havocx
post Jun 9 2009, 04:24 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jun 9 2009, 11:08 AM)
Good Day Guyz

I'm using 1000H /80GB HDD / 2GB RAM.

I have just installed Windows 7 and it works well but with some problem.

If I install the windows XP graphic  driver:
1. I'm able to switch to 1024 x 768 & 1024 x 768 (compressed)
2. But, video playing often lags, sometime its really slow when playing
3. WEI dropped to 1.0
4. Aero disabled.

If I install the latest Mobile Intel 945 EXPRESS Chipset Family (Microsoft Corperation- Prerelease WDDM 1.0)
1. Videos plays perfectly without any lagging.
2. Resolution 1024 x 768 and 1024 x 768 (compressed) is disabled.
3. WEI jumps to 2.2
4. Always reset SHE to High Performance.

My Question now is, I want to:-
1. Play videos in Windows 7 Without lagging.
2. WEI more than 2.0
3. SHE in Super Performance Mode whenever restarts unless changed.
4. Able to change to 1028 x 768 (compressed)

Hope someone is kind enough to explain this problem if it could be solved.

Regards
Syah
Syah = rahuldave ? thumbup.gif
Anyway could we know what software are you running your Videos on ? From my experience the default player lags and youd be better off with other software like Mplayer or VLC, could you give those a try and report back ?

havocx
post Jun 12 2009, 02:12 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jun 9 2009, 08:06 PM)
Rahuldave is my nick while syah is part of my real name.

I have tried VLC and MPC , and the result is still the same, it lags

I have seen the same lag in Dell Mini 12 and Dell Mini 9 running Win 7, ill do another run of Win 7 on my EEEPC and see if that happens. I dont recall it happening the last time and Ive since uninstalled 7 since some of my work specific programs runs optimized in XP but ill give it another pass on the weekend and update you.

QUOTE(YO® @ Jun 9 2009, 08:21 PM)

is the microsoft release the win7 already?
Heh..this is like the 7th time you asked and the answer's still the same. It is available already in Beta mode to be downloaded of the net. smile.gif

QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 9 2009, 08:41 PM)
in term of design i really prefer hp mini too..but in term of quality i still prefer 1000HE..but i personal think its time of asus to change its design for it...its come from his bro 1000h which look so bulky compare its thickness and size.. but 1002 is nicer and look classy..
Had a look at the 1008 yet, im guessing thats more your cup of tea eh ?

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 9 2009, 11:29 PM)
hi guys...i hv a eeePc utility in my system tray which i cant select the compressed resolution..issit bcoz i not yet configured sumthing?
Compressed resolution ? Care to elaborate ?

havocx
post Jun 15 2009, 08:35 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(hangy2k @ Jun 12 2009, 04:16 PM)
there is this eeepc util tools that can set the resolution higher than the native resolution(1024x600), but it is compressed
Thanks for the reply, hmm i cant say ive used the utility so I wont be able to help on the answer.

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 13 2009, 12:20 AM)
How much do you think the Asus 1008 would be sold in Msia. According to retailers, it would be priced at RM1999.

This would definitely be doomed for failure like the S101 and 1002HA. Sales were so bad.
If its priced at RM1999 itll be doomed for failure since itll have to fight against its own bestseller the 1000HE.
Personally though like the rest, i dont think the S101 and 1002HA was a failure. In fact, youd be hard pressed to find them being sold around anymore and its not just because the 1000HE is around.

I personally think it was because its harder to find them now, that people then turn to the 1000HE or other models which are available. The 1008 is the slimmest model at the moment but pricing it at RM1999 will not make people flock to it. Im thinking Asus Malaysia might wanna hold back a couple of months first till sales for the 1000HE tapers down, then they can lower the pricing for the 1000HE and release the 1008 at perhaps RM1799 or hopefully RM1699. Its hard to introduce a model which might not outsell the 9.5hours the 1000HE can produce, what more with the 1008 not being able to give the same amount of battery use and when the only thing it has running for it is just the slim design smile.gif

havocx
post Jun 15 2009, 10:00 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(alvinddm @ Jun 15 2009, 12:52 PM)
How much to buy 1000HE battery alone?
Current prices are at RM269 last i checked at Asus Royal Club.

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 15 2009, 01:47 PM)
anyone know wats the max size of hdd 1000HE can support? i was thinking to get higher capacity then the default 160GB
It supports ? The biggest available 2.5" Sata HDD in the market, that will be the 500GB Laptop Hdds.

QUOTE(emino @ Jun 15 2009, 07:30 PM)
My 901 can run DOTA on even high settings. But pretty smooth on medium. But its hard to play on 9 inch screen. sweat.gif
Heya Emino, is that a gal i see behind ya ? And yes nothing to do with eeepc's

havocx
post Jun 16 2009, 01:39 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(sandcool @ Jun 16 2009, 10:02 AM)
haha...okok....bcoz my bro will use my laptop...his concern is only whether can play game or not...haha
i can easily connect a cable to the lcd monitor and use it right?
i see the asus eee website, there are a lot of model.
what model is preferable?
tq
Check back on some my posts you'll find that there's many more things it can do, games just being one of them.
Desirable ? For the cheapest you could go for the Celeron series.
For more value for money you can go for the 1000HE which has a 10" screen and 9.5 hours battery life or the latest model 1008 which is pretty slim but being new pretty expensive too.

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 16 2009, 11:10 AM)
hahaha...will it slow down the performance if i juz get a 5400 rpm one? guess 500GB is the one im gonna upgrade then..
Naaah, the defaults already 5400rpm, change it to 7200rpm and you'll see a boost in speed smile.gif

havocx
post Jun 16 2009, 04:17 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 16 2009, 03:32 PM)
who is their right mind would pay RM2k for a netbook? Soon, it would end up like the 1002, From RM1999 to RM1400 in 6 months when nobody buys.
Heh one with lotsa cash who appreciates the weight. And toldya, itll not be so cheap when it comes out when Asus can still milk on the 1000HE smile.gif Maybe itll drop after a while when more contenders come into the market.

havocx
post Jun 17 2009, 08:10 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 16 2009, 11:05 PM)
guys..anyone can help me?
i format n loaded xp pro into 1000HE and now the web cam is not working even i use in msn..

i tried google ard but i dun seems to find its driver..

anyone can help me out??

much appreciate~~!
Here try this one out.
Note : I dont own a 1000HE but this might help you out. Its the ECAP Utility from the Asus Website, strange though that you dont have the Webcam drivers cuz its just supposed to be normal everyday USB drivers. Are you using any Nlited versions of XP which may have removed the drivers on purpose to save on space ?

havocx
post Jun 17 2009, 10:17 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 17 2009, 09:00 AM)
thx for the info bro..i will test it out... notworthy.gif

yaro..suppose to be detected and use as normal..but strangely this version did not have...i was wandering wat caused it for this too..
Hmm sure thing, usually if the driver is not there by default then its removed to save on space for WinXP, check if you have Printer drivers and or printer support there as well. Usually Light XP versions ( ie versions which are designed to make your HDD usage smaller ) would remove these support ( they would involve removing some default USB support as well ) and would sometime makes your Windows not as efficient as it should be.

Perhaps try another version of XP if that doesnt help ? smile.gif

havocx
post Jun 18 2009, 07:56 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 17 2009, 11:38 AM)
havocx, is the 1005HAB wifi driver worth putting into the 1000HE. What does it really do?

http://www.liliputing.com/page/3
Hmm ive not read about the wifi driver for the 1005HAB being any different than the Wifi Driver for the 1000HE. As far as I can see the 1005HAB is basically an evolution of the 1008HA series. While the 1008HA was released amid much expectation because of its slim seashell sizes, it lacked the power and strength the 1000HE had which was the battery life of 9.5 hours. The 1000HE was a behemoth compared to the slim 1008HA. The 1005HAB solves that problem simply by providing a 8.5hours battery smile.gif

Other than the Battery though I dont see anything else which might be different.

On the other hand the 1008HA is actually not really as slim as I thought it would be. Behold the comparison between HP mini 1000 ( on the left ) and the 1008HA ( on the right ). I was expecting the 1008HA to be much much slimmer not a little slimmer.

QUOTE(Rany @ Jun 17 2009, 12:34 PM)
Hello, I'm considerng to buy a small netbook with long battery life.
I'm thinking of putting a 1000HE in my carrying bag but I move alot and may bump into people or things here and there. So I am little worried about the harddisk. Any advice here.
I am also looking at S101 with 16GB SSD. Too bad the battery life is too short. Suggestions?
By long battery life you'll need to specify how long because as it most Netbooks right now will run about 5 hours easy and thats much longer than normal battery you'd have from Laptops, plus depending on how and where you plan to use it ( ie office \ college user with easy access to power ) you might not need longer than 5 hours battery too if youre going to connect it to a power socket. The clear winner currently among all the netbooks available here would certaintly be the Asus EEEPC 1000HE with a real life use of about 8 hours and 9.5 hours Optimum use claim.

You dont have to worry about putting any knocks on Netbooks, they are pretty hardy. The difference between SSD and HDD though is the fact that with my SSD machines I have the confidence to throw up and juggle the laptop ( which ive done a couple of time ) without fear of messing of up the storage. Other than that though both HDD and SSD are hardy enough to take bumps into people and little jolts of everyday use ( such as running through the streets from one building to another because youre late for a meeting ).

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 17 2009, 01:46 PM)
I heard the SSD is very slow as Windows XP is not optimised with SSD drives.

You'd be surprised that the HDD can tahan quite a lot. My netbook is inside my car 24 hours. Always go on hump fast and potholes and yet still working perfectly.
Ooh dangerous just leaving the Netbook in the car. That's a big no no.
On the other hand though I'd have to agree, the normal HDD is fine just as it is. On its own they are already hardy, in a shell ie outer shell of the netbook they work even better. Ive had a laptop ( not mine, and its a laptop ) fall from 2 1/2 story down straight to a concrete courtyard smashes to pieces with the DVD Rom bent but the HDD survived with only 7% bad sectors. A quick format and segragation of the HDD's bad sectors and the HDD could be used again with loss of the 7% space. Now thats saying a lot for HDD's. Try jumping down from 2/12 stories and see how badly shaken you'd be. smile.gif

Going back on the SSD though i have to correct ya a little on that. I've commented on the speed of SSD's and the difference between most primary SSD and secondary SSD's thats within a system. You can have a read here.

Understanding that, you'd have to find the comment that the SSD is slow for XP is a comment on how fast the SSD should be. On XP the SSD will boot up my laptop in 20seconds while another machine with HDD will boot it up within 25seconds. I would have expected the SSD to perform faster. On Vista however since the necessary drivers for SSD's are there, Vista boots up in also 20seconds while the other machine used for comparison boots up in 45seconds. With that comes the comment why SSD's are slow in XP, though in actual fact they are really fast and that's with default lower grade SSD's given by manufacters. Loading Linux on both machines got similar boot up speeds of about 25seconds.

If you had gotten a higher end replacement SSD, youd then be amazed with what it can do and how fast itll work smile.gif

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 17 2009, 03:17 PM)
ohh brother havocx

after try the ECAP... problem remain..the error msg prompt " sorry you hv no video capture hadware"

mean i dun hv da webcam installed in my 1000HE? omg..how is this happening!

Added on June 17, 2009, 3:21 pmi started to think of upgrade to win 7 n see how it goes...but then bluebooth might hav problem pulakkkkk
I think it has primarily to do with your XP installation disc which may have removed some important components from the machine. Maximp's advise was another good one which you should look into. You can try with Win 7 to confirm if its a driver issue. Otherwise if it still persists then you might actually have a hardware problem and not a XP specific problem.

havocx
post Jun 18 2009, 09:13 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jun 18 2009, 09:03 AM)
i will..why?netbook is for mobility not perfomance..i just need an office application, network port, wifi, at least 2 usb port and of coz OS (i choose windows). i have to carry the notebook every day...carrying a 1.2kg vs 2.x kg is a big different bro
I agree mate, actually even a difference between 1.2kg vs 1 kg netbook is already very big. Though its just 200grams, itll seem heavy after awhile, what more a 2kg laptop smile.gif But a netbook should not really cost so much because when it does though ( to me ) it stops becoming a netbook and becomes a mini notebook. Netbooks by my personal definition shouldnt exceed RM1600 unless its with super long life battery, comes with GPS, built in 3G and very very VERY light. Then I'd gladly pay more than RM 1.6k for it but ill stop at RM2300max. With that in view and my personal preference, even though nice, i still feel the Vaio P though nice and small, is way way WAY too overpriced, nice to have though biggrin.gif

havocx
post Jun 18 2009, 12:27 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 18 2009, 10:18 AM)

Added on June 18, 2009, 10:44 am
sorry bro i check through my disc, the webcam i got is not a driver, more like a add on, for design and making those funny images to our webcam

if search around the internet, i found that some forumers said
Its part of xp...you should already have it. Check two things- first, are you using at least SP2? Second, have you set the O/S install to "finished"?
i wonder if i directly zip every driver files needed for the webcam and send to you, will it works for your model
Here's a quote that i got from someone who had the very same USB Webcam driver software problem. Im pretty sure the problem is because the USB drivers for the webcam are not on your XP install in the first place. You probably have a very very old XP install since you mentioned its only SP1.

If, like me, you stripped your WinXP install to the bones using nLite, then sometimes you remove the Camera driver software (even though I told nLite to leave it in there).

All the files are on your WinXP SP2 CD and are easily extracted. Using somethings that opens CAB files (I use 7zip), find your \I386 directory on your CD.

Open SP2.CAB and extract these files:-
iyuv_32.dll
ks.sys
ksproxy.ax
kstvtune.ax
ksuser.dll
kswdmcap.ax
ksxbar.ax
msh263.drv
msyuv.dll
usbvideo.sys
vfwwdm32.dll
vidcap.ax

Open DRIVERS.CAB and extract this file:-
tsbyuv.dll

There is one file I could not find on CD but instead I grabbed it from the \WINDOWS\INF directory on another XP SP2 laptop I owned:-
usbvideo.inf

Go to your device manager and install the driver. Navigate to where you have these files stored and you shold be good to go

havocx
post Jun 18 2009, 02:37 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 18 2009, 01:02 PM)
no worry now dude...using win7 mah..hahaha...lets juz say im currently satifsy wif win7 beside abit laggy when open folders... thumbup.gif

lets juz hope tat i won hand itchy enuf to downgrade it back to xp again ...

Added on June 18, 2009, 1:04 pm
thx for the tip, i already copy n paste in to a text file for future reference...btw altho the xp disk i install is for sp1..but after that i upgraded myself to sp3 too..but the webcam function still seems not working...then only i jump to win7...and guess wat...it work ~ doh.gif
Haha senang jer the reason for that bro,
You see in the first hand your XP SP1 didnt include the USB Driver at the start for the webcam.
When you upgrade to SP3, youre only upgrading Windows Base and Operating System files. SP3 doesnt give you new drivers and does not upgrade what you dont have you see smile.gif

Example.
You installed Office 2003, then you upgraded to Office 2007. All Office components get updated.
Your Photoshop that you have on the other hand does not automatically get upgraded to Photoshop CS4.
Also when updating to SP3, if you have Antivirus definitions, those dont get upgraded too. Reason : Cuz you dont have them in the first place, ie the USB drivers biggrin.gif

Added on June 18, 2009, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(emino @ Jun 18 2009, 12:58 PM)
I've read on an old The Star that reviews 1000HE that says it's 9 hour battery can fit in 901. Is that true?Because if it is, I'm tempted to buy it. My 901 battery had decreased in performance and now can only go maximum 3 hours. But to be fair, I always have my bluetooth and wifi on all the time. Sometimes I also use the laptop to maintain my phone power if i use it to surf the net.
Do you also always use it while connected to power ? That could lower the battery life too! The report you meant is this one yes ? Since they published it in mainstream newspaper it must be right, although ive read that in some countries where the same tests were done, they needed to fit something in between the battery to snugly fit. Shouldnt be too hard to test, since you bring your netbook around anyway, just drop by a comp shop with the 1000HE and fit the battery into yours to confirm smile.gif

I do know for a fact the 1000HA battery does fit snugly to the 901 though since I have them both biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by havocx: Jun 18 2009, 02:42 PM
havocx
post Jun 18 2009, 04:11 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 18 2009, 03:12 PM)
huh the 1000he is 1.45kg? so heavy meh, that means that 1008 and s101 model is the lightest among 10incher

Yep, thats right sadly for all the good things about the EEEPC its also not well known for being more of the Fat Kid round the netbook block, not much we can do there. They've redeemed themselves with the models you mentioned.

The correction however would be the 1008 and the 1005HAB ( these two are of the same mould ) and the
S101, S101H, 1002H ( these 3 are of the same mould ) would be the lightest among all the EEEPCs.

Heh and actually im not really allowed to help with NLite on this forum wink.gif

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jun 18 2009, 03:17 PM)
Hi Guyz

Anyone has tried 100HE battery with 1000H? Does it fits well?

How much? Any online shop recommendation?

The 1000HE battery will fit the 1000H if you follow from the information received earlier.
Ie I have both the 901GO and the 1000H and the batteries fit each other.
Reports from The Star reports the 901 can fit the battery of 1000HE.
Kebarangkalian would be 901 fits the 901GO which fits the 1000H which would seem to fit the 1000HE and vice versa, betul aar ? wink.gif

QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 18 2009, 03:26 PM)
win 7 is easy to install, juz dl the RC version ard n run it from ur current window oso can ...

but strangely my xp oso cannot upgrade directly, hv to load a new set..mayb only apply to vista i guess
Confirmed d something wrong with your XP. Proper full Install of XP will allow you to properly upgrade though the caveat here is that Win 7 Beta by default does not allow you to upgrade from XP. Even from Win 7 Beta to Full Win 7 you cant upgrade, its in Microsofts Documentation smile.gif

havocx
post Jun 20 2009, 12:00 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Rany @ Jun 19 2009, 11:30 AM)
I may go to places one whole day where charging is inconvenient.
Hey, ok, think I'll go for standard HDD. By the way is it possible to change it into SSD? At what cost?
Yes its quite possible as long as you have the convertor to connect SSD's.
At what cost ? Runcore 32GB SSD works superb but its about RM700 or more. That said though, its blazing fast.

QUOTE(linkokkeen @ Jun 19 2009, 04:59 PM)
MAY I ASK ANY USER HERE USING 1008ha MODEL AH? THANKS
May I ask that you not use CAPS all the way when typing ah ? Thanks.

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Jun 19 2009, 11:28 PM)
Bro, if that price with 2GB RAM, it's good enough.
RM 2099 = RM 2100 .. + 2GB RAM ( RM 100 ) = RM 2200.
Now you can't even buy S101 SSD adi. No more in Malaysia  blush.gif
Wah bro, last month ?  blink.gif
Sure bo ?
Coz S101 SSD sold out in the market long time ago.
Perhaps that price is for S101 HDD.  smile.gif

The thing is, although distributor might not bring in too many stocks for those particular models,
but they are still able to sell them off in a short period of time, isn't it ?
This shows that the sales for those models are quite good i would say   wub.gif
I'd have to agree S101 with SSD sold out very very quickly. In fact all SSD models sold out very very quickly.
Bringing only 5 units and selling them within an hour versus bringing 100 units selling them within a month still says that its a best seller.
It shows how limited stocks are, how hard to get them and when available how fast its snapped up.
If you had only 5 units which sold within one month vs 100 units being sold in 1 hour, then yes the 100 units model is a best seller.

In the case of the S101 SSD, yes there were limited units, and yes they sold quickly and yes it was then very very hard to find in Malaysia.
To me that screams sales are very good.

Here's another way to look at it. Proton now has hundreds of thousand cars on the road of all makes and models since the first SAGA. Means they have sold a LOT.
Perodua Kelisa came along very much later to the picture and got rave reviews. Kelisa numbers still pales in comparison to all Proton Models out there.
Yet despite all this, ask any car salesman on a general picture and you'll find almost immediately the common response would be that the Kelisa is still a much better seller and sales are very much amazing for Kelisa as opposed to all the Protons in Malaysia. Yet they are sold less than all the Protons so less doesnt always mean bad sales smile.gif

My view though wink.gif

This post has been edited by havocx: Jun 20 2009, 12:02 AM
havocx
post Jun 21 2009, 10:30 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 20 2009, 02:27 AM)
@havocx
the 32gb ssd = 50% of a new eeepc netbook price, expensive giler

yup agree with you , when i wanted to buy a s101 for myself the dealer said ssd version is very limited in Malaysia market, during that time not much ppl want to buy a small capacity storage, and ssd not yet popular.
Yep SSD is very expensive, they've got good work times but where they REALLY shine is in their seek times. They'll enable your search in Windows for instance to work almost Instantenously. They will be able to run programs faster when launching, they have similar write times ( although just a tad faster ) to that of very very fast HDD's already in the market.

I may be wrong in the SSD prices though, the latest update I got was that you can get the Intel SSD 80gb ( one the biggest and fastest in the planet ) for about RM1300 i think. But yes, they are expensive. Just like Thumbdrives when it first came out, just need to wait till more folks adopt its use to bring prices down, just like how cheap 1TB HDD's are nowadays. biggrin.gif

havocx
post Jun 21 2009, 05:15 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Jun 21 2009, 04:09 PM)
im looking for netbook with long battery life.. i read some review stated that asus eee has the longest battery life.. is it true? how long does the battery last for normal usage eg surf net and listen song only.. can it play majority of the video file without any lagging?
Ala..my friend dont like this la...in the thread there is a specific search function for within the thread itself, the questions you ask have been discussed multiple times already in fact if you would have clicked just 2 pages back you would have found some discussion already. Just look at the bottom left and type..ie Battery or Video or Game. Here's a sample of the result, yours would be the highest. But to help you out heres some really short answers.
Question 1 : Yes its true. In short. For details click a few pages back. Its very detailed.
Question 2 : Yes it will. Actually all except for .mkv. For details again perhaps you may want to help yourself out just by clicking a few pages back. Very detailed.
Not that we're not helpful in this portion of the thread but when same questions are asked again and again, typing just gets harder ( not your fault but you could help to contribute by making a search first )

This post has been edited by havocx: Jun 21 2009, 05:16 PM
havocx
post Jun 22 2009, 08:43 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 22 2009, 11:24 AM)
expensive ~ i think 2gb or 4gb wont be enough for me anyway, my basic application and things took about 6gb in total, not yet including my pictures and games
Actually it just might. I use HDD space quite a bit.
At home personally I have currently about 9TB worth of files. That also says a whole lot of what I'd have installed on my machines.
ie if personal files can grow to be about that much at least 15% of that should be program files and divided between the machines I have and the various installations flavors they come in you'd find that it would have been very hard for me to run my machines just on 4gb. But run I did and still am. The speediest of the lot that i have with me is still my trusty 701 Celeron EEEPC with 4gb SSD. XP installation on it ? Just 898 Mb. The rest of my installation files goes to my always slotted in 16GB SDHC. In short for the 701 i would then have about 20GB worth of space and flash memory. smile.gif

havocx
post Jun 26 2009, 07:29 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2009, 12:49 AM)
havocz, my friend coming down from US. Want to ask her to buy me a 1008. Total would be RM1400. But in Msia, its RM1999.

Is it worth the RM600 savings to buy from US? What are the risks involved besides warranty? Do Asus netbooks ever get spoilt?
Yes it is, in fact any savings you can make even if its RM200 makes it worth it. And right you are only Warranty would be a problem as Asus's Netbooks comes with a caveat on its International Warranty as discussed earlier. You'd perhaps be able to get a warranty on the machine the first 3 months while its in Malaysia ie accepted by the Local Asus Royal Club, after which perhaps a service charge will apply when its sent in even if its less than one year.

Risks ? NONE. Laptops will not be taxed by our local customs, since its gonna be hand carried back by your friend theft is not an issue. As usual do not put the laptop in the check in luggage since then that's about the only risk you'll have. Power supply is covered since the built in adapter will do the job. You might wanna get an adapter for the US head or just buy a new charger ( its only RM60 - RM 80 from Asus Royal Club ) if you find its hard to carry an extra head adapter smile.gif

Do Asus netbooks ever get spoilt ? Oooh too general a question, of course they will. Have i seen one that's spoilt ? Nope. Have I ever owned one that spoilt ? Nope. And i was one of the very first buyers of the 701 model which by now would have been about nearly 1 year and 8 months already and guess what ? Its still going on strong! And im rough!

But of course, folks like Hangy2k have had HDD problems and SSD problems before but in general, ive not heard of the Netbooks breaking down unless you actually mean to break them ie like sitting on them biggrin.gif

havocx
post Jun 27 2009, 07:57 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2009, 09:38 PM)
thanks havocx, that is brilliant advice. But isn't the US adaptor 110volts? How can we use it here even with a plug adaptor? Our 240v would fry the machine?

I think we must get a step down transformer.
That holds true for most Electronics you buy from the US except for Laptops. The Laptop adapter on its own is already a step down transformer. Even on the current laptops you'll have you will find that the Power Suppy being fed into the laptop will show 110V - 240V. That holds true for the one in the US too. Thats the reason why a lot of us and a lot of foreigners can travel between high voltage countries ( ie Malaysia, Singapore..etc ) to lower powered countries ( ie Japan, US, New Zealand, Italy..etc ) without having to bring along a Transformer or a Step Down Transformer. Besides, a Step Down Transformer, the cheapest is RM159 and it weighs a bomb, plus you'll never get through Customs carrying that in your luggage, not only is it heavy, being fully Metal would bring you very high up there as a terror suspect biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 26 2009, 09:49 PM)
havocx, can you tell me where is the asus royal club? i kinda wanted to buy an extra charger for my 1002ha...really rm50-rm60 so cheap?
Yes sir! The Asus Royal Club in KL is at Imbi Plaza on the side that faces Berjaya Times Square. You would i think know of the KTV Lounge thats at the corner of Imbi Plaza ? ie the one that faces the main road ? Well for the Royal Club, walk past that, you'll also be walking past a Dell Retail shop and at the opposite end is the Asus Royal Club smile.gif I wouldnt know about the 1002ha, but ive had experiences buying 701,900 adapter ( they're the same ) as well as 901 and 1001 adapters ( those are the same too ) and the prices range from RM 60 to RM80. Heh i never said it was RM50 - RM60. And yes that's the price i got for them there. Bear in mind though the last I bought a spare adapter was 6 months ago and I agree, the ones selling out sells them for much higher.

A tip though, instead of getting a dedicated Adapter just for one single model, you might also wanna consider getting those adapters that has multiple heads by AVF. It looks cheap but it does the work. Personally though Im not too keen on getting those types in case they dont charge the batteries proper, but since I got myself Extra Capacity third party batteries, those seemed like a good idea too. smile.gif

havocx
post Jun 27 2009, 08:05 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2009, 11:43 PM)
how do i buy from this Asus Royal Club?
Heh, walk to it, step in and say i wanna buy wink.gif

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 27 2009, 12:35 AM)
d8kd, you sure it is a universal adaptor? Meaning I can use it at 110V or 240V and it automatically detects?
NO it does not. All laptops will convert any amount of Voltage given to it ranging from 110V - 240V down to the 12V thats needed to run the laptop. Unlike our TV's, Fridges and Airconds, Laptops needs only Voltage ranging from 12V-16V to run and that depends on models. The more efficient ones just use 12V. The super high end ones uses 16V. No step down transformer needed.

QUOTE(mych @ Jun 27 2009, 05:27 AM)
Asustek comments on cracking panel issue in Eee PC 1008HA, reports paper
Printer friendly

Commercial Times, June 26; Joseph Tsai, DIGITIMES [Friday 26 June 2009]
Asustek Computer has commented on a recent defect affecting its Eee PC 1008HA netbook relating to cracked screens, saying that the defect was identified before the netbooks reached the hands of consumers. The company added that the problem has already been worked on and will not affect shipments in the third quarter of 2009, according to a Chinese-language Commercial Times report.

Asustek noted that the cracking was not due to faulty design or manufacturing, but because it has been using panel components from a secondary supplier due to the ongoing panel shortages, added the paper.

http://www.digitimes.com/NewsShow/MailHome...ages=PB&seq=205

Anyone claimed warranty here?
I dont think they could or would since though officially launched here, it was only a soft launch and its not officially sold yet here last i checked wink.gif

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0400sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:10 AM