cstkl1
post Nov 6 2008, 01:24 AM

6,799 posts

u do know right
u have to close the previous thread to open new one..

the hardware forum thread is not a membership or corporate sponsor program...

thats y they have the dealer thread...

also any sales question should not be conducted here.. aka pricing etc...

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 6 2008, 01:25 AM
cstkl1
post Nov 6 2008, 03:42 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Scanart @ Nov 6 2008, 02:49 AM)
Sorry guys, NO. Because Palit is NOT Gainward.  shakehead.gif And all the marketing planning, funds and support is for Gainward only! Even Palit don't give Free 3DMark Vantage.

So ONLY Gainward. But no need to buy Gainward because of the free gifts, cheap games, free software etc. Buy Gainward because it's the BEST!  thumbup.gif  See the comparison links in Netraid post earlier.  icon_idea.gif
hahahahahaha

TS really doesnt understand what bryan just asked...
tsk tsk tsk.. very bad product knowledge..

cstkl1
post Nov 6 2008, 09:54 PM

6,799 posts

geee this card with either the rampage 2 extreme and rampage extreme should produce interesting result...

count me in...

no need to be hold etc...

Added on November 6, 2008, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(picksickrick @ Nov 6 2008, 09:39 PM)
where is 4850X2 GS??? T_T

maybe it's me but somehow i'd rather have 4850X2 than 4870X2
ah .. obviously u didnt think all the way with that statement

take it like this if the crossfire doesnt work.. u end with with a card of a performance comparable to a 9800gtx

but with the 4870x2 worse case scenario is a card comparable to a GTx260
its a win win situation.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 6 2008, 09:56 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 6 2008, 10:20 PM

6,799 posts

as long crossfire is supported bro for that game
if its not... then it will HAHAHAHAH for that person..

cstkl1
post Nov 7 2008, 01:43 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Nov 6 2008, 11:13 PM)
even Core 2 Extreme proc still can't show the maximum potential of 4870x2 laugh.gif
beg to differ when ure running at 4.5ghz 2000mhz CL 8 for c2d...

cstkl1
post Nov 7 2008, 05:33 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(humanoid86 @ Nov 7 2008, 11:28 AM)
hey guys regarding on my prev post which is: 
most of the sources are saying dat the 1gb has less oc-ing potential den d 512mb...the core can reach 850 easily but the memory cant even surpasses 1020(without artifacts after testing),low mem oc potential
i havent reli tested it yet...any advices? and also...i cant return to 2d mode after oc-ing with rivatuner 2.11, it maintains on the oc-ed clock speed icon_question.gif
dude overclocking ati cards has a max gain limit....
the 1gb version even at 775 is faster...

give u a hint for u to scout around
the 1gb with c2d 4.5ghz ddr2 is around 17.2k 3dmark06.. thats at stock...500fsb+

the 512mb with c2d 4.6ghz ddr2 is around 16.6 k overclocked... 600fsb+ somemore

showed the bus clocks incase u think it was the mem
and it will get worst when u go higher reso...

all this with virtual mem disable and totally loaded unto mem.

cstkl1
post Nov 7 2008, 06:57 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Nov 7 2008, 06:17 PM)
Sorry noob question.. how to know if the processor is bottlenecking the graphic card?

I'm still using C2D E6600 2.4GHz OCed @ 3.4GHz.. was wondering if it will bottleneck 4870x2 if i plan to upgrade to it in future.
before u look at cpu bottleneck u should look at mem bolleneck..

do some everest ram bandwidth...
having 9-10k for ddr2 would be optimum...
most games nowadays are loading a load of textures to ure rams and then will be loaded off to GC mems.
reason for this i guess would be three things

its definately faster way of prefetching textures...
second with the gurrent GC market .. only a few cards are having 1gbs.
and the dependencies on cpu speeds would be on the physx reasons rather than textures aka the things blowing up etc..
nvidia has a point here..
but with the current i7 with insane mem controller and godlike speed...
was kindda happy that intel didnt end up with the parth of pentium 4... keep increaing the multiplier and bus.
but it would have been great if the ended the core 2 duo era with a 1600bus on every proc rather than 1333 other than the qx9770.

cstkl1
post Nov 7 2008, 07:03 PM

6,799 posts

well whats the mem speed ure running at??
and how much mem...
os ??
u try clocking with everest benchies..
every increase u get in everest will lead to ure gpu increase.

cstkl1
post Nov 9 2008, 01:35 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Nov 9 2008, 12:21 PM)
Using HDMI the quality is the best, because it's uncompressed digital signal, DVI is same with HDMI, but too bad almost all the HD tv does not have DVI input
dvi is better cause it doesnt have refresh rate limitation

very hdmi has...

on high fps very noticeable...
and even worse when u enable vsync for some reason.. although it was suppose to correct the issue above.

cstkl1
post Nov 9 2008, 01:40 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(serigala @ Nov 9 2008, 01:39 PM)
500w truepower can fire up 4870 already..
atleast 400w true power PSU is need for ur setup to fire up HD4850..
dont advice anybody to follow such advice

cause if u want to clock and maybe have one hdd...
this is the guy u will need to consult..

cstkl1
post Nov 9 2008, 01:46 PM

6,799 posts

get a 620 watts with high efficiency

i recommend ppl to go single rail or dual rail max...

and u wouldnt be having any issue on a single card overclocked cpu rig for a long time...

psu's is one of the things that u wouldnt want to upgrade in the future.. including casing...

been using my st750 and da1200's for a long time...

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 9 2008, 01:47 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 9 2008, 02:51 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Nov 9 2008, 02:49 PM)
Ok, decided! I will get a new Thermaltake 450w True power PSU and 4850 GS...
This will cause me to go into 2 weeks of maggie mee or single meal per day diet program but should be worth it, lol.

But then will 4850 GS run smoothly on my E6300 proc and PCIE 1.0?
I saw somewhere that it won't bottleneck on E6300 and difference of PCIE 1.0 and 2.0 for 4850 GS would be around 4-5 frames per second, but I would like to know the opinions of the experts here.
get faster mem...first... with low tRD's on a good mobo...
then only u can see real cpu scaling...

a lot of reviews out there.. sishh damn stupid on cpu scaling..

cstkl1
post Nov 12 2008, 01:19 AM

6,799 posts

hmmm nvidia looks more attractive at those prices..
anybody wants a gainward GS 4870 1gb?? .. kekeke

dont want to be have anything in my arsenal that has anything to do with scanart..

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 12 2008, 01:47 AM
cstkl1
post Nov 16 2008, 09:45 PM

6,799 posts

eh so many ppl here especially one fella with the signature so big about the 4870x2 wtb

nobody bought any yet..

tsk tsk tsk..

Added on November 16, 2008, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(Scanart @ Nov 15 2008, 09:56 PM)
Of course there are 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th so on and on for ALL products mah. If no batches, that means no sales lar, goods stuck.

Anyway, don't worry so much. There are plenty of 4870 GS users here, read the whole thread yourself. We do not have any batch issue with Gainward 4870.

Furthermore, it's Gainward practice to continously improve all their products if possible. That's why you see such an awesome batch of Gainward 4850 GS recently, supercool and superfast.
sisshhh somebody doesnt understand ppl here meant batches as revision...

not as sales batch...

like duh

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 16 2008, 09:51 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 18 2008, 06:41 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(hahn87 @ Nov 18 2008, 03:35 PM)
i state down my spec few times ady... nobody notice only
biostar tpower i45 motherboard
C2D E8600
4gb corsair xms2 dhx ddr2-800 4-4-4-14
cooler master real power pro 750w
4870GS
arctic cooling freezer extreme
500gb+320gb+80gb+40gb hdd
cooler master HAF932 casing with LOADS of fans.
pioneer dvd burner..

detail enuf? lol
what a lousy system

lol

Added on November 18, 2008, 6:43 pmalso ps for 4870 to work on biostar properly

for the latest bios u have to enable a function..
cant remember what is..

but thats what that function is for
hd4870,8800gtx only has that issue
of hanging during 3dmark etc

geee and somebody wanted to flash the bios of ure card...

tsk tsk tsk..

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 18 2008, 06:44 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 19 2008, 12:01 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(picksickrick @ Nov 18 2008, 11:27 PM)
lol cstkl1...be nice...hehehe...

anyways it could be anything... i've never tried that much of mobo's before so i wouldn't know...

but since can RMA...why dont you try that one first? few days dont play game takkan pengsan wann...

haha..cheers...
well i have tested most of almost all the bioses for hd4870
well i know most of the FAE's. duh...

the early batches of hd4870 bioses has the tightest gpu mem timings.
the later had loosen..

what does this mean..
even if u clock the card mem so much ure gain is less. it was done because of the core restriction.
theres a bus like interface on the gc that works with the gpu core..
thats y it was loosen sm3 scores..

the most wanted bios is still the asus top versions..
this have tight mem timings and high vcore potential..
again asus did a magic....as always.

the 1gb has tighter mem timings..
how to check via benching..
look at ure mem clocks on 3dmark06

its not a gc bios issue...

again for t-power bios u need to enable this function...
cant remember cause was benching with that mobo like few months ago... and from then till now already had more than 10 motherboards...
cant remember every motherboard bios...

the t-power has a crossover issue with certain gc.
the notable one was the hd4000 series and 8800gtx during the early test of of the bios
it was resolved later. with that extra function in the bios.
was benching the mobo with a few hd4000's and it always fails 3dmark06 until that bios came out.

try that first...
u may find it in my signature forum somewhere..

also the rampage extreme also suffers some stability issue on high clocks/ram speeds when tried with HD4000..
gtx280/260 much easier

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 19 2008, 12:09 PM
cstkl1
post Nov 19 2008, 10:10 PM

6,799 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18159109

found it... han87

thats the one..

cstkl1
post Nov 19 2008, 11:00 PM

6,799 posts

is ures the 1gb version or 512mb version??

also have the latest from the FAE.

u want the stock or the latest.

cstkl1
post Nov 20 2008, 10:08 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(hahn87 @ Nov 20 2008, 04:45 AM)
@cstlk1
i am using the 512mb 4870GS
nood question: apa itu FAE?

Edit: FSB FineTune enable on my mobo didn't help... driver still crashes and reload
FAE = Field Asist Engineer

before u go to ure gc is the fault etc etc
ure running on a overclocked system right
does this issue happen on stock??
and if overclock can u pass the 4 test that i posted in the biostar thread.

QUOTE(demeter @ Nov 20 2008, 09:57 AM)
hi..

gainward 4870 1gb user here

i noticed when i play red alert 3 there's A LOT of yellow dots on the grass ,

when i run ati tools also there's a lot of yellow dots when i click scan for artifact, the funny thing is the things keeps goin as it detects no artifact..

is it artifact or is it drivers?

i'm using the hotfix drivers for farcry 2 and fallout 3

my psu is coolermaster 550w true power sli ready
that is a GC issue... must be faulty mem.
return it and screw them up.
set in ati tools setting the artifact scanning to the lowest...

cstkl1
post Nov 20 2008, 01:40 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(hahn87 @ Nov 20 2008, 12:37 PM)
@cstkl1
yea happen on stock also.
i dun understand much about the FAE but i did prime my system for hours and it doesn't crash
and atitool artifact scanning??

whats ure psu btw

Added on November 20, 2008, 1:45 pm
QUOTE(demeter @ Nov 20 2008, 09:57 AM)
hi..

gainward 4870 1gb GS user here

i noticed when i play red alert 3 there's A LOT of yellow dots on the grass ,

when i run ati tools also there's a lot of yellow dots when i click scan for artifact, the funny thing is the things keeps goin as it detects no artifact..

is it artifact or is it drivers?

i'm using the hotfix drivers for farcry 2 and fallout 3

my psu is coolermaster 550w true power sli ready

here's the pic

[attachmentid=679629]

[attachmentid=679631]
hmm rma ure card dude

looks like faulty gc mem.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 20 2008, 01:45 PM