How to play Happy Birthday?, with an acoustic guitar.

TStoccatina
post Oct 31 2008, 11:31 PM, updated 18y ago

226 posts

Newbie here, I know how to play chords only, strumming also know abit only. Wanna play Happy Birthday to Daddy blush.gif Sifu can help? Please?
sarcast
post Nov 1 2008, 12:22 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

There are several versions... this is what i found.. with simple chords

doing a little google will do u good , note that there are many version of HB too..lol..

This post has been edited by sarcast: Nov 1 2008, 12:24 AM
nkphnx
post Nov 1 2008, 01:42 AM

390 posts

Transpose it to the key of D if you can't play the F chord...

C--->D
G--->A
F--->G

fatboythin
post Nov 1 2008, 01:46 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Haha, we were celebrating my younger sisters birthday and I saw the acoustic beside the table. I told everyone to wait 5 mins while I figured out the notes for that song. Yeah, no help to OP whatsoever, but just remembered it when I saw this thread. biggrin.gif
TStoccatina
post Nov 1 2008, 01:39 PM

226 posts

F chord... -__-
sarcast
post Nov 1 2008, 04:48 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

yea learn ur F chord, itll be helpfull for ur future! biggrin.gif

anyhow just go to D chord la if F cannot
TStoccatina
post Nov 1 2008, 09:54 PM

226 posts

i try try ^^
x-crusader
post Nov 1 2008, 10:41 PM

472 posts

yea..
learn barre chord is gud for u..
SUSedge85
post Nov 2 2008, 10:19 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

you can always try the easier F, where you don't need to bar it...

--1---
--1---
--2---
--3---
--3---
--0---

not sure lah, long time didnt use this easier F....correct me...
SweetTooth
post Nov 2 2008, 11:35 PM

2,650 posts

isn't that a regular F without the root note? blink.gif i would still barre it laugh.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Nov 2 2008, 11:36 PM
sarcast
post Nov 3 2008, 09:51 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

then go like this
--1---
--1---
--2---
--3---
--0---
--0---

slowly adding another finger
Everdying
post Nov 3 2008, 11:04 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Nov 3 2008, 09:51 PM)
then go like this
--1---
--1---
--2---
--3---
--0---
--0---

slowly adding another finger
actually should mute the low E cos then it wont be a F major anymore...the A is also optional.
so playing the first 4 strings is actually good enough if its in a band situation.

sarcast
post Nov 3 2008, 11:07 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

oppsy forgot..

--1---
--1---
--2---
--3---
--x---
--x---
ChipZ
post Nov 4 2008, 02:37 AM

1,330 posts

I cant play that normal F chord, but i can play the barred F chords. Duno if I am the only weird guy here
Kelvw
post Nov 4 2008, 03:49 AM

1,591 posts

Try this wink.gif
May not be chords but the tabs are pretty easy to get the hang of it. Comes with a video to guide you through. Hope that helps

http://321guitar.com/discs/hb/

mumeichan
post Nov 4 2008, 10:13 AM

4,152 posts

F chord isn't that hard to pickup even though it's a barre chord because the position of the fingers allow a nice grip so it's pretty to barre the whole first fret. It's a good idea to pick up the F chord now that you have a simple song to play it with.
Pix
post Nov 4 2008, 10:42 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

don't play the F chord and sing louder... nobody will notice smile.gif
TStoccatina
post Nov 4 2008, 11:03 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Nov 4 2008, 10:42 PM)
shakehead.gif
nimrod2
post Nov 5 2008, 12:50 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Nov 4 2008, 10:42 PM)
the lolz.

i like to play in G key. coz its easier for the chords laugh.gif
Pix
post Nov 5 2008, 01:06 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

QUOTE(toccatina @ Nov 4 2008, 11:03 PM)
shakehead.gif
it's true ! look where's the chord located, it's during the part where you shout the name of the happily older person.

If you stop playing guitar during that time and wait for the next chord, it might even sound good. Like a purposeful break that will even put the spotlight on the guitar when it comes back. Clap in your hands, twist and shout, and your performance will be more enjoyable. Nobody cares whether you can play F or not, but they'll notice if you're having fun smile.gif

On top of that you can stop focusing on the guitar for a while, which is a welcome relief because you did play 2 chords in a row before that. Pfffew.

0.0216sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:22 AM