want to be a real estate developer eventually, need lots of information where to go?
SUSspitfire2000
Oct 31 2008, 09:40 AM, updated 18y ago
can someone give me a list of websites where i can find information on how to become a developer or run my own real estate group.
what kind of education do you need? Bachelors and masters in which subjects?
Is it neccessary to have huge capital to become property developer? i dont think so right? so long as you have invesors you should be able to pay contractors on time right?
Any info is much appreciated, thank you?
SUSspitfire2000
Oct 31 2008, 09:57 AM
im serious about this. the other was just for research. actually everything is for research because it is all for teaching me about different things. but as for cash flow and credit terms maximisaiton do you need, accountant, lawyer and real estate agent? or if you're just lawyer can you do both functions etc? when you say hire all three, do you mean on a contract basis or just on an ad hoc basis? and to the poster above, are you talking about hundred million of project not hundred million of ringgit. you're scaring me now.
Added on October 31, 2008, 10:02 amin fact, if i want to make a development of one house, do i ask for payment for development price plus ten percent for my company. what if the investors want to sell the house. how much do they pay to develop it. i guess the development price plus ten percent and then put the house on the market.
This post has been edited by spitfire2000: Oct 31 2008, 10:02 AM
SUSspitfire2000
Oct 31 2008, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(Clareen @ Oct 31 2008, 10:02 AM) i think all these will eventually gain from own experience. come on guys whats the harm in divulging a little info here and there. nobody comes to this forum anyway, not like people are all going to get the idea or something. i know its a hard business i wont be able to do it alone. im going to have to use my proffesional skills as well as networking skills to find investors to invest I'm lucky that i live in a rich city. And i hope to one day be hobnobing with some fat cats, this is where i hope to find potential investors. i also happen to know some contractors which comes in handy too. I also plan to set up people close to me in strategic positions to help the property firm maximise its revenue and profits.
SUSspitfire2000
Nov 1 2008, 06:50 AM
how about this idea, are there any small towns on the east coast of malaysia away from the oil industry which have nice beaches and are somewhat undeveloped but have potential and a good sizeable population with infrastructure that is not bad or needs only slight upgrading and with good transport links. maybe somewhere south of kuantan. beserah springs to mind. that is near club med. some pretty good beaches there and not far from kuantan. maybe beserah can be to kuantan what orange county is too los angeles. thought of that. as im based in europe. im thinking of enticing some investors from the uk. most probably with an asian background. to build a luxary resort there. in beserah. they have club med, let there be one that caters to asian needs. arabic, hindi, persian, urdu, we will like to make it a tropical paradise for asian people. maybe turn it into a mini mecca. we can have all the convieniences of a modern south asian/middle eastern city. do joint ventures with local food suppliers, to make restaurants, cafes, cinemas, gaming centers, night clubs, all in beserah and all based on the asian theme of hindi, persian, arabic and urdu. whats your opinion folks can we do it. who wants to join me.
SUSspitfire2000
Nov 1 2008, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 1 2008, 07:39 AM) ah_suknat, 1) That is NOT a developer. A developer build house from scratch. 2) In a country like Malaysia, you need a lot of connections to get approval from various government bodies before even getting started. Dreamer Added on November 1, 2008, 7:44 amspitfire2000, If you REALLY have the funding, why do you want to be the developer to begin with?? You could always partner with a local developer to get the things built. The problem here is you need the local connection for the approval. And, you could ONLY get it done by partnering with someone locally. Dreamer i have local connections. not so many but some. if i have the funding why i want to be the developer, because i want to make a profit. the funding not coming from me. so i want a slice of the funding as reward for putting the project together. then i want to sell the properties through my own agency and take a cut again. total pwnage. This post has been edited by spitfire2000: Nov 1 2008, 09:08 AM
SUSspitfire2000
Nov 1 2008, 10:00 AM
you put things in sound english but how much is the difference between x and y?
if i have the funding what is my job title.