wira top overhaul, estimatted cost?

lsm1991
post Oct 14 2017, 12:37 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Oct 14 2017, 11:19 AM)
hi, how do you know its valve tappet sound? My car seems gt the similar situation, when I am driving beyond 80kmh, the soft tak tak sound can be heard....
just wana say, the tappeting sound is not a good indication of ANYTHING other than the valve clearances lari (and frankly it can lari very easily without causing any issues...) if u really wana diagnose oil loss issues... take note of whats coming out of your pipe in different conditions (e.g. valve seals, spew smoke during heavy deceleration where theres a vacuum pulling the oil in through the seals, constant smoke, possiby more during higher rpm's - rings)

even better would be to do a comp test or maybe even check ur plugs (visual check tells you alooot)
lsm1991
post Oct 14 2017, 01:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Oct 14 2017, 12:40 PM)
No colored smoke noticed, no oil stains on plug.. What's the problem that cause oil loss?
how much are you loosing? only 2 other ways it can be lost (tho im quite sure its being burnt, maybe in quantities too small ot notice or only when ur moving at speed)
i)leaks, should be quite obvious
ii)ur screwed and its going into your coolant... you should find oil in ur coolant (honestly unlikely cause it should be everywhere at that point)
lsm1991
post Oct 14 2017, 03:05 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Oct 14 2017, 01:22 PM)
About 40% according to the observation on dipstick...
not sure what 40% means but sounds like alot.... should be blowing blue smoke.......

usually ppl measure in, Xml of engine oil that needs to be topped up after X km.

lsm1991
post Oct 15 2017, 10:33 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Oct 15 2017, 09:32 PM)
This white smoke of yours on cold morning start, is equivalent to 'blue' smoke I enquire about.
As stated above and I quote:

This white smoke indicates your car engine valve seals are hardened , and leaking oil from cylinder head into combustion chamber.
IF there is coloured smoke during acceleration/deceleration, it indicates piston rings are leaking engine oil from combustion chamber to engine crankcase.
not claiming ur wrong or anything, but leaky valve seals should burn blue(ish) smoke regardless HOWEVER possibly ts cannot tell it apart cause theres too much condensation to go with....

anyway given the severity of the issue, if it was a valve seal leak, it would show itself VERY obviously when decelerating (rev up, then release throttle, while the rpm's drop, you will see a cloud)

or you know... option B is easy.... 15 min job, check your plugs... leakky valve seals would completely foul up your plugs
lsm1991
post Oct 16 2017, 04:57 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Oct 16 2017, 04:23 PM)
You may have a point in water condensation playing a part with white smoke on morning start , though not expressly saying so.For all we know, there may actually be some condensation.
On top of that Senscents seems happy with spark plug conditions.

However as his engine is consuming like 0.7-0.8L engine oil in about 8000 km, plus the fact that 'bluish' colour  smoke is very difficult to 'see' by untrained eyes , hence my position above on valve seal leaks.

Coloured smoke during quick acceleration or quick deceleration , in my humble opinion, would indicate engine oil leaking through stuck piston rings . I wish he can get someone to test this possibility for him.
ohh didnt realize he checked his plugs..... cant really think of any way to check rings other than a compression test.

assuming its really not mixing with the coolant and not literally leaking out.... cant think of any other way its getting out.
lsm1991
post Oct 16 2017, 11:13 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Oct 16 2017, 11:08 PM)
Yeah the spark plug still holding up after a year or more cant really recall when was the last replacement, as i just service the car 3days ago. Ask the old mechanic, i think he's about 65 years old on the codition of the plugs. He says that it's still good to go, need not change since the engine are running smoothly.

As the oil consumtion still manageable, maybe can save on the repair works. Guys.. How much oil consume to warrant it as excessive & need to repair.
Maybe i'm using the 5-30 oil. too thin viscosity ?
bangwall.gif
ols stick to your factory recommendations, thx.

thinner oil does not mean better, too thin and very bad shit like your cams get eaten.....

0.0121sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:03 AM