Worst and best car audio brands?, For all noobs! Sifus pls comment!

jimmylim85
post Nov 1 2008, 08:56 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

I can agree with this info.

Is taken somewhere foreign country forum.

Seen this post from zth forum few weeks back.
jimmylim85
post Nov 1 2008, 08:59 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

Hopefully this will give you a general insight to the brands (picked up from some website):

Amps:

Audiophile

McIntosh
Arc Audio SE
TRU
Audison VRx,
Brax
Milbert
Butler
Zapco C2K
Genesis Series 3
Sinfoni
Phass
Linear Power

Audiophile but a step down from the above
Genesis Profile Series
U.S. Amps Tube amps
Audison LRx
PPI Art amps
DLS A series
U.S. Amps(older)
Soundstream Reference, Class A
Helix
Xetec
Zapco Reference
Denon
Adcom
Diamond D7 and D9
Esoteric
Arc Audio CXL, XXK
Phoenix Gold Ti, Also Older MS and Limited Production amps(Anniversary Editions, etc)
ADS
MB Quart QAA4250, QAA2500, and QAA1000

Quality

JL Slash amps
PPI Powerclass (Pre DEI)
Elemental Designs (good warranty, underrated power too)
Diamond D5 and D3 (very cheap right now on ebay, good amps, esp. D5's, very flexible crossovers if you need onboard crossovers)
Arc Audio Kar
Phoenix Gold Tantrum
Memphis-Very compact
Alpine
Pioneer PRS (older line)
Orion-Pre DEI
XTant
MB Quart amps
Rockford Fosgate
Avionixx
MTX
Older Mobile ES Sony
Exile Audio, new company founded by former Phoenix Gold employees.
Xetec Xircuit and Vector Series amps

Value
MTX
Kicker
DEI
Clarion
Pioneer Amplifiers
Coustic
Crossfire
Infinity, and JBL amps (pretty mch same thing)
Hifonics

Poor
Audiobahn
Dual
Jensen
Boss
Volfenhag
American HiFi
Rockwood
Legacy
Kole
Pyramid
MA Audio
Kingwood
Newer Sony
Pyle
XPlore
Lanzar(Except Opti Drive amps. Those are pretty good actually)
Audiofonics
Rampage
Audiovox
New Soundstream
Phoenix Digital
Formula
Koiker
Nitro
Power Acoustik
Lightning Audio
Niche
Verge
Crunch

picked from ZTH forum.

Added on November 1, 2008, 9:02 amSpeaker and Tweeter

Added on November 1, 2008, 9:02 amSubwoofer

This post has been edited by jimmylim85: Nov 1 2008, 09:02 AM
jimmylim85
post Nov 4 2008, 11:45 PM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

Pioneer is originated from which country?
jimmylim85
post Nov 10 2008, 09:56 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

What about revenge digital. Under which company?
jimmylim85
post Nov 12 2008, 09:24 PM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Nov 12 2008, 08:41 PM)
night kids is cap ayam... maybe can compare with mohawk amp... smile.gif
How do you compare Revenge Digital which some says its under MTX.

jimmylim85
post Nov 13 2008, 07:38 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kopiOkaw @ Nov 13 2008, 12:57 AM)
I don't think its under MTX... saw this evening revenge digital 2 channel amp 800 watt for rm220... sweat.gif
yeah, too hard to be true.. MTX stuff doesn't get so low price too.

Btw is Nov now... when are you going to plan to buy and install it drool.gif
jimmylim85
post Nov 17 2008, 09:12 PM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

How about this danish brand name vifa. How good is it? They made drivers for soundstream exact 6 component speaker too.
jimmylim85
post Nov 17 2008, 10:04 PM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

Peerless i know is high end stuff. But i'm suprise that vifa supplies 6.5 inch drivers for soundstream exact 6 model.
jimmylim85
post Jan 28 2017, 11:35 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

QUOTE(xw4600 @ Dec 28 2016, 12:46 PM)
any comment on Sony XAV-712BT.
it has mirrorlink too.
I rather go with W750BT big screem around RM 838 ~ RM 899 and buy a universal WiFi Mirrorlink Wireless device that goes around RM 210 ~ RM 250. Because I did research that XAV-712BT mirrorlink system mostly works on android phones and requires USB cable connection in which is frustrating for some. So why not do it wireless? Since 2015 phones on wards have the wireless display capability so as iphones have AirPlay.
jimmylim85
post Feb 18 2017, 01:05 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 13 2017, 10:08 PM)
Are you currently using a wireless setup in your car?

I need some advice on HU unit.

Currently using Suprima S with 7" android factory unit
It comes with front and reverse sensor,
reverse camera
gps with lokatoo maps
cd player
has usb and sd card slot

What I want to replace is:
Something that can use waze
I don't need the cd
retain the front and rear sensors
retain the reverse camera
retain the gps unit

Can anyone suggest anthing?

Currently I'm using Sony W650BT not 750BT cause wrong typo. Price is RM 699.50 plus shipping. Original from Sony Malaysia, i bought it from Lazada. Worth it.

Talking about Waze, you need to add WiFi mirrorlink mirrorcast device as an add-on if use Sony.

The front and rear sensors is stand alone, nothing to do with HU.

Reverse camera can be retain for sure.

The GPS unit is built inside the HU, when replace the HU, it goes with it sad.gif

The best you can do is try opening your HU back unit to find whether does it have "AUX IN + Video IN" if YES, then you don't have to replace HU. Just buy china WiFi MirrorLink MiraCast device below rm 300 and install inside. Then you can use WAZE because 2015 android phone onwards support "WIFI Display"/
jimmylim85
post Feb 18 2017, 09:01 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 18 2017, 06:59 AM)
Thanks for the reply.

The HU uses proprietary connectors. Not standard ones. Front sensors are shown with a logo and beeping with graphics if near. Reverse sensor and camera work together.

So no gps in Sony then?
If is proprietary connectors then you're out of luck, unless someone who can get you some info about the HU. Since your reverse sensor and camera are connected to your HU, Sony doesn't have that.

So far no GPS in Sony. I've seen Kenwood and Pioneer has that, but is in the range above RM 2k... I wouldn't spend so much for my HU for having GPS. I rather have my GPS on my phone, such as WAZE biggrin.gif

If you want to have better sound in your car, can buy a 4 channel amp with Speaker input such as JVC KS-AX3204 in which is the most affordable amplifier you can find in Lazada. I bought mine for RM 349. Original from JVC Malaysia.
jimmylim85
post Feb 18 2017, 07:42 PM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 18 2017, 04:18 PM)
I just want to be able to use waze in the car. Reverse camera too
Did you install it yourself?
That would not be possible without WiFi mirrorlink device. I just use my phone to WAZE. easier.

yes, i install everything by myself. YoutUBE + tools to open those door and dashboard + wiring kit.

0.0514sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:40 AM