Samsung Samsung OMNIA :: SGH-i900 V2, Official Rom=DZIA5, Leaked ROM=DZIA2

jigon
post Dec 12 2008, 07:08 PM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

Hi fellow omnians,

just tried transferring files using wi fi...i could only get around 500-600 kB/s transfer speed...is this normal?..suppose to get 2-3 MB/s for 11g connection..any tweaks?

Cheers
jigon
post Dec 13 2008, 12:06 AM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(calvincv @ Dec 12 2008, 11:47 PM)

er... 500-600kB/s..? is that 500-600 kilobytes..? well if it's kilobytes.. that's consider a damn good speed already...

coz 600kilobytes *1024 = 614,400 Bytes = 614,400 * 8 = 4,915,200bits

4,915,200 / 1024 = 4,800KBytes / 1024 = 4.6875Mbs

if you google it, they use the term Mbps not MBps

even if you see your LAN card, they used 100Mbs not 100MBps

same thing to your wireless card, when signal is good, it shows 54Mbps not 54MBps..
b represent bits, B represent Bytes

correct me if i'm wrong.. =P
Thanks for the math..so why do you say it's a good speed since my speed is only 4 Mbps ...should be getting 27Mbps(half of wifi g 54Mbps) or close to it?

Cheers
jigon
post Dec 13 2008, 09:16 AM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(calvincv @ Dec 13 2008, 01:07 AM)
opss... sorry, wrong calculation...

hmm.. u r saying u r transferring file from ur computer to ur Omnia thru wifi..?
or just downloading file to ur omnia thru wifi..?

coz as my own experience.. even my laptop couldnt reach 2-3MB/s of speed when i'm downloading files from internet tongue.gif
my experience was almost about 1MB/s only ...

gosh.. i really make myself embarrass about all this calculation...  doh.gif  doh.gif 

but i never try use my Omnia to download files yet...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

thanks for sharing...  smile.gif
i'm actually referring to file transfer speed between omnia and PC thru wi fi g...

tested transferring file from my PC to laptop...can get 20-24 Mbps easily...compare to omnia of 4 Mbps...the performance is quite mediocre..

Cheers.
jigon
post Dec 13 2008, 06:36 PM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

well, my router reported that i'm connecting the omnia using wifi g...not sure about omnia side type of connection..but if i'm referring to my transfer speed..it's definitely a wifi b connection... sad.gif

will try the sktools...will report what is the outcome...

Cheers
jigon
post Dec 22 2008, 03:30 AM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(farizbakar @ Dec 22 2008, 03:20 AM)
hello,

need advice here. here we go.

i don't want to use any laptop again so can i switch to OMNIA or X1(or any other phone u recommend?) because i heard that this gadget is like PC-all-in-one.

i just want do basic task :

-browsing
-emails
-ym (IM)
-watching movies
-listening to music (FM too)
-download (P2P/torrent)
-Office suite
-read pdf files
-pay bills using Maybank2u

i'm a heavy internet user, wherever i go, online is a must. if all the basic task can do with OMNIA/X1/any, i'll grab one. i am eager to get OMNIA but im still aware of any cent i spent worthwhile or not.

thank you.
for all that 'basic task' i'd prefer netbook...
jigon
post Dec 24 2008, 02:43 PM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

fellow omnians,

is there anyway that we could adjust the touchscreen sensitivity?...it's a bit hard to my liking..

Cheers
jigon
post Jan 12 2009, 07:51 PM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jan 12 2009, 06:37 PM)
anybody can answer what's the difference between black and silver? some ppl say there is a silver version. but what i can see is even the official website mention nothing about color.

although i know they sell a white version in SG (back cover only white, rest same)
look the same to me...i mean in what i've seen on the net..
jigon
post Jan 24 2009, 11:40 AM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(alwinc @ Jan 24 2009, 10:33 AM)
hi wanna ask u guys how to transfer files(mp3, pictures etc) into omnia? when i connected the cable to the pc, i could only transfer files to internal memory.. but could not transfer the files into 8gb build-in memory storage
go to Start->Settings-> go to Connections Tab -> USB Connection Mode-> change the Mass Storage Mode from Storage Card to My Storage->ok
jigon
post Feb 1 2009, 08:50 PM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(tercupee @ Feb 1 2009, 05:01 PM)
very slow download...no other alternative download from our fellow forumer? brows.gif

jigon
post Feb 4 2009, 07:12 PM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

tercupee, mind giving me me more detail on how the phone hang?

i'm using turk rom right now for 4-5 days..never hang...yet sweat.gif

v2 out already? shocking.gif ..lazy to reinstall all the software lah.. tongue.gif ..but will check it out if there is major improvement implemented..

Cheers

jigon
post Feb 4 2009, 10:01 PM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(tercupee @ Feb 4 2009, 08:02 PM)

i think it's caused by s2u2 as well as modifying d m2d,
=P
hmm.. weird i have s2u2 as well..how far have you modified the m2d?...i only dare to change the theme oni...

it's pimping time i guess...just want to add colours to our thread.. tongue.gif

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

Thanks to the guys @modaco for making these wonderful tweak notworthy.gif

Cheers
jigon
post Feb 13 2009, 12:38 AM

Terbaik!!!
597 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Feb 13 2009, 12:11 AM)
@erinonlyone
so sorry to hear that..i use to have problem too..
stuck at startup screen...canot enter windows..so i hard reset...then ok d
@refugeez86
i applied whole body including camera lens..
nite time omnia camera memang not that good..flash oso...
i'm not sure wether is it because of IS...
tmr i try take photo outdoor...i suppose will be better...
eh, got IS for the camera lens?..i thought it's a cut out to exclude the camera lens... doh.gif ..or is there a new version of IS?

Cheers

0.0393sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:56 AM