6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

AMD® Socket-AM2&AM2+ Overclocking V12, The Deneb Era...Is coming..Beware..

cloudwan
post Dec 2 2008, 03:58 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 2 2008, 03:23 PM)
u sure bro... thx in advance...  rclxm9.gif

gotta agree on d thread thingy, don't really need to open diff threads according to socket/model. don't want to see us end up like intel users, one/few models will have their own thread, not so united...  tongue.gif

@bro -pWs-

d more d merrier...  laugh.gif
Sure no prob meh.. I got a lot of blank dvd's lying around.. tongue.gif
Just pm me ur add ler... Hehehehe..

Added on December 2, 2008, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Dec 2 2008, 03:44 PM)
still in my mind, if want today can withdraw the money, salary today drool.gif .. bonus will come end of year..early 2009 will grab one and send my ta690g to rma
Go go go buy.. No use waitin for bonus tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Dec 2 2008, 04:00 PM
cloudwan
post Dec 4 2008, 09:42 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 4 2008, 08:07 PM)
But i think Athlon X4 is enough for me..
Becos lets see..AM3 .. RM 300..Proc RM 500..RM 800 whistling.gif
Anyway AM3 chipset quite werid.Lets see
AMD 770 + SB 710 AM3
AND / Or 8 Series Chipset..
Ya lor, if got money i think i also go the same path as u..
No money to play2 at sooooo highend stuffs, huhuhuhu.. cry.gif cry.gif
Maybe not changing the mobo n ram yet just the cpu tongue.gif

P.S> Kinda scared that AMD is putting the Phenom II prices soo near with i7 prices, i really hope it would be much lesser.. Hoping that they would do something like what ATI did to nvidia recently tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 12:29 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 4 2008, 11:04 PM)
Yeah..But IF the Phenom II 3.0Ghz slap the Core i7 940 why not? whistling.gif
I need an X4..I do alot of work le - -
If it can perform nearly as good as i7 then it's a steal at that price smile.gif

U do a lot of work?? hmm.gif hmm.gif
Ur work involving downloading "prawn" eh? brows.gif brows.gif tongue.gif
Miahahaha, then u really need an X4 tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 11:11 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 5 2008, 09:28 AM)
bro need to set bios first ke ? lucky i didn't install vista 64 bit last night i install 32bit vista ok no problem.....
but this board bios is a bit tricky for newbie like me  rclxub.gif 
need some help in understanding the bios @bro cloudwan and @bro sepulgilo u guys have touch this bios right.... notworthy.gif  whistling.gif
QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 5 2008, 11:01 AM)
well it wasn't suppose to happen u know.... actually i went to KL with my office mate (boss also coming) then they said want to visit lowyat then i saw this mobo  drool.gif  suddenly my hand went so itchy n took out my wallet n so it happen doh.gif 
bro urs bios is the latest one or not....i'm going to update to latest bios tonight is it worth it ha...
Miahahaha, sori i cannot be of any help regarding installation of 64bit windows, i myself is still using Vista 32bit tongue.gif
Haven't got the time to test installing an 64bit win.. smile.gif
Try updating to the latest bios ah n remember after updating it to select the optimal setting option in the bios..
I read somewhere that everytime u flash ur bios u have to set it.. Don't ask me why though.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 12:04 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 5 2008, 11:44 AM)
ok i'll remember it after bios update select optimal setting...
btw bro how do u update, using usb(pendrive) or online or thru window with biostar software... hmm.gif
Usually i just update thru windows using biostar software.. No prob so far..
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 12:08 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 5 2008, 11:50 AM)
so basicly it's like this is it...

flash bios > reset cmos > load optimized > start window
Usually it's supposed to be :
reset bios > flash cmos > load optimized > start window

But i always:

flash cmos > load optimized > start window tongue.gif

Not advisable though tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 12:19 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Dec 5 2008, 12:08 PM)
belum kena belum tahu
nanti kena..asking help here and there or RMA mobo  icon_idea.gif
Aiyoooooo don't say like that ma.. Doa tuh tongue.gif
Puh kiri puh kanan hopefully no prob forever n ever.. smile.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 01:00 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 5 2008, 12:45 PM)
@bro cloudwan will there be a problem if i use dimm 3 n 4 rather than dimm 1 n 2...coz after i installed my red scorpion dimm 1 n 2 was blocked so i use dimm 3 n 4...
so when i boot it says something like memory dimm 23, 25 missing than i found memory warning something in bios n disabled it after that boot windows ok...
There should be no prob using the slot 3 n 4 but it is best to use slot 1 n 2 when o/c ing..
Just my 2 cents ar..
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 02:46 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Dec 5 2008, 02:19 PM)
it's just the matter the rom died during flash..
i not trust on the appz though with other program running in the background..
Yup, one screw up from any other software u got running behind then ur dead if it causes ur windows hang or sumthin.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 5 2008, 02:35 PM)
d 8 + 2 pwm is simply babelicious...  drool.gif
Yalooor ah soh mobo with it's oversize boobies pwm's (8+2 pwm).. Always babelicious..
What to do, just have to be thankful with what i have, even though it's only 32A size (3+1PWM) tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 5 2008, 02:58 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Phenom II to Face Paper-Launch on Jan. 8
It isn't news that Phenom II X4 would be released by AMD, on January 8 2009, but that the company would only start taking orders from channel vendors from that date onwards, meaning that Phenom II X4 would face only a paper-launch by the company on that date. A paper-launch is the state where the product is officially launched by the company, but isn't ready with the retailers for you to buy.

Sources tell OC Workbench, that the products will be available with the retailers tentatively by February 4 2009. Retailers could at best, start off with pre-orders in January. The first products to launch, are Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition and Phenom II X4 920.
Damn... I was hoping it would be a full fledge launch not just another paper launch.. sad.gif

Source here:
http://my.ocworkbench.com/bbs/showthread.p...1060#post441060

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Dec 5 2008, 03:00 PM
cloudwan
post Dec 11 2008, 11:53 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Guys i donno if u read this b4:

First game tests of Phenom II online
AMD Phenom II X4 940: First game benchmarks

The first game benchmarks of an AMD Phenom II X4 940 surfaced on the web. Besides Stalker: Clear Sky and Far Cry 2 several other games have been tested.
The first game benchmark results of an AMD Phenom II X4 940 appear to be quite solid. The benchmarks show results for Intel's Core i7 940, the Core 2 Quad Q9650 and AMD's Phenom X4 9950 and the Phenom II X4 940.

The Core i7 940 had been tested with 3 GiByte DDR3-1333 RAM and the other CPUs with 4 GiByte DDR2-1066. The graphics card used was a Geforce GTX 280.

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/?menu=brows...image_id=949071

The benchmarks seem to have been published at expreview.com originally, but can't be found there anymore. User Silentjack07 from the forum of vr-zone uploaded them again though.

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/?menu=brows...image_id=949072

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/?menu=brows...image_id=949073

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/?menu=brows...image_id=949074

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/?menu=brows...image_id=949075

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/?menu=brows...image_id=949076

Source:
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,669910/...ame_benchmarks/

It looked promising.. If they price it competitively they would have a great thing here.. Hope it goes well.. smile.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 11 2008, 04:37 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Yup, really hope it is as these leaked report said it is..
If it really is true then we have a fighting chance ah biggrin.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 12 2008, 02:26 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Yup thermalright HR-09 or sumthin.. Can't remember the exact name..
If ur $$$ is low maybe just do like i do, buy one of those cheapo copper made in china ramsink at Sri Computer for RM15~18 paste it on the pwm's and hang a 60~70mm fan above it to blow cool air.. smile.gif
Should do the trick kot tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Dec 12 2008, 02:30 PM
cloudwan
post Dec 12 2008, 03:16 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 12 2008, 02:46 PM)
Ehhh...bro how to use thermal tape and TIM together...if i'm not mistaken when we use thermal tape we don't need TIM right...

@bro cloudwan do u change ur nb heatsink too..
Miahahaha, i'm at work soo can't snap some pics right now, but i'll try snappin some pics when i get back..
and no i didn't change my nb heatsink, just feel it's adequate enuff for me due to the cool air flowing from the front of my case..
Hope it's enuff ah tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 12 2008, 03:48 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Ya lor where can i buy those good 3M thermal pads eh?
Thinking of replacing the stock thermal pads on those cheapo ramsinks i bought..
Been looking for em quite sometime now.. Got anyone selling in lyn?
cloudwan
post Dec 12 2008, 03:51 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Dec 12 2008, 03:48 PM)
bro my wife will kill me if she even knew i changed my mobo just recently sweat.gif ...and u say MASSIVE upgrades ughhh doh.gif
Miahahahaha, keeping a secret from the missus eh? brows.gif brows.gif
Hehehehe give me her HP no n i'll sms her on whut u did.. MIahahahaha tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 12 2008, 03:54 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Dec 12 2008, 03:52 PM)
Aikssss u trasa plak?
Miahahaha looks like i'm throwing 2 birds with a stone eh tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 15 2008, 01:36 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(MENCHELSEA @ Dec 14 2008, 11:18 PM)
gonna make custom Mosfet heatsink fist lo ,.. then i"ll start OC  brows.gif
Miahahahaha, bought urself a TA790GX 128M jugak eh?
Welkam to the club ah tongue.gif Lai lai who wants to join lg smile.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 15 2008, 02:00 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(MENCHELSEA @ Dec 15 2008, 01:41 AM)
i'm lost already in BIOS  sweat.gif  doh.gif

icon_question.gif 
any webby that i can check for review or setting ( very hard to find lo)  blush.gif  sweat.gif
Miahahaha, everything have to learn by trial & error.. That's whut we did tongue.gif
Whut bios revision are u using? Last time i used the stock bios there were settings in the bios that i didn't understand coz they label it a bit differently..
After flashing to a newer bios it settled everything..
cloudwan
post Dec 15 2008, 02:14 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(MENCHELSEA @ Dec 15 2008, 02:12 AM)
all default rev0
u r using BIOS from Boistar or rebel heaven?
I'm using biostar's bios... smile.gif
The latest is ver 0800114 dated 11/11/2008 if i'm not mistaken..

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0400sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:22 AM