Apple Online Store Malaysia, Finally an official one here in Malaysia

damos_csui
post Nov 11 2008, 07:23 PM

142 posts

SHITT.. this is both great and shitty news for me.. just placed and paid for deposit at apple retailer (with no edu discount of course).. and now there is this edu discount on online apple store..!! OMG I cant believe this is happening.. sad.gif anyone know how much will they charge (the retailer) from the deposit if I cancel my order now..?
damos_csui
post Nov 11 2008, 07:50 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Nov 11 2008, 07:33 PM)
Just wait till the day they are supposed to deliver, and if they don't, make it a big deal, make a lot of noise and cancel it. Then it's their fault, so they have to return your every cent. Haha..
But I lost nearly 1K (because of edu discount).. cry.gif icon_question.gif and they promised to deliver the things end of next week (tentatively some more)!!!
I'm going to try call and talk to them tmrw morning.. sad.gif
so no one here ever experiencing with canceling order..?
damos_csui
post Nov 12 2008, 06:15 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Nov 12 2008, 06:02 PM)
Now me just added the new MBP into my shopping cart heheeee...

I guess will check out and pay with credit card in a couple of days time ;-p Need to confirm the Edu Discount first...
did you customize your MBP?
mind posting the order details (MBP spec, date order placed, status, estimated time delivery, etc.) later when you finally did? I'm just curious on how long exactly the order will arrive at your door step from the moment you placed your order.. thanks.
damos_csui
post Nov 12 2008, 10:03 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(andrewyulm @ Nov 12 2008, 09:42 PM)
Did you end up buying it?
How much was the shipping fees?
yes, seems (maybe) during these promotions if ordering ipod no shipping charges.. wink.gif
anyway, when I tried to buy miniDVI to vga dongle (RM99) the shipping charges is RM30.
So I ended up placing order for the dongle plus one ipod shuffle (engraved of course) rclxms.gif
estimated delivery date is 18/11/2008-21/11/2008.. (not exactly 1-2 days from today)

Added on November 12, 2008, 10:30 pmoh I forgot to mention that there was no indication of the free t-shirt in my order list..?? does ipod shuffle is excluded from the promotion..? sad.gif

This post has been edited by damos_csui: Nov 12 2008, 10:30 PM
damos_csui
post Nov 13 2008, 05:46 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(kaffra @ Nov 13 2008, 03:22 PM)
this is malaysia!!
I wouldn't be surprised if they introduce strict identification procedures shortly after seeing every purchase made has been with educational discounts
haha.. that's absolutely right mate.. brows.gif
damos_csui
post Nov 13 2008, 08:32 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Nov 13 2008, 07:38 PM)
i didnt have to key in any student ID or anything.. just selected my uni and thats it.. but i know for singapore, students have to verify themselves with some kind of student educational discount form, sending it to apple or something.. theres some prodecure in singapore.. not sure about apple malaysia..

anyways, sooner or later someone will go thru the procedure, im sure they'll let us know here.. biggrin.gif
right.. and our first edu buyer (neekun) is here already what..?

neekun,

we all wait for your experience on buying through the edu store.. was there any verification so far..?
was the order status changed already (for the acpp at least)? my ipod order changed to prepare for shipment less than 1 day and now the status is shipped!! rclxms.gif
damos_csui
post Nov 14 2008, 06:18 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(mysticxin @ Nov 14 2008, 05:51 PM)
woah within 24 hours !?? wad u ordered
No, jakesean is not using malaysian online store.. he is in australia what..??
damos_csui
post Nov 17 2008, 10:48 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(msiathot @ Nov 17 2008, 10:00 AM)
Discovered by accident the Apple Online Store in Malaysia is not introduced on the strength of the local market alone.  The online store was a regional roll-out, covering several countries including Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam.
Yeah, I think it is been mentioned before here in the forum that apple online store malaysia is actually operated by apple singapore. so buying from online store is like buying from singapore.. hmm.gif
damos_csui
post Nov 22 2008, 06:32 PM

142 posts

yuppy.. my cto 2.8ghz mbp also finally arrived..!! this thing is AMAZING.. I'm also first time mac switcher (after more than 14 years using PC)..
The beauty of it makes me forget that I actually should be sad since I loss 1K for not buying the edu discount!!.. biggrin.gif
damos_csui
post Nov 22 2008, 07:10 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Nov 22 2008, 06:45 PM)
Congratulations accs_centre and damos_csui for your online Apple store purchase, it's good to see the online purchase system works, especially the delivery. Even more more surprising that it went without a hitch via Poslaju. Enjoy your MB/MBP, make full use of them. rclxms.gif
thanks mate.. but I'm not buying through online store.. sad.gif I placed my order through local reseller after the october 14 announcement and they said have to wait for nearly 1 month.. then later I found out that online store was launched but I cannot cancel my order since I already made full payment.. cry.gif so if I knew that online store is going to be launched, I should have saved 1K.. rclxub.gif anyway, I'm VERY HAPPY and PLEASED with my mbp (physically and performance wise).. rclxms.gif
damos_csui
post Nov 23 2008, 08:32 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Nov 23 2008, 10:50 AM)
what he meant was edu discount for college students,must have valid papers and all
yes buy online with edu discount of course.. actually if you order mbp cto 2.8 like mine the difference is RM800.. but for my case became 1K due to the reseller increased the price RM200 (because they said have to special order, what a lie!!)

QUOTE(hapa @ Nov 23 2008, 06:19 PM)
luckily i dint buy from machines... can gv some example why they are not good??
i went to pavilion a week back when there was a epicenter event (free ipod shuffle, sleeve & keyboard protector), decide to get from them but unfortunately i cant bcoz of my CC credit limt.
So, i decide to get from machines coz hv membership and can collect point... but they tell me i hv to wait for the mbp stock to arrive. and they tell me dono will arrive oso...lol..
At last, i buy from apple store, save 300 and get a free tshirt... hope i can get it by 2moro coz it stated deliver by 24/11.. rclxm9.gif
how do you know that the tshirt will be delivered tomorrow..? did you receive notification or alike from apple that you are going to get the tshirt..?? (since they said it is limited)..
when I order my ipod (nov 12) nothing is mentioned (in my order details nor emails) that I'm going to receive tshirt.. blink.gif

damos_csui
post Nov 24 2008, 05:55 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(victorchew @ Nov 24 2008, 05:51 PM)
Congratulations hapa~!!!
Apple Store rocks~!!
yeap, congratulations!! you and your macbook pro were made for each other.. (as apple quote it) rclxms.gif

Added on November 24, 2008, 5:58 pm
QUOTE(LeonTan @ Nov 24 2008, 05:54 PM)
1 week? thats quitefast...
em... might get red nano... always wanted to buy red nano... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
better decide now mate, the promotions end today!!! cool2.gif

This post has been edited by damos_csui: Nov 24 2008, 05:58 PM
damos_csui
post Nov 24 2008, 10:04 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Nov 24 2008, 08:04 PM)
When you click the touchpad,did it produce very load CLICK sound?Hear other mention about this.
yeah, the click of the trackpad is a bit laud.. but not that noisy and it's not a big issue to me I guess.. hopefully as the time goes it will get soften.. hmm.gif
damos_csui
post Dec 3 2008, 12:16 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Dec 3 2008, 08:06 AM)
u mean the RM300++ one with remote and all?

i tink many wud prefer the last time RM100+ one..
yeah, I also didnt understand why is it sooo expensive..?? and why they call it headphone while it is actually ear phone..?? rclxub.gif
damos_csui
post Dec 20 2008, 01:36 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(XJuN @ Dec 20 2008, 01:18 AM)
did anyone notice "shop iphone" section in the online store??
http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop...one?mco=MTE3MTE
Dude, you posted a link to US based apple online store.. so its not a surprise that it has 'shop iphone' section..
BUT if you notice the following link

http://store.apple.com/my/browse/home/shop...ne?mco=NzY2ODIz

that is malaysian apple online store and there is a 'shop iphone' section also with banner saying 'The iPhone you've been waiting for.' icon_idea.gif

what does it means..????? a sign that iPhone will be coming to Malaysia SOON..?? rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif drool.gif
damos_csui
post Dec 22 2008, 12:03 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Dec 22 2008, 08:32 AM)
Theres no such thing as apple original 4Gb ddr3 ram,its either they use hynix or samsung ram sticks. The reason why apple store gives the upgrade at 500+ is not because they are being honest ,sincere or just nice its because the machine is custom built in the factory itself according to your specification,thats how you save cost. If you buy a stand alone unit and upgrade the ram yourself of course its expensive,one shot upgrade is cheaper. Its like buying a normal honda civic but trying to make it into a type-R on your own expense when at the first place you should have bought the type-R at a cheaper price then the overall upgrade on a stock civic.Startec@LowYat charges RM250 for 2GB ddr3 KVR with a CL of 7,i think the apple resellers use KTA(Which is certified apple compatible) at 399 per 2GB ddr3 which has CL of 2.
what nimrod323 said about there's no such thing as apple original ddr3 ram is true.. their (apple) upgrade online after purchase is more than 1K.. wink.gif

[post edited for misinformation] brows.gif

This post has been edited by damos_csui: Dec 22 2008, 12:19 PM
damos_csui
post Dec 24 2008, 10:11 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Dec 24 2008, 09:59 AM)
you do realize apple wont launch without a telco partner right? go annoy your telco.
that's right.. and I notice in some country that it doesnt have to be the biggest provider.. but the one who dare to take the challenge and lead.. brows.gif so in Malaysia, who is that telco..?? digi maybe..?? rclxub.gif
damos_csui
post Jan 29 2009, 11:35 AM

142 posts

Just to satisfy my curiosity, I came across and notice that our neighbor Indonesia is getting iPhone soon rclxub.gif

http://www.apple.com/id/

what happen to our telcos? is it really going to be officially available here in Malaysia?
or we can keep dreaming and buy those expensive illegal iphone.. cry.gif

damos_csui
post Jan 29 2009, 02:19 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jan 29 2009, 12:53 PM)
Means more lobang for us to get the iPhone. Malaysian telco don't want to bring in coz they know malaysian like "imported" stuff.
haha.. they like to maintain iPhone as an exclusive 'imported' stuff.. but seriously!! this is sucks.. mad.gif

0.0240sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:01 PM