses to the credit card company.
well, i would say that no one is losing. You gain some through lower FOREX rate (most of the time though not always), your bank pays the amount requested, and VISA/MASTER still can gain from the lower FOREX rate than banks. Don't forget that Visa/Master are powerful global companies that can even fix their own FOREX rate.

I think the relation is like this
You ----> Bank ----> Visa/Master <---- Merchant

Your bank is not going to earn from the FOREX. It might be more complicated than the above but my knowledge are limited. Maybe some forumer who works in the financial institutions can explain further.
alexwsk
post Nov 15 2008, 10:39 AM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 14 2008, 02:31 PM)
If you wanted to use your credit card overseas or overseas purchase, CIMB DA card do not have transaction fees. Others add 1 to 2% on top of VISA/MC exchange rate.

The only catch I know of CIMB DA card is that you must be a professional or graduate to be entitled to free-for-life annual fee.

As for ATM, Public Bank ATM card can not be used to withdraw cash from overseas ATM machine. RHB very limited. Best is HSBC ATM card.

Added on November 14, 2008, 2:38 pm

On several occasion, the currency exchange I got from CC is so low that it is available nowhere else in the world (because it's even lower than interbank rates). Heck, it is not even available to the bank themselves, let alone their customers. When you think about that statement, it's truly puzzling. Hence my original posting asking as to whether anyone here know something I don't.
Foreign merchant ----> VISA/MC -----> CIMB -----> You.
AFAIK, CIMB DA is one of the very few bank that do not earn anything from you for foreign transaction.

The merchant makes money from you. VISA/MC makes money from you. CIMB do not charge transaction fee so do not earn money from you.

Other banks do. HSBC add 1% on top of VISA/MC charges. PBB also 1%. EON adds 2%.
Banks are not looking at FOREX, they want late payments and minimum payments customers brows.gif
alexwsk
post Dec 12 2008, 02:35 PM

4,091 posts

May I know which bank is providing the best cash back rate for spending up to RM500 and no outstanding balance?

I've found that Alliance Platinum is offering 0.6%. Anyone can find a better rate than this? Thanks.
alexwsk
post Jan 5 2009, 03:04 PM

4,091 posts

Arg, just found out that my HSBC Amanah MPower Visa credit card has been approved. I told the sales girl I only want platinum but ended up getting the vanilla card.

Already called HSBC to cancel the card even though I haven't receive it. Will reject the POSLAJU if it ever comes.

Updated:
Btw, the whole application took around a month

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 5 2009, 03:06 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 5 2009, 06:46 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 5 2009, 03:25 PM)
Yup, GHz is rite. HSBC hav such practice.
Only classic & gold will use the same form, plat cc form will be different.
ic, then she filled up the wrong form for me and i didn't really check
basically i just saw the mpower form and then signed, she filled up the rest

Added on January 5, 2009, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 5 2009, 03:14 PM)
I applied for platinum as well 3 weeks ago & the status still pending. The HSBC officer told me that if you applied for platinum they never give the vanilla card because the application form is different. Maybe she lying:( . Hopefully I know if my application is approved this week.
i think for my app, she used the normal form and then put the remarks there

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 5 2009, 06:48 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 5 2009, 06:57 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jan 5 2009, 06:54 PM)
i juz get my HLB visa classic 1month ago and the statement came last week ...

it stated there 18% interest for retail purchase

i tot it is suppose to be 15% interest , and if u never make payment promptly , 17-18% will be charge ?
all new cards will start from 18%

Cardmember payment behaviour for the past 12 months....................................Finance charge for the 13 th month
Pay on time for all 12 months...........................................................................15% p.a.
Pay on time for either 10 or 11 months..............................................................17% p.a.
Pay on time less than 10 months or credit card tenure is less than 13 months........18% p.a.

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 5 2009, 06:59 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 5 2009, 07:06 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 5 2009, 07:00 PM)
Hi alex,
Y not u try to call their CS and let them know u actually sign up for the plat cc insted of gold cc?
I do hold their Visa plat and so far their CS are very professional and excellent. thumbup.gif
I think they will help u to settle ur problem.
I've already called and told them that. Firstly i called HSBC and the CS told me to cancel the card after 6 months coz it's a new application.

After that I called HSBC Amanah and the CS said will cancel the card immediately and the cancellation department might call me up.

I do owned a HSBC gold cc with cl close to 20k. Nvm, will apply online next time when i feels like it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 5 2009, 07:07 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 21 2009, 01:18 PM

4,091 posts

Does anyone know how much CL I need to apply for Alliance Bank Platinum Card? Is 16k enough? Thanks.

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 21 2009, 01:28 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 21 2009, 01:56 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 21 2009, 01:29 PM)
@tishaban,
Thanks for the heads up but I just made a payment in Euros! Damn.. should have consulted you earlier.  The good thing is that it wasn't a big sum tongue.gif

Speaking of Amex, has anyone ever been successful in getting them to waive off finance charges?  I overlooked my last months' bill and it seems I now owe them some $ on finance charges ! *SiGh*

@alexwsk,
If RM20k is sufficient for u then go ahead and ask for RM20k.  If u think it's not enough then ask for more.
Actually i mean i wan to use another bank's gold card (16k CL) to apply for Alliance's platinum, do you think that is sufficient?

Added on January 21, 2009, 1:59 pmFor HSBC Amanah Mpower Credit Card-i, the 5% Cash Back is capped at a maximum of RM30.00 per card per every 5th approved transaction. I guess they're not dumb huh

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 21 2009, 01:59 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 22 2009, 09:37 AM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(Master of Cards @ Jan 21 2009, 11:43 PM)
Here are the cards

Added on January 21, 2009, 11:53 pmSynergy Cards are FREE FOR LIFE -NO CONDITION
up to 0.80% CASH BACK +100k P/A
C/L 3K to 100K

New card player normally easy to get card approved like AEON, Al-Rahji Bank and HSBC Islamic  They want volume.
err, the cards look a bit shakehead.gif
alexwsk
post Jan 23 2009, 09:19 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(ejen @ Jan 23 2009, 07:07 PM)
does eon bank still give out cc with free for life without condition?
Eonbank has minimum swipe condition:
Classic - 12 swipes
Gold - 24 swipes
Platinum - 36 swipes
1st yr free
alexwsk
post Feb 8 2009, 04:16 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Feb 8 2009, 01:15 PM)
Direct Access WORLD MasterCard

need 180k annual income (saw it from their webbie)? Is that a typo?
not typo, it's really 180k brows.gif
alexwsk
post Feb 9 2009, 07:43 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(gecodine @ Feb 9 2009, 03:52 PM)
where i can buy topup online for 012 using CC?
so far only my pbb master can buy top up online using CC at their own website
mbb, hlb and hsbc cc cannot buy on9

Added on February 9, 2009, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Feb 9 2009, 07:10 PM)
Slap yerself then .... or get your wife/gf/bf/mistress/toyboy/toygirl/sugamummy/sugadaddy/pa/clerk/boss/manager/director to slap you on the day you are suppose to pay the bill so that you wont forget.

I got charge once or twices as well.... didn't bother to ask for waiver though... i remember i had to pay. but then i forgot when it comes... so.... wel.. my fault... so, let them earn lo. Rugi duit hoping i would be scare for 2nd time. Mana tau it doesn't really work.  rclxub.gif
aiya, can set reminder using handphone or google calendar ma whistling.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Feb 9 2009, 07:45 PM
alexwsk
post Feb 12 2009, 09:42 AM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(wirelessdude @ Feb 11 2009, 11:08 PM)
Hey has anyone receive their Sushi King voucher from HSBC? In the previous Padini promotion, I received about 8 vouchers but for Sushi King I've not received even 1 although I registered.
hmm.gif now that u've mentioned it, i also haven't receive mine
alexwsk
post Feb 12 2009, 09:54 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(fikrie @ Feb 12 2009, 05:57 PM)
which bank offer smart tag? how much point before can redeem??
maybank has that, redeem at Maybankard Canter at 1 utama for 22000TP
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

Added on February 12, 2009, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 12 2009, 09:36 PM)
I thought DA points valid for 3 years?

Is it true DA/CIMB charge us for courier fee when redeem points? Then Maybank no charge any fee?
maybank does not charge delivery fees, cimb does

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Feb 12 2009, 09:55 PM
alexwsk
post Feb 17 2009, 07:54 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 17 2009, 07:35 PM)
guys..just wanna ask...can the treats points generated from petronas maybank visa can be use to redeem other things than petrol voucher? sweat.gif anyone use it?
yes, the tp can be use to redeem anything on the catalogue provided you have enough tp
alexwsk
post Feb 18 2009, 12:07 PM

4,091 posts

QUOTE(gilabola @ Feb 18 2009, 11:48 AM)
In my latest direct access statement,  there was a note to say that a "1% admin fee" will be charged for overseas transactions... 

(i saw in an earlier post that Citibank charges this admin fee as well).

does other credit cards charge this as well? time to switch cards :-)
cimb/DA last time no charge

now i think mbb is the lowest, 0.5%

0.0234sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:33 PM