79 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Asus Eee PC Thread V3

Hico
post Jun 26 2009, 09:56 PM

4,709 posts

tats really cheap..normally the adaptor will be sold at around 100-140+ in the shop...
mikelanding
post Jun 26 2009, 11:01 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 26 2009, 09:49 PM)
havocx, can you tell me where is the asus royal club? i kinda wanted to buy an extra charger for my 1002ha...really rm50-rm60 so cheap?
I just register all my Asus stuffs biggrin.gif
http://member.asus.com/login.aspx
michaeltan1943
post Jun 26 2009, 11:43 PM

1,024 posts

how do i buy from this Asus Royal Club?
d8kd
post Jun 27 2009, 12:11 AM

I'm watching over you
879 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2009, 09:38 PM)
thanks havocx, that is brilliant advice. But isn't the US adaptor 110volts? How can we use it here even with a plug adaptor? Our 240v would fry the machine?

I think we must get a step down transformer.
it's a universal adapter.

havocx, can you tell me where is the asus royal club? i kinda wanted to buy an extra charger for my 1002ha...really rm50-rm60 so cheap?
imbi plaza
michaeltan1943
post Jun 27 2009, 12:35 AM

1,024 posts

d8kd, you sure it is a universal adaptor? Meaning I can use it at 110V or 240V and it automatically detects?
mych
post Jun 27 2009, 05:27 AM

2,068 posts

Asustek comments on cracking panel issue in Eee PC 1008HA, reports paper
Printer friendly

Commercial Times, June 26; Joseph Tsai, DIGITIMES [Friday 26 June 2009]

Asustek Computer has commented on a recent defect affecting its Eee PC 1008HA netbook relating to cracked screens, saying that the defect was identified before the netbooks reached the hands of consumers. The company added that the problem has already been worked on and will not affect shipments in the third quarter of 2009, according to a Chinese-language Commercial Times report.

Asustek noted that the cracking was not due to faulty design or manufacturing, but because it has been using panel components from a secondary supplier due to the ongoing panel shortages, added the paper.

http://www.digitimes.com/NewsShow/MailHome...ages=PB&seq=205

Anyone claimed warranty here?

This post has been edited by mych: Jun 27 2009, 05:27 AM
havocx
post Jun 27 2009, 07:57 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2009, 09:38 PM)
thanks havocx, that is brilliant advice. But isn't the US adaptor 110volts? How can we use it here even with a plug adaptor? Our 240v would fry the machine?

I think we must get a step down transformer.
That holds true for most Electronics you buy from the US except for Laptops. The Laptop adapter on its own is already a step down transformer. Even on the current laptops you'll have you will find that the Power Suppy being fed into the laptop will show 110V - 240V. That holds true for the one in the US too. Thats the reason why a lot of us and a lot of foreigners can travel between high voltage countries ( ie Malaysia, Singapore..etc ) to lower powered countries ( ie Japan, US, New Zealand, Italy..etc ) without having to bring along a Transformer or a Step Down Transformer. Besides, a Step Down Transformer, the cheapest is RM159 and it weighs a bomb, plus you'll never get through Customs carrying that in your luggage, not only is it heavy, being fully Metal would bring you very high up there as a terror suspect biggrin.gif

Yes sir! The Asus Royal Club in KL is at Imbi Plaza on the side that faces Berjaya Times Square. You would i think know of the KTV Lounge thats at the corner of Imbi Plaza ? ie the one that faces the main road ? Well for the Royal Club, walk past that, you'll also be walking past a Dell Retail shop and at the opposite end is the Asus Royal Club smile.gif I wouldnt know about the 1002ha, but ive had experiences buying 701,900 adapter ( they're the same ) as well as 901 and 1001 adapters ( those are the same too ) and the prices range from RM 60 to RM80. Heh i never said it was RM50 - RM60. And yes that's the price i got for them there. Bear in mind though the last I bought a spare adapter was 6 months ago and I agree, the ones selling out sells them for much higher.

A tip though, instead of getting a dedicated Adapter just for one single model, you might also wanna consider getting those adapters that has multiple heads by AVF. It looks cheap but it does the work. Personally though Im not too keen on getting those types in case they dont charge the batteries proper, but since I got myself Extra Capacity third party batteries, those seemed like a good idea too. smile.gif

havocx
post Jun 27 2009, 08:05 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2009, 11:43 PM)
how do i buy from this Asus Royal Club?
Heh, walk to it, step in and say i wanna buy wink.gif

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 27 2009, 12:35 AM)
d8kd, you sure it is a universal adaptor? Meaning I can use it at 110V or 240V and it automatically detects?
NO it does not. All laptops will convert any amount of Voltage given to it ranging from 110V - 240V down to the 12V thats needed to run the laptop. Unlike our TV's, Fridges and Airconds, Laptops needs only Voltage ranging from 12V-16V to run and that depends on models. The more efficient ones just use 12V. The super high end ones uses 16V. No step down transformer needed.

QUOTE(mych @ Jun 27 2009, 05:27 AM)
Asustek comments on cracking panel issue in Eee PC 1008HA, reports paper
Printer friendly

Commercial Times, June 26; Joseph Tsai, DIGITIMES [Friday 26 June 2009]
Asustek Computer has commented on a recent defect affecting its Eee PC 1008HA netbook relating to cracked screens, saying that the defect was identified before the netbooks reached the hands of consumers. The company added that the problem has already been worked on and will not affect shipments in the third quarter of 2009, according to a Chinese-language Commercial Times report.

Asustek noted that the cracking was not due to faulty design or manufacturing, but because it has been using panel components from a secondary supplier due to the ongoing panel shortages, added the paper.

http://www.digitimes.com/NewsShow/MailHome...ages=PB&seq=205

Anyone claimed warranty here?
I dont think they could or would since though officially launched here, it was only a soft launch and its not officially sold yet here last i checked wink.gif

michaeltan1943
post Jun 27 2009, 08:23 AM

1,024 posts

[quote=havocx,Jun 27 2009, 07:57 AM]
[size=1]

That holds true for most Electronics you buy from the US except for Laptops. The Laptop adapter on its own is already a step down transformer. Even on the current laptops you'll have you will find that the Power Suppy being fed into the laptop will show 110V - 240V. That holds true for the one in the US too. Thats the reason why a lot of us and a lot of foreigners can travel between high voltage countries ( ie Malaysia, Singapore..etc ) to lower powered countries ( ie Japan, US, New Zealand, Italy..etc ) without having to bring along a Transformer or a Step Down Transformer. Besides, a Step Down Transformer, the cheapest is RM159 and it weighs a bomb, plus you'll never get through Customs carrying that in your luggage, not only is it heavy, being fully Metal would bring you very high up there as a terror suspect biggrin.gif

Havocx, thanks for teaching me something new. Now I understand why also so many people buy notebooks from overseas as their adaptors can handle all regions.

Yeal lah, the step down transformer weighs like a huge batu man! Crazy to carry it and it is also ugly. Deters people from buying anything in the US.

Anyway, thanks again. I think I would go ahead and buy the 1008 then from the US.
Maximp
post Jun 27 2009, 11:00 AM

656 posts

@havocx

i guess i go there for a trip~ to get an adapter for myself
i dont want buy those 3rd party adapater which is big in size..heavier than my netbook haha
TSemino
post Jun 27 2009, 11:06 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

If I'm not mistaken, the Asus Royal Club only opens at office hours. So they are closed on Saturday or Sunday.
michaeltan1943
post Jun 27 2009, 11:47 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 27 2009, 11:00 AM)
@havocx

i guess i go there for a trip~ to get an adapter for myself
i dont want buy those 3rd party adapater which is big in size..heavier than my netbook haha
true, better to buy original products. Got so many adaptors, some even only RM50, but, do you really trust them? If anything goes wrong, your notebook gets fried like KFC.

3rd party China adaptors are not worth it.

Added on June 27, 2009, 11:49 am[quote=havocx,Jun 27 2009, 07:57 AM]

A tip though, instead of getting a dedicated Adapter just for one single model, you might also wanna consider getting those adapters that has multiple heads by AVF. It looks cheap but it does the work. Personally though Im not too keen on getting those types in case they dont charge the batteries proper, but since I got myself Extra Capacity third party batteries, those seemed like a good idea too. smile.gif

Not worth the risk. Like handphone batteries better buy the original. As for adaptors, the wrong adaptor can make your notebook and battery like TNT. It can blow all your fingers and face up. Same like main mercun ie fireworks.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 27 2009, 11:49 AM
SonnyCooL
post Jun 27 2009, 02:41 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

where can find 1002ha in car charger ???
sorry lazy to look around smile.gif

Added on June 27, 2009, 3:14 pmhey guy want to ask something.
i just get my 1002ha yesterday but i find the screen abit dark compare with normal laptop, issit normal ??? (i try full brightness but still find it dark) ...

Sorry this my first netbook after my small laptop died smile.gif

This post has been edited by SonnyCooL: Jun 27 2009, 03:14 PM
Maximp
post Jun 27 2009, 03:42 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 27 2009, 11:47 AM)
true, better to buy original products. Got so many adaptors, some even only RM50, but, do you really trust them? If anything goes wrong, your notebook gets fried like KFC.

3rd party China adaptors are not worth it.
yeah thing that related to power better dont mess with it

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jun 27 2009, 02:41 PM)
where can find 1002ha in car charger ???
sorry lazy to look around smile.gif

Added on June 27, 2009, 3:14 pmhey guy want to ask something.
i just get my 1002ha yesterday but i find the screen abit dark compare with normal laptop, issit normal ??? (i try full brightness but still find it dark) ...

Sorry this my first netbook after my small laptop died smile.gif
1002ha user here, i put medium brightness already very bright, but if you comparing the screen, our lcd a bit different the screen is not glossy but matted maybe thats why you cant get used to it

mikelanding
post Jun 27 2009, 04:03 PM

2,865 posts

any 1000HE user installed apple OSX already?
I googled there is too many guides and methods online...pening rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
LIke too many cooks spoil the soup..><

Need some input or pointer from experienced user that had done it. Online guide like that U guys follow or such. PM me if this is a sensitive things..tongue.gif
I know that the default orignal pic-e wifi card still no driver yet thus not working. If it worth the effort, i will brought a OSX compatible wifi card.

san88
post Jun 27 2009, 04:15 PM

284 posts

where can get the asus eeepc 1000he in silver color?

mikelanding
post Jun 27 2009, 04:19 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(san88 @ Jun 27 2009, 04:15 PM)
where can get the asus eeepc 1000he in silver color?
I thought only got white, black (old color) and now pink and gold (new color). Didnt know got silver color. hmm.gif
san88
post Jun 27 2009, 04:25 PM

284 posts

i saw at the asus website.
it state with 6 colors.
i love silver so much.

This post has been edited by san88: Jun 27 2009, 04:26 PM
havocx
post Jun 27 2009, 08:11 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(san88 @ Jun 27 2009, 04:25 PM)
i saw at the asus website.
it state with 6 colors.
i love silver so much.
I dont think the Silver's available in Malaysia. Even if it is, it might take some convincing from the retailers to bring them in, more so the pink and gold colours. Its best you contact Achieva Technology inquiring about the availability of the models and colours. Being on the Asus official website doesnt mean itll make its way here.

lajukipas
post Jun 28 2009, 09:11 PM

387 posts

can i install mic office into my eee pc???

79 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:58 PM