Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson W705, First music-dedicated phone with WiFi

mcchin
post Apr 12 2009, 09:55 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Gigalixir @ Apr 12 2009, 08:30 PM)
i just inquire the stalls in sg wang and the cheapest i asked for original set is RM1250. is it believable?

could they have change anything from the original box set? i.e. replace with other fake memory card (although the seller told me its original sony memory card). anyone can give some assurance here? will be buying this phone once got salary next 2 weeks exactly...on the 26th. ha ha.
how can ppl give you assurance here?
lol

anyway..it is up to you do see that the product given is according to specified package

will be buying this phone too on munday for my dad... tongue.gif
mcchin
post Apr 15 2009, 11:25 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Dlim88 @ Apr 15 2009, 12:27 AM)
LoL...many ppl is going 4 this phone  biggrin.gif
Just 1st walkman with wifi oni...With the price can get a G900 alredi^^
but g900 is not my cuppa

i like sliders, swirlers, flippers but not candy-ers...to blands for my taste

mcchin
post Apr 16 2009, 06:12 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

bumping up for the sake of bumping up...tongue.gif

heard some good news from home...
a package arrives... drool.gif
i just loves these kinda things... maybe caught the shopaholic virus.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Dlim88 @ Apr 15 2009, 05:25 PM)
But tat 1 is touch screen wo
still....eh... hmm.gif
not my cuppa

Added on April 16, 2009, 6:15 pmps: oh ya forgot...
for me the touch screen is a novelty...had a palm PDA...the novelty fades away replaced with frustration...

This post has been edited by mcchin: Apr 16 2009, 06:15 PM
mcchin
post Apr 18 2009, 09:31 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

a bit of a teaser tongue.gif whistling.gif

mcchin
post Apr 19 2009, 01:52 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Apr 18 2009, 11:17 PM)
omg... the keypad reminds me so much of w580....
but is it the same quality type?
ur talking about the w595 or the w705
cause my teaser is about the w705...
the w595 is just a screen filler laugh.gif

since we're there,
the w705 keypad feels naise
also, the w595 feels solid enuff

finished 3 games with it...
so there shouldn't be a problem
mcchin
post Apr 21 2009, 12:37 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

even worse

feels like a brick

i like thin stuff
but razr-thin like is very aneorexic

the best for me for dimensional
is w580, 595, 910, 715/705/g705, and some samsung model i not remember..

the new age nokias tends to be brick IMO
mcchin
post May 16 2009, 10:15 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

W715 have gps built in

but it is made for vodaphone segment
and availble in eu area unlock

wait for sum parrellel importer
if that lucky
mcchin
post May 17 2009, 02:33 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ May 16 2009, 10:35 PM)
or maybe u can go SE-NSE forum and ask for a patch or something. those ppl there are awesome tongue.gif
i am not sure that the gps unit is in the w705
software wise shouldnt be a problem

the g705 should be more suitable for the mod
mcchin
post May 20 2009, 10:03 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ May 19 2009, 09:11 PM)
i want the hpm-77... anyone wanna sell to me cheap? =D
there were once a dude in trade zone selling the hpm-77 for like 70 rm

got mine to pair with w595
mcchin
post May 28 2009, 10:30 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ May 27 2009, 06:09 PM)
W705 and G705 is basically the same phone with different branding. 1 with walkman one without thats all.

so technically if u use earphones to listen music, u wont notice the difference smile.gif
but there is cases like the w910 that can change parts in the firmware to improve the accoustics level of the phone
so it is not supprising if there is a better tweak firmware for the W-series
mcchin
post Jun 11 2009, 12:29 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

well

on form factor basis
i would choose w595 hands down
the whole shape just hit me in the right spot

but on potentiallity...
there is no contest, the w705 is miles away from w595

i got both
and yet i rather use my brother's w550...laugh.gif

really.. w705 is really a better investment than that of the w595
mcchin
post Jun 16 2009, 10:22 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Zephyrus @ Jun 16 2009, 04:11 PM)
hi all.. i got my new w705 few days ago.. overall it is good.. but for now after calls or some slight knock on it it will auto restart.. auto restarted 3 times so far =(.. going to send back to the shop for service.. hope will be fine after taht.
most prolly a bad connection?
didnt seem to be any problem of the phone here

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ Jun 16 2009, 08:33 PM)
its not miles away bro. if based on specs, it only beats w595 by software(different DB) and just the wifi.
tongue.gif
but base on price.  hmm.gif the w595 really beats it hands down  laugh.gif
do remember the 2.4" display, the front video call camera, the 120MB internal memory, 4GB m2, on top of the wi-fi.
plus i got both at almost the same price range...
so for me the spec vs price, w705 wins

maybe now the w595 price have drop...i dunno..
really goes down to how much money you are willing to pay versus the technology you want to have

some people will say the nokia 6800 ME wins hands down
but that is on a different price range altogether
mcchin
post Jun 17 2009, 11:29 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(UnCleHenG @ Jun 17 2009, 10:57 AM)
yesterday i bought a this phone and i check the phone status it shows the model is w705a not w705i..what's the different between w705a and w705i?

another problem is the sound not as loud as my w810i and somemore the camera a little bit blur when capture..

anyone facing similar problem?

can i ask the seller to change w705a to w705i?
AFAIK,
the "a" denotes that the phone is designated for North America/Americas market
while the "c" for china and he rest of the world has the "i"

any phone after w810 is bad at the speaker department
if the current market, either go with w595 (stereo speaker) or the Nokia Dark Side

for camera, you should have gone with the k-series
even after w800/810 all the Wphones are generically non-auto focus type

so it is not really a problem
you just have to get the subject in the focus range
mcchin
post Jun 18 2009, 09:15 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(catisakilla @ Jun 17 2009, 11:33 PM)
chop..

damn.. update firmware only cost me internet connection..
that if your ap phone is readied to be updated through the SEUS

got a case here in LYN where the dude update the phone through SEUS
and it revert back to french or italic language or something like that

and it fails to recognize the sim inserted
most prolly the case is he phone was patch (instead of FW change)
and when under go the SEUS, the software revert the FW back to its original, locked-to-a-subscriber line,
so it sees the sim as the wrong sim

so the phone is useless and the fella sent it back to the shop to repatched or change the firmware
cost him like rm50

before this
i was like, all AP phones is truly unlock
and has no problem at all

lucky my W595 was okay
now I am wary for the w705, dunno want to update it or not....sad.gif
mcchin
post Jun 19 2009, 08:50 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Criollo @ Jun 19 2009, 06:59 PM)
I've tried updating my W705 through SEUS, no probs at all... >.<
AP set?
mcchin
post Jun 20 2009, 08:10 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Peter87 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:37 PM)
how to check wheaten is w705i or w705a?
use the >*<<*<*< to check

the < or > denotes directional pad/ joystick
while the * is the button below the numpad key 7

press as quickly as you can
mcchin
post Jul 1 2009, 08:05 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Jul 1 2009, 02:03 PM)
im a thorus user bought it couple days ago, well recommended phone..
but just 1 thing, the speaker is softer compare to my previous W980...

*btw can this w980 use for any chatting appz such as fring?!?
fring is in jar format?

as the w980 is using a SE standard software, and not symbian..

then it would be okay to use.
mcchin
post Jul 3 2009, 05:38 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Jul 2 2009, 01:43 PM)
so u mean it will work in both w980 n w750?!
icon_rolleyes.gif
wat other appz can we use then?!

Added on July 3, 2009, 1:56 pmi tried fring last nite, seems kind of slow to me...
any other appz that can be use?
most phone by SE run their programs (games, menu, screen saver, theme) on a Java platform.

so w705, w980, w595, w910, and so on can run these so called jar jad format

The lagg/slowness might be due to the phone it self

w910 when came out was a horrendous phone with great potential,
so slowly but surely, the updates keep pouring in and the phone got better

i even read that the w910 user can edit some line within the software to help alleviete the laggines problem
something about increasing the mem cache for the phone environment(similar to pc, where increase of rams can boost the performance)

but i am not sure about this phone though

mcchin
post Jul 13 2009, 01:27 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

SEUS= Sony Ericsson Update Service

so technically, you can get it from SE webpage

it is quite a program to install, but quite straight forward process

here is the tutorial i made a month ago, hope it helps

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jun 14 2009, 01:05 PM)
tuorial?....hmmm really needed?
here a gist of it

SE update service:
1. Install the provided program such as PC Suite and the USB driver as well as the SE Update service program
2. Run the PC suites with the phone connected so that the phone is all connected and the driver has been installed properly on the PC side. Back up whatever data you need from the phone.
3. Run the SEUS and let it update its program it self.
4. Mean while shut down the phone and remove the phone battery. You can remove the the SIM and the MS card as well. (not required)
5. Once the SEUS program is up and running, select the appropriate language and phone model.
6. Connect back the phone battery, connect the USB cable to the PC
7. [*IMPORTANT*] Hold the "C" button and then connect the USB cable to the phone. KEEP holding the "C" button until the display on the SEUS say to let it go.
8. Press next or just let the program do its thing. Either you will have the notice saying "You have the latest sofware" with the option to "Reinstall the Software" or the "New Software Available" and asking you want to install it?
9 Select anything you desire, and let it run it course until the notice says the SEUS Program has finished installing the software. Remove the cable from the phone, and remove the battery. reconnect the battery and turn on the phone.
10. The initialization of the phone will takes some time to boot up. Once boot up, the phone will be like a normal new phone setup.

For A2Uploader (A200 phone editing program)
1. Download the A2Uploader program from SE-NSE website. Instal the program. (Attention!!. Any Antivirus program will see the program as infected program. Configured the antivirus program to a llow it to run.)
2. Some say to installed the provided USB driver included with the A2Uploader program for the phone, while some say the SE usb driver is suffice. Experiment at your own perils.
3. Disconnect the battery, just like SEUS and conncet back. Press the File System button and connect the cable between the phone and the PC, WHILE holding the "C" (same like the the SEUS procedure).
4. You will see the Left side of the screen show the detection process and once finished the right screen will show the program file structure of your phone.
5. Edit at will of your phone files BUT MAKE SURE YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING/EDITING. You can find the area to edit for certain stuff from the net such as SE-NSE sites

This post has been edited by mcchin: Jul 13 2009, 01:30 PM
mcchin
post Jul 14 2009, 11:12 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Jul 13 2009, 06:31 PM)
It doesn't work on AP sets isn't it?  smile.gif
it worked on my ap w595
which I believe is fully unlocked

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ Jul 13 2009, 07:05 PM)
i also wanna confirm that. i have a phone with the tm thing. dun dare to update
whats the TM thing?
if that is a branding... well you could alway debrand it to generic FW

how?
...I dunno lehh.. laugh.gif
Search out SE-NSE for help

0.0365sec    1.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:13 PM