Local Clubs LYN Futsal V11, We play every Monday and Saturday

Duke Red
post Nov 15 2008, 04:45 PM

6,112 posts

To the boys who represented MyRAWK today and upset a more prestigious Nigerian team before crashing out in the last 16 at Kajang, good job! You guys fought hard and well but the African's just had too much stamina.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 15 2008, 04:45 PM
Duke Red
post Nov 15 2008, 05:08 PM

6,112 posts

Yes please prepare a match report. I got there after the group stages had been played not knowing how darn far Kajang really is! lol. Either way I really thought we were really going to win after leading 2-0! The fitness levels of the African's were superior and they ended up scoring 3 in the 2nd half after the first half ended 2-1 in our favour. Looks like everyone has to go on a 30 min job before the start of every futsal session from now on lol. biggrin.gif
Duke Red
post Nov 16 2008, 10:02 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 16 2008, 09:59 AM)
Glozz,
Who is Hasbul?
He played keeper for MyRAWK II yesterday unless I'm mistaken. Former handball keeper back in the day. Don't know much else.
Duke Red
post Nov 17 2008, 12:43 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 16 2008, 11:23 AM)
Dukey,
You didn't play for the guys yesterday? Thought you're also a keeper?
Like I told some of the guys dude, I can't afford to take up too many activities at once, cannot recuperate lah at this age smile.gif. I haven't played competitive futsal for 4 years and I'm a little rusty. Need a little more time on the courts before I can harbour any hopes of displacing anyone between the sticks these days. Should come for the next session lar so long as it's not in Kajang and some place far.

QUOTE(JonC @ Nov 16 2008, 09:21 PM)
Giotto, i have sent an sms to zypher and teeque about the proposed Sat session. Will be informing the rest of the boys through email and see if we can indeed get the needed numbers.
Dei which Saturday lah? The 22nd? The production fella just called me to say he wants to come complete the filming as he's free now. Keep me posted.
Duke Red
post Nov 17 2008, 02:40 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 17 2008, 01:43 PM)
Anyways, how about this Saturday, 22nd November. I will make booking for the international court, you bring your production crew to film us. If possible, we want those behind the scene filming, the making of..or even those changing room scenes where we discuss about strategies, wall banging, boot throwing scenes. Let me know man.
Shouldn't be a problem. International court easier to film as there is not netting which is a big plus. Just let me know the time and place lah when it's confirmed. Cheers mate cheers.gif
Duke Red
post Nov 18 2008, 11:22 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 18 2008, 10:15 AM)
Its just a game, nobody should get terribly hurt in a futsal game.
I'm with Giotto on this. When I used to play competitively, I've seen referees, players and fans get beaten up. I've even seen one player get chopped by a parang and over what? A game of futsal? Back then there was at least one fight per tournament and I'd like to think that things have changed now.

Some people have better things to do like building a career and family. Why sacrifice all this for a game of futsal unless you really have no life? If that's the case, why don't you do the world a favour and jump in front of a truck? All I know is just because someone doesn't respond to a challenge, it doesn't mean he's afraid. It just means he's got more to lose and has his priorities straight.

Either someone respond to the invitation or we move on. This issue is getting old. I see no point in playing if everyone is intent on causing the other grievous injury.
Duke Red
post Nov 18 2008, 11:45 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Nov 18 2008, 11:24 AM)
We were all young and foolish once larr. Made such a big deal out of the smallest things in life. It;s always 2 things larr; girls or sports. Looking back; it's always really funny to reflect eh? tongue.gif
What are you talking about? Isn't it still about girls and sports? smile.gif

Duke Red
post Nov 18 2008, 02:35 PM

6,112 posts

If anyone wants a competitive game I can check with my ex Sports Unlimited teammates to see if they are still up for a game. I left 4 years ago so I'm not sure if they still play but I guarantee you'll get quality opposition. However you'll have to play on the international sized court.
Duke Red
post Nov 19 2008, 12:16 PM

6,112 posts

Giotta, MyRAWK playing this Sat also right? If so, see you there!
Duke Red
post Nov 21 2008, 11:25 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ponomariov @ Nov 21 2008, 11:07 AM)
I believe after the ball have cross the half, you can back past to your gk in futsal.
I can't remember for sure but I think this was one of the futsal rule...
During one of the competitions I played in, you could only pass it back to the keeper once. After that you'd have to surrender possession before you are allowed to pass it back to your keeper again. Things may have changed though.
Duke Red
post Nov 21 2008, 11:55 AM

6,112 posts

I never had a problem with the backpass rule since we played mostly on the international sized pitch which is a good deal larger than the netted ones, and the players had more space to play the ball. I spend most of my time at the edge of the box anyway to clear any through balls. I find the netted courts really claustrophobic and don't enjoy it as much. In any case since most are playing it socially, I reckon the best we can do as keepers is to avoid picking the ball up with our hands when it is played back to us, or it may encourage time wasting.

I find the netted courts really claustrophobic and don't enjoy it as much. In any case since most are playing it socially, I reckon the best we can do as keepers is to avoid picking the ball up with our hands when it is played back to us, or it may encourage time wasting.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 21 2008, 11:58 AM
Duke Red
post Nov 21 2008, 12:01 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ken0777 @ Nov 21 2008, 11:57 AM)
Well depends on the referee if back pass is allowed or not. Coz heck, even FIFA Futsal World Cup allows it now. But true la Duke, best is the keepers is to avoid picking the ball up with our hands when it is played back to him. Can improve more.
Agreed. When I trained with Zaidi Ramli during the time he was our national no.1 keeper, he rarely used his hands at all. It takes some time for keepers to get down low and given that shots comes in from a closer range than 11 a side football, it's better sometimes to use your feet to clear the ball. Avoiding using your hands to pick up the ball and having instead to play with your feet, will improve your footwork for such situations.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 21 2008, 12:01 PM
Duke Red
post Nov 21 2008, 02:57 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ken0777 @ Nov 21 2008, 12:54 PM)
LOL... was it the Wed's session??? tongue.gif If yes... ouch... actually the team that you were playing with on wednesday is infamous for playing the keeper long throw to lone striker and score... we guys gave them a nickname... Bolton Wanderers...
Our national team used to do this rather often as well. We evidently don't have the same amount of skill or level of experience as the other teams participating in the KL World 5's which is why. It was common to see Zaidi lobbing a ball up for Addie Azwan who in my opinion is our best player. When we trained, Addie would point to where he wanted the ball to be played and Zaidi's throws were accurate enough so that Addie got to the ball most of the time. Throwing is a very important attribute as a lot of keepers tend to aim for the player's torso, meaning time is wasted trying to control the ball. Keepers should try to lob the ball to his teammates feet so that he can bring it under control immediately.
Duke Red
post Nov 22 2008, 09:26 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(LittLe^MoHaN @ Nov 21 2008, 05:05 PM)
do u used to play keeper before??
A few years ago. I used to play for Sports Unlimited and trained under Zaidi. We had four keepers in the squad and chances were limited especially if you have Malaysia's no.1 in front of you. We had a total of 5 national players in the team at the time including Addie Azwan but I stopped because attending training sessions but not getting to play much in major tournaments was becoming a little tiring. The other keepers and I only got to play in smaller competitions so I decided to quit and training sessions were really taxing and it was a chore to get up for work the next day. Prior to signing on the national players we played a game against them and lost 3-1. After that we adopted training techniques implemented by then national coach Silvio Machado. Back then the other top sides were teams like Steven's corner (now Waikiki FC as you have mentioned), Samba FC and Waja FC.

It's why I said that I can ask my team captain back then if he still has a team if you want to have a challenging game. In the past teams they used to organise friendlies between team but on the international sized court. Sports Unlimited has since been closed however and he has a place in Klang now which is damn effing far lah if you ask me.

Before being asked to play for Sports Unlimited I played in competitions for the SAFTEA (Selangor and Federal Territory Eurasian Association) where at least I was first choice. I'm not Eurasian but it seems there was a loophole as there always is in Malaysia. We played mostly in competitions hosted by MISA (one of the first ever Futsal ground in Malaysia) and Sports Barn. I was later asked to represent Sports Unlimited which was a good deal seeing as all our equipment was sponsored and the club also paid for any entrance fees.

Anyway I was never all that good and am even worse now not having played for some time which is why I play only for fun these days.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 22 2008, 09:38 AM
Duke Red
post Nov 22 2008, 10:12 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Nov 22 2008, 09:43 AM)
waaaaa  drool.gif ... bro duke... still got any "loopholes"? how long wanna play futsal for puny teams kan...  brows.gif
I've been out of the scene for some time now but I can ask if you're really interested. Like I said, I think my former captain still has a team going. After 'retiring' I did return to play a game for them about 2 - 3 years ago. At the time I started in goal and the reserve was this promising young chap by the name of Deva. If you watched the recent KL World 5's, he played in goal for Malaysia. As I said I do think he still have a team going and I can ask if you want to take it really seriously, attend training sessions and so on. I still keep in touch with my former captain every now and then but more so for business. My competition days are over and I don't really have that much interest in the sport anymore which is why I play for fun. The smoking and alcohol intake means I can't last very long during training smile.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 10:13 am
QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 22 2008, 10:11 AM)
4pm to 6pm
Court 2

1. giotto
2. oldman
3. Hamilton
4. pono
5. chcher
6. romeolee
7. zeneyam
8. howard
9. slyyoung
10. ryansxs

Ok, this is bad. Anymore pullouts, we shall be playing 3 team fixturing later.
Alamak boring lah like that.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 22 2008, 10:13 AM
Duke Red
post Nov 22 2008, 10:43 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 22 2008, 10:40 AM)
Duke,
Oi bugger, if you stop drinking for 6 months and join futsal team regularly, we can whip you back to fitness and win back the number 1 jersey in Malaysia. Come on dude, you can do it. You're like Jens 'Lemon' Lehmann.
Dei since when did I play for Malaysia lah? I did play against them but am too crap to play for them. Stop drinking???? May as well not live. The reason I'm coming for futsal today is because I've a party tonight and I'll feel less guilty after doing something healthy smile.gif
Duke Red
post Nov 22 2008, 11:08 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 22 2008, 10:49 AM)
Eh, wanna ask you. Have you tried drinking before a futsal game? You'll love the feeling, trust me. Wanna go get a couple of mugs before the game?
I used to have a couple of cans of special brew before basketball but never futsal. I'm still have alcohol in me at the moment so I'll pass seeing as I'm going to take in more later tonight smile.gif No wonder you talk so much cock each time we play lah, you're buzzing! laugh.gif
Duke Red
post Nov 22 2008, 02:14 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Nov 22 2008, 11:20 AM)
I'm not sure whether I'm good enough for teams, but if you've got any teams looking for GK; I'm willing to join. Wanna try to push the envelope and see how far it can go. Thanks man.

Well I spoke to my friend/former captain and he still has a team that plays competitive futsal. I can ask if they are looking for a GK.

I also asked if he is open to playing any friendlies and he would relish the challenge so if anyone has a team that wants to play against quality opposition, just let me know and I'll set it up with him. cheers.gif

QUOTE(glozz @ Nov 22 2008, 11:20 AM)

Added on November 22, 2008, 11:21 amWhat're you doing drunk at 11 in the morning anyway? tongue.gif
I'm not drunk lah, just feeling the side effects smile.gif

To answer Giotto, yes I know what it's like to tani and then play. My training sessions used to begin @ 10 / 11pm. What do you think I did before that? lol. Probably another reason why I was only 3rd choice keeper lol.
Duke Red
post Nov 23 2008, 10:53 AM

6,112 posts

I'm all for humility but the modesty you guys are showing is too much lah. If someone says you're good just say "thank you" lah lol tongue.gif

Looking forward to playing on the international sizes pitch next week. Giotto, how long will you be booking the court for? The production crew should be going next week so please comb your hair before coming laugh.gif
Duke Red
post Nov 23 2008, 11:50 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ Nov 23 2008, 11:37 AM)
Eh bugger, where are our scripts for this coming Saturday. Wanna rehearse abit la. Let me know the part where we have to roll over, take a dive, take shots, try those fancy 1-2's, lob the keeper, juggle the ball and etc. Should we also simulate a fight scene?
Lol laugh.gif You could throw a Gallas like tantrum and start kicking stuff tongue.gif Why don't you simulate a love scene instead, with a horse hahaha rclxms.gif

0.0462sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:52 PM