Nokia [Nokia N82 Official Thread V4], Code Name Sharaku~

Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 06:14 AM

241 posts

Oh...my...god...

V4, and so many happy users. [Is this telling me that this is the most popular model of nk so far?]

Anyway...I'm planning to get this phone...

Any err..disadvantages or bugs about this phone? (I think I'm quite informed about the advantages already lol)

I noticed that the keypad's a bit inconvenient...cuz I'm a heavy sms user...I wonder if existing users (esp heavy sms user) encounters any problems while smsing? I can foresee some visible keypad marks on the fingers or something hehe.

I wonder what the best price for the AP set now?

THanks for the help ^^
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 01:50 PM

241 posts

Um, ok, I just got it...what am I supposed to do first btw?

Update the firmware? Before I personalise the phone?

And is it normal that my phone didnt support chinese language? >.<

Help...Thanks..

Edit: Ok I've scanned through the first page, but am still a bit unsure about things..(first time NK user, before this use SE...)
Is there a way I can get chinese language, without updating firmware to V30? (My current firmware is V20) cuz I wanna get the ahem stuff lol.

And one more thing, when I got the cd into the tray, the installer asks if I need to check for latest software versions? Will saying yes be risky or something cuz mine's an AP set?

(T.T I hate being a nk noob, seniors please help T.T)

This post has been edited by Eve2211: Dec 1 2008, 02:11 PM
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 02:55 PM

241 posts

AP from comsat. How do I change my product code and if I change my product code, will my firmware change as well?

Edit: OMG someone please tell me that this model support .vcf format. I saved all my contacts into that file and if it doesn't accept, I'm dead meat from keying in all the contacts. I tried to bluetooth the vcf file into my hp but it seems like the hp doesnt wanna accept it T.T

This post has been edited by Eve2211: Dec 1 2008, 02:57 PM
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 05:40 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Dec 1 2008, 05:15 PM)
can change product code using NSS..if change product code, then nid to change firmware using NSU
bear in mind, if u change the firmware, it will update to v30 as it's the latest firmware
after upgrading to v30, u cant downgrade back to v20
it'll brick ur phone..as most ppl experienced
O____O Thanks for the heads up, I was so close to changing the firmware >___<

But is there any way I can get chinese in without doing anything to the firmware? T.T
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 06:12 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Dec 1 2008, 05:41 PM)
yeeww shuurreee ur unit cant support chinese? tongue.gif
if really canot then hv to change product code n of coz firmware
I'm shhhhuuuuuree there's no a single hint of chinese in it T.T

Hm, another big problem is, how come I can't find the predictive text input option when typing smses??????????

I can't be that blind *shakes head in disbelief*.

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Dec 1 2008, 06:11 PM)
change ur product code via nss, google it and u know, and please dont upgrade ur firmware to new version..v20.0.062 just good as new version, u can feel any difference,(maybe a little longer battery life ) laugh.gif  laugh.gif 
if u update to new version, u cannot h**k u phone, then cannot play B****a ngage game, its shame to n82 user ..haha  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Exactly, which is why I'm kinda nervy about updating the firmware. I dowanna get a phone which is incapable of ahem lol.

Really, had I not read bits and parts of the thread, I would've updated already >.<

But I still need to find a way to get chinese in, without changes to firmware.

*Grabs hair*

This post has been edited by Eve2211: Dec 1 2008, 06:25 PM
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 07:20 PM

241 posts

Um, how to change the shortcut icons in the standby and also the two softkeys function? I look all over in the phone...and can't seem to find that option...geez..
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 07:37 PM

241 posts

Replied you already ^^.

Edit: Just called my dealer and he confirmed that to get chinese input/language firmware has to be upgraded... Sighs............. Bye bye, my dear games...

This post has been edited by Eve2211: Dec 1 2008, 07:54 PM
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 09:14 PM

241 posts

Use vista cannot?!

Isyhhhh... all signs telling me I shouldn't play games... lol..

But I'm sort of interested in the how-to though *wink wink*

Thanks ^^
Eve2211
post Dec 1 2008, 09:42 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Dec 1 2008, 09:34 PM)
the nonyhaha way is only usable in xp
as the guide says la..
hmm.gif So my hope's still there after all eh? = )
Eve2211
post Dec 6 2008, 04:31 PM

241 posts

Err...just wondering how does the barcode reader thingy works?????
Eve2211
post Dec 6 2008, 05:43 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 6 2008, 05:18 PM)
turn on your barcode scanner and scan "ziggy87" avatar
Hahaa ok I got it..thanks XD
Eve2211
post Dec 9 2008, 02:59 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Dec 9 2008, 01:37 PM)
Cause I hope I can fully utilised this baby ma... =.=

Now got GPS, music player, camera, gamimg device, video player, web browser, phone in one baby!! I really liek this phone..

[ Still lack of some HD N-gage games tho... ]
Well said, we don't pay over 1k just to make calls with this phone wink.gif

I got a feeling the n series are for those within the age range of 15-45, since it's quite complicated for us to work around with the phone fully and maximize its usage.

An uncle of mine who's 50+ got a N as a company phone (forgot the model number tho ^^ll) and all he ever do is make calls and send some sms with it although it's wifi enabled, carl-zeiss lens cam, and other typical stuff in a N series phone. Pity pity *shakes head*

This post has been edited by Eve2211: Dec 9 2008, 03:00 PM
Eve2211
post Dec 9 2008, 04:01 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Dec 9 2008, 03:47 PM)
no..because she willing to pm me..  biggrin.gif
Huh? People here don't like to use PM much? XD
Eve2211
post Dec 9 2008, 04:48 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Dec 9 2008, 04:40 PM)
Cause I think if I PM, maybe its not convenient for you guys, cause say like 100 of me PMing one of you, then you will be very tired of replying the same noob question again and again. Or if you were (I mean were, ok? ) bad, you will skip all the question :'( Sad case.

So... your N-gage games work with latest firmware? Mine is latest wor, can't ahem de!!!
Trust me, those who're kind enough to participate in the forum will help you out, well, most of them, I think = )

Nope, it doesn't work with the latest V30, mine's V20.

If you wanna ahem your V30, refer to first page, nonyha's method. (Which involves a lot of dangerous moves imho XD)
Eve2211
post Dec 9 2008, 06:39 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Dec 9 2008, 06:31 PM)
Start to Flirt? Wakaka.  But page 1 got say when shoudl I charge, how to ahem, bla bla those FAQ meh? But the garmin installation guide is really useful, at least for me ^^
I think he meant that "read from page 1" means follow the n82 thread from the start (v1) until this page ^^ll.
Eve2211
post Dec 10 2008, 03:52 PM

241 posts

Err just wanna inform you guys that: Getting chinese (input and phone language) into n82 do not affect the firmware of the phone.

So now I have chinese, and it's still at V20.

That's all.
Eve2211
post Dec 10 2008, 04:04 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 10 2008, 04:02 PM)
i tot all APAC model come with chinese language?
wat model u got before this?
Huh? What's APAC? Don't really get what you're trying to ask...^^lll
Eve2211
post Dec 10 2008, 04:12 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 10 2008, 04:07 PM)
Asia-Pacific...
lets just said... malaysia model

we all should get the same model with English, Malay, Chinese language
Hmm... Mine only comes with English, Philippino and another something something *sorry for the memory loss*

But now, after I take it back to the shop, now my phone got English, Simplified Chinese, and Malay =D

And still at V20.0.062

Maybe the model I got's from Philippine? There're no special characters at the keypad, just normal abc.

EDIT: And I notice somehow the font size's kinda bigger... (No it's not the settings problem, I checked)

This post has been edited by Eve2211: Dec 10 2008, 04:14 PM
Eve2211
post Dec 10 2008, 04:18 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 10 2008, 04:15 PM)
water stuff? or AP?
i heard Philippine telco give free N82 to it subscriber  wub.gif
AP. Or so the shop guy said.

I don't think it's water stuff, I checked all IMEI, and the condition of the phone, all matched.

Oh except that the IMEI of the box doesn't match with the phone, but since I got all the accessories that should be there, should be alright I guess?

Free N82? Must be a heavy contract xP

This post has been edited by Eve2211: Dec 10 2008, 04:20 PM
Eve2211
post Dec 10 2008, 04:25 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 10 2008, 04:24 PM)
dont worry my IMEI code also dont match with the box...
common for AP set

anyway u r luckly coz your still v20, got option to upgrade or stay with current version...
choose wisely what u need most tongue.gif
Um I'm sure V30 have its own advantages, but I can't help smiling when I saw V20 ;D

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:26 PM