Best 3G service

TSsamlee860407
post Oct 29 2008, 04:24 PM, updated 18y ago

4,631 posts

As i can see, a few of us had subscribe to our telco 3G unlimited plan after we get on hand on our iphone smile.gif
me is 1 of them too...

so just want to create a poll see which 3G service you guys are using, and are u satisfy with it anot, and which you find that is the best?

For me i am using Maxis 3g unlimited plan, this few weeks i am extremely unhappy with it, as it always drop back to GPRS, and the speed is extremely slow

how about u guys?
butthead012
post Oct 29 2008, 04:28 PM

1,040 posts

I'm with Maxis but i never try others telco, so maybe some other forumers here will comment on their 3G services... will be appreciated...

Mine always change to Edge... lol
eye
post Oct 29 2008, 04:35 PM

1,166 posts

im on maxis 3g too ... no experience with the other telcos. all i can say that it is way way over-rated. the service sucks ...
saf
post Oct 29 2008, 04:37 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 29 2008, 04:24 PM)
As i can see, a few of us had subscribe to our telco 3G unlimited plan after we get on hand on our iphone smile.gif
me is 1 of them too...

so just want to create a poll see which 3G service you guys are using, and are u satisfy with it anot, and which you find that is the best?

For me i am using Maxis 3g unlimited plan, this few weeks i am extremely unhappy with it, as it always drop back to GPRS, and the speed is extremely slow

how about u guys?
well...heard that maxis 3G service sucks big time always drops to GPRS..got review from some frends celcom's 3G is much more better and winder coverage.

This post has been edited by saf: Oct 31 2008, 12:32 PM
TSsamlee860407
post Oct 29 2008, 05:12 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Oct 29 2008, 04:28 PM)
I'm with Maxis but i never try others telco, so maybe some other forumers here will comment on their 3G services... will be appreciated...

Mine always change to Edge... lol
me too...thats the reason why i open this thread lo

seems many people recommend celcom

PS: mine rarely change to EDGE,always become GPRS....sienz

nokia2003
post Oct 29 2008, 05:41 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 29 2008, 05:12 PM)
me too...thats the reason why i open this thread lo

seems many people recommend celcom

PS: mine rarely change to EDGE,always become GPRS....sienz
where on earth are you at?

because i'm perpetually around the klang valley area and it stays at 3G.
TeK_KeN
post Oct 29 2008, 06:03 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

mine is 2G only but since I'm a maxis user so.. hahahahaha
potion
post Oct 29 2008, 06:05 PM

319 posts

im currently on Digi unlimited data plan which is good and the speed was awesome. but it is an Edge connectivity though. not a 3G. so far never drop to gprs unless im in a jungle somewhere near my kampung. streaming youtube without even pause for it to complete.

if for 3G wireless broadband, im more toward to celcom while maxis on the other side give me a bad service since the line likely to drop of to gprs not even Edge as Saf said.

ksc_3688
post Oct 29 2008, 06:25 PM

1,138 posts

i used celcom 3g before, all i can say is it is quite good when used outside klang valley. used in johor, melaka, negri sembilan, was quite happy with it.
then my fren, who bought maxis 3g, changed to celcom within 2 days. so i guess it says it all
stanley_85
post Oct 29 2008, 07:11 PM

Testing
1,050 posts

my hometown is very kampung place also got 3G line.. but is celcom not maxis..
llmcso
post Oct 29 2008, 07:20 PM

877 posts

im currently on DiGi EDGE, no complain at all, the speed is stable yet fast (up to EDGE speed!!) everywhere i went also covered by EDGE!!

just that recently the service interrupted quite often due to system upgrade to 3G!! looking forward for DiGi 3G
uhlaw
post Oct 29 2008, 08:33 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

Waiting for DiGi 3G!! Yea!!! rclxms.gif
post Oct 29 2008, 08:41 PM

919 posts

Well, for the moment celcom still the best in 3g...may be due to their wider coverage..
craze
post Oct 29 2008, 09:39 PM

i am working in DiGi and the 3G service is already available since June 08. Jus that havent launch it and make it to public b4 DiGi make sure everything is OK. But so far, its GOOD. You guys out there wont regret when it launch and open for public. smile.gif
ichigo_6091
post Oct 29 2008, 09:54 PM

Renewable energy pls
2,079 posts

so far maxis is goood for me,i heard they giving away W910i for a few SMS's or some sort. drool.gif
uhlaw
post Oct 29 2008, 10:17 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(craze @ Oct 29 2008, 09:39 PM)
i am working in DiGi and the 3G service is already available since June 08. Jus that havent launch it and make it to public b4 DiGi make sure everything is OK. But so far, its GOOD. You guys out there wont regret when it launch and open for public.  smile.gif
Wow...thanks for the useful info! thumbup.gif
aspire2oo6
post Oct 29 2008, 10:24 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

how long can iphone battery last?
fruitie
post Oct 29 2008, 10:26 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

I'm satisfied with Celcom 3G service, I'm utilising its unlimited HSDPA package. thumbup.gif
TeK_KeN
post Oct 29 2008, 10:31 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 29 2008, 10:24 PM)
the last i've know is 2 days.
llmcso
post Oct 29 2008, 10:36 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 29 2008, 10:24 PM)
is all depends on your usage....

for me, coz i use quite alot on EDGE connection, and push e-mail with my yahoo account every 30min, my battery can last for one and a half day...
SUSلادن
post Oct 29 2008, 10:39 PM

133 posts

Celcom 3G has the widest coverage n fast too !
TSsamlee860407
post Oct 29 2008, 11:27 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 29 2008, 05:41 PM)
where on earth are you at?
because i'm perpetually around the klang valley area and it stays at 3G.
rawang, klang, sungai buloh, and sometimes PJ area....

hmm...seems time to change to celcom man
hypermount
post Oct 29 2008, 11:58 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

I hope they wil reward loyal users like me for many years I've been their user..

patiently waiting for their 3G service.
lethar
post Oct 30 2008, 12:21 AM

25 posts

i use celcom3g.. so far, in sarawak only celcom have the widest coverage here.. n fast also smile.gif
ZeneticX
post Oct 30 2008, 01:20 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

using maxis.the 3G line at my area (cheras,tmn miharja) sometimes will drop to edge or even gprs,and on rare occasion will even show hsdpa blink.gif
carloompunk
post Oct 30 2008, 01:24 AM

along
1,227 posts

for me maxis the best!
i_love_japan
post Oct 30 2008, 01:31 AM

753 posts

i guess celcom is the best? although i'm using maxis myself. tongue.gif
walkmanlover
post Oct 30 2008, 02:06 AM

620 posts

of course la celcom...the broadband also fast arr.. maxis not enough coverage..
carloompunk
post Oct 30 2008, 02:15 AM

along
1,227 posts

QUOTE(لادن @ Oct 29 2008, 10:39 PM)
Celcom 3G has the widest coverage n fast too !
al qaeda oso use celcom in afgan.. must be celcom the winner... hehehhe..

just kidding .. cheers.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TeK_KeN
post Oct 30 2008, 06:02 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Oct 30 2008, 02:06 AM)
of course la celcom...the broadband also fast arr.. maxis not enough coverage..
agreed bro.
celcom have the best coverage than maxis.
epool86
post Oct 30 2008, 12:30 PM

Celcom Fan
1,161 posts

no doubt.. celcom have the widest coverage.. and the network also more stable compare to maxis..
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 12:59 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ Oct 30 2008, 12:30 PM)
no doubt.. celcom have the widest coverage.. and the network also more stable compare to maxis..
Yes, and Celcom users are not tied with contract. I'm contented with its HSDPA coverage, at least I'm maximising my HSDPA broadband usage with it. Just that RM 98.00 per month is quite a lot, for a student like me. laugh.gif tongue.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 01:04 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

recently in kl, the 3g coverage for celcom is not quite good. i found difficulties when surfing. mostly, they quite slow.
epool86
post Oct 30 2008, 01:05 PM

Celcom Fan
1,161 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 12:59 PM)
Yes, and Celcom users are not tied with contract. I'm contented with its HSDPA coverage, at least I'm maximising my HSDPA broadband usage with it. Just that RM 98.00 per month is quite a lot, for a student like me. laugh.gif tongue.gif
yup, that is why im not subsribe it.. i just sign up normal 3G plan (D68) only.. can save rm30 more haha..

one more thing, i think there is no use for me to sign up higher speed plan if the maximum usage quota still the same 5GB per month.. i would like to suggest to celcom that HSDPA (D98) max usage 10GB while 3G (D68) max usage 5GB, then maybe i'll consider to upgrade..

by the way, my friend (working at TM) got HSDPA plan only rm50/month.. vmad.gif so jelous..

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 01:04 PM)
recently in kl, the 3g coverage for celcom is not quite good. i found difficulties when surfing. mostly, they quite slow.

no, its not the coverage problem.. they're currently upgrading their network, majority celcom 3G users face the same thing.. i also experiencing slow connection since last couple of weeks... they said the upgrading process will be completed in the midle of november..

This post has been edited by epool86: Oct 30 2008, 01:19 PM
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 01:16 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

oh thanks.. hope they'll improve more. n fast.
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 01:23 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ Oct 30 2008, 01:05 PM)
yup, that is why im not subsribe it.. i just sign up normal 3G plan (D68) only.. can save rm30 more haha..

one more thing, i think there is no use for me to sign up higher speed plan if the maximum usage quota still the same 5GB per month.. i would like to suggest to celcom that HSDPA (D98) max usage 10GB while 3G (D68) max usage 5GB, then maybe i'll consider to upgrade..

by the way, my friend (working at TM) got HSDPA plan only rm50/month..  vmad.gif  so jelous..
laugh.gif I was on D68 and upgraded to D98, really big difference in term of speed. biggrin.gif
Well, not all will get throttled. wink.gif

RM 50 was also for those first batch of Celcom broadband users and no expiry date, until they terminate their line. shakehead.gif
SUSsoundsyst64
post Oct 30 2008, 01:33 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

waiting for digi to release their 3g line... and hope no line capping and the pirce is cheaper. whistling.gif
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 01:36 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Oct 30 2008, 01:33 PM)
waiting for digi to release their 3g line... and hope no line capping and the pirce is cheaper. whistling.gif
Well, EDGE has no cap. Hopefully that applies to its 3G too. icon_idea.gif
Luckily I'm not tied with any contract with Celcom. rclxms.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 01:38 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 01:23 PM)
laugh.gif I was on D68 and upgraded to D98, really big difference in term of speed. biggrin.gif
Well, not all will get throttled. wink.gif

RM 50 was also for those first batch of Celcom broadband users and no expiry date, until they terminate their line. shakehead.gif
is there a big different? coz im using d68, sometime the speed is really slow.
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 01:42 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 01:38 PM)
is there a big different? coz im using d68, sometime the speed is really slow.
Ermm. It has difference on my side, not sure about your area. smile.gif
I'm in full bar HSDPA enabled area and thus it makes difference, I can see it in my direct download and BT download. smile.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 01:52 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

maybe i should try d98 for couple of months, if im not satisfy, i can change anytime to d68 again since celcom didnt give any contract to it. nice.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by -Y-: Oct 30 2008, 01:53 PM
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 01:56 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 01:52 PM)
maybe i should try d98 for couple of months, if im not satisfy, i can change anytime to d68 again since celcom didnt give any contract to it. nice..  brows.gif
Well, they said package upgrading is not that effective and takes slower time. So, what I did was terminate D68 and reapplied D98, have to waste RM 10 for stamp duty. That's all and activation was done within 4 hours. thumbup.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 02:10 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

maybe i should do like u do.. thanks for the info. i dont know bout that method. hehe..
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 02:14 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 02:10 PM)
maybe i should do like u do.. thanks for the info. i dont know bout that method. hehe..
But make sure you clear your outstanding bill first. smile.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 02:24 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 02:14 PM)
But make sure you clear your outstanding bill first. smile.gif
will do.. 1 quest though, how long does it takes to terminate recent account n open a new 1? how long to wait until the new sim card will activate?
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 03:22 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 02:24 PM)
will do.. 1 quest though, how long does it takes to terminate recent account n open a new 1? how long to wait until the new sim card will activate?
Immediate termination. smile.gif
Mine was activated in 4 hours. smile.gif But give it 2 working days. smile.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 03:27 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

oh nice. hehe. thanks. btw, what modem are u using? do u find that wireless modem sometime can easily hang due cause of heating.. it occurs me n really frustrating especially when downloading from torrent.

This post has been edited by -Y-: Oct 30 2008, 03:28 PM
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 03:29 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 03:27 PM)
oh nice. hehe. thanks. btw, what modem are u using? do u find that wireless modem sometime can easily hang due cause of heating.. it occurs me n really frustrating especially when downloading from torrent.
I'm using ZTE MF622, slim and sleek. Not forgetting, it is good in heat emission too. smile.gif
uhlaw
post Oct 30 2008, 03:39 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 03:29 PM)
I'm using ZTE MF622, slim and sleek. Not forgetting, it is good in heat emission too. smile.gif
ZTE MF622 modem support 3.5G? How much is its current price?
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 03:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Oct 30 2008, 03:39 PM)
It is a HSDPA modem with 7.2Mbps unlocked.
Erm, below RM 400.00. All HSDPA modems are below RM 400.00.
Check out at garage sales. smile.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 03:49 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 03:29 PM)
umobile zte mf622? tongue.gif im using that too.. maybe i should change to d98 too. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Oct 30 2008, 03:39 PM)
i bought around rm398 including celcom d68 subscription (celcom was free for 1 month).

This post has been edited by -Y-: Oct 30 2008, 03:50 PM
zwanvedder
post Oct 30 2008, 03:52 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

im using celcom broadband for the last 8months. Paid rm400 for sierra wireless modem n tied up with contract for 18 months. monthly subscription is RM129.00....but so satisfied with the service....HSDPA and rarely goin down to GPRS...download Prison Break series using ARES so far no problem...
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 03:54 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 03:49 PM)
umobile zte mf622?  tongue.gif  im using that too.. maybe i should change to d98 too.  rclxms.gif
Ya. However, I don't face hang problem like you are facing. smile.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 04:14 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

sometime i left it for 12 hours (for BT ofcoz).. tongue.gif maybe thats why it hang.
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 04:15 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 04:14 PM)
sometime i left it for 12 hours (for BT ofcoz)..  tongue.gif  maybe thats why it hang.
laugh.gif I have never turned off my modem unless it disconnects on its own (very rare). tongue.gif
So, it is 24/7 BT and online. smile.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 04:36 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 04:15 PM)
laugh.gif I have never turned off my modem unless it disconnects on its own (very rare). tongue.gif
So, it is 24/7 BT and online. smile.gif
wow!! u using laptop or pc?
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 04:40 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 04:36 PM)
wow!! u using laptop or pc?
Desktop PC obviously. biggrin.gif
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 04:56 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 04:40 PM)
Desktop PC obviously. biggrin.gif
yeah. obviously.. tongue.gif but thanks for sharing that zte 622 can stay that long..
fruitie
post Oct 30 2008, 04:59 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 30 2008, 04:56 PM)
yeah. obviously..  tongue.gif  but thanks for sharing that zte 622 can stay that long..
Well, ventilation plays an important role too. Just make sure the circulation of air is enough. smile.gif My cable is quite long and it is exposed under my ceiling fan. smile.gif
piggyBank
post Oct 30 2008, 07:45 PM

y digi no 3G de ?
-Y-
post Oct 30 2008, 08:00 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2008, 04:59 PM)
Well, ventilation plays an important role too. Just make sure the circulation of air is enough. smile.gif My cable is quite long and it is exposed under my ceiling fan. smile.gif
no wonder it can go 24/7.. tq for sharing.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(piggyBank @ Oct 30 2008, 07:45 PM)
y digi no 3G de ?
next year digi 3g will launch. keep in touch with digi..
KeonG118
post Oct 30 2008, 10:44 PM

- Do as Infinity -
1,156 posts

really hope digi's 3G service launch earlier =)
lethar
post Oct 31 2008, 12:59 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(KeonG118 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:44 PM)
really hope digi's 3G service launch earlier =)
really hope so... smile.gif
epool86
post Oct 31 2008, 10:39 AM

Celcom Fan
1,161 posts

no question, more than 70% voice out their view.. celcom3G is the best so far..

but we need to create new poll when digi launch their 3G soon..
-Y-
post Oct 31 2008, 10:54 AM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

at for this time being. im satisfied with celcom broadband.
piggyBank
post Oct 31 2008, 01:17 PM

that's a great news for loyal digi user like me. sorry i cant make any vote coz i use none of the service above
Gilbert5107
post Oct 31 2008, 01:21 PM

little'potato*
1,510 posts

how about U Mobile 3G? i heard is only klang valley. right?
-Y-
post Oct 31 2008, 03:35 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

i think maxis coverage is like umobile coverage. within klang valey only.
fruitie
post Oct 31 2008, 03:44 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(-Y- @ Oct 31 2008, 03:35 PM)
i think maxis coverage is like umobile coverage. within klang valey only.
Well, Maxis 3G does have coverage in few other areas besides Klang Valley like Penang, Melaka, Seremban and etc. smile.gif
And yes, U Mobile is only within Klang Valley for now. smile.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 31 2008, 03:44 PM
-Y-
post Oct 31 2008, 04:24 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

bottom line is, better get celcom broadband. cheaper, wider & no contract.
stuc87
post Oct 31 2008, 05:33 PM

96 posts

yeah..celcom are better..but when it rains, 3G will have problem...same like astro!.. tongue.gif

0.0537sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:50 AM