Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

Aeon_Clock
post Feb 4 2009, 04:58 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Feb 4 2009, 12:02 PM)
Nope
I didn't ... the CC is currently in progress.

I accept the Maybank CC.. It is just I am scared that was a scam call. Since now being verified that it was Maybank who called me, I feel much better
I'd cancel the card immediately. Why let someone else register for me...and without my permission doh.gif

QUOTE(linuxskate @ Feb 4 2009, 02:48 PM)
err sorry tinkerbell for being noob. what is a hunting line?  blush.gif
think of it as the line for the receptionist, a general line. Its not a direct line to that person you spoke to.
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 5 2009, 09:27 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 4 2009, 06:38 PM)
As I know, CIMB Direct Access Master Card can get rebate directly 0.2% on all transaction, did any other bank offer more higher rebate? I'm wondering Public Bank got any cash rebate CC like this CIMB DA MasterCard?  Or other bank also offer more higher cash rebate, thanks.
0.2% doh.gif
even points have better value than that.

QUOTE(arsenal @ Feb 4 2009, 07:22 PM)
CIMB 2% rebate all the time for Petronas..
Maybank Petronas dont have rebate but got higher point collection
these two cards if use, cannot use Mesra card to collect points...
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 5 2009, 10:20 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

wait a minute...why must terminate? DA only got Visa? No Mastercard?

Added on February 5, 2009, 10:33 am
QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 5 2009, 09:57 AM)

0.2% cash rebate on all transaction I guess almost equal to my AmBank Bonus Points......I calculate before this, can say 99% same thing.
So now prefer go for cash rebate instead of collecting points.
weird...using Maybank treatspoints as an example, I can get a RM50 voucher with 9000 points. Based on that, each point is worth just over 0.55% on any purchase. Also means its 0.55% cash rebate...quintuple (x5 or 1.65%) if you use Petronas card. So Maybank TreatsPoints are almost 3 times the value of Ambank points?...lol

either way, look for something with 2% rebate...that even beats the Maybank Petronas card. Missed RHB's 5% rebate on their card...

sorry for the geeky post tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Feb 5 2009, 10:33 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 5 2009, 01:45 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I thought Standard Charted promotion ended in Dec 08? I checked if they extended that promotion (again) just last month...no update.
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 5 2009, 03:45 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Feb 5 2009, 03:04 PM)
Look at their islamic banking, offer ends june 2009
means only if you open islamic bank account can get the rebate? Coz this still says Dec 08 - http://www.standardchartered.com.my/cb/dep...save/index.html
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 6 2009, 08:52 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Feb 5 2009, 11:27 PM)
but many cards on the market like citi-shell, citi-airasia, rhb-tesco there all have either classic or gold right?
no, all co-brand cards are equal. Only the credit limit is different depending on the individual. Actually I don't think there's any difference between gold and classic. I have both and the only difference between the two is the credit limit...but I reduced the gold credit limit to match the classic to control my spendings. Promotion/discount wise - both cards are the same.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 5 2009, 11:51 PM)
btw, i thinks the catch of the co-branded card is annual is not waiver-able....  read somewhere last time.
most also do not give 1st year free annual fee...
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 6 2009, 01:20 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Feb 6 2009, 12:02 PM)
hi i want to apply EON bank credit card. my office is in Bandar Utama. I'm lazy to go to EON bank branch.

0172970100 - Nick
wat's so good about EON? My friend applied but regret soon after.

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 6 2009, 12:21 PM)
Normally, how you guys cancel you cc? by fax....by email.....by letter (mail).....by walk-in to office then fill-in the form....by call?
Which is the best best working / easy way? can by email?

BTW, any benefit from EON bank?....any cash rebate?
I walked in to make sure they did the cancellation process properly. Cut the card (and the microchip) on the spot and all. I even took back a piece of the microchip as a souvenir laugh.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 6 2009, 04:15 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

all banks give "up to" 36 months installment for purchases...but usually they're based on a number of conditions which include:-
1) Total amount purchase
For example, Maybank gave 24 months installment but when I asked...its only for purchases above RM2000. If its below RM2000, maximum they can give is 12 months.

2) Merchant availability
Some merchants...even if they accept EON card (example) only provide 12 months installment maximum.

so you better double check with that shop. If I'm not mistaken, other banks have better offers or options.
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 10 2009, 08:51 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Feb 9 2009, 07:10 PM)
Slap yerself then .... or get your wife/gf/bf/mistress/toyboy/toygirl/sugamummy/sugadaddy/pa/clerk/boss/manager/director to slap you on the day you are suppose to pay the bill so that you wont forget.

I got charge once or twices as well.... didn't bother to ask for waiver though... i remember i had to pay. but then i forgot when it comes... so.... wel.. my fault... so, let them earn lo. Rugi duit hoping i would be scare for 2nd time. Mana tau it doesn't really work.  rclxub.gif
I always pay a few days earlier. You don't have to pay exactly on the due date...
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 11 2009, 09:13 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 10 2009, 11:20 PM)
i paid mine before receive paper statements...
I need the statements to know how much to pay sweat.gif
anyway the statements arrive about 20 days before the dateline so everyone should have plenty of time to pay.
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 12 2009, 09:48 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Crystalkhor @ Feb 12 2009, 03:11 AM)
My personal choice:
1. Maybank : For a mere 8350 points, you can redeem a Sunshine Square RM50 voucher, or for 16700 points, you can get RM 100 Jaya Jusco voucher.
2. CIMB DA: For 9800 points, you can redeem RM 50 giant voucher.

This two banks credit card highly recommend. Other bank that follows by their worth of points would be RHB, EON Bank, OCBC, HSBC, Citibank, Stan Chart, Hong Leong Bank, UOB, Ambank.
I prefer Maybank coz their points can keep forever tongue.gif
CIMB?
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 13 2009, 01:30 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

damn & blast...credit card interests down plentyful but I missed one payment in November. Can't get the 13.5% interest sad.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 13 2009, 04:27 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

CIMB points can last 3 years? That's quite good I think. Maybank points last forever but they never have anything nice to redeem/exchange...plus now I see the latest points book, some RM50 petrol coupon previously 9000 points now 11000 points to redeem doh.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 13 2009, 05:08 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 13 2009, 04:33 PM)
You have the new catalogue already?

its not 20th Feb yet so I DO have the latest laugh.gif
it just arrived yesterday with my statement - on the 12th as always. Nothing much to see. Maybe the 20th Feb one is bigger and more extensive. Either way there hasn't been anything interesting in the past 2 years so...not putting any hopes.

I saw my colleague's CIMB Rewards 2008-2009 book...and it looks quite nice actually. A LOT of items and some I think are cheaper (points wise) than Maybank. For example...some RM50 vouchers here only cost 8000 points compared to Maybank's 11000 pts for Rm50 voucher. That's assuming CIMB also give 1 point per RM1 spent on their card.

QUOTE(Maxd38 @ Feb 13 2009, 04:34 PM)
Yes, only 3 yrs..
Do u think cash rebate 0.5% is better or reward points?
Depends on the bank I think.

Dun click! Nerdy calculations!!

that's the (really) nerdy way of looking at points. The other is just seeing if you need the points at all. If you don't want the hassle of using points to redeem something you may not want...and not to mention wasting the leftover points...you can opt for cash rebate all the way. I'd go for points though coz sometimes you get 2x, 3x points for paying bills, shopping during a sale, etc.

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Feb 13 2009, 05:12 PM
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 13 2009, 08:41 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

just checked...my Maybank treatspoints Rewards Catalogue is Feb to July 2009. So I guess its the new one?

MBB Amex got annual fee rite? If I'm not mistaken...its twice the fee compared to classic?
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 16 2009, 10:12 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

good, cut more!

0.0451sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:29 AM