xbox360 question

TSNikoBelly
post Nov 5 2008, 09:36 PM, updated 18y ago

Hi guys, I know that there is an xbox360 guide but since it is outdated I decided it would be faster if I make a new thread because I need help fast.

I'm planning on buying an xbox360 because it is cheap, but at the same time I want the version that is rrod fixed and is cheap. Can someone tell me the current price of all the xbox360 packages, memory and rrod fixed? Thanks alot! biggrin.gif Oh yeah, and also any extra information that I should know about the 360.

This post has been edited by NikoBelly: Nov 5 2008, 09:39 PM
Thrust
post Nov 5 2008, 09:42 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

360s are still prone to RROD. Keep your money in the bank my friend.
TSNikoBelly
post Nov 5 2008, 09:44 PM

I'm very desperate at the moment to play a really good game. I would really appreciate it if you can inform me of the current price, memory and stuff. Thank you.
Thrust
post Nov 5 2008, 09:47 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Eerr... I guess 360 will cost around 1300-1400. You sure you want a 360? There's no guarantee when you will be hit by RROD wo.
TSNikoBelly
post Nov 5 2008, 09:50 PM

So expensive? The other day at digital mall this guy selling ps3 for rm1,300 only. why 360 same price?
Kernkraft400
post Nov 5 2008, 09:53 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Thrust, why are you being unsupportive ? He stated that he wanted to get a good gaming console. Look at the state of it, every state of machinery has its lifespan. Even if you get a ferrari, sooner or later, the engine will start to spoil. But yes unfortunately, xbox 360 has a sport lifespan and if youre lucky its even longer since microsoft design new circuit boards to reduce 3rod failures.

And usually lifespan of console are 5-8 years. If you're waiting for the best xbox360 REVISION, that would probably take another 2-3 years, and unfortunately i reckon the community wont be so hyped about current gen, since game companies will start concentrating about next gen consoles.

So, this is the time to buy game consoles,before it is too late.
VonDrake
post Nov 5 2008, 09:55 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Nov 5 2008, 09:53 PM)
Thrust, why are you being unsupportive ? He stated that he wanted to get a good gaming console. Look at the state of it, every state of machinery has its lifespan. Even if you get a ferrari, sooner or later, the engine will start to spoil. But yes unfortunately, xbox 360 has a sport lifespan and if youre lucky its even longer since microsoft design new circuit boards to reduce 3rod failures.

And usually lifespan of console are 5-8 years. If you're waiting for the best xbox360 REVISION, that would probably take another 2-3 years, and unfortunately i reckon the community wont be so hyped about current gen, since game companies will start concentrating about next gen consoles.

So, this is the time to buy game consoles,before it is too late.
Yeah dude. Stop bashing the 360.

Guy wants a console, just help answer his questions.

Well think of it this way

Ps3 = cheap console
Ps3 = Expensive games

360 = more expensive console
360 = Cheaper games

and by cheap games its like RM 50+ cheaper.
Thrust
post Nov 5 2008, 09:57 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Bro, the price for a new 360 really is around that price range. You can check it out in Console Garage Sales.

Kernkraft400, not that I am being unsupportive ler, just wanna make sure TS really knows what he is buying. Afterall, spending 1.4K is a huge sum of money.

Note: Alar, mati la saya, posted in XBOX thread. Sure kena flame d tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Thrust: Nov 5 2008, 09:59 PM
kingvui78
post Nov 5 2008, 10:15 PM

265 posts

Ya, I agree with Thrust, at least let TS know that what he will face, the problem may or may not occurs, who knows, Just like me 2 days ago, my xbox suddenly screen distortion while playing game, so shut off then power on no display already, which only used for 9 months (Manufacture date: 31-10-2007), what to do, if still wan to play...I decide to buy a new one, you can see my thread in console garage sales, I'm selling my Faulty Xbox
VonDrake
post Nov 5 2008, 10:25 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(kingvui78 @ Nov 5 2008, 10:15 PM)
Ya, I agree with Thrust, at least let TS know that what he will face, the problem may or may not occurs, who knows, Just like me 2 days ago, my xbox suddenly screen distortion while playing game, so shut off then power on no display already, which only used for 9 months (Manufacture date: 31-10-2007), what to do, if still wan to play...I decide to buy a new one, you can see my thread in console garage sales, I'm selling my Faulty Xbox
Yeaaah sure...
But does this look helpful?

QUOTE(Thrust @ Nov 5 2008, 09:42 PM)
360s are still prone to RROD. Keep your money in the bank my friend.
Either way. All 360s are prone to it.
My first white 360 got pwned.
There might be a reason to mine tho.
Caaaausee wellll....
My dad tripped over the wire and the it made my 360 fall from vertical to horizontal, somehow turning it on and making the dvd drive go haywire, and spiinning like bloody ballsmack destroying the disc inside...
Oh Enchant arms, i only got to play you for 3 hrs.

Then about 7 months laater.... i got an elite.
Its been a year with my elite now.
Works fine.
Just take care of it. and u reduce the chances.

Everything is prone to going boom sooner or later.

TSNikoBelly
post Nov 5 2008, 11:12 PM

I thought 360 was the cheapest console. which is cheaper in digital mall? 360 or ps3? And tell me the nam eof the shop in digital mall, thanks.
prazole
post Nov 5 2008, 11:20 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(VonDrake @ Nov 5 2008, 10:25 PM)
Yeaaah sure...
But does this look helpful?
Either way. All 360s are prone to it.
My first white 360 got pwned.
There might be a reason to mine tho.
Caaaausee wellll....
My dad tripped over the wire and the it made my 360 fall from vertical to horizontal, somehow turning it on and making the dvd drive go haywire, and spiinning like bloody ballsmack destroying the disc inside...
Oh Enchant arms, i only got to play you for 3 hrs.

Then about 7 months laater.... i got an elite.
Its been a year with my elite now.
Works fine.
Just take care of it. and u reduce the chances.

Everything is prone to going boom sooner or later.
vondrake looks like u haven't get hit by 3ROD yet
my first console was 3RODed got it exchanged.. and 2nd one is still working fine till now..
yes i did take good care of it.. and no it doesnt reduces the chance..
many ppl would agree with' me on this one..

so my 2 cents for TS.. if u plan to get Xbox plz be original..
its covered under 3 years warranty..
getting it exchanged is a 5 mins procedure..n yes i had done it myself..
but u must be prepared to go SG for this exchange..

at the end of day with 3ROD in mind, i will still recommend u to buy 360 its a great console.. just be original..

This post has been edited by prazole: Nov 5 2008, 11:21 PM
wcliang
post Nov 5 2008, 11:24 PM

585 posts

360 not the cheapest.....but the sexiest. tongue.gif laugh.gif

wonder why microsoft giving 3 years 3ROD warranty ?, if u can't get the warranty, go for other option........eh like donate to charity? tongue.gif
TSNikoBelly
post Nov 5 2008, 11:28 PM

Go all the way sg? Wow. Anyway, which is the cheapest in digital mall or in lowyat oso. Xbox360 or ps3? Please the tell me the name of the shop in which mall.
VonDrake
post Nov 6 2008, 06:45 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(prazole @ Nov 5 2008, 11:20 PM)
vondrake looks like u haven't get hit by 3ROD yet
my first console was 3RODed got it exchanged.. and 2nd one is still working fine till now..
yes i did take good care of it.. and no it doesnt reduces the chance..
many ppl would agree with' me on this one..

so my 2 cents for TS.. if u plan to get Xbox plz be original..
its covered under 3 years warranty..
getting it exchanged is a 5 mins procedure..n yes i had done it myself..
but u must be prepared to go SG for this exchange..

at the end of day with 3ROD in mind, i will still recommend u to buy 360 its a great console.. just be original..
>.>
I guess u didnt actually even read my post..
i said right at the top my first white one got pwned.

3ROD GPU failure sumthin there.
manchild
post Nov 6 2008, 10:07 AM

110 posts

I'll answer this laa..since u guys are dragging the issue..
X360 is generally cheaper than PS3...maybe by RM100 or so..
U can get X360 for RM1300 I think without games while the PS3 is around RM1400..Xbox games are also cheaper by around 30-40 bucks...
If u want the so called best x 360 u'll have to wait a while for the jasper chip units...i don't know when it's coming out but it's suposed to be the coolest (temp) chip yet which could save ur xbox from 3rodding...people say it's coming out after all the hoohaa of GOW2 is over cause they're trying to dispose of the old units first...so good luck
benghee
post Nov 6 2008, 03:45 PM

you still have around 30% luck to get 3ROD on any latest xbox360 in the market. I've been hunting around, the price for a 20GB xbox360 should be rm1300 now in any KL game shops. Few months ago, my friend bump into PS3 launching promotion in Singapore, got his PS3, 2 games (MGS4), 2 controllers only rm1500!!

*All price above are for non-modded console.
cyclonekid
post Nov 6 2008, 04:10 PM

356 posts

I've already got 2 Xboxes in my current 2 years lifespan. Both have the same 3ROD problem. It can't be helped yet. My suggestion to you TS is if you can't wait for the new motherboards, buy a 2nd hand console for your gaming fix. So when the 3ROD strike, you can use the money to go repair it.
VonDrake
post Nov 6 2008, 05:37 PM

333 posts

Why buy 2nd hand?

When u buy a 360 u get the 3 year warranty for if u get 3rod-ed u can have an exchange

first t was one year... many motnsh ago they changed it to three.
S4PH
post Nov 7 2008, 01:14 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(cyclonekid @ Nov 6 2008, 04:10 PM)
I've already got 2 Xboxes in my current 2 years lifespan. Both have the same 3ROD problem. It can't be helped yet. My suggestion to you TS is if you can't wait for the new motherboards, buy a 2nd hand console for your gaming fix. So when the 3ROD strike, you can use the money to go repair it.
dats what im doing, im using a 2006 2nd hand set i guess xenon so far still running strong.
Jcsy
post Nov 7 2008, 06:18 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

just take care of it

allow it to cool
dont over work it
provide cooling
shud be ok biggrin.gif
ronramka
post Nov 9 2008, 10:40 PM

393 posts

guyzz...

wanna ask... where to find only the hdd? 20gb...any suggestions...

if got, how much will it cost?
technophile
post Nov 9 2008, 10:42 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

i think you can find it in the Garage Sales section if you are lucky.

http://forum.lowyat.net/Computer&ConsoleGames
benghee
post Nov 10 2008, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(ronramka @ Nov 9 2008, 10:40 PM)
guyzz...

wanna ask... where to find only the hdd? 20gb...any suggestions...

if got, how much will it cost?
Just PM people who wanna sell it in xbox360 Pasar Malam, i PM few ppl to compare price and finally got it less than RM100 for a brand new 20gb hdd. Good luck hunting.

0.0186sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:36 AM