As above title can u please list RTS game that good in display and also require the true strategies on winning the games? Coz for me, C&C3 Tiberium wars also not so challenging eventhough iI play it with the Hard Difficulties....
Thanx
RTS What RTS game that...., Test ur strategies mind to da max?
Nov 11 2008, 03:15 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
302 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Bangi |
Guys,
As above title can u please list RTS game that good in display and also require the true strategies on winning the games? Coz for me, C&C3 Tiberium wars also not so challenging eventhough iI play it with the Hard Difficulties.... Thanx |
Nov 11 2008, 03:18 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
1. Company of Heroes series
2. Supreme Commander series 3. World in Conflict |
Nov 11 2008, 03:19 PM
4,567 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Bangi, Selangor |
Play against humans. More challenging.
Nov 11 2008, 03:26 PM
512 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
suprmem commander. go test ur skills there if u can.
Nov 11 2008, 03:27 PM
204 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
supreme commander.
Nov 11 2008, 03:28 PM
Yeah...already have this game but seems like the graphics is not to my liking, so I just uninstalled it back...Think on installing it back on my machine....::yummy::
Nov 11 2008, 03:34 PM
83 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
try World in Conflict, I also enjoyed Company of Heroes.
Nov 11 2008, 03:42 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
for me warcraft 3 is challenging enough.
Nov 11 2008, 04:04 PM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
dota
Nov 11 2008, 04:45 PM
292 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Ipoh |
Nov 11 2008, 04:55 PM
205 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(busta_dude @ Nov 11 2008, 03:15 PM) Guys, 1 V 1 hard difficulties is too easy for you.As above title can u please list RTS game that good in display and also require the true strategies on winning the games? Coz for me, C&C3 Tiberium wars also not so challenging eventhough iI play it with the Hard Difficulties.... Thanx 1 V 2 then.. ^^ If you're really kicking ass, play online with human players, AI are just too dumb to play with. |
Nov 11 2008, 04:58 PM
Not yet having internet connection at home...Will apply for streamyx 2mb soon...Muahahaha..
Nov 11 2008, 05:00 PM
86 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Around this world |
SC? The AI sucks though
Nov 11 2008, 05:03 PM
188 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Hmm, the only game that gives me some challenge might be Supreme Commander too. Gives the AI lots of resources and a bit of time, and you'll see lots of things shooting at you
With AI, it still depends on you. If you're a master strategist, even on extreme -ing hard, it will still feel like a breeze to you With human, heheheh |
Nov 11 2008, 05:18 PM
Nov 11 2008, 05:28 PM
194 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
starcraft (hunter z turbo)
Nov 11 2008, 05:36 PM
1,201 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ampang |
Play against human opponent. Not hard or brutal AI whatsoever. That will test your strategies and most importantly your skill to the max
Nov 11 2008, 05:39 PM
^^tango25
Not yet i sez..Coz just moving to this house...and to find myself are suitable for long term stay at this house...So need to look2 first then will have connection...Muahaha coz for the fix line net must have at least a year contract is it? |
Nov 11 2008, 06:22 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
For me Nth beat World In Conflict in RTS......the best RTS of all time.....play with Human is most best even is highest rank ( General) still will lose the game
Nov 11 2008, 07:03 PM
4,858 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Tawau, Sabah |
Nov 11 2008, 07:15 PM
64 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Rise of legend
Nov 11 2008, 07:20 PM
Nov 11 2008, 07:31 PM
479 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Planet Earth |
my vote goes to Company of Heroes,WiC and Supreme Commander..
Nov 11 2008, 07:41 PM
1,453 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
medieval 2 total war!
or better yet, Rome total war : Alexander!! HAHA, one of the hardest expansion pack... zzz.. |
Nov 11 2008, 07:41 PM
1,374 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Red Comet |
i would say total war series... large number not always win
quote: Sun Tze Art of War |
Nov 11 2008, 08:45 PM
1,122 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
dota
Nov 11 2008, 11:59 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(busta_dude @ Nov 11 2008, 03:28 PM) Yeah...already have this game but seems like the graphics is not to my liking, so I just uninstalled it back...Think on installing it back on my machine....::yummy:: apa la you. first you want RTS. give you good RTS then you complain graphic.might as well right at the start you want an RTS with strategy PLUS impressive graphics. but tell you la, in RTS you have time to observe graphic ah? in Supreme Commander, you spend most of your time on overview anyway. if you took note of Sup Comm, each faction seem similar but their units are pretty much varies, that even the naval unit most people haven't actually used their T3 units. I know I haven't, simply because their T3 units take quite a while to build and comes to really powerful, almost a T4 unit and sometimes even more useful. in Sup Comm, holding 60% of the resources on map also doesn't mean you're going to be the winner, simply because what you build will also be spread out in defending while the guy with 40% could end up just building a few T2 missile launchers and take out the bulk of your upgraded ME. QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 11 2008, 06:22 PM) For me Nth beat World In Conflict in RTS......the best RTS of all time.....play with Human is most best even is highest rank ( General) still will lose the game i won't say nothing beats it cos diff ppl diff preference BUT it certainly is a great RTS. Try playing online and coordinate with your team, whether you're the cmdr or not - wow....... no tank spam! it involves careful use of your resource. coordination is essential. split second decisions could make or break the battle. i tried it and i was impressed, it was really fun. as for Company of Heroes, interesting that you can actually use the surrounding and elevation for your advantage among many other things. again, pretty difficult to spam since you're much dependant on your supply line and unit points or whatever you call that, so you're units are limited to what you hold. |
Nov 12 2008, 12:59 AM
479 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Planet Earth |
Nov 12 2008, 09:30 AM
2,130 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Miri |
Starcraft over Battle.net?
Nov 12 2008, 10:56 AM
228 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: USJ7, Shah Alam, Banting |
Challenging RTS mode: Playing C&C3: Tiberium Wars skirmish, Brutal AI difficulty. 1-to-1 Using NOD against Scrin (Turtle). Damn I just never won this war!
Nov 12 2008, 11:07 AM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Total War series, Warcraft and starkraft.
Nov 12 2008, 11:17 AM
1,032 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
RTS = BUrsa Malaysia.
If you lose you will hang your self hahaha for me it would be company of heroes |
Nov 12 2008, 11:27 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Nov 12 2008, 10:56 AM) Challenging RTS mode: Playing C&C3: Tiberium Wars skirmish, Brutal AI difficulty. 1-to-1 Using NOD against Scrin (Turtle). Damn I just never won this war! that's tough.for me and my buddies, we play Sup Com : FA vs AIX. sometimes even 3 vs 1 AIX can barely survive. the AIX has like unlimited resources and builds horrrendously fast. in no time suddenly get spam of T3 bomber, T4 units, T3 artillery and the worse part, T3 strat missile! sheesh, gila wan. some more of the 3 players, one of them don't play so well. so that's like 2.5 vs 1. it's challenging that we had to try our very best to survive and hopefully defeat the ever growing powerful AI. the other day i wanted to play 4 vs 4, me + 3 AI vs 4 AI, but i mistakenly set me + 3 AI vs 1 AIX + 3AI. later when found out that time, it's like aiyah...........DO OR DIE. but end up won, cos I was playing Assassination Mode and spam T4 with the AIX Commander as the primary target. |
Nov 12 2008, 11:54 AM
2,690 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang/ Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Nov 12 2008, 10:56 AM) Challenging RTS mode: Playing C&C3: Tiberium Wars skirmish, Brutal AI difficulty. 1-to-1 Using NOD against Scrin (Turtle). Damn I just never won this war! can beat that in jz 3 minutes...build a crane, then a base next to them with defenses and barracks queue up when the game start... chunk out engineers and they'll sell their buildings when ur engineers are near... but if u dun do taht towards the late game u will see their spam... not hard if u play turtle defense with nod like me... i sitll find sup comm the hardest... |
Nov 12 2008, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(busta_dude @ Nov 11 2008, 05:39 PM) ^^tango25 Maxis has some kinda online anywhere, portable modem, you can try out.Not yet i sez..Coz just moving to this house...and to find myself are suitable for long term stay at this house...So need to look2 first then will have connection...Muahaha coz for the fix line net must have at least a year contract is it? |
Nov 12 2008, 06:11 PM
4,852 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Nov 12 2008, 07:18 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 12 2008, 11:54 AM) i sitll find sup comm the hardest... one damn thing about playing with my buddies in SupComm is that on 3 vs 3, i can wipe out the first AI within 5 minutes. so that's 3 vs 2. easy right? NO..............cos by then i'm slow in resources already. my other buddy is practically useless in attacking. and the other is great in attacking but always love to build up kau kau kau kau before doing anything. |
Nov 12 2008, 07:27 PM
hehe...I said for me mar....SO World n Conflict are the best..i now still playing it online.....Best lar...always dunno your team are pro support or arty noobie.
Goldfirst ur Supreme Commander so Pro liao sure can take out Comp in 5 minute...GG |
Nov 12 2008, 07:39 PM
666 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: melaka |
That'll be World in Conflict. Learned this the hard way: Off-map destructive weapons does not always work XD (about 10 second delay for each use). Same goes for senseless group rushing (Lost 6 tanks in less than 10 seconds from enemy rocket troops ==).
Battle For Middle Earth (especially 2) also surprises me as well. The game is highly dependent on the usage and placement of troops, which is like no other RTS I've played before. The first time I played this I used the usual "unlimited ranged unit mass" I usually used in most RTS, and it failed me (totally) for the first time O_o. This post has been edited by greatgreedyguts: Nov 12 2008, 07:40 PM |
Nov 12 2008, 09:40 PM
305 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Ellesméra - Vhoorl |
Hehe. Like that you'll be stomped by the cavalry instead.
For my fav RTS is C&C Generals : zero hour CoH : Vanilla ( didn't have the chance to upgrade to OF) Rise of Legends |
Nov 12 2008, 10:45 PM
313 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Supreme commander
Nov 13 2008, 01:16 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 12 2008, 07:27 PM) AI a bit dumb at the start. just don't give them enough resources and they won't give you nightmare.start by just walking your cmdr to their base, build a T1 PD covering 2 ME. then build another nearer some more. from your base, can spam T1 tanks. or if not also, send your cmdr with accompanying T1 arti if you don't wish to play T1 PD style. QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 12 2008, 09:40 PM) For my fav RTS is it's actually one of the more tactical C&C. C&C Generals : zero hour Generals alone, NOPE. but Zero Hour - YES! I love playing GLA. |
Nov 20 2008, 08:21 AM
Nov 20 2008, 08:35 AM
985 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Limbo |
U should try Defcon.
Perhaps its not the standard RTS per se...but it requires a huge chunk of strategy (as well as paranoia) to win the game |
Nov 20 2008, 09:00 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 20 2008, 08:21 AM) Yes that's very true. Tomahawk's can easily obliterate the GLA's defences. let's not forget that a bunch of upgraded paladdins could render the GLA defences useless since they're rocket based. using poison tank or anything that kills human also renders GLA defences useless too. |
Nov 20 2008, 09:16 AM
97 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 20 2008, 09:00 AM) let's not forget that a bunch of upgraded paladdins could render the GLA defences useless since they're rocket based. I think that the way to play GLA is to make more than one base. Speed is the essence.GLA will experience more unit lost than the enenmy but the strategy here is to outlast the enemy.using poison tank or anything that kills human also renders GLA defences useless too. |
Nov 20 2008, 09:35 AM
Maybe you can try playing Chess online
Nov 20 2008, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(HHH816 @ Nov 20 2008, 09:16 AM) I think that the way to play GLA is to make more than one base. Speed is the essence.GLA will experience more unit lost than the enenmy but the strategy here is to outlast the enemy. The tunnel networks is essential! If stealth, you can just put a scud far far at the corner of the map. Too bad the angry mob can't enter the tunnels. If allowed, I bet the opponent will panic. AK47 for everyone! Talk about RTS, Age of Empires 3? I like the ships and the water effect. hehe |
Nov 20 2008, 10:12 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(HHH816 @ Nov 20 2008, 09:16 AM) I think that the way to play GLA is to make more than one base. Speed is the essence.GLA will experience more unit lost than the enenmy but the strategy here is to outlast the enemy. use $$$ for units. and use tunnel networks! damn fun man, suddenly build a few around enemy base (assuming opponent not smart enough to scout) Added on November 20, 2008, 10:12 amanother RTS that i really miss is Age of Mythology! This post has been edited by goldfries: Nov 20 2008, 10:12 AM |
Nov 20 2008, 02:41 PM
Haha. A single touch to the spy satellite and our neighbor starts rushing their paladins.
Ahh, Age of Mythology, such a hard game. I've never win a Norse. Strong war race. I only managed to hide behind my egyptian wall. |
Nov 20 2008, 08:37 PM
1,269 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Shah Alam |
well, i never play WiC and SupCom before..... but wan to try it....
btw, my choice is CoH coz the first and only RTS that i play online.... same tactic wont effect to the other people..... must change tactics all the time.... |
Nov 20 2008, 08:39 PM
Damn,now i want to buy Sup Com.
Nov 20 2008, 08:41 PM
1,269 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Shah Alam |
fight CoH with me 1st la....
This post has been edited by syazwanreno: Nov 20 2008, 08:53 PM |
Nov 20 2008, 09:50 PM
1,137 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
How come no 1 ever mentioned about sins of a solar empire, total war series, total annihilation, sudden strike, dawn of war 40k, rise of nations, Dune 2, Homeworld, age of empire, empire earth, age of mythology,Battle Realms, Three Kingdoms: Fate of the Dragon or known as dragon throne, dragon throne battle for red cliff, starwars empire at wars. Dragon throne and its expansion is my favourite RTS chinese game that Ive played so far and i find it very innovative too.
Those are the RTS that I have tought of so far, have fun trying them out. |
Nov 20 2008, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(yo el rey @ Nov 20 2008, 09:35 AM) Ahh you are talking bout turn base stretegy games Go(board game) or knows as baduk in korean and wei qi in chinese is a much deeper strategy game in terms of thinking, then you move on to risk where dice is involved axis and allies so is warhammer 40k those are the ones that I can think of. |
Nov 20 2008, 11:00 PM
Nov 20 2008, 11:25 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 20 2008, 09:50 PM) How come no 1 ever mentioned about sins of a solar empire, total war series, total annihilation, sudden strike, dawn of war 40k, rise of nations, Dune 2, Homeworld, age of empire, empire earth, age of mythology,Battle Realms, Three Kingdoms: Fate of the Dragon or known as dragon throne, dragon throne battle for red cliff, starwars empire at wars. Dragon throne and its expansion is my favourite RTS chinese game that Ive played so far and i find it very innovative too. seriously, if want to talk good RTS - DARK REIGN! STAR CRAFT! Those are the RTS that I have tought of so far, have fun trying them out. btw i mentioned AOM before you. i guess people didn't mention because people only list out what they think are top of the crop. so now, should we stick to the latest available RTS or talk about those ancient ones? speaking of Dark Reign, I think it's really great cos the behavior setting is damn good la, can set the unit to Search & Destroy mode (set that to all Cyclones!) and also can tell them how much damage to take before going back for repair. Till now (around 10 years passed) I have yet to see RTS implement this, at least not on the RTS that I played. then of course, Mech Commander. I don't know if anyone calls Mech Commander game as RTS. It is Real time. It is strategy. |
Nov 20 2008, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 20 2008, 11:25 PM) seriously, if want to talk good RTS - DARK REIGN! STAR CRAFT! I have not played that before maybe I should go and look for some 3rd 4th hand shop or wose comes to worse get from the net.btw i mentioned AOM before you. i guess people didn't mention because people only list out what they think are top of the crop. so now, should we stick to the latest available RTS or talk about those ancient ones? speaking of Dark Reign, I think it's really great cos the behavior setting is damn good la, can set the unit to Search & Destroy mode (set that to all Cyclones!) and also can tell them how much damage to take before going back for repair. Till now (around 10 years passed) I have yet to see RTS implement this, at least not on the RTS that I played. then of course, Mech Commander. I don't know if anyone calls Mech Commander game as RTS. It is Real time. It is strategy. Mech Commander was just classic I loved it so much, never played X-com too. Ahh yeah how can I forget black and white and populus by madfrog, ahh yeah dungeon keeper too. Speaking of good game I feel that EA killed so many of them by just buying them over and stop producing their game or make their games into crap. that how capitalism goes. Maybe playing king of the gaming world is more fun than playing RTS it self, planing how to take over other competitors and selling them just like the good old idea from westwood not EA capture with engineer and sell the building esp the construction yard. Well atleast there is still companies like ironclad which makes good RTS like sins of a solar empire. This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 20 2008, 11:41 PM |
Nov 20 2008, 11:38 PM
Forum Admin
MechCmdr and MechCmdr II just rawks!
Let's not forget Syndicate from Bullfrog (are you sure madfrog ah? not bullfrog?) ahh IIRC Nexus (Jupiter project) was good too. KKND I tried but never liked. what to do, i just love RTS. |
Nov 20 2008, 11:43 PM
Nov 20 2008, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 20 2008, 11:38 PM) MechCmdr and MechCmdr II just rawks! Ahh me 2 me 2 too bad that I didn have a decent com to play computer games until now the games I played in those days were borrowed computers or on my 486 then latter on only a celeron 800 megahertz. Let's not forget Syndicate from Bullfrog (are you sure madfrog ah? not bullfrog?) ahh IIRC Nexus (Jupiter project) was good too. KKND I tried but never liked. what to do, i just love RTS. QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 20 2008, 11:43 PM) I remember some time ago some 1 asked for a multiplayer mech commander 2.Talking bout mech commander I miss the mech warrior series too though its abit out of topic but .... I wonder why with all the new graphic improvements no 1 make mech commander anymore, that goes for flight simulation games just kinda dying. These days so many fps that I got so fadup with it no 1 thing of nice gameplay anymore but just graphics graphics. |
Nov 21 2008, 12:21 AM
Hmm haven't tried mech cmdr though.
Here's a few RTS that I consider it fun to play. Populous : The Beginning ( Shaman turns to god FTW!!) Act of War Series : awed by the graphics when I 1st bought it. Star Wars Galactic Battleground : ( can make a lot of jedi to war) |
Nov 21 2008, 12:46 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 20 2008, 11:49 PM) Ahh me 2 me 2 too bad that I didn have a decent com to play computer games until now the games I played in those days were borrowed computers or on my 486 then latter on only a celeron 800 megahertz. i missed many games cos of that also. QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 20 2008, 11:49 PM) I remember some time ago some 1 asked for a multiplayer mech commander 2. Talking bout mech commander I miss the mech warrior series too though its abit out of topic but .... yeah me too. i only played MW2, MW3 i didn't. MW4 i played but the expansion i didn't play. QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 20 2008, 11:49 PM) I wonder why with all the new graphic improvements no 1 make mech commander anymore, that goes for flight simulation games just kinda dying. These days so many fps that I got so fadup with it no 1 thing of nice gameplay anymore but just graphics graphics. yeah, i miss those good old days where flight sims were common. nowadays all FPS. QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 21 2008, 12:21 AM) Act of War Series : awed by the graphics when I 1st bought it. funny thing about the Act of War game was that (I played was Act of War: High Treason) I couldn't get pass mission 2. or was it 3. i don't know, putting all my years of RTS skill just couldn't get pass it due to ridiculously overwhelming odds and to some extent, a little lousy control of the units. |
Nov 21 2008, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 20 2008, 11:49 PM) I remember some time ago some 1 asked for a multiplayer mech commander 2. I miss those mech games.They are all awesome games.Talking bout mech commander I miss the mech warrior series too though its abit out of topic but .... I wonder why with all the new graphic improvements no 1 make mech commander anymore, that goes for flight simulation games just kinda dying. These days so many fps that I got so fadup with it no 1 thing of nice gameplay anymore but just graphics graphics. QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2008, 12:46 AM) Yeah,now days only FPS with better graphics.No much changes in gameplay. |
Nov 21 2008, 03:04 AM
634 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kay Bee |
So far I find Red Alert 3 challanging, since haven't touch RTS games for a while after Warhammer 40k : Dark Crusade.
Nov 21 2008, 04:33 AM
2,644 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
try homeworld, homeworld 2 and the Evil Genius
Nov 21 2008, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2008, 12:46 AM) i missed many games cos of that also. I guess the most recent flight simulation that I have played is battle field 1942 then 2 and thats about it I think thats the best game every created by EA for me. yeah me too. i only played MW2, MW3 i didn't. MW4 i played but the expansion i didn't play. yeah, i miss those good old days where flight sims were common. nowadays all FPS. funny thing about the Act of War game was that (I played was Act of War: High Treason) I couldn't get pass mission 2. or was it 3. i don't know, putting all my years of RTS skill just couldn't get pass it due to ridiculously overwhelming odds and to some extent, a little lousy control of the units. and thats originally EA. I played Act of War till my com always crashed and after that I stopped. I guess cos its a downloaded version I could not find the game in market anymore, other than ahem stores. Guess I shall see who is selling that game. |
Nov 21 2008, 11:36 AM
There's a huge Flight Simulation community. They've got their own Air Trafiic Controllers and they use Gaming Rigs most of us can only dream of. Microsoft Flight Simulator supports multiple monitors and most of the Flight Simulator players take their hobby very serious. You can even compete in the Red Bull Air Race! What I do see a lack of is are the Flight Simulators for military planes or helicopters
Nov 21 2008, 12:50 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 21 2008, 01:10 AM) Yeah,now days only FPS with better graphics.No much changes in gameplay. to me, the revolutionary ones are Half Life, System Shock 2 and Deus Ex. after that, the other FPS to me are just............FPS. haha. I never touched Crysis also, other than the demo for benchmark purpose. i don't know what's the hoohaa about Crysis. |
Nov 21 2008, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2008, 12:50 PM) to me, the revolutionary ones are Crysis is just very good eye candy thats all to it. However Empire total war seems different to its previous total war.Half Life, System Shock 2 and Deus Ex. after that, the other FPS to me are just............FPS. haha. I never touched Crysis also, other than the demo for benchmark purpose. i don't know what's the hoohaa about Crysis. |
Nov 21 2008, 01:28 PM
Forum Admin
that's what I thought. till now I've yet to come by decent FPS also. STALKER is actually WAY better than Crysis IMO. graphically and gameplay wise.
oh btw, back to RTS. I MISS DARK REIGN!!! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dark_Reign:_The_Future_of_War 11 years back and still beats the shit outta most RTS today. |
Nov 21 2008, 01:46 PM
Hmm looks abit like westwood games to me, should download and play some time that is if its still around.
Nov 21 2008, 02:44 PM
Forum Admin
bleh, beats the crap outta Westwood punya games.
Nov 21 2008, 02:45 PM
634 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kay Bee |
I always prefer the old days of FPS, where they just, well, honest-to-god mindless, with a little bit of twisted humour, I am looking at you Serious Sam and Duke Nukem.
Anyway does darwinia considered as RTS ? So retro and exciting. |
Nov 21 2008, 02:57 PM
20 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Well,
Dark reign beat me flat, I never finished the game. No other game i know learned from their mistakes. Syndicate Wars was godlike. Dune2 was godlike. Warcraft series... i dunno. Anything westwood. Anything relic. =) |
Nov 21 2008, 03:02 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Fatimus @ Nov 21 2008, 02:45 PM) I always prefer the old days of FPS, where they just, well, honest-to-god mindless, with a little bit of twisted humour, I am looking at you Serious Sam and Duke Nukem. ahah yeah. how about Doom or Wolfenstein 3D? anyway let's not go FPS la. QUOTE(Sanction @ Nov 21 2008, 02:57 PM) Well, Dark reign beat me flat, I never finished the game. No other game i know learned from their mistakes. that difficult? there's also another strategy game that i can't remember the title. it works something like WiC and i think it's from Sierra. Set in future. QUOTE(Sanction @ Nov 21 2008, 02:57 PM) Syndicate Wars was godlike. Dune2 was godlike. Warcraft series... i dunno. Anything westwood. Anything relic. =) |
Nov 21 2008, 03:03 PM
dark reign was ok but dark reign 2 was crap.
dune 2 = dune 2000? with a lot of sand maps right? It kinda hard la that game. |
Nov 21 2008, 03:08 PM
Forum Admin
dune 2 was nice. only problem is no group select.
dune 2000 was lousy. damn horrible, they tried the rock / scissor / paper style ala StarCraft but failed badly. |
Nov 21 2008, 03:08 PM
you guys keep ranting about fps games ?? have you all played call of duty 5 ?? it has a very good game play and it's not a no brainer .... you dont feel heroic after winning the game though unlike the previous games like medal of honour where killing people = purple heart for you..
Nov 21 2008, 03:09 PM
1,640 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 21 2008, 03:03 PM) dark reign was ok but dark reign 2 was crap. Dune 2 is the original and Dune 2000 was the remake. Dune 2 was better imho(its a classic after all)... Dune 2000 was mediocre...dune 2 = dune 2000? with a lot of sand maps right? It kinda hard la that game. Added on November 21, 2008, 3:11 pm QUOTE(Laguna @ Nov 21 2008, 03:08 PM) you guys keep ranting about fps games ?? have you all played call of duty 5 ?? it has a very good game play and it's not a no brainer .... you dont feel heroic after winning the game though unlike the previous games like medal of honour where killing people = purple heart for you.. Meh...all flash but no substanceThis post has been edited by frags: Nov 21 2008, 03:11 PM |
Nov 21 2008, 03:14 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Laguna @ Nov 21 2008, 03:08 PM) you guys keep ranting about fps games ?? have you all played call of duty 5 ?? it has a very good game play and it's not a no brainer .... you dont feel heroic after winning the game though unlike the previous games like medal of honour where killing people = purple heart for you.. uhuh........... COD5. yeah. like compare to how many FPS out there? 1 good COD5 doesn't say much IMO. QUOTE(frags @ Nov 21 2008, 03:09 PM) Dune 2 is the original and Dune 2000 was the remake. Dune 2 was better imho(its a classic after all)... Dune 2000 was mediocre... that's an overstatement! QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2008, 03:02 PM) there's also another strategy game that i can't remember the title. I REMEMBERED!!! it's GROUND CONTROL!it works something like WiC and i think it's from Sierra. Set in future. |
Nov 21 2008, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(frags @ Nov 21 2008, 03:09 PM) Dune 2 is the original and Dune 2000 was the remake. Dune 2 was better imho(its a classic after all)... Dune 2000 was mediocre... Dune 2 was either the 1st or the 2nd RTS game that I played and I fell in love with RTS immediately.Added on November 21, 2008, 3:11 pm Meh...all flash but no substance Added on November 21, 2008, 3:16 pm QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2008, 03:14 PM) uhuh........... COD5. yeah. like compare to how many FPS out there? Ahh ya I think its made by the same group of people. Its been 1X years since the 1st RTS is made and I guess the most realistic RTS that Ive played that comes close to real life is Sudden Strike. I loved Sudden strike 2 esp with the artilary train. :3 that train rocked.1 good COD5 doesn't say much IMO. that's an overstatement! I REMEMBERED!!! it's GROUND CONTROL! This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 21 2008, 03:16 PM |
Nov 21 2008, 03:28 PM
Forum Admin
fuj, Dune 2 certainly was the first ever RTS.
till now, my fav RTS series are supreme commander and homeworld. C&C has it's ups and downs but generally fun la. |
Nov 21 2008, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2008, 03:28 PM) fuj, Dune 2 certainly was the first ever RTS. My fav computer RTS have been Sins of a solar empire, rome total war, sudden strike 2 and maybe supreme commander. till now, my fav RTS series are supreme commander and homeworld. C&C has it's ups and downs but generally fun la. Though Im kinda bored of sup com maybe cos of the bad implementation of the multiplayer sistem. |
Nov 21 2008, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(Laguna @ Nov 21 2008, 03:08 PM) you guys keep ranting about fps games ?? have you all played call of duty 5 ?? it has a very good game play and it's not a no brainer .... you dont feel heroic after winning the game though unlike the previous games like medal of honour where killing people = purple heart for you.. Most of them just have more and more flashy stuff but getting less innovations.Besides,ridiculous system requirements just put me off.CoD? That one is different.It's more like the only good apple in a basket of rotten apples. |
Nov 21 2008, 04:21 PM
2,690 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang/ Kuala Lumpur |
CnC is much more casual and easy to pick up thus popular with the masses...
dune was really good at that time (the other RTS at that time was not as good as it) and i really enjoyed it... so far only Sup Comm gave me the feeling of a HUGE RTS... how is it a war and not squad base... |
Nov 21 2008, 04:26 PM
Forum Admin
compare SupCom vs SupCom FA, i like FA but then in FA, the unit formation is pretty cacat la. i find not as flexi as the original.
Nov 21 2008, 04:57 PM
Yeah, supcom was massive!!! Its like a whole planet. My units take so long to reach the enemy base. I do like the transport. Cool way bringing the units by hanging them.hehe
Nov 21 2008, 05:02 PM
Forum Admin
those huge maps. take ages to complete if you don't play assassination mode.
imagine have to hunt for submarine. need how many sonar. artilleries also can't reach, can only use T3 nuke which hopefully someone screwed up in creating anti-T3-nuke. |
Nov 21 2008, 09:12 PM
Haha. In the end I managed to bombard the enemy cmdr by building a t3 artillery next to their base.
Nov 22 2008, 12:53 AM
Forum Admin
wow. doesn't the fella have like T3 omni sensor? Even if he got hit once, he could've moved - unless he has no idea he's being hit la.
Nov 25 2008, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 22 2008, 12:53 AM) wow. doesn't the fella have like T3 omni sensor? Even if he got hit once, he could've moved - unless he has no idea he's being hit la. I guess he has no idea that he is being hit. Talking bout sup com artillery my fav is still the marvel it can cover the distance of any map in the game as long as you have power its nothing can stand in the way not even 4 shields built in the overlapping area.BTW have anyone tried this game on a quad core? This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 25 2008, 10:50 AM |
Nov 25 2008, 11:14 AM
133 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
anyone remembered total annihilation? the grandfather of Supreme commander...
Nov 25 2008, 11:32 AM
Nov 25 2008, 11:34 AM
Nov 25 2008, 11:36 AM
Nov 25 2008, 11:59 AM
Nov 25 2008, 12:13 PM
1,931 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Human Mixbreeding Farm |
well well well, finally someone asking for challenging AI in RTS. or should I say, cheating unbalanced AI. try .............. Warcraft 3. trust me, the hardest difficulty is near unbeatable. the AI cheat and have endless resources and they build 3 times faster than you. I asked around and only a handful of people on the internet have beaten it on the hardest difficulty. I only beat the human campaign after 99999999999 try. I cant beat the elf and undead campaign, ridiculously hard and almost impossible to beat. I say almost impossible because some people on internet forum claims they finished the campaign on hard, but not confirmed. I was so frustrated I almost threw away my DVD after loosing countless times to the AI. |
Nov 25 2008, 12:36 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « You guys can ignore him as he talks crap on the forum most of the time. This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 25 2008, 12:36 PM |
Nov 25 2008, 12:57 PM
360 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hmm, i still remembered KKND though.
was pretty hard to defeat them, but just need to know the tactic well. |
Nov 25 2008, 01:29 PM
872 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Classified |
MEDIEVAL II: TOTAL WAR SERIES, SINS OF SOLAR EMPIRE, CIVILIZATION SERIES
Nov 25 2008, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 25 2008, 11:59 AM) ohyeah~~~~ big big boom...... but now let's hope Squeenix and Gas Powered will improve on SupCom IP summore... |
Nov 25 2008, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(cybersonic23 @ Nov 25 2008, 02:18 PM) ohyeah~~~~ big big boom...... Sup com internet connection is still quite bad.but now let's hope Squeenix and Gas Powered will improve on SupCom IP summore... |
Nov 25 2008, 04:37 PM
Forum Admin
in SupComm, i use Hamachi! direct connect.
Added on November 25, 2008, 4:40 pm QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 25 2008, 10:49 AM) I guess he has no idea that he is being hit. Talking bout sup com artillery my fav is still the marvel it can cover the distance of any map in the game as long as you have power its nothing can stand in the way not even 4 shields built in the overlapping area. Mavor la. but shields cannot stop? AFAIK it's also pin-point accuracy. This post has been edited by goldfries: Nov 25 2008, 04:40 PM |
Nov 25 2008, 04:41 PM
SupComm is one of the hardest RTS ive ever played..
Nov 25 2008, 05:05 PM
Forum Admin
hard in campaign or in skirmish?
if you play AIX - gila wan la. when we first started, it takes 2 - 3 of us (my friends an i) to take the fella down. depends on map la. cos the AIX expands damn fast, build faster and has more resource than all of us combined. some more we don't play ASSASSINATION mode. |
Nov 25 2008, 05:17 PM
Haha insan AI for dota is beatable. It is Warcraft 3 with insane AI is hard!
Nov 25 2008, 05:27 PM
DOTA is not RTS.. =,=" (and dota is easy)
yeah, warcraft 3 also quite difficult. |
Nov 25 2008, 05:28 PM
Forum Admin
make sure you guys don't feed any DotA trolls, k?
Nov 25 2008, 05:29 PM
592 posts Joined: May 2008 |
RTS - Act of War ~ http://www.atari.com/actofwar/uk/flash_high.htm
Nov 25 2008, 05:37 PM
Forum Admin
mentioned a few pages back. just don't seem to have that many followers.
Nov 25 2008, 05:41 PM
210 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Seremban Malaysia |
wish they will make more Act of War tho. its better than C&C series.
This post has been edited by fazco85: Nov 25 2008, 05:57 PM |
Nov 25 2008, 05:42 PM
Nov 25 2008, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 25 2008, 12:36 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « You guys can ignore him as he talks crap on the forum most of the time. Try and play warcraft 3 on the hardest difficulty first before going emo internet grudge on me. FACTS before GRUDGE my uninitiated friend, maybe you wont look so stupid next time. |
Nov 25 2008, 06:31 PM
one Word still...nth beat Word In Conflict in RTS world now.
No Matther how great are you..how many exprience on this game you still will lose....max out stragety game i ever see...special ur team mate is a support noob play arty always ...that really HOHOHO.....u need max out stragety until your brain explore to win |
Nov 25 2008, 06:34 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 25 2008, 06:31 PM) one Word still...nth beat Word In Conflict in RTS world now. oh i certainly agree. best cmdr with lousy support = fail!No Matther how great are you..how many exprience on this game you still will lose....max out stragety game i ever see...special ur team mate is a support noob play arty always ...that really HOHOHO.....u need max out stragety until your brain explore to win |
Nov 25 2008, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(lamely_named @ Nov 25 2008, 06:28 PM) sigh, what's with you and your emo internet grudge? I pwned you with knowledge and sarcasm once in kopitiam and you go emo batsh*t crazy on me for eternity. Frankly, did you talk crap? lol.. Try and play warcraft 3 on the hardest difficulty first before going emo internet grudge on me. FACTS before GRUDGE my uninitiated friend, maybe you wont look so stupid next time. |
Nov 25 2008, 07:07 PM
C&C Tiberian Sun,anyone? LOL, i remember when i was 6 yrs old playing it, stuck at NOD campaign where u only have 4 engineers trying to do 'something' with a NOD ship at far end of the map full with GDI titans and wolverine.. 4 ENGIES ONLY, lol, forgot the mission already. In skirmish games, i've never won..
Nov 25 2008, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 25 2008, 06:31 PM) one Word still...nth beat Word In Conflict in RTS world now. digging it naow...but cant get used to the camera controls...@_@ kinda confusing....No Matther how great are you..how many exprience on this game you still will lose....max out stragety game i ever see...special ur team mate is a support noob play arty always ...that really HOHOHO.....u need max out stragety until your brain explore to win maybe played too much RA3 recently.... |
Nov 25 2008, 07:18 PM
Nov 25 2008, 07:22 PM
Nov 25 2008, 08:12 PM
1,035 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: KL Malaysia la |
To be honest..the hardest game to play with ur fingers and mind is starcraft. Try downloading BWAI which is a super AI. Even that is quite tough to beat, what more players on bNet or ICCUP. Its worse.
In SC the enemy can pull any strat against you and its not focus only on one sole cookie cutter strat. |
Nov 25 2008, 08:15 PM
Yeah, starcraft is pretty hard.
I hope Starcraft 2 will live up to the expectation. |
Nov 25 2008, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(G_KeN @ Nov 25 2008, 07:07 PM) C&C Tiberian Sun,anyone? LOL, i remember when i was 6 yrs old playing it, stuck at NOD campaign where u only have 4 engineers trying to do 'something' with a NOD ship at far end of the map full with GDI titans and wolverine.. 4 ENGIES ONLY, lol, forgot the mission already. In skirmish games, i've never won.. Heh. I only managed to win the GDI campaign. The nod campaign I think I'm stuck. Haha.Warcraft 3 and Starcraft. I've never win even with normal AI. I hope Starcraft 2 won't be so cartoonish as Red Alert 3 |
Nov 25 2008, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 25 2008, 04:37 PM) in SupComm, i use Hamachi! direct connect. I think the marvor does not have pin point accuracy, but still it can still knock out the shields though there are 4 shields buit togather.Added on November 25, 2008, 4:40 pm Mavor la. but shields cannot stop? AFAIK it's also pin-point accuracy. QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 25 2008, 05:05 PM) hard in campaign or in skirmish? I can still "cheat" with sup com AI but not with FA, at the start I just build turret near the enemy's base and its just basically Gg or I tech to T2 destroyers and out range AI and its GG too but some how my sup com tactics cant be used on FA. Guess FA have a different Build order or speeds. Where T1 units comes out really fast. if you play AIX - gila wan la. when we first started, it takes 2 - 3 of us (my friends an i) to take the fella down. depends on map la. cos the AIX expands damn fast, build faster and has more resource than all of us combined. some more we don't play ASSASSINATION mode. QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 25 2008, 05:28 PM) Right on sir.QUOTE(fazco85 @ Nov 25 2008, 05:41 PM) Yeah I prefer AoW to CnC too T_TQUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 25 2008, 06:34 PM) Acctually gaspower does not have a good supoort too. The best support that I have encountered so far is ironclad and blizzard. |
Nov 25 2008, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 25 2008, 08:19 PM) Heh. I only managed to win the GDI campaign. The nod campaign I think I'm stuck. Haha. starcraft is beatable on hardest difficulty. Warcraft 3 and Starcraft. I've never win even with normal AI. I hope Starcraft 2 won't be so cartoonish as Red Alert 3 I've beaten it. hahaha. It felt very satisfactory when you actually beat it, coz its hard. Hard but beatable if you learn the trick for each mission. but WARCRAFT 3 is almost IMPOSSIBLE to beat. The dam AI CHEAT!!!!! I know most AI opponent in RTS cheat, but the AI in warcraft 3 cheat 999999999 times more. |
Nov 25 2008, 09:13 PM
86 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Around this world |
WiC is very balanced game I guess, so it requires brain more I think lol. SupCom not yet try but seems scary >.< How about DoW Soulstorm?
Nov 25 2008, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Nov 25 2008, 08:12 PM) To be honest..the hardest game to play with ur fingers and mind is starcraft. Try downloading BWAI which is a super AI. Even that is quite tough to beat, what more players on bNet or ICCUP. Its worse. I think SC AI is quite dumb in skirmish I won it with fast attack tactics almost everytime.In SC the enemy can pull any strat against you and its not focus only on one sole cookie cutter strat. QUOTE(G_KeN @ Nov 25 2008, 08:15 PM) Yeah, starcraft is pretty hard. I never finished any blizzard games without cheat to be honest until Warcraft 3, maybe cos I played so much of the beta.I hope Starcraft 2 will live up to the expectation. QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 25 2008, 08:19 PM) Heh. I only managed to win the GDI campaign. The nod campaign I think I'm stuck. Haha. If I remebered correctly I finished both but forgot how.Warcraft 3 and Starcraft. I've never win even with normal AI. I hope Starcraft 2 won't be so cartoonish as Red Alert 3 QUOTE([xEF�) syNc,Nov 25 2008, 09:13 PM] DoW SS is not ballanced and will never be its impossible to ballance 9 races, AI again is easy to beat.WiC is very balanced game I guess, so it requires brain more I think lol. SupCom not yet try but seems scary >.< How about DoW Soulstorm? |
Nov 25 2008, 11:12 PM
1,468 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Earth |
Nov 26 2008, 12:35 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(G_KeN @ Nov 25 2008, 08:15 PM) Yeah, starcraft is pretty hard. I hope Starcraft 2 will live up to the expectation. QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 25 2008, 08:19 PM) Heh. I only managed to win the GDI campaign. The nod campaign I think I'm stuck. Haha. you need skillz! QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 25 2008, 08:19 PM) I hope Starcraft 2 won't be so cartoonish as Red Alert 3 different concept la. QUOTE([xEF�) syNc,Nov 25 2008, 09:13 PM] i love SupComm cos the availability of soooooooooooo many things to deploy. WiC is very balanced game I guess, so it requires brain more I think lol. SupCom not yet try but seems scary >.< How about DoW Soulstorm? a single T4 unit alone could change the tide of the game, on the other hand a bunch of T3 / T2 could take down a T4. |
Nov 26 2008, 01:08 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: PJ ,Malaysia |
For me , Company of Heroes is the best ....very deep and intense game
Now TSB is selling the Gold Edition for only RM39.90 , grab it and you will not regret it !!!! |
Nov 26 2008, 01:52 PM
Forum Admin
i think it really depends on what you want out of the game.
CoH is dependant on supply lines and more like CTF style. (a.k.a. Battlefield series on RTS style). SupComm / C&C is resource + base type. WiC is resource availability type. |
Nov 26 2008, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 26 2008, 01:52 PM) i think it really depends on what you want out of the game. Then what about sudden strike and total war series?CoH is dependant on supply lines and more like CTF style. (a.k.a. Battlefield series on RTS style). SupComm / C&C is resource + base type. WiC is resource availability type. |
Nov 26 2008, 02:57 PM
Heh, that one you don't be needing any resources if in skirmish mode. Just choose what unit you want to deploy.
As Total war series is mainly about world conquest and have cities to manage. Its more likely on TBS type of game. |
Nov 26 2008, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Nov 26 2008, 02:57 PM) Heh, that one you don't be needing any resources if in skirmish mode. Just choose what unit you want to deploy. What is TBS?As Total war series is mainly about world conquest and have cities to manage. Its more likely on TBS type of game. HAve you played sudden strike before? You do not choose any troops to deploy its set in the map. |
Nov 26 2008, 03:07 PM
TBS- Turn Base Strategy?
I dont think total war series is considered TBS IMO, becoz the main action is in the battle itself rather than the world map. |
Nov 26 2008, 03:21 PM
Forum Admin
wahh i just beat Supreme Commander AIX 1 on 1 on 81x81 map!
I never use Mavor in my MANY MANY MANY outings on Supreme Commander, simply because it takes too long to build. the thing that made me test out the Mavor was that fuj mentioned it's not pin-point accurate but AFAIK the description says it is. and I check, confirm that while the description says it's pin point accuracy - the Mavor IS NOT pin-point accurate. Why? I had 2x Mavors and I aimed at the AI Cmdr. IF it was accurate, it would hit the areas surrounding it or at least level the base in say 5 minutes........... however it took me more than 20 minutes and 2 Mavors just to finally kill the Cmdr and the base was pretty much still in tact, simply because the shells keep hitting all surrounding ares but not the core of the area. |
Nov 26 2008, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(G_KeN @ Nov 26 2008, 03:07 PM) TBS- Turn Base Strategy? Well its both since you can choose not to.I dont think total war series is considered TBS IMO, becoz the main action is in the battle itself rather than the world map. Added on November 26, 2008, 3:37 pm QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 26 2008, 03:21 PM) wahh i just beat Supreme Commander AIX 1 on 1 on 81x81 map! Wow wow thanks to me I so happy some 1 is crediting it to me. I never use Mavor in my MANY MANY MANY outings on Supreme Commander, simply because it takes too long to build. the thing that made me test out the Mavor was that fuj mentioned it's not pin-point accurate but AFAIK the description says it is. and I check, confirm that while the description says it's pin point accuracy - the Mavor IS NOT pin-point accurate. Why? I had 2x Mavors and I aimed at the AI Cmdr. IF it was accurate, it would hit the areas surrounding it or at least level the base in say 5 minutes........... however it took me more than 20 minutes and 2 Mavors just to finally kill the Cmdr and the base was pretty much still in tact, simply because the shells keep hitting all surrounding ares but not the core of the area. Well ya it takes forever thats why I have about 50-100 assistant commander to build it but normally when I have that many its already end game its just to abuse the enemy if its a human he would have quit. But I guess the marvor gets more accurate if you provide visual support like spy plane, try with spy plane and see. Usually I spam fat boys than marvor much faster to complete. This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 26 2008, 03:37 PM |
Nov 26 2008, 04:40 PM
Forum Admin
got spy planes, so many some more. but enemy got a lot of T3 AA + T3 fighter + blablablabla.
50 to 100 asst cmdr? wahh i only have cmdr + asst cmdr and a few t3 only. cos you know la, the more you put the more resources in drain also. and i play lz style today, only occupy 3 islands. AIX was leading in score by 3 - 10 times. then suddenly i donno how i overtake him. haha. funny all the units stuck on the island. anyway the Mavor build too long la. build fatboy soooooooooo much faster but IMO fatboy is pretty much dead meat if left on its own. what I like about fatboy is the factory feature but among the T4, my fav are still the ones from Cybran cos they're really offensive units. other nice T4 are like the UEF submarine and Aeon UFO - they produce air units damn fast and once you control the skies, the game is pretty much yours. |
Nov 26 2008, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 26 2008, 04:40 PM) got spy planes, so many some more. but enemy got a lot of T3 AA + T3 fighter + blablablabla. For fatboy they need to be spammed I spam 6 fatboy at one group even the colossus from Aeon falls to that cos fatboy out rang and out fire the colossus when you have 6 togather, the building time is faster too bassically none can come near you unless they go air raid you. Thats why you need bout 100 T3 planes.50 to 100 asst cmdr? wahh i only have cmdr + asst cmdr and a few t3 only. cos you know la, the more you put the more resources in drain also. and i play lz style today, only occupy 3 islands. AIX was leading in score by 3 - 10 times. then suddenly i donno how i overtake him. haha. funny all the units stuck on the island. anyway the Mavor build too long la. build fatboy soooooooooo much faster but IMO fatboy is pretty much dead meat if left on its own. what I like about fatboy is the factory feature but among the T4, my fav are still the ones from Cybran cos they're really offensive units. other nice T4 are like the UEF submarine and Aeon UFO - they produce air units damn fast and once you control the skies, the game is pretty much yours. |
Nov 26 2008, 06:17 PM
Forum Admin
by the time you spam 6x fatboy, your opponent could have a lot already too.
6x fatboy has problem against a bunch of T3 ler. so in the event that you have 6x fatboy and 100 T3 fighter la. if the fella have 18+ T3 bomber and 50 T3 fighter, he'll probably take you down too. if we consider same amound of resource, then a bunch of fast moving T3 / T2 bots would be helpful. coming in from multiple directions. this is the thing that makes SupComm really nice. |
Nov 26 2008, 06:20 PM
if u not interested in RTS, u can always try this adventure games that use ur brain to super max
Sherlock Holmes Series, Syberia 1 & 2, Still Life.... playing sherlock holmes guranteee u brain will explode |
Nov 26 2008, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 26 2008, 06:17 PM) by the time you spam 6x fatboy, your opponent could have a lot already too. Lets skip the talk and try out the real action shall we? 6x fatboy has problem against a bunch of T3 ler. so in the event that you have 6x fatboy and 100 T3 fighter la. if the fella have 18+ T3 bomber and 50 T3 fighter, he'll probably take you down too. if we consider same amound of resource, then a bunch of fast moving T3 / T2 bots would be helpful. coming in from multiple directions. this is the thing that makes SupComm really nice. |
Nov 26 2008, 06:38 PM
Forum Admin
hehe. just theory. while T4 units are great, I think ultimately the game relies most on T3 and T2 units.
Nov 27 2008, 06:15 AM
2,644 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Edison83 @ Nov 26 2008, 06:20 PM) if u not interested in RTS, u can always try this adventure games that use ur brain to super max someone say adventure games that uses brains to the max? do i hear Monkey Island, Sam & Max calling?Sherlock Holmes Series, Syberia 1 & 2, Still Life.... playing sherlock holmes guranteee u brain will explode |
Nov 27 2008, 10:49 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(rebelsoul76 @ Nov 27 2008, 06:15 AM) someone say adventure games that uses brains to the max? do i hear Monkey Island, Sam & Max calling? let's not forget Indy Jones : Fate of Atlantis, and Loom.......... among many other Lucasarts games. but that's going off-topic la. |
Nov 27 2008, 11:56 AM
Nov 27 2008, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 26 2008, 06:38 PM) hehe. just theory. while T4 units are great, I think ultimately the game relies most on T3 and T2 units. Acctually for most of the games played by top ranked players they finish the games with T1 unless its not a 1 v 1 map.FA is even more T1 based I feel. This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 27 2008, 12:25 PM |
Nov 27 2008, 03:42 PM
1,279 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: behind you... |
commandos can be considered as rts??? i think that game is hard too..
Nov 27 2008, 03:45 PM
3,377 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Klang |
Yes. Top ranked players all finish at T1 or T2 before you can even build T3.
Nov 28 2008, 12:06 AM
Nov 28 2008, 04:40 PM
3,377 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Klang |
Not playing supreme commander already. Guess I am worse too.
Nov 28 2008, 06:11 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 27 2008, 12:13 PM) Acctually for most of the games played by top ranked players they finish the games with T1 unless its not a 1 v 1 map. FA is even more T1 based I feel. QUOTE(Amedion @ Nov 27 2008, 03:45 PM) indeed. T1 can do many things already.which brings up my experience with my friends, i think i highlighted earlier. they're just so not aggressive. i can finish off an AI in 5 minutes using T1 a few units and a cmdr rush, without it dying. if all of them played like me, we finish the game in 5 minutes. 7 minutes tops. unfortunately these guys let 2 other AI run free. so it goes back to 2 vs 2 since i'm already behind in development while another guy is pretty slow. argghh even if we play NO RUSH mode, fine - in 20 minutes I'll get my 1st T4 and already beat the crap outta one AI and could easily take on another. unfortunately again, as the above. QUOTE(skystrike @ Nov 27 2008, 03:42 PM) commandos can be considered as rts??? i think that game is hard too.. don't think so la but arguably it can and should be categorized as one. it's REAL TIME and it's STRATEGY.on the counter point, all games nowadays are REAL TIME and require STRATEGY. |
Nov 29 2008, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 28 2008, 06:11 PM) indeed. T1 can do many things already. I guess your friends are not up to the internet standard of building stuff or arranging their troops, maybe commander goldfries should make them get seasoned. which brings up my experience with my friends, i think i highlighted earlier. they're just so not aggressive. i can finish off an AI in 5 minutes using T1 a few units and a cmdr rush, without it dying. if all of them played like me, we finish the game in 5 minutes. 7 minutes tops. unfortunately these guys let 2 other AI run free. so it goes back to 2 vs 2 since i'm already behind in development while another guy is pretty slow. argghh even if we play NO RUSH mode, fine - in 20 minutes I'll get my 1st T4 and already beat the crap outta one AI and could easily take on another. unfortunately again, as the above. don't think so la but arguably it can and should be categorized as one. it's REAL TIME and it's STRATEGY. on the counter point, all games nowadays are REAL TIME and require STRATEGY. |
Nov 29 2008, 07:22 PM
This become Topic of Supreme commande discustion already?
Nov 29 2008, 07:35 PM
Heh. Relax, the topic will be back on course after somebody introduce another RTS game in their opinion.
In the meantime, well I guess we're stuck with SupCom for the time being. |
Dec 1 2008, 03:39 AM
266 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Shah Alam |
Dec 1 2008, 03:46 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 29 2008, 06:56 PM) I guess your friends are not up to the internet standard of building stuff or arranging their troops, maybe commander goldfries should make them get seasoned. tried. many times. after few years and many RTS - i kinda give up and decide they play their own. i can adapt to them, they don't adapt that well. and quite often they stick to their 1 race. boring. i vs the stronger guy in C&C3 - what happened was he used Scrin (his strongest) and i used NOD (my weakest) and i pwnzed him on 2 games straight. first game is a rocket cycle rush. he on the other hand had spent all his $$$, with me destroying his harvester and tech facility i think. so it was GG for him. the other guy (easier target) i played C&C:Generals with him for fun. start the game, i keep spamming GLA suicide bomber bikes. haha. spam only. the fella turtle away in fear and build defences only while i expand my resources area. then again, i not so good vs human wan la. QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 29 2008, 07:22 PM) wanna discuss WIC? |
Dec 1 2008, 09:41 AM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Test strategy? You want super AI? Try Empire Earth 1, normal AI (not expert) and very large map.
Dec 1 2008, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Dec 1 2008, 09:41 AM) Empire Earth AI was just cheating even on easy mode. Because I had their peasants harassed and kinda killed them off but still capable of producing multiple units. It's like the game developer gave them alot of resources. |
Dec 1 2008, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2008, 03:46 AM) tried. many times. after few years and many RTS - i kinda give up and decide they play their own. Then I guess they are not good RTS players or not that intrested in RTS.i can adapt to them, they don't adapt that well. and quite often they stick to their 1 race. boring. i vs the stronger guy in C&C3 - what happened was he used Scrin (his strongest) and i used NOD (my weakest) and i pwnzed him on 2 games straight. first game is a rocket cycle rush. he on the other hand had spent all his $$$, with me destroying his harvester and tech facility i think. so it was GG for him. the other guy (easier target) i played C&C:Generals with him for fun. start the game, i keep spamming GLA suicide bomber bikes. haha. spam only. the fella turtle away in fear and build defences only while i expand my resources area. then again, i not so good vs human wan la. wanna discuss WIC? Heh yeah the older CnC series was just spaming and you could win the game, I find its not the case for RA3. Still RA3's AI is quite weak and still cheating, doing the same old tactic over and over again. I guess for turtle in any kind of RTS you have to tech up and try to finish up the game asap if not the turtle will just be cracked up. Unless its a FFA but even for FFA you need to try to get as much resources as you can and be good in your diplomacy and that includes deceiving your other oponents the best is still to see them fight and you send in your forces to aquire resources. Or finish all of them off when they are weak enough. Thats why I love and hate FFA so much it takes way too long but you get to play "creatively" QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Dec 1 2008, 10:21 AM) Empire Earth AI was just cheating even on easy mode. Because I had their peasants harassed and kinda killed them off but still capable of producing multiple units. It's like the game developer gave them alot of resources. Most RTS AI do that. |
Dec 1 2008, 10:56 AM
Dec 1 2008, 11:13 AM
Forum Admin
i could beat the RA3's hard AI quite comfortably.
just that one some maps, Giles's air raid tactic doesn't work that well. Zhana gave a good fight last night. QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 10:49 AM) Then I guess they are not good RTS players or not that intrested in RTS. 1 is not good. the other is good BUT doesn't seem aggressive. has his play style. usually come the one running all over the map. |
Dec 1 2008, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2008, 11:13 AM) i could beat the RA3's hard AI quite comfortably. Giles and Zhana are pretty good.just that one some maps, Giles's air raid tactic doesn't work that well. Zhana gave a good fight last night. The rest are just horrible. I think it's just me because i play Empire a lot and they have the weakest anti-air while decent on land and sea.Borderline imba at late game. |
Dec 1 2008, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2008, 11:13 AM) i could beat the RA3's hard AI quite comfortably. Whos Giles and Zhana? Those AI commanders?just that one some maps, Giles's air raid tactic doesn't work that well. Zhana gave a good fight last night. 1 is not good. the other is good BUT doesn't seem aggressive. has his play style. usually come the one running all over the map. I see..... BTW have you played sins of a solar empire b4? QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 11:29 AM) Giles and Zhana are pretty good. I think my fav is still the sov very strong late game.The rest are just horrible. I think it's just me because i play Empire a lot and they have the weakest anti-air while decent on land and sea.Borderline imba at late game. |
Dec 1 2008, 11:39 AM
1,185 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Not Found |
Dec 1 2008, 11:41 AM
Dec 1 2008, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 11:38 AM) Yeah,really dumb AI commanders.QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 11:38 AM) Goldfries should try Sins,IMO.One of the most innovative RTS i have played. I think Sins need Entrenchment expansion to make the late game more fun. QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 11:38 AM) I still like Japs,second is Soviet.I cant use Allied at all,especially maps with lots of water because their navy is quite bad. AD deals very little damage.Dolphins and Riptide die too fast. |
Dec 1 2008, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2008, 03:46 AM) Reminds me of the song tears for fears - everybody wants to rule the world, really damn nice song. The campaign for WiC is good too. Do not know why I stopped playing this game guess there are just too many other stuff thats happening in my life that I need to spend time on. WiC is a nice game I enjoyed it alot, I wonder if end wars is going to match up to this game. Its kind sad that this game company closed down or under going restructuring or something like that. |
Dec 1 2008, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 11:50 AM) Reminds me of the song tears for fears - everybody wants to rule the world, really damn nice song. The campaign for WiC is good too. Do not know why I stopped playing this game guess there are just too many other stuff thats happening in my life that I need to spend time on. WiC is a nice game I enjoyed it alot, I wonder if end wars is going to match up to this game. Its kind sad that this game company closed down or under going restructuring or something like that. What?Massive closed down? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
Dec 1 2008, 11:59 AM
I miss their Ground Control series..
Dec 1 2008, 12:01 PM
Dec 1 2008, 12:04 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 11:49 AM) One of the most innovative RTS i have played. noted! QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 11:49 AM) I cant use Allied at all,especially maps with lots of water because their navy is quite bad. in the campaign, dolphins were annoying.AD deals very little damage.Dolphins and Riptide die too fast. QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 11:50 AM) Reminds me of the song tears for fears - everybody wants to rule the world, really damn nice song. The campaign for WiC is good too. Do not know why I stopped playing this game guess there are just too many other stuff thats happening in my life that I need to spend time on. WiC is a nice game I enjoyed it alot, I wonder if end wars is going to match up to this game. Its kind sad that this game company closed down or under going restructuring or something like that. WIC no fun to solo wan la.if ever you play, MUST HAVE PEOPLE. and MUST HAVE COMPETENT PEOPLE TOO! or else you cmdr or what, it's useless. just like how people play CS in M'sian CC. totally USELESS! yes, our locals play CS like Quake deathmatch. |
Dec 1 2008, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 11:49 AM) Yeah,really dumb AI commanders. Have you got entrenchment yet? I'll see if I have the time to play it yet b4 I go back to sins.Goldfries should try Sins,IMO. One of the most innovative RTS i have played. I think Sins need Entrenchment expansion to make the late game more fun. QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 12:01 PM) Me 3 |
Dec 1 2008, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2008, 12:04 PM) noted! Yeah,dolphins are annoying in the campaign.Same or Aircraft Carriers. >.<in the campaign, dolphins were annoying. WIC no fun to solo wan la. if ever you play, MUST HAVE PEOPLE. and MUST HAVE COMPETENT PEOPLE TOO! or else you cmdr or what, it's useless. just like how people play CS in M'sian CC. totally USELESS! yes, our locals play CS like Quake deathmatch. Thats the reason i dont play CS.Everyone plays CS like a UT or Quake deathmatch.No one plays the game tactically and that takes up most of the fun. While games like Quake 4 or UT2004 are available,no one plays them. Added on December 1, 2008, 12:10 pm QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:06 PM) No,im waiting for the boxed expansion pack,if i can hold on with the vanilla Sins.Im playing RA3 most of the time now,with a bit of CoH and SS from time to time.Are you very busy recently? This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Dec 1 2008, 12:10 PM |
Dec 1 2008, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2008, 12:04 PM) noted! They say sins is a 4x game but I think its more of RTS than 4X its like real time total war in the sense that you do not have to wait for turns to fight like in Empires at War(starwars).in the campaign, dolphins were annoying. WIC no fun to solo wan la. if ever you play, MUST HAVE PEOPLE. and MUST HAVE COMPETENT PEOPLE TOO! or else you cmdr or what, it's useless. just like how people play CS in M'sian CC. totally USELESS! yes, our locals play CS like Quake deathmatch. Ahh so true I think I remembered why I stopped playing that game cos our internuts sux lagged so bad thats why I stopped. We do not have true gamers in Malaysia Added on December 1, 2008, 12:14 pm QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 12:08 PM) Yeah,dolphins are annoying in the campaign.Same or Aircraft Carriers. >.< Well atleast there are games like battle field that people plays in team tactically in malaysia. I find it much more intresting than playing CS and those people got fadup with CS thats why they play BF.Thats the reason i dont play CS.Everyone plays CS like a UT or Quake deathmatch.No one plays the game tactically and that takes up most of the fun. While games like Quake 4 or UT2004 are available,no one plays them. Added on December 1, 2008, 12:10 pm No,im waiting for the boxed expansion pack,if i can hold on with the vanilla Sins.Im playing RA3 most of the time now,with a bit of CoH and SS from time to time. Are you very busy recently? Yeah kinda busy thesedays have a japanese JLPT 4 to take so have to study. This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Dec 1 2008, 12:14 PM |
Dec 1 2008, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 12:08 PM) Yeah,dolphins are annoying in the campaign.Same or Aircraft Carriers. >.< Well atleast there are games like battle field that people plays in team tactically in malaysia. I find it much more intresting than playing CS and those people got fadup with CS thats why they play BF.Thats the reason i dont play CS.Everyone plays CS like a UT or Quake deathmatch.No one plays the game tactically and that takes up most of the fun. While games like Quake 4 or UT2004 are available,no one plays them. Added on December 1, 2008, 12:10 pm No,im waiting for the boxed expansion pack,if i can hold on with the vanilla Sins.Im playing RA3 most of the time now,with a bit of CoH and SS from time to time. Are you very busy recently? Yeah kinda busy thesedays have a japanese JLPT 4 to take so have to study. |
Dec 1 2008, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:11 PM) They say sins is a 4x game but I think its more of RTS than 4X its like real time total war in the sense that you do not have to wait for turns to fight like in Empires at War(starwars). Frankly saying,Sins suxs as a single player game but it rocks when you play online.It feels epic.Ahh so true I think I remembered why I stopped playing that game cos our internuts sux lagged so bad thats why I stopped. We do not have true gamers in Malaysia Now,i cant stand the AI anymore. Same thing for other RTS i have now. |
Dec 1 2008, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 12:15 PM) Frankly saying,Sins suxs as a single player game but it rocks when you play online.It feels epic. Sins is definately an online RTS it does not even have single player campaign. Now,i cant stand the AI anymore. Same thing for other RTS i have now. This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Dec 1 2008, 12:19 PM |
Dec 1 2008, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:14 PM) Well atleast there are games like battle field that people plays in team tactically in malaysia. I find it much more intresting than playing CS and those people got fadup with CS thats why they play BF. Still,no one play BF in CC.Yeah kinda busy thesedays have a japanese JLPT 4 to take so have to study. So,stay at home and play with retarded AI la. Added on December 1, 2008, 12:19 pm QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:18 PM) The offline sandbox mode la.Still single player,right?This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Dec 1 2008, 12:19 PM |
Dec 1 2008, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 1 2008, 12:19 PM) Still,no one play BF in CC. There are just go to the BF sub section in gamershideout I used to play with them in CC but ofcourse not most of the CC. Most of the CC are dominated by ahem ahem most of the time as you know. So,stay at home and play with retarded AI la. Added on December 1, 2008, 12:19 pm The offline sandbox mode la.Still single player,right? |
Dec 1 2008, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:22 PM) There are just go to the BF sub section in gamershideout I used to play with them in CC but ofcourse not most of the CC. Most of the CC are dominated by ahem ahem most of the time as you know. Nvm la.MY FPS skills is non-existent now.Play too much RTS already. |
Dec 1 2008, 12:29 PM
Dec 1 2008, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:29 PM) Same here with me, but then again if you play diff RTS you need diff RTS skills some need more micro some does not. I think sins require lot more macro than micro. Yeah,Sins is more to macro than micro.Games like DoW or RA3 is more to micro because of small army size. CoH,i find it's balanced between both. |
Dec 1 2008, 12:37 PM
Acctually I think Starcraft is quite ballanced too esp in big maps or island maps. The game with most micro would be war3 spell spams hero spins.....
Dec 1 2008, 12:42 PM
Dec 1 2008, 12:51 PM
Dec 1 2008, 12:54 PM
Dec 1 2008, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(Laguna @ Dec 1 2008, 12:54 PM) I think War2 is the 1st blizzard RTS where when you click them more that 4 times they say funny things, and War2 is the 1st RTS with a map editor. Since then Blizzard have been having better and better map editors, War3 has one of the most complicated map editors that Ive seen. |
Dec 1 2008, 03:49 PM
Forum Admin
i never get to play WC because no availability during that time. WC2 on the other hand, 1st year in college and no computer capable of playing it.
some how i manage to play RA ...... |
Dec 1 2008, 03:52 PM
Dec 1 2008, 03:56 PM
Forum Admin
can't remember the chronology of events. something definitely stopped me from playing it and i don't think it was $$$.
Dec 1 2008, 04:04 PM
Dec 1 2008, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:51 PM) Yeah,because it was the first RTS to introduce ships and magics.QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 1 2008, 12:56 PM) I think War2 is the 1st blizzard RTS where when you click them more that 4 times they say funny things, and War2 is the 1st RTS with a map editor. Since then Blizzard have been having better and better map editors, War3 has one of the most complicated map editors that Ive seen. War3's editor is powerful.The only thing it lacks is a model import tool. |
Dec 2 2008, 01:24 AM
266 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Shah Alam |
To thread starter, Starcraft is the best.
No matter how many new RTS with its so called innovation come out, none will achieve the same class as Starcraft. A challenging RTS is not dependent by its game design, but by the size of its playerbase. Trying to find more challenging AI is stupid. Since no matter how hard it is, once you figure out how to beat it, that's it. Human on the other hand is different. A new innovation from game developers forces the player to play in a certain new way, but after a while that innovation seems not so impressive anymore. After the game reach its maturity stage, people will see less new strat and more common cookie cutter. The problem is most non SC/WC3 rts failed to reach that "maturity stage". The reason for this is; 1. Weak support from developers. 2. Most non SC/WC3 are bandwagon jumpers, they usually switch from game to game rather than stick to one. That's not the case with Starcraft, even today the game is still evolving. Why?, because of the players, the community, the game spectator, the developer, KESPA. For every 1 person who try to beat an RTS title, there are 30 who will do the same with starcraft. Click the link, Mind Games. Mind over mechanics. This one = pure beauty, this is one of the reasons why starcraft is the best. |
Dec 2 2008, 01:55 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Dec 2 2008, 01:24 AM) To thread starter, Starcraft is the best. thanks! brings back old memories. I always loved the first soundtrack from SC! it's one of the few memorable soundtracks, other memorable soundtrack from RTS are C&C (original) and RA2.Added on December 2, 2008, 2:20 ampardon me from being n00b, but what's the winning condition for this match ah? i only see the Cmd Center lifted up or something. This post has been edited by goldfries: Dec 2 2008, 02:20 AM |
Dec 2 2008, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 2 2008, 01:55 AM) thanks! brings back old memories. I always loved the first soundtrack from SC! it's one of the few memorable soundtracks, other memorable soundtrack from RTS are C&C (original) and RA2. Starcraft was the 1st game that brought me to a cyber cafe and got hit by my dad cos I ran away from home to play games. Added on December 2, 2008, 2:20 ampardon me from being n00b, but what's the winning condition for this match ah? i only see the Cmd Center lifted up or something. I guess being rebellious is kinda fun, it still is cos it still show that you have people caring for you. |
Dec 2 2008, 05:35 PM
1,279 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: behind you... |
zergling rush!!!! lol...starcraft is the best rts for me...still playing until today...
Dec 5 2008, 03:46 PM
Has anyone played RTS like Cossacks or Heart of Iron?
Dec 5 2008, 10:19 PM
12,413 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
Dec 6 2008, 12:34 AM
427 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
1. Cossack (the army counts up to 1000++)
2. Stronghold (yes you have to farm to feed your people) 3. C&C TW KW (no tank rush... sien) |
Dec 6 2008, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 5 2008, 03:46 PM) Cossacks was really good. Its was an AoE clone but much more slower. And with a lot more resources to mine...also using ammo...units firing and cannons firing used up resources...This made it a one of a kind game...Cossakcs 2 completely changed the setting to napoleanic wars and it was a lot more different(not a good game imho). The first was ace...Hearts of Iron...never played...i suppose it would be a lot like Europa Universalis. |
Feb 26 2009, 09:09 PM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Do you know if they are going to bring out another Dune game?
I remember sitting on my computer playing Dune 2 until 5am... the sun rising up: I didn't htink it could get any better..... THEN Westwood said they were releasing a game called 'Command & Conquer' and said it would be even better than Dune 2. 'EVEN better than Dune 2 I mocked!'... Low and behold, it was.... They have since released Dune 2000 and Emperor, but I hope they release another Dune, with the same quality or better than RA3. |
Feb 26 2009, 10:05 PM
I think we'll never see a Dune game anymore.
EALA,the current Westwood just gonna continue on RA and Generals Universe. |
Feb 26 2009, 10:18 PM
2,152 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Gombak Setia |
Silent Heroes...for me its the hardest yet in hardest setting..
Never play Sup Comm coz not liking the slow reaction... |
Feb 26 2009, 10:50 PM
2,782 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: BANGSARian |
QUOTE(busta_dude @ Nov 11 2008, 03:15 PM) Guys, vs HUMANS, starcraft As above title can u please list RTS game that good in display and also require the true strategies on winning the games? Coz for me, C&C3 Tiberium wars also not so challenging eventhough iI play it with the Hard Difficulties.... Thanx |
Feb 28 2009, 10:50 AM
199 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
1. CoH
2. WiC Played and addicted to CoH all day long, its fun playing online. |
Feb 28 2009, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(frags @ Dec 6 2008, 01:49 AM) Cossacks was really good. Its was an AoE clone but much more slower. And with a lot more resources to mine...also using ammo...units firing and cannons firing used up resources...This made it a one of a kind game...Cossakcs 2 completely changed the setting to napoleanic wars and it was a lot more different(not a good game imho). The first was ace... agree, the building army part, u can clik build army till ur hand/finger cram.Hearts of Iron...never played...i suppose it would be a lot like Europa Universalis. |
Feb 28 2009, 06:18 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
Cossacks: European Wars EPIC GAME....The following volumes are OKAY but not as good as the 1st one...
| Change to: | 0.0712sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:39 AM |