94 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Malaysia Import Duties

sanzo_reload
post May 20 2017, 11:27 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(melt @ May 19 2017, 11:00 AM)
got a package detained early of the month. I did receive the notice from poslaju
So, they no longer give you the option of going to the custom office to pick up the package yourself?
RM50 is a lot to pay for something that I could've done myself since my house is near KLIA anyway.
melt
post May 20 2017, 02:33 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(sanzo_reload @ May 20 2017, 11:27 AM)
So, they no longer give you the option of going to the custom office to pick up the package yourself?
RM50 is a lot to pay for something that I could've done myself since my house is near KLIA anyway.
The notice is the option you can decide what you want to do. Appoint them or pickup yourself.
sanzo_reload
post May 22 2017, 04:13 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(melt @ May 20 2017, 02:33 PM)
The notice is the option you can decide what you want to do. Appoint them or pickup yourself.
oh okies2 thank you for the clarification.
My package just reached Malaysia so I'm expecting the notice in the next few days.
Fingers crossed that they're not gonna charge me with ridiculous taxes.

Brandonchoo123
post May 30 2017, 09:02 PM

147 posts

I bought an arcade stick from korea 4.6kg, rm1035 total including shipping. Any idea how much will the tax be? ):
bluray movies
post May 31 2017, 05:44 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Brandonchoo123 @ May 30 2017, 09:02 PM)
I bought an arcade stick from korea 4.6kg, rm1035 total including shipping. Any idea how much will the tax be? ):
wow bro, mind to share which stick u bought?

nazseha
post Jun 1 2017, 11:19 AM

Ownez with DualShock 3.
2,231 posts

Hello! , need ur guys help how much the taxes will be for the below item? Would like to buy one.. and is there will be any different if i choose DHL as shipping instead AliPremium? Thanks a lot 😊😊Attached Image
borneoman1
post Jun 14 2017, 02:42 PM

119 posts

Hello, Singapore Laptop RM4100 send to East Malaysia, would incur only 6% gst = Rm250? Or will there be more?
altk1989
post Jun 21 2017, 04:22 PM

64 posts

Hi, my company recently bought a shipment of oil used in fire resistance product from US. We ordered once before in 2011, and the TC is 3813.00.0000 (0 % Duty fee but 6%GST)
But this time (Same company we ordered from US), there's no TC listed in invoice, my only worry is the custom will charge us using different TC, and the whole shipment cost around 1536$ Dollar including Courier using USP, so 20%-30% duty fee is ridiculous.

If custom happened to charge us using wrong TC, can i argue with it using previous invoice?

Another is, do we declare our own to custom or the courier service (UPS) will handling for us, and we only provide necessary document?

Sorry for the newbie question...the person in charge resigned recently rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by altk1989: Jun 21 2017, 04:24 PM
doinkz_gaara
post Jun 29 2017, 06:08 PM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ May 12 2017, 12:43 PM)
I called in to Custom and Pos Malaysia the other, my hiking bag is made of nylon and since it is above RM500, there will be only 6% GST imposed. 

Hope that helps.
QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ May 12 2017, 01:01 PM)
Sure thing! Apparently, if made of different materials - was given canvas as an example - then there will be an additional 20% import duty tax. Phew!
Do you know how they determine it? Am planning to buy an Osprey Farpoint 70 from overseas as it's much cheaper, not sure if will kena the 20% anot.
skype911
post Jul 1 2017, 06:57 AM

Hi, i would like to buy a supercook fron Australia, how much duty i will be charge?
The item cost AUD 699
jueiri
post Jul 1 2017, 05:14 PM

158 posts

Dear sifus. Need help here. I am planning to buy an android tablet from oversea (china). Can anyone advise on what is the tax and other procedure? Thanks alot.
Lucius <3
post Jul 1 2017, 07:36 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jun 29 2017, 06:08 PM)
Do you know how they determine it? Am planning to buy an Osprey Farpoint 70 from overseas as it's much cheaper, not sure if will kena the 20% anot.
Should be 6% gst only. Why? I was interested with both atmos 50 ag and 55 farpoint.

Which online store are you getting it from?
ahdar
post Jul 2 2017, 05:49 PM

224 posts

I bought few sport shoes from U.K.
May I know what is the import duty tax rate?

Thank you
doinkz_gaara
post Jul 4 2017, 09:01 PM

2,381 posts

QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ Jul 1 2017, 07:36 PM)
Should be 6% gst only. Why? I was interested with both atmos 50 ag and 55 farpoint.

Which online store are you getting it from?
Got it from Trekkinn. 149usd total including shipping. Read that Farpoint 70 and 55 has the same length, so why not haha.
seiken
post Jul 6 2017, 09:15 PM

216 posts

Hi. Planning to get a watch from overseas. The watch will be shipped from Singapore and costs usd 270 including shipping. I will only be charged 6% gst only right
evilhomura89
post Jul 6 2017, 11:09 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Jul 6 2017, 09:15 PM)
Hi. Planning to get a watch from overseas. The watch will be shipped from Singapore and costs usd 270 including shipping. I will only be charged 6% gst only right
yes 6% GST
BUT, it will depends on how Kastam decide to calculate the shipping cost as they WILL NOT follow the shipping cost written in the shipping invoice - hence you'll be paying more than the actual 6%.

This is my recent experience - I bought a watch from eBay US and it was forwarded to me via comgateway
Since comgateway was having some promos, I only paid about 10 USD to have it shipped via DHL (but in their invoice they declared it at about 27 USD, which is pretty much standard rate).

But when the watch arrived, DHL called and told me the charges I need to pay is RM123 (RM73 GST plus RM50 DHL fees).
My watch was declared at 155 USD (which is approximately RM600+), total cost is about 180 USD which comes to around RM775.

See the picture below:
This is my official shipping invoice which declares the item price and freight cost.

So technically, the GST that I should be paying is 6% of RM775 - comes to around RM46. But why do I have to pay RM73 which is more than 6% of RM1000?

This is the kastam receipt and it tells an entirely different story.
No problem with the item price there, but look at the freight cost given by kastam - RM498.75 ?!
How did the kastam give such prices considering the fact that my shipping box only has a weight of 400g and volumetric weight of 1kg maximum.
To me, this is pure blatant rip off by our beloved kastam trying to siphon money from the regular person like you and me.
For what reason, I don't know...probably to reduce the country's debt.

So, my only solutions for this issue is, avoid DHL/FedEx at all cost as all items will have to go through full custom declaration and taxation. If it's below RM500, maybe there's still a chance of not getting taxed.

When possible and not urgent or not too valuable, I don't mind using the normal airmail/EMS handled by Pos Malaysia. Items sent via normal airmail still have a good chance of being overlooked as there are too many parcels to be handled everyday.

Also, always under declare if you don't mind - why should I declare truthfully knowing that the custom will still try to mark it up by having ridiculous freight charge estimation. If you under declare, make sure there's no invoice or price tag in your parcel in case it gets opened up for further checking. Under declare works best for used/second hand items.

Lucius <3
post Jul 7 2017, 06:21 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jul 4 2017, 09:01 PM)
Got it from Trekkinn. 149usd total including shipping. Read that Farpoint 70 and 55 has the same length, so why not haha.
Sweet! I have been eyeing from them too! Did you use 5% off code?
doinkz_gaara
post Jul 7 2017, 07:59 PM

2,381 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jul 6 2017, 11:09 PM)
yes 6% GST
BUT, it will depends on how Kastam decide to calculate the shipping cost as they WILL NOT follow the shipping cost written in the shipping invoice - hence you'll be paying more than the actual 6%.

This is my recent experience - I bought a watch from eBay US and it was forwarded to me via comgateway
Since comgateway was having some promos, I only paid about 10 USD to have it shipped via DHL (but in their invoice they declared it at about 27 USD, which is pretty much standard rate).

But when the watch arrived, DHL called and told me the charges I need to pay is RM123 (RM73 GST plus RM50 DHL fees).
My watch was declared at 155 USD (which is approximately RM600+), total cost is about 180 USD which comes to around RM775.

See the picture below:
This is my official shipping invoice which declares the item price and freight cost.

So technically, the GST that I should be paying is 6% of RM775 - comes to around RM46. But why do I have to pay RM73 which is more than 6% of RM1000?

This is the kastam receipt and it tells an entirely different story.
No problem with the item price there, but look at the freight cost given by kastam - RM498.75 ?!
How did the kastam give such prices considering the fact that my shipping box only has a weight of 400g and volumetric weight of 1kg maximum.
To me, this is pure blatant rip off by our beloved kastam trying to siphon money from the regular person like you and me.
For what reason, I don't know...probably to reduce the country's debt.

So, my only solutions for this issue is, avoid DHL/FedEx at all cost as all items will have to go through full custom declaration and taxation. If it's below RM500, maybe there's still a chance of not getting taxed.

When possible and not urgent or not too valuable, I don't mind using the normal airmail/EMS handled by Pos Malaysia. Items sent via normal airmail still have a good chance of being overlooked as there are too many parcels to be handled everyday.

Also, always under declare if you don't mind - why should I declare truthfully knowing that the custom will still try to mark it up by having ridiculous freight charge estimation. If you under declare, make sure there's no invoice or price tag in your parcel in case it gets opened up for further checking. Under declare works best for used/second hand items.
Hopefully my parcel will be overlooked. Kastam is always trying to make more money sigh.

QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ Jul 7 2017, 06:21 PM)
Sweet! I have been eyeing from them too! Did you use 5% off code?
Yup! Paid a total of USD149.05. If only our currency is stronger then it'll be below 500. sad.gif
kherel77
post Jul 7 2017, 09:46 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

Law5370
post Jul 10 2017, 11:12 PM

Can anyone told me how to solve the customs notis sitaan?
Because my friend send me 2 bottles of whisky, when me go collect theirs give me a notis sitaan and ask me wait theirs call for solve the problem at theirs kastam office.
Was me go kastam court?

94 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:17 PM