Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

tgeoklin
post Dec 30 2008, 02:06 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Dec 30 2008, 10:45 AM)
Nope....
If put FD to get the cc just like u need to buy it from them.
Oso if u withdraw ur FD, they will terminate ur cc.
I prefer to apply by normal bcoz really qualify for it.
Just the bank problem or just my luck not so good. sad.gif
Look on the bright side, under normal circumstances they may never give you such a high limit, say you place RM200K with HSBC and get only RM40K limit, might as well get a card with RM200K limit with PBB which you can then use to apply another card one year down the road tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 7 2009, 02:10 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 7 2009, 12:20 PM)
No one will pick up the call after 6.00pm no matter u call Kuching nor KL.
No matter what CS line(including Platinum/Infinite), no one will answer as well. doh.gif
If for lost card case, call 03-20310020(RHB aunthorization centre), the authorizer will help u to block the lost cc.
RHB's CS lines are now 24 hours, confirmed. And they do pick up calls, though a little slow at times and will definitely call you back if you leave a message after the tune for plat & infinite members. Maybe you verify with them? Btw the infinite got different number than plat. Cheers tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 9 2009, 09:53 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jan 8 2009, 10:41 PM)
aight, thanks for the info ..

Was looking at the alliance younique ... seems like a pretty cool card.
Get to customize the card and also choose either 2% rebate on all retail or 9% finance charge p.a
Just applied & can't wait for it. Its definitely the coolest card for 2009 thumbup.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 9 2009, 10:30 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 9 2009, 10:15 AM)
Wah , so fast one. smile.gif What picture do you put in on your card?
Me, myself & I, of course ...... maybe later will apply a few supp cards and add new pics tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 9 2009, 02:38 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Jan 9 2009, 02:10 PM)
my pix has been approved liao! going to submit my form liao! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Woh, that was fast. When did you apply? I am still waiting for the approval of my pic blush.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 9 2009, 04:58 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 9 2009, 02:44 PM)
i also just got approval for the pic, going to get another supp card just for the pic...haha

my image is here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=901652
Woh, if I not know better, think you holding the World Mastercard Elite rclxms.gif

tgeoklin
post Jan 12 2009, 06:29 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 12 2009, 05:28 PM)
To the HSBC Premier Credit Card holder, what is the minimum credit limit? Can use this card to apply another exclusive credit card such as CIMB World mastercard or SCB Visa Infinite?
If you can qualify for a premier card, sure can use for World Mastercard or Infinite card but you will need to transfer the FDs to the respective bank, plus need to have held your premier card for at least a year. Cheers tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 13 2009, 01:32 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 13 2009, 06:41 AM)
RHB Infinity ... incredilously crazy.
For example, if you qualify as the Preferred Customer, you'll auto qualify for a complimentary Gold card. Fund over RM500K, will qualify for Platinum card.
VISA Infinity - I think FD around RM1 mil. (or more) I know that their CL starts @ RM200K.

Problem is, I don't take too well the bank CS quality level. CS number takes forever to call in even though you are a Platinum card holder. Card application takes about 3-4 weeks for platinum and similarly for gold. (At least from my experience) The one good thing I can speak about this card is that they actively monitor your spending pattern and will call you almost immediately they detect the spending but really that's the only good thing about the card.

The fact that not many have this card, we don't have much feedback about the CS quality level for Infinity card.
For what its worth, the CS sucks for Visa Infinite be it RHB, SCB or even Visa M'sia itself. However, not much can be said even for Amex Plat CS or for that matter CIMB WorldCard CS. That's my experience or maybe its just I am a very hard person to please.

So far the best is still HSBC and these are all personal a/c managers I am talking about. But if you want monitoring over every cent you spent, try UOB, they are a damn nuisance and call you up almost immediately while RHB was the most lenient ie. I can blow even 90% of my CL and they never even call tongue.gif

Hope that helps

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jan 13 2009, 01:34 PM
tgeoklin
post Jan 14 2009, 08:16 AM

1,230 posts

Its of notable interest, that of late, there's been lots of request for ways to increase credit limits etc. Anyway, just to give some advise to those who may succumb to the debt trap, financial institutions normally capped your limit to about 33% of your yearly income as a rule of thumb. This is to ensure the healthy functionality of the industry overall and not lead to a bubble eg. sub-prime market etc. Further, if you are indeed requiring such a high limit or be in a position to justify such limits, it will be forthcoming as its a business after all. On the contrary, if you are not capable of sustaining such a limit, it would do more harm than good. Cheers tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jan 14 2009, 08:17 AM
tgeoklin
post Jan 15 2009, 07:17 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(rockstar teddy @ Jan 14 2009, 10:05 PM)
i know the maybank manager in genting..hope he can help
haih
if know wont charge so much la
@ rockstar teddy

Call Sivanaesvaran @ 20747380 fr MBB. He should be able to help tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jan 15 2009, 07:22 AM
tgeoklin
post Jan 15 2009, 05:37 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 15 2009, 05:25 PM)
LOL, I just received call from SCB, the department that in charge for CC. He told me that FD no longer can be use to get VISA Infinite card.
Actually FD for priority customers had always been tied only to the SCB Plat card and never for the infinite card. When the card was first issued, it was solely by invitation and then after numerous appeals by various parties, it was then open for application. However, despite the low income requirement, the approval rate remains low

Added on January 15, 2009, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(rockstar teddy @ Jan 15 2009, 11:27 AM)
thanks..but who is he btw??/
i dont have access to internet that time and dats y i call2ask the stupid CS!!!
if i knw they all have shit for brains..i wouldnt have ended up this way
i wont give up until they admit their mistake n do something about it!

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:28 ami sent a fax n also email today
coz the phone mailbox full n maybank2u customer feedback died..
haih!!!!
curse them kaukau
He's the co-head of MBB's Credit Card Divison biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jan 15 2009, 06:11 PM
tgeoklin
post Jan 19 2009, 09:51 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 18 2009, 09:45 PM)
Hi All,
Wishing an early Happy CNY!!! Gong Xi......biggrin.gif
Up to date already collected 21 plat cards in hand.(all active)brows.gif
Still 8 cards to go, then my collection will complete. tongue.gif
Woh, got that many?? hmm.gif and still 8 to go? notworthy.gif So which one you still yet to have?
tgeoklin
post Jan 19 2009, 11:55 AM

1,230 posts

[quote=RockIron,Jan 19 2009, 11:02 AM]
Hi tgeoklin,
My collection still short as below:
PBB(2 cards)- rejected few times although full documents submited. rclxub.gif
HLB(2 cards)
OCBC(1 card)
Citibank(1 card)
SCB(1 card)
CIMB(1 card)
After my collection done, I will attach photo to share. tongue.gif

Added on January 19, 2009, 11:09 am

erh, so you mean you will have all the plat cards in the market once the above are in your pocket???

That's must have been a considerable feat indeed. I am still missing out on the UOB Midas Card, if you still not gotten it, then your collection not complete as yet tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 19 2009, 01:27 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 19 2009, 01:20 PM)
Hmmm.... Same case happen to me no matter I apply on line or at their brach.
Rejected no matter what documents I submitted. doh.gif
After few times rejection,I complaint to 1 of the branch manager and get some info from him regarding PBB cc.
They hav an internal criteria which a person who already hold cc for more than 6 issuers they will declined ur application. Due to holding too many cc. I dun know if it is true but I think it should be the reason my application rejected. rclxub.gif

The branch manager promised will forward my case to the head of card centre for appeal but not guaranteed approval. Hope to get his reply soon.

Anyone got idea or can help for PBB cc??? notworthy.gif I'll buy best dinner if anyone can help!!! notworthy.gif
EON Bank also got some similiar restrictions tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 19 2009, 04:15 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 19 2009, 03:16 PM)
EON bank I hav no problem wor..... shocking.gif
My EON MC plat application approved and get the card within a week.

Added on January 19, 2009, 3:18 pm

I really not sure about this, but PBB is the only issuer who denied to issue me cc in my life. doh.gif
Weird, that's what I was informed by their Senior Management or maybe your exposure still managable tongue.gif

On the other hand, I have no issue with PBB hmm.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 21 2009, 01:32 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 21 2009, 01:29 PM)
@tishaban,
Thanks for the heads up but I just made a payment in Euros! Damn.. should have consulted you earlier.  The good thing is that it wasn't a big sum tongue.gif

Speaking of Amex, has anyone ever been successful in getting them to waive off finance charges?  I overlooked my last months' bill and it seems I now owe them some $ on finance charges ! *SiGh*

@alexwsk,
If RM20k is sufficient for u then go ahead and ask for RM20k.  If u think it's not enough then ask for more.
Yeap, I got them to waived off over RM800++ of finance charge once tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 21 2009, 03:32 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 21 2009, 03:17 PM)
@tgeoklin,
What was the reason/excuse U gave to them?  Can share so I can tweak my excuse too smile.gif
Actually it was their stupid system, won't allow me to pay more than my o/s and rejected my future payment, which I had instructed before I left the country in view of more expenditure to come etc. So its fair to say their fault really tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 21 2009, 04:53 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 21 2009, 04:13 PM)
@tgeoklin,
Er.. well unfortunately in my case i have a big feeling it's MY fault.. I underpaid by about RM20k so the finance charges have come up to about ~RM500 and I don't want to pay the RM500 !!! how how how?! tongue.gif
Well, even back then they were quite reluctant to reverse but way I see it, if you are a big spender and threaten to cancel if they do not waive or something, maybe there's hope yet. Mine was not an underpaid like yours but no payment, though due to their lousy M2U system. Thing is this, if you have the $$$ in your a/c and even if you did not pay, can still argue. I mean, I was definitely not paying interest of almost RM900 when theyhad already took in so much merchant fees contributed by myself, so I suggest you stick to your gun. Worst case, got excuse to cancel later on tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jan 22 2009, 12:00 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 22 2009, 11:57 AM)
@tgeoklin,
I don't know Y i was so careless! *siGh* but the good thing is that I did have the RM20k sitting in my Maybank Account so I probably could use that as a reason.

Will call them later and see what they can do - in the meantime, I've settled all outstanding with them [don't want interest to continue piling!] except for the finance charges.  Will report back as to what the outcome is.
Wish you luck tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Feb 20 2009, 07:58 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 19 2009, 10:05 PM)
yes. as im only swipe 8 times... and found it hard to swipe more.

btw, on other matter.

past few days, im trying to pay my UK professional fees online using my Direct Access but the transaction is shown: authorisation failure.

called the DA customer service centre, and they said thet got problem with the merchant, tht's why can not process and ask me to try again later.

and today im try again and it's shown the same message. called up again and still give the same excuses, worse, the CS is suggesting to me that to pay my fee manually, by sending my credit card info via email to my professional body in UK...

WTF, who got such time n energy to do so.

fed up with DA, and thinks of my HSBC.

1st time tried HSBC also showing the authorisation fail message. call up HSBC customer service and he is checking for me.

he said the authorisation failed is bcoz im paying to foregin merchant and it's not in their list, that's why it prompt them to reject it. since im called in, it's verified that it's genuine, and he checked with security dept and ask them to authorise my payment.

after 5-10 minutes, i try to pay use my HSBC and it's DONE.

really dissapointed with DA...
For DA, all internet related transactions, the relevant card must first be registered via their secured e-pay system. Pls chk their website for the link.

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Feb 20 2009, 07:58 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0427sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:59 PM