5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Worst and best car audio brands?, For all noobs! Sifus pls comment!

Quazacolt
post Oct 11 2010, 01:52 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Oct 11 2010, 12:54 PM)
i see....those processors....can be used in any HU??
heres the problem: good surround/dolby procs are in the MYR2-4k+ range

would you hook up said processor on a cheap HU? lol
Quazacolt
post Dec 28 2010, 02:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(beweif6 @ Dec 28 2010, 01:17 PM)
am thinking to get a vios. all stock..
3k can get what good stuff? if i more interested on sq... or middle lol.
thanks in advance.  smile.gif
i spent almost 4k for entry level SQ complete set with 2 front doors sound dampening and wooden custom speaker mounting quality is definitely satisfying. if there are any complaints it would be the lack of bass on the mids (still, lol) but seeing as how i got a cheapo Boston S60, it cant be helped. and i think that is the end of the road for me until i get my new car (targeting honda civic or CR-Z atm XD)

if you're interested, you may just check out my thread on my ICE journey: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1157391

=edit=
oops removing highlighting

well, just to clarify anyways, for the most part the S60 bass (after further amplification) is satisfying. just on certain songs where the beats stays on the mids too much and wouldnt go lower for the subs to take over, it leaves much to be desired.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 28 2010, 02:20 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 28 2010, 04:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 28 2010, 04:21 PM)
Follow what abg zenn said...u will see the difference... brows.gif

Btw, just asking about woofer it's important? How about cheap2 woofer like RM300-400 enough for entry level?

See Helix e300 woofer at howie workshop...damn it's expensive..around RM1k.... laugh.gif

Summore need good amp for it... tongue.gif
expensive woofers you'll prolly need monoblocks instead of amp already to bring out its full potential.

and it really depends on what you need. even if you're not a basshead wanting to blast songs or whatever, you may still need decent to expensive/good subwoofers to bring out the low frequency notes/tones. perhaps a low drum note, or cello's, bass strings etc. cheap/weak subs wont bring it out fully no doubt. same can probably be said for underseat subs, unless you're getting some really damn good ones. "cheaper"/more feasible way is still a conventional 10-12" + sub in the trunk (or in rare/extreme cases, ive seen people putting it in the dashboard LOL!)
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2010, 12:35 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Dec 29 2010, 12:33 PM)
depends on the 4ch amp u goin to get

just find single voice coil 4ohm subwoofer around 300W

4ch amp 50W x 4 or 75W x 4, look for good brand

sub for beginners will be around 500-800

Added on December 29, 2010, 12:34 pm

yes HU and component will be ok for a start, maybe get a 2ch amp for the component next time.
hmm considering how much my boston gt40 costed, was it considered overkill of an amp powering the subs/S60 component? or theres no such thing as "wasting" in ICE? lol
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2010, 03:27 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Dec 29 2010, 03:17 PM)
overkill in SQ? not really la, maybe mismatch.. mcintosh amp alpine speakers hehehe

Added on December 29, 2010, 3:19 pm

erm... what else? shop around some more la...
well, its driving a super entry boston S60. the subs i dont doubt its "need" for the amp, but the comp set, does feel kinda wasted heh.

what about mcintosh amp and alpine speakers? you mean matching them up is like a huge mismatch? (since AFAIK alpine are that well known for their speakers/comp sets unless its their top of the line series?)
Quazacolt
post Dec 30 2010, 01:53 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ Dec 30 2010, 01:32 PM)
its ok ma, amp wont hurt....after buy amp.....later got money upgrade speaker la....thats the way to progress hehe

the alpine speaker i meant is the cheap ones below 1k la.....would be a shame to match with expensive mcintosh amps hehe, thats all

Added on December 30, 2010, 1:34 pm

amp plays big part in SQ

technical specs doesnt

look for the thread discussing SQ brands then u can look at more amps other than the one u mentioned
haha well said. defo wont waste la like that XD

and lol below 1k alpine, defo mismatch ady. since those mcintosh amps are like, one amp is more than my ENTIRE setup LOL!
Quazacolt
post Jan 11 2011, 02:37 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dragonsoul @ Jan 11 2011, 07:04 AM)

Added on January 11, 2011, 7:10 amok i looked over your post. i dissagree with you with the performance teknique's i had a pair of twelves and it was one of the best set of speakers ive had they where 1000 watts rms and they got me second place in an audio comp i would have gotten first place if the other guy had'nt cheated and reved his engine. i hit 132 db with an a/b class 1000 what amp.
so like, what kinda competition you entered? got any reference? pictures/articles/websites?
Quazacolt
post Jan 11 2011, 05:28 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Jan 11 2011, 03:39 PM)
If talking about ICE competition in Malaysia, already dead long-long time ago (IASCA & EMMA/AMMA), If I not mistaken early 2004 or 2005. The current one in Malaysia to meet their marketing only or easy said to promote their product in our market.
yeah we've had a chat about that too with victor from audio creations. oh well, currency and what not, cant be helped sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 21 2011, 05:42 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ken894ever @ Apr 21 2011, 04:51 PM)
means its in both side right?
tldr: chicken brand. and whatever you think of chicken brand, you have your answer.
Quazacolt
post Apr 29 2011, 11:47 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Apr 29 2011, 08:04 AM)
Which side does the brand Akago stands pls? the "stay away" group?
if its not even listed here, high chance for chicken brand. i mean, even chicken brands are listed here. well, perhaps they are a new brand or something lol
Quazacolt
post Apr 29 2011, 03:20 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Apr 29 2011, 03:06 PM)
I am doom.. a chicken brand.. its all over...
does it work? got sound coming out through it right? then why is it all over?

just curious, whats the prices for your amps anyways?
Quazacolt
post Apr 29 2011, 04:10 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Apr 29 2011, 03:46 PM)
I paid 3k for a Mix 2 channel amp (mono block), 2 Mix 12 inch woofer, one 4 channel amp, and one fiber casing to hold the 2 speaker. + some wiring. *cough

The problem is, after using the SPL for 2 weeks, it fried.. sleep.gif No sound came out anymore from my woofer. The dealer told me its because i SPL 4 hours non stop in highway. I didnt know we cant open bass for a long time. Will fry?? Also now my car got aeroplane sound.  Maybe let me take some photos of the amp and show u later.

Now this shop is replacing my Mix 2 channel amp with a Akago amp. Now i am thinking of asking for a refund. Since the dealer is my friend sleep.gif
sounds like cap ayam with all the frying issues and with the aeroplane sound, looks like bad installation too. i would ask for a refund and go to another shop.

and like, 4 hours non stop in high way? i've blasted my ICE for longer periods (singapore trip anyone? lol), though not too loud since friends in car as well, however when im alone like going back/forth from/to work, i do listen my music quite loud so external noise is no longer an issue.

its been over a year since starting my ICE journey, and so far its still performing well. there has been issues here and there during the journey, however with good installer, they will rectify it very efficiently at no additional cost at all unless its issues with your car. (had the door locking clip thingy broken and its causing annoying rattling sound when the volume/mid bass gets high, also cant lock my car properly lulz)

the latest issue was my subwoofer no longer work, but then they found out the issue in just few hours of time, and its just the inside connector loose. probably due to the volume i blast my music, and eventually the vibrations caused the connector to loosen up. solution? the sub is soldered to the woofer box connectors. and guess what, free XD

i paid about 4k for my setup, and while it is only entry level SQ, its well worth the money paid. theres still much to look forward to especially after auditioning to the higher ICE equipments from LYNers here, however that would require a lot of budget and thats something i will look forward to when i get a new car ^^
Quazacolt
post Apr 29 2011, 04:52 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(amjb76 @ Apr 29 2011, 04:35 PM)
what about "Sound Magus" amplifier?

anybody heard of this brand? today went to one shop in Tmn Pelangi, JB and they are selling this brand also too (besides Ricky @ Famous Audio). the guy there claim that a course will be conducted by the supplier to all installers nationwide in KL this Sunday smile.gif

What is so good about this amp?

1. it is an amp plus sound processor (guaranteed staging effect)
2. it has won one award for best innovation in Vegas!
since i dont think anyone here got experience with it, perhaps you can try it out and feedback to us?
Quazacolt
post Apr 30 2011, 06:38 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(amjb76 @ Apr 30 2011, 12:50 PM)
rclxms.gif That's what I'm contemplating at the moment. Scouting around for good reliable top of the range amp but at a limited budget of 1k - 1.5k  brows.gif can get ah?
sorry i cannot brain

Added on April 30, 2011, 6:40 pm

8k item sell for less than 2k. crazy deal lol. whos letting it go btw?

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 30 2011, 06:40 PM
Quazacolt
post May 3 2011, 11:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ May 3 2011, 09:30 PM)
Hi guys.

Sorry dont mean to be lazy not using the search button. But i tried and i saw ppl asking the question, but cant scroll down to see the immediate answer. So sorry if someone asked this before..

I am planning to go full Hertz setup in my car. With a HU Pioneer P80. Just want to know, is Hertz a good brand? (In terms of sound quality, durability) I am planning to go SQL, and my dealer was able to confirm they are the official retailer for Hertz, so it shouldnt be an fake.

Please share your comments on this brand? Ty so much!
if you really want full satisfaction, mix and match is usually the best.

the only regret if i may have any for my own system, is that i never got the chance to properly TT other models prior to having my purchase, and of course a bigger budget.

then again its still a good experience, and a better baseline for me to aim much higher in my ICE. after all, despite being a full boston setup, it aint so bad after all. it definitely have its pros, while albeit having cons that id much rather be rid of smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 26 2011, 06:14 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(asusman @ Jul 26 2011, 05:42 PM)
not sure if this is the place I can ask something about speakers, anyway, here goes my question:

1. what you guys think about Magnat Bull Power 2160 component speakers
2. how do I identify a Magnat imitation or a genuine one

please help me, thanks......!!
have you tried to google it? have you compared price with other reputable brands out there?
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2011, 03:57 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Aug 1 2011, 03:42 PM)
Yo guys..can recommend for me 2 way component set? i'm more to SQ..now i have 6.5 midbass pegasus..
1) audition
2) search within this thread, or the pinned recommendation thread
3) look through member threads (like mine) and gather references
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2011, 04:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Aug 1 2011, 04:31 PM)
Lu kat sini pun ada meh..
IEM boleh la gather info..
But ICE adoi..pening!  rclxub.gif
yeah, i started out here before i went in to audiophile sub forum under influence from my friends, and got into headphones eventually.

if you want you can bring ur own source (aux/cd/usb, doesnt support FLAC though so you'll have to convert to mp3/wav) and audition in my car w
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2011, 05:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 1 2011, 05:00 PM)
make it easy, a hu with a 4ch then go to front comp and rear sub....simple as 123..

as for rca, most 4ch will have bypass out, just buy another 0.5m rca connect to the bypass to input of other 2ch....if no bypass, then buy a rca splitter will do.

crossover use the amp built in 1 will mostly enuff. as for eq, use the hu 1...
so can call my setup as a 123 setup? flex.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2011, 05:47 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ILikePie @ Aug 1 2011, 05:41 PM)
HU connect to amp, amp power up sub snd speakers? Just like that? Btw, component I plan to get comes with crossovers. Rca thing stuff onwards I blur. Sorry for noobness. tongue.gif
thats what my entry level setup is going, least headache, and you're open for upgrading options/sell off etc

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:53 PM