clutch and engine problem, please help

TSfx_53_xt
post Nov 7 2008, 06:00 PM, updated 17y ago

2,048 posts

i drive a two year old manual kancil 850.

about a month ago i have these serious problem about my clutch and engine :

Clutch :
when driving slowly for less than 20kmh, for example inside a car park or when i'm stuck in a traffic jam where i frequently shift between 1st and 2nd gear with a lots of stop and go, my gear will stuck. I cant seemed to be able to disengage the gear even when the clutch is fully pressed. worse case is during traffic jam, when i'm fully stopped and fully pressed the clutch, the car will move if i don't step on my brake (kind of like AT car where if you don't press the brake the car will move forward slowly) That means the gear is not fully disengaged at all !

engine :
the engine idle speed of my kancil was originally about 1.5k. but recently it miraculously dropped to about 700 to 800rpm and would die easily. Early in the morning once i start engine and if i step on the pedal, the RPM would drop instead of rise and then the engine died. i need to step it real slow for a few seconds then it will be normal.

thing about these problem is....they do not happens every time...they happens occasionally. when i first developed this problem, i sent my car to bridgestone auto care. they say my car is PERFECTLY fine and i end up paying only inspection charge.

worst situation happened last night when i was in jalan alor traffic jamming when going up hill. when i'm stuck in the middle of the hill, if i use brake, and then move to accelerator and release clutch to go up hill, the engine would die immediately as the RPM is too low when idle and my car slides backward. Fine, i don't use brake but play with the clutch to stay still at the hill, in less than 30 seconds, a terrible smell filled up my car. it smells like my clutch is burning !

so i send to perodua this afternoon, tell them my situation and after hours of inspection, they have a result : everything is PERFECTLY FINE, the only solution they give is to wait until the whole clutch system is gone then change a new one. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

i'm now so headache as this car is tough like hell to drive in a traffic jam, yet even the official workshop cant tell what's wrong. i serious need some help and advise here.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Nov 7 2008, 06:01 PM
RoxyGal
post Nov 7 2008, 06:15 PM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

clutch plate gone jor lar

change whole set lor..very cheap only leh..adjust the rpm timing also....

reserved post to edit later..jz woke up..cincai write

Added on November 7, 2008, 6:31 pm
i drive a two year old manual kancil 850.

it's about time to change clutch set if mileage reach 60,000 km to 80,000 km depends on car and clutch set. and how u drive the car.

Clutch :
when driving slowly for less than 20kmh, for example inside a car park or when i'm stuck in a traffic jam where i frequently shift between 1st and 2nd gear with a lots of stop and go, my gear will stuck. I cant seemed to be able to disengage the gear even when the clutch is fully pressed. worse case is during traffic jam, when i'm fully stopped and fully pressed the clutch, the car will move if i don't step on my brake (kind of like AT car where if you don't press the brake the car will move forward slowly) That means the gear is not fully disengaged at all !

symptom of clutch wearing is persist.Need to change clutch already. If the car in neutral and never press brake..the car will move,sp it's normal.....if the car on flat road and doesnt move if no step on brake and in neutral....then u change to gear 1..but u still pressing the clutch.....and the car move means.....car timing,clutch freeplay,clutch slip..all lari jor....goes back to clutch set problem.

engine :
the engine idle speed of my kancil was originally about 1.5k.  but recently it miraculously dropped to about 700 to 800rpm and would die easily. Early in the morning once i start engine and if i step on the pedal, the RPM would drop instead of rise and then the engine died. i need to step it real slow for a few seconds then it will be normal.

idling speed for all cars is 800 rpm +/- a bit...if it's an old car...1000 Rpm is normal also. drop to 700 to 800 rpm?this could be carburetor/throttle body dirty...or air filter very dirty. But it say it's related to rpm timing which related to aircond rpm timing ....So adjust it back to normal....tell them to adjust both air cond and rpm timing. this also related to clutch freeplay...which means even u never press the clutch,actually,the clutch is engage automatically...due to kancil...if it using clutch cable..not clutch pump type...the cable tension lari jor...need to readjust back....

worst situation happened last night when i was in jalan alor traffic jamming when going up hill. when i'm stuck in the middle of the hill, if i use brake, and then move to accelerator and release clutch to go up hill, the engine would die immediately as the RPM is too low when idle and my car slides backward. Fine, i don't use brake but play with the clutch to stay still at the hill, in less than 30 seconds, a terrible smell filled up my car. it smells like my clutch is burning !

sap sap sui problem only lar.

do it on empty road :
To check whether got clutch slip or clutch lari....when driving in 3rd gear...fully depress the oil.....then ur left leg..press the brake slowly but firmly...IF the rpm naik.......confirm clutch already lar.

clutch slip...clutch gone jor lar...change the whole clutch plate and bearing

So change ur clutch set...kancil very cheap only ...plus labour less than rm 300 . when u change clutch plate set ....ask them to change clutch oil and manual trasnmission oil too,check the clutch cable or pump...
Total less than rm 350. perhaps less than rm 300

Adjust rpm timing= free too.

This post has been edited by RoxyGal: Nov 7 2008, 06:37 PM
TSfx_53_xt
post Nov 7 2008, 06:44 PM

2,048 posts

damn...perodua quote me RM640
RoxyGal
post Nov 7 2008, 06:54 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Nov 7 2008, 06:44 PM)
damn...perodua quote me RM640
racing clutch car?Super single plate meh?

U bring back to original service centre is like that wan lar...

mechanic under the tress..very cheap only mah...Anyway u can go survey the price in spare part shop..jz ask them

how much for kancil model number...clutch plate set..full set..price

remember..ur gear sure cannot masuk....anytime...jz like my fren....sometimes good..sometimes not good..suddenly go outstation..in the middle highway..cannot masuk gear at all

normally i dun post or help wan

but i read ur problem...u gonna have one hell time on the road if spoilt in the middle road

This post has been edited by RoxyGal: Nov 7 2008, 06:57 PM
post Nov 7 2008, 08:35 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

Kancil are cheap to maintain as their spare parts are comparatively cheaper.My mechanic also told me that Kancil clutch are prone to this problem.

The only big headache is that you are going to be car-less for two days cause in order to take out the clutch,they have to take out the whole engine.

This post has been edited by 779364: Nov 7 2008, 08:36 PM
cheeann
post Nov 7 2008, 08:39 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Nov 7 2008, 07:15 PM)
clutch plate gone jor lar

change whole set lor..very cheap only leh..adjust the rpm timing also....

reserved post to edit later..jz woke up..cincai write

Added on November 7, 2008, 6:31 pm
it's about time to change clutch set if mileage reach 60,000 km to 80,000 km depends on car and clutch set. and how u drive the car.

r u sure? ?
my car already 96k km n 7yrs old edi n yet my clutch still fine n my friends car already 10yrs old n clock 270k km++ only gave way~
normally 60,000 km to 80,000 km is 2 change timing belt+water pump n sum belts~
TSfx_53_xt
post Nov 7 2008, 10:38 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Nov 7 2008, 06:54 PM)
racing clutch car?Super single plate meh?

U bring back to original service centre is like that wan lar...

mechanic under the tress..very cheap only mah...Anyway u can go survey the price in spare part shop..jz ask them

how much for kancil model number...clutch plate set..full set..price

remember..ur gear sure cannot masuk....anytime...jz like my fren....sometimes good..sometimes not good..suddenly go outstation..in the middle highway..cannot masuk gear at all

normally i dun post or help wan

but i read ur problem...u gonna have one hell time on the road if spoilt in the middle road
i really do appreciate a lot for your kind help. anyway, do any of you know any workshop that is experienced, reliable, affordable and honest around Klang valley?
i don't mind travelling a bit further if there's a good workshop.
i've been in KL for 3 years and i have yet to found a good workshop.

QUOTE(779364 @ Nov 7 2008, 08:35 PM)
Kancil are cheap to maintain as their spare parts are comparatively cheaper.My mechanic also told me that Kancil clutch are prone to this problem.

The only big headache is that you are going to be car-less for two days cause in order to take out the clutch,they have to take out the whole engine.
two days !!!
i guess i can live with that if the workshop can work in the weekend.
To take out the engine that means i must find some shop that i really can trust to do the job before letting them dissect my car.

QUOTE(cheeann @ Nov 7 2008, 08:39 PM)
r u sure? ?
my car already 96k km  n 7yrs old edi n yet my clutch still fine n my friends car already 10yrs old n clock 270k km++ only gave way~
what car does you and your friend driving?
60k does sounds a bit short of lifespan sweat.gif

RoxyGal
post Nov 8 2008, 12:22 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Nov 7 2008, 10:38 PM)
i really do appreciate a lot for your kind help. anyway, do any of you know any workshop that is experienced, reliable, affordable and honest around Klang valley?
i don't mind travelling a bit further if there's a good workshop.
i've been in KL for 3 years and i have yet to found a good workshop.
two days !!!
i guess i can live with that if the workshop can work in the weekend.
To take out the engine that means i must find some shop that i really can trust to do the job before letting them dissect my car.
what car does you and your friend driving?
60k does sounds a bit short of lifespan  sweat.gif
i dont know..if u know the price and know what they are doin..then u are safe being con by them..this i cant help u much.

Added on November 8, 2008, 12:27 am
QUOTE(779364 @ Nov 7 2008, 08:35 PM)

no need lar..i said 1 hour kautim....dun need take out whole engine wan...take out the side only mah...

QUOTE(cheeann @ Nov 7 2008, 08:39 PM)
r u sure? ?
my car already 96k km  n 7yrs old edi n yet my clutch still fine n my friends car already 10yrs old n clock 270k km++ only gave way~
it depends how u drive the car..some can even last till 300 k km..... check the service car booklet...it says 80,000 km to 100,000 km need to change d wan....

This post has been edited by RoxyGal: Nov 8 2008, 12:27 AM
the_catacombs
post Nov 8 2008, 05:59 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Nov 7 2008, 10:38 PM)

60k does sounds a bit short of lifespan  sweat.gif
taking out a carburetor engine vr easy nia.... not fuel injection engine so many wiring....

clutch usually last approx 80k km...
TSfx_53_xt
post Dec 19 2008, 11:10 AM

2,048 posts

after i survey around, the cheapest i quote is RM480 from a workshop i never visited before.

the one i regularly visit, Bridgestone ACT (previously known as Shell AutoServe) quote me a ridiculous RM1k. Saying that labour charge for removing the engine alone cost RM400.

i'm gonna go fix it this or next weekend and one more question hits me :
how many type or brand of kancil clutch is out there? do they make a difference in terms of performance and durability?
inoitu
post Dec 19 2008, 11:44 AM

1,526 posts

I wouls say your clutch is gone or bunt out seeing you usually engageprocedure. Present clutch are not that durable. I suggest you change your clutch and pressure plate together. !1k is very steep and they might charge for bleeding your system and you.
lanlee
post Dec 19 2008, 01:09 PM

41 posts

before anything, can u check the free travel of clutch paddle. should be about 10mm to 30 mm. adjust with 12mm wrench. user posted image

0.1575sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:28 PM