Worst and best car audio brands?, For all noobs! Sifus pls comment!

craziechild
post Nov 5 2008, 03:22 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

pegasus. yes the competition they won are mostly competing againts themselves.

anyway. would not rate them according to level cuz each brand has low mid high series. so depending on which series you are talking to they have different quality.

the high tech pure deck is called true deck anyway. d2, 7998 falls into true deck category. while pure deck are like d1, 9255.

anyway about the processor. if processor like p9 pair. i think that pair should be placed as true deck as the processor are not universal processor. while the 701 are universal so they dun fall into the hu category.

another thing. is precision power in the list? elemental design, dd linear?

cheers

This post has been edited by craziechild: Nov 5 2008, 03:27 PM
craziechild
post Nov 6 2008, 08:14 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

problem is i have dificult access to internet in my school hostels. thats wht happen in goverment colleges.

but i will help out as much as possible.

and please. no sifu-ship for me. just another player.
craziechild
post Nov 10 2008, 10:25 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

what is this putting your head in boot thing? i dun trust feel. try comparing by a spl meter with mic on the dash. the spl drag way.

cheers.
craziechild
post Nov 17 2008, 10:10 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

ckmoy... i think more importantly is to consider whether to change the 6" mid to 8" up front... it sure sounds better if you have a 8" up front... for me at least...

cheers...
craziechild
post Dec 29 2008, 07:13 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

we are talking about those 1 or 2 DIN sized HU that goes mobile on cars and runs on 12V DC... not the one and needs a 230V AC that doesnt go mobile... so quality wise you will expect a lot of difference... especially on the reading the pirated stuff....
craziechild
post Oct 18 2009, 04:30 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

pioneer lower range is in that range... it had AUX input that you could connect your ipod to... but cant control the ipod from the HU though...
craziechild
post Oct 23 2009, 02:30 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

mc also famous for their amps...
craziechild
post Oct 23 2009, 07:09 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

there are visaton models that plays free air... and for their sound... i cant complaint about their price... they even sound better than priced...

cheers...
craziechild
post Oct 24 2009, 03:04 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

i wouldnt say they are bad for theprice offered... and yes... they do have free air models... dun remember which though...

i had used them for mid and mid-bass and for my computer last time... and i say they are not bad... worth it for the price i paid... but mine was the home audio models which was in a custom enclosure though...

cheers...
craziechild
post Oct 24 2009, 10:29 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

coral is italia brand... if not mistaken has a link with the brand Audio Development(AD)... its a all rounder performer... which model are you inquiring?

cheers...
craziechild
post Oct 27 2009, 01:20 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

am using pdx 1.1000.... but when people ask me to recommend a monoblock... i would recommend mine as well...

unless he wants to take it off my hands with a high price...biggrin.gif

cheers....
craziechild
post Oct 27 2009, 09:19 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

old skool amps are always better than new-school in my opinion... because those amps are well built for one purpose, music...

nowadays its more like cost saving... which in turns using lower grade materials... and in the end dun sound as nice as expected... rule is still garbage in garbage out... and many turn to digital because of power efficiency which in turn degrades the analog sound as well...

converting from analog to digital amplify then digital to analog before it send the signal to the speaker is like buying a new CD rip them out to MP3 and burn them...

cheers...

craziechild
post Oct 28 2009, 09:32 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

well... dun get me wrong, i dun look down on digital sounding system when its on rock music... because most of the time i find a digital sounding setup has a lot of dynamics...

anyway... to sound good in both analog and digital setup has a same common way: tuning

and well both are good amps... but try the garage sale section for the sales.. ok? smile.gif

cheers...
craziechild
post Oct 28 2009, 06:24 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

QUOTE(naetto92 @ Oct 28 2009, 11:30 AM)
ICErs, Tuning and scratching actually. To me... I'll go to reading section first lah. Hobbies will last forever. I've been reading the 12volt.com, bcae1, caraudohelp,thielesmall, and bla bla for the past 1 year but still no improvement till now. haha. I understand few things from you all and thanks alot.

Nice set up still need to match the cars, amp to speakers, cabin gain, sound deadening, crossovers, what music, what taste, how loud, and importantly the listener either ourself, our kids, our wife/s (hehe), the crowd, or the judges.

Well, I'll go for the 4 channel first. I believe that what i am going to is a wasting for some guys but yup, we're young and bored right? haha. even we're turn 65 next year.
whats scratching?

and why wasting time?
craziechild
post Oct 31 2009, 01:20 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

no more upgrading deem worthy... and minor maintainance kua... hehe...
craziechild
post Nov 10 2009, 10:46 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

never know small power cable cause amps to get hot... only know that when we use small power cables on demanding usage... it may fry the insulator...

well... the norm in today's amplifiers are not much are producing enough clean power that we have to source for big numbers to compensate... and good speakers nowadays are also demanding on the power... matching is the key to these situations...

one more thing is cant compare home setup to a car's on the power side... my DIY amp on my laptop is only producing 10Wrms powering a pair of DIY book shelves and its crazy on spl... but take that same book shelf to car usage... spl are only so so... reason dates back to a lot of electronics reasons... which may differ in every built...

cheers...
craziechild
post Nov 12 2009, 07:10 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

iPaul! nice amp...
craziechild
post Dec 1 2009, 06:39 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

go for chicken factory... hehe...
craziechild
post Dec 3 2009, 10:02 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

well most of the brands you dislike... manufacture themself le...

anyway... let the list be a collective of reputable brands that is realiable and recommended...

sound wise to everyone is subjective... price wise is a out of topic subject as well... because when you really search for the good sound... money is secondary... the least you have to do is just play around with your budget... i dun recommend high end setup if one doesnt have the knowledge...
craziechild
post Dec 5 2009, 02:47 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

where is TS...
just found out... DENON is not in the list...

0.0324sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:24 AM