PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V4, where great sound comes to LIFE!

negisf
post Apr 19 2010, 10:23 AM

1,878 posts

I'm new in the speakers world..

And after listening to several sound quality from different brand like Altec, Creative, Sonic.. I've decided that the sound characteristic from Edifier is what i'm looking for,.

Cause i felt that edifier's vocal is warm, smooth & crisp clear. And as for the bass it's a nice bass, not those too overloud...

The problem is choosing the correct edifier speakers now..
I miss the pc fair, so no point talking about that now.. So i wish to ask, where is a good place to buy edifier's speaker in Klang Valley..

As for my budget, ultimately i hope to get something below rm300, but if paying alittle more for a more value for buy speakers set, i can consider that.
The edifier set that has caught my attention is M3500 5.1. Is this good enough?

So seniors & pro here, pls advice..

This post has been edited by negisf: Apr 19 2010, 10:53 AM
negisf
post Apr 19 2010, 02:09 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(lowhenghao @ Apr 19 2010, 11:50 AM)
Depends on what type of speakers are you looking for.. 2.1? 5.1? or the basic 2.0? Also if you're looking for 5.1, does your system support 5.1? if not there's no point in getting a 5.1 unless u intend to get a soundcard later on.
Oh, is it? Need to check with system compatibility?
Sorry didn't know about that as i'm noob in computer speakers..
I'm not sure is my notebook can support 5.1, how can i check?

I'm actually want to get a decent speakers sets to connect to my notebook, the the mini speakers from my notebook sounds too soft / no shock.

This post has been edited by negisf: Apr 19 2010, 02:11 PM
negisf
post Apr 19 2010, 02:49 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 19 2010, 02:40 PM)
if there is three jacks(headphone/line in/microphone) then you are ready for 5.1 surround sound
if your notebook got optical output that will be better

but if it only have a headphone jack then you'll have to consider common 2.0 stereo speakers or 2.1 stereo+subwoofer speaker

You can also try out usb speakers like Logitech Z-Cinema or Bose C5
1) I don't want USB speakers, cause the sound quality is quite basic n poor.
Although i'm noob in sound & speakers, but just hope to get more SQ from the speakers.

Another speaker that caught my attention is the C3

This post has been edited by negisf: Apr 19 2010, 03:17 PM
negisf
post Apr 20 2010, 10:35 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Apr 19 2010, 04:20 PM)
if you're running vista / 7, go to control panel and then sound options. left bottom click configure on your current sound device and if it supports 5.1 the 5.1 option will be displayed there.

USB speakers aren't that bad. Z Cinema and Companion 5 are not those ordinary USB speakers.

for RM400, do consider the Edifier R501 as well.
Thanks for the advice...
Is it USB speakers is good? Maybe cause previously i bought the 1 rm19, that's y it sucks..

Anyway i alrd went n bought a C3 yesterday...
Very satisfied with the sound..
negisf
post Apr 20 2010, 04:03 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 20 2010, 02:39 PM)
RM19 speakers will sound like RM19 speakers

those usb speakers we mentioned are top notch quality usb speakers

anyway tell us more about the C3 biggrin.gif
Oh, i didn't come across those good quality top notch usb speakers..
Those that i usually seen in ALL IT / computer stores ar those basic rm19~30 type
So didn't know that there is expensive USB speakers..

As for my C3, i just bought it and finish install it and play some songs from it.
and the sound quality is like.. wow... impressive..
It's totally different from HSC2330..
Initially i went with the intention to buy the 2330, but there listen to C3,
kena poison n bring back the C3 instead.

Added on April 20, 2010, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Apr 20 2010, 03:31 PM)
anyone know the exact price of s330, and who owns it pls share more about s330 to me, i wan to get it soon! wooho ~ But will use it on my dell studio 1555..
Yup.. i did tested on the S330 yesterday too.. I felt the sound is not as good as C3.
It's like from the C3 u get a better clarity, better solid bass.

This post has been edited by negisf: Apr 20 2010, 04:04 PM
negisf
post Apr 21 2010, 09:13 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 20 2010, 06:07 PM)
that's not the best smile.gif
try playing it longer for a few weeks(aka burning in)
sooner or later you will feel that it sounded much better than now

give it a try on burning in
speaker burn in tool
it should let your speakers exercise faster and better
it's good for your brand new speakers
Okie.. will visit the site at home and see what it can do for me
negisf
post Apr 21 2010, 03:33 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 21 2010, 02:31 PM)
you can always download the speaker burn in tool application in that site
Burninwave Generator 0.9
it's very easy to do so
just leave your speakers making that annoying sound
it's good for your speakers health

you need to leave your speakers to play the sound for 3 or more hours per day,let it rest for 10 minutes each round and repeat it for a month or two for it's best performance

the reason for burning in is to allow your speakers to exercise well

speakers lifeline should look like this
okay > progressing > -----------------------best performance------------------------------ > starting to get old > time for a new set of speakers icon_idea.gif

so all speakers won't perform well at first but then it will perform very good for a long period and finally starts to die of age
Must i use the software to run it? Can i just play mp3 songs everyday for 2~3 hours to run it?
Will have the same function ?
negisf
post Apr 22 2010, 09:18 AM

1,878 posts

I'm quite unlucky..

The C3 i bought is problematic..
It only work for the 1st time when i set it up, after that, when i turn it on,
the indicator on the amp is lit on, can see the volume, but no sounds coming from the speakers..

Tried for 2 days,, same thing happen also...
Aargh,, any1 experience same problem b4? Mind sharing
negisf
post Apr 23 2010, 09:53 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 22 2010, 09:27 AM)
Did you connect the cables properly? shocking.gif
QUOTE(Edifier @ Apr 22 2010, 09:51 AM)
Please make sure u select the collect input - pres the input button to change the input option
I did connect the cables correctly...

Went back to the ALL IT and ask for an exchange,
they tested and verified that the ampllfier got problem..
SO they exchange a new 1 for me.

Have yet to went home n fixed it again, hope this time everything is alright..

0.0498sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:29 AM