GAINWARD USERS CLUB V2 - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics

ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 04:25 PM

Will someone please help me... I recently got a HD4870 1GB golden sample from Gainward. Using a 560w psu. Whenever i play games like race driver GRID, or FC2, my com shuts down after 15 mins of playing. Im thinking its overrheating, so i turned my fan speed up to 70%, but it still happens. Anyone help? Temps are around 78c which i think is rather hot, but not enough to reach 90c .. so anyone willing to help?
ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Nov 27 2008, 04:29 PM)
hah? 4870 gs can reach 78 temp??? whats ur full spec and casing?
okay i upgraded my hp m8190d.

3170 mb ddr2
500gb 7200rpm hdd
560w psu
hd4870 1gb GS
the stupid hp casing which i suppose is creating the problem, getting really hot.

BTW, if casing is really the problem, do you know any reasonably cheap but good ones?

ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 27 2008, 04:45 PM)
Must be a very cool room / good airflow casing there!

Mine is about 36C on aircond room. And why your fan so slow one? 4850GS should be 50% and above for the fan speed. Or you're refering to the GPU load?

36c on load or idle? btw, what casing are you using? Im really disappointed at the fact i can play fc2 on max but the com keeps rebooting after the temp gets too high. now playing cod4 and the temps are:

GPU TEMP - DISPIO - 61.5
GPU TEMP - MEMIO - 70
GPU TEMP - SHADER -70

FAN SPEED 75%

Is it safe to run fan speeds this high? will it wear the card out? thanks in advance
ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 06:42 PM

QUOTE(rd33 @ Nov 27 2008, 06:31 PM)
Yes my 4870GS 1gb oced to (790/1050) has quite same temp with u, by setting dynamic fan control...

70'c max full load, 55'c idle
wow thats good temp. right now my temps are 70c at idle , 70% fan, not overclocked. Any idea if i get a new casing, will there be a big diff in temperature decrease? I dont want my com to reboot again cause of high temps.
ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 07:21 PM

okay. My PSU is 560W SilverStone Strider, it says certified by ati.

80%+ efficiency, dual 12v rails,dual pcie connectors, support for ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V, active PFC
ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 09:18 PM

Ok, guys, i just did the stability test, and i was NOT happy.
Initial temps of my gfx card and CPU right after startup, note the fan is already 70%

But, i was running the stability test, just as i was going to take the initial screenshots in the first 2 minutes, the computer shutdown. All 4 cores of my cpu were at 60 > c, whereas before i upgraded to the HD4870GS 1gb, the highest temps i whad were 55c.

anyway, the furmark thing recorded my gpu temp to be at 78c before it crashed. hmm... so is it the PSU problem or is the problem with the casing? My casing is the HP m8190d one, quite some stuff, and pretty compact. One fan on the case.

hope its not the PSU....

ps: im not running crossfire, just 1 GPU

This post has been edited by ruffdawg: Nov 27 2008, 09:19 PM
ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 10:32 PM

QUOTE(pikacu @ Nov 27 2008, 09:32 PM)
shutdown? i think psu is the problem hmm.gif

quote from guru3d

There are many good PSU's available, over the years we reviewed a lot of them and have loads of recommended PSU's for you to check out in there, have a look. Things that can happen if your PSU can't cope with the load?:

* bad 3D performance
    * crashing games
    * spontaneous reset or imminent shutdown of the PC
    * freezes during gameplay
    * PSU overload can cause it to break down

http://www.guru3d.com/article/palit-revolu...870-x2-review/5
Hey, i don't know if to trust the reviews, it seems my PSU is not too horrible. Now im playing open case, however, temps are still above average, and running at 70% fan speed under load is 70c.

http://techgage.com/article/silverstone_st...t56f_560w_psu/5
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/548/10

This post has been edited by ruffdawg: Nov 27 2008, 10:34 PM
ruffdawg
post Nov 27 2008, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(pikacu @ Nov 27 2008, 10:38 PM)
err, i do mean this one :     * spontaneous reset or imminent shutdown of the PC

and that is ur pc problem nao rite? so it may leads to ur psu..
Right now, with the lowered temps i have not experienced a restart. I'm still trying to find out the main cause. ohh well, till the next crash.
ruffdawg
post Nov 28 2008, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 28 2008, 11:51 AM)
r u serious bro?
if u serious, i might find u in soon after my exam..................... tongue.gif
wah how come yout internet so fast

Btw, im getting a new case to deal with the high temps from my hd4870gs, any good cases and cheap ones to recommend?
ruffdawg
post Nov 29 2008, 12:35 AM

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 29 2008, 12:02 AM)
I have a question here. Is it normal for the graphic card box to have a sticker labelled on it like this?
Ya nice desgin for the 1gb 4850 biggrin.gif

Anyway, my rig is at the service center to find out the root cause of the shutdowns.
ruffdawg
post Nov 29 2008, 12:39 AM

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Nov 29 2008, 12:38 AM)
yeah..see 4870 rma..got two guys here already. at least with 4850gs you know which is the 1st & 2nd batch whereas 4870 can't really tell the difference.

btw, i got the 2nd batch nickel coated.
That means the silver coloured heatsinks right.
ruffdawg
post Nov 29 2008, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 29 2008, 12:42 AM)
hey guys.. please help me.. which card is better..?

Gainward HD4850 GS 512MB,
Gainward HD4850 GS 1GB,
Gainward 9800GTX+.

i'm getting one from these 3 cards next week..
4850GS 1GB

Depends on your monitor resolution. 9800 GTX+ still good imo, but getting old.
ruffdawg
post Nov 29 2008, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 29 2008, 12:48 AM)
i tough silver plated is =>2nd batch?
Yeala first batch copper plated right. Btw, why your internet so fast leh? You using 1gbps?

0.0348sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:00 PM