GAINWARD USERS CLUB V2 - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics

serigala
post Nov 18 2008, 05:27 PM

CurSedWolf
1,439 posts

QUOTE(rockysta @ Nov 18 2008, 11:13 AM)
i'm planing to get a 4870, compare to saphire, is gainward better ?

can't wait to play tomb raider underworld smile.gif
cannot find comparison for gainward vs sapphire..
but i do find saphhire vs (the twin for GS) palit Hd4870 Sonic benchmark..

http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1648/5/pa...card/index.html
but too bad it is 1GB vs the 512MB version...

Added on November 18, 2008, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(hahn87 @ Nov 18 2008, 05:13 PM)
@serigala
lol seems like u just put a fullstop on my problem lol. concluded... RMA =.=
well..raise another question..if u RMA ur card,yet u dont have IGP..u already have spare GC?

This post has been edited by serigala: Nov 18 2008, 05:33 PM
hahn87
post Nov 18 2008, 05:40 PM

820 posts

borrow a 6600GT from friend T_T no gaming.. argh... this gonna sux
cstkl1
post Nov 18 2008, 06:41 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(hahn87 @ Nov 18 2008, 03:35 PM)
i state down my spec few times ady... nobody notice only
biostar tpower i45 motherboard
C2D E8600
4gb corsair xms2 dhx ddr2-800 4-4-4-14
cooler master real power pro 750w
4870GS
arctic cooling freezer extreme
500gb+320gb+80gb+40gb hdd
cooler master HAF932 casing with LOADS of fans.
pioneer dvd burner..

detail enuf? lol
what a lousy system

lol

Added on November 18, 2008, 6:43 pmalso ps for 4870 to work on biostar properly

for the latest bios u have to enable a function..
cant remember what is..

but thats what that function is for
hd4870,8800gtx only has that issue
of hanging during 3dmark etc

geee and somebody wanted to flash the bios of ure card...

tsk tsk tsk..

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 18 2008, 06:44 PM
pot
post Nov 18 2008, 07:00 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(serigala @ Nov 18 2008, 04:15 PM)
hurm..if u only do gaming and u want to save more..u can get C2D proc E7200/E7300 shall do great...
but if u want to topup Rm200 extra and still wanna go Q6600 also good..
but i check gigabyte there stated not support E7000 series? even is only 1066FSB same with my current E6300 so izzit no problem to get that CPU? Q6600 beter than E7000 series?
I do gaming while BT. notworthy.gif Q6600 suite me more? what after market OC heat sink recommended for 'SLIGHTLY' OC? TQ
serigala
post Nov 18 2008, 07:31 PM

CurSedWolf
1,439 posts

bt doesnt stress the cpu at all...heck once my BT rig was only amd Duron 1.4GHz with geforce 4 mx440...
quad power more needed in rendering soft like autocad,photochop,video and audio editing..
quite hard to say E7x00 support or doesnt support coz some list doesnt updated..i always do trial and error method..

This post has been edited by serigala: Nov 18 2008, 07:54 PM
alpha_company
post Nov 18 2008, 09:37 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

oh so that guy just has a problem with his mobo la..biggrin.gif

not the GC prob..
serigala
post Nov 18 2008, 09:41 PM

CurSedWolf
1,439 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Nov 18 2008, 09:37 PM)
oh so that guy just has a problem with his mobo la..biggrin.gif

not the GC prob..
which guy?
we have loads of guys here?happy.gif
Lexitachi
post Nov 18 2008, 09:57 PM

187 posts

i has 4870 1gb and i is loving it biggrin.gif
alpha_company
post Nov 18 2008, 10:01 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(serigala @ Nov 18 2008, 09:41 PM)
which guy?
we have loads of guys here?happy.gif
that hahn87 guy le..biggrin.gif not u sweetie..hehe tongue.gif

and btw, you IS right..hehe tongue.gif
picksickrick
post Nov 18 2008, 11:27 PM

299 posts

lol cstkl1...be nice...hehehe...

anyways it could be anything... i've never tried that much of mobo's before so i wouldn't know...

but since can RMA...why dont you try that one first? few days dont play game takkan pengsan wann...

haha..cheers...
TSScanart
post Nov 19 2008, 02:22 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(hahn87 @ Nov 18 2008, 04:54 AM)
purchase date on my receipt is 19/09/08 from skcs1985 - CEX

i tested both turbo and normal mode.. turbo mode from what i experience crash more often than normal mode.. normal mode still crashes

flashing bios? i tot just shut down the PC. change the mode.. boot the PC and the driver reinstall? correct.. this is how i switch between mode.. i shut down 1st.

and yes 8xAA on turbo and normal mode. sure BSOD.

any solution suggest pls.. or i going to send it back to skcs in a few days time.. i already told him what scanart told me to contact carlson saying i need the card back fast....
but still if there is any solution i am very welcome....  RMA the card meaning i dun get to game for sometime and that's..... devastating T_T
Hi Hahn,

Let me be more specific. We have a batch of 4870GS (few pcs only) with unstable BIOS causing BSOD and from the date of your purchase, it looks like your card is from that batch.

That is why I ask if you know how to flash the 4870GS BIOS with the latest one from Gainward. If are you unsure, then just send it back for RMA. Please call Carlson once you have sent the card back to SKCS/CEX and tell him to flash it with the latest BIOS. Hopefully it will solve the card BSOD instantly so minimum delay for you.

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 18 2008, 02:41 PM)
does flashing bios void the warranty?
Nope, we will be updating the card with the latest BIOS from Gainward. Thanks to Serigala, Celciuz and everyone who tried to help Hahn87 here. notworthy.gif
You are being noticed and appreciation will come soon... brows.gif
Zan
post Nov 19 2008, 02:44 AM

33 posts

Hey doods... and Serigala smile.gif just got my brand new silver heat pipe 4850 GS. yeeey. works like a charm with the new 8.11 Catalyst buuuut... as always I have a problem. I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to set the display on my tv. it shows black. i`ve tried everything: clone, extend, even each PAL settings on the list but the tv still shoes black. Now, i know the tv-out is not broken, since the booting process does display on the tv (mobo boot logo, windows xp loading) up until the part i have to sign in my user account. then, the tv goes black again. the lcd works perfect, the tv... not so much.

Any of you guys... and Serigala smile.gif encountered this problem?
tech3910
post Nov 19 2008, 02:48 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Zan @ Nov 19 2008, 02:44 AM)
Hey doods... and Serigala smile.gif just got my brand new silver heat pipe 4850 GS. yeeey. works like a charm with the new 8.11 Catalyst buuuut... as always I have a problem. I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to set the display on my tv. it shows black. i`ve tried everything: clone, extend, even each PAL settings on the list but the tv still shoes black. Now, i know the tv-out is not broken, since the booting process does display on the tv (mobo boot logo, windows xp loading) up until the part i have to sign in my user account. then, the tv goes black again. the lcd works perfect, the tv... not so much.

Any of you guys... and Serigala smile.gif encountered this problem?
adjust the refresh rate & resolution.
Zan
post Nov 19 2008, 02:55 AM

33 posts

nope. still not working 1280x1024 on the lcd and 1024x768 on the tv
serigala
post Nov 19 2008, 10:22 AM

CurSedWolf
1,439 posts

tv or lcd tv?
if TV(normal big-ass,heavy) u have to set the resolution to lowest..try go for 640x480..
black screen tv usually caused by resolution..

This post has been edited by serigala: Nov 19 2008, 10:22 AM
tellmewhy
post Nov 19 2008, 10:37 AM

893 posts

my 4870gs brought at november , now at drawer already ... -.-
if no issue still need to flash bios? cuz i sold my rig , as cs said , i going to buy biostar Ti45 , will i hit the same thing as han87 face?
cstkl1
post Nov 19 2008, 12:01 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(picksickrick @ Nov 18 2008, 11:27 PM)
lol cstkl1...be nice...hehehe...

anyways it could be anything... i've never tried that much of mobo's before so i wouldn't know...

but since can RMA...why dont you try that one first? few days dont play game takkan pengsan wann...

haha..cheers...
well i have tested most of almost all the bioses for hd4870
well i know most of the FAE's. duh...

the early batches of hd4870 bioses has the tightest gpu mem timings.
the later had loosen..

what does this mean..
even if u clock the card mem so much ure gain is less. it was done because of the core restriction.
theres a bus like interface on the gc that works with the gpu core..
thats y it was loosen sm3 scores..

the most wanted bios is still the asus top versions..
this have tight mem timings and high vcore potential..
again asus did a magic....as always.

the 1gb has tighter mem timings..
how to check via benching..
look at ure mem clocks on 3dmark06

its not a gc bios issue...

again for t-power bios u need to enable this function...
cant remember cause was benching with that mobo like few months ago... and from then till now already had more than 10 motherboards...
cant remember every motherboard bios...

the t-power has a crossover issue with certain gc.
the notable one was the hd4000 series and 8800gtx during the early test of of the bios
it was resolved later. with that extra function in the bios.
was benching the mobo with a few hd4000's and it always fails 3dmark06 until that bios came out.

try that first...
u may find it in my signature forum somewhere..

also the rampage extreme also suffers some stability issue on high clocks/ram speeds when tried with HD4000..
gtx280/260 much easier

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 19 2008, 12:09 PM
pikacu
post Nov 19 2008, 01:06 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Zan @ Nov 19 2008, 02:55 AM)
nope. still not working 1280x1024 on the lcd and 1024x768 on the tv
try Force Tv detection setting
Lacus
post Nov 19 2008, 01:50 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

hmm, or another setting..Detect whenever CCC is opened. Did u try this? Btw which 1 did u use actually? DVI?
humanoid86
post Nov 19 2008, 02:24 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(rockysta @ Nov 18 2008, 11:13 AM)
i'm planing to get a 4870, compare to saphire, is gainward better ?

can't wait to play tomb raider underworld smile.gif
get the gainward gs4870 512mb for sure...get 1gb if u have xtra budget, sapphire's toxic seems to be a good deal but i bet the price will definitely be higher den gs
tomb raider underworld..isit any good?anyone has played the game yet..

64 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:33 PM