the "I LOVE GAMEBOY" dedication thread!
why_79
Nov 3 2008, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Nov 3 2008, 03:37 PM) i have one exactly the same, condition similar as well. interested?  err.... that's ok, i rather get a GBA so i can play GBC titles too. if only this thread started earlier, just went thru my GB collection last weekend to snap a pic of one of my games!
cyclonekid
Nov 3 2008, 05:42 PM
I had a gameboy once. It hard to play when you're suppose to go to sleep.  Good thing they invented the new one with a backlight (Game boy light). My best GB or rather GBC title is Metal Gear Solid. Now I wonder why couldnt' they remake that for current generation portables.
SWATwolf
Nov 3 2008, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(why_79 @ Nov 3 2008, 01:16 PM) swatty's GB looks surprisingly new..... gosh that mario game! it's called super mario land btw, not Mario World. it was the first game i got for my Gameboy, even back then this first mario land felt dated, when mario land 2 rolled out.... i was completely swept away by the graphics. it was like super mario world.... remember mario's bunny ears power-up in mario land 2? neat but totally useless.... would luv a revival right now but my LCD screen on the gameboy looks like it bite the dust liao. but need to tekan "A" hard lo...  "A" button got probs liao
Pr1me_Minister
Nov 3 2008, 05:55 PM
I feel like breaking out my Game Boy Pocket, but I don't have any working game.
xandman
Nov 3 2008, 08:59 PM
TS... our gameboy story starts at the same place....Langkawi!  i got it as a present for UPSR... that time...i got it with power rangers! its kinda eazy... my next fav game would be the yellow cartridge of donkeykong land... not bcoz of the game... but bcoz of the YELLOW cart! i miss my gameboy!
evilhomura89
Nov 3 2008, 09:01 PM
my gameboy not from langkawi...but my pokemon yellow cart is...hehe
xandman
Nov 3 2008, 09:19 PM
i juz dug out my gameboy....  the LCD has weird looking spots... but still working!
sakurakinomoto
Nov 3 2008, 10:36 PM
wierd looking spots?
Yeah, it must be dead pixel
aiyish
Nov 4 2008, 12:15 AM
oh man, i wish my GB was still working. Hours playing warioland and some weird rpg i can't remember the title..
xandman
Nov 4 2008, 11:56 AM
sakura... here u r...  anyway it's not dead pixels... bcoz the graphics is still fine... it's BEHIND the pixels....
why_79
Nov 4 2008, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(xandman @ Nov 4 2008, 11:56 AM) anyway it's not dead pixels... bcoz the graphics is still fine... it's BEHIND the pixels.... i have the same problem as well, in fact it's so severe that i'm convinced that it doesn't work anymore though i never really try it out to find out for sure. it looks like a black pool has formed behind the LCD screen.... lemme see if i can take a pic next time.
ShinAsuka
Nov 4 2008, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(xandman @ Nov 4 2008, 11:56 AM) sakura... here u r...  anyway it's not dead pixels... bcoz the graphics is still fine... it's BEHIND the pixels.... oh common prob for old type screens when you put it idle too long haha
LYNsucks
Nov 4 2008, 04:36 PM

Got one GBC too bcoz of pokemon. Amazingly the cart's save still works until now unlike many bootleg nowadays! So maybe mine is an original?
Regarding the screen mine has a circular spot formed from the edge of the screen. The colour surrounding near the edge of the screen somehow looks faded. Maybe rechargeable battery just doesn't go well with gameboy?
sakurakinomoto
Nov 4 2008, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(xandman @ Nov 4 2008, 12:56 PM) sakura... here u r...  anyway it's not dead pixels... bcoz the graphics is still fine... it's BEHIND the pixels.... Oh my gosh. I reply someone without looking at his/her name! I ditch photography section lol. Can't keep up. Maybe the LCD is old, that's why
genesiskirov
Nov 5 2008, 05:52 PM
sigh. never had a chance to own GB.
sakurakinomoto
Nov 5 2008, 10:02 PM
so do I
Pr1me_Minister
Nov 6 2008, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(LYNsucks @ Nov 4 2008, 04:36 PM) Got one GBC too bcoz of pokemon. Amazingly the cart's save still works until now unlike many bootleg nowadays! So maybe mine is an original? Regarding the screen mine has a circular spot formed from the edge of the screen. The colour surrounding near the edge of the screen somehow looks faded. Maybe rechargeable battery just doesn't go well with gameboy? Gold connectors = original. Both ori and bootleg copies have built-in battery so don't bother checking for it.
SWATwolf
Nov 6 2008, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Nov 6 2008, 08:07 PM) Gold connectors = original. Both ori and bootleg copies have built-in battery so don't bother checking for it. or crystal  where the case is semi transparent and u see lots of nintendo logo inside