Investing in neighboor country..., is it safe??

TSyipwh
post Oct 26 2008, 12:14 PM, updated 18y ago

234 posts

Hi guys, in Jakarta now...was walking in one of the shopping mall in Jakarta...and bum into a property apartment showroom is actually completed. Is in Sudirman road..where most of the big corp building are. If in malaysia can say like Jalan Ampang. Condo here...is cheaper to invest. I have offer like...24 floor high, 2 level duplex...nice view over jakarta. At about 1 billion rupiah...converted to malaysia about RM350k.

I visited the showroom..view is good. Not as good as KL. But is consider at prime area here.

Pros
Good view
Lots of Foreigner walking around
Consider High Class area. With lot of indo chinese and japs walking around
Freehold

Cons..
Full payment needed.
Earthquake Land
Unstable goverment
Unbalance Lifesytle here...the rich and poor really draw lines here.

Was told per annum ROI for rental is like 10 percent of the purchase price. Meaning RM35k per annum return.

But with current global econ crisis. I not sure...is it a good time to invest...or stay at the side line adopting wait and c attitude...

Investing in Malaysia...like what some of the forum say...is kind of over supply in Malaysia. Luxury condo cost above 500k to 1 mil above. Thinking to explore into places like Thai, Viet or Indo...
arsenal
post Oct 28 2008, 07:25 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

indon got bomb
DannyOP
post Oct 30 2008, 04:18 PM

5,220 posts

if u have a lot of money to throw away and want to use it for your own stay then not much to worry about. Since it is already completed worse come to worse just use it for your own stay, and maybe if anyone of us come to Jakarta u can rent it out to us at a good price lol Jakarta is my grandparent's hometown but I've yet to visit. Heard many good things from friends as far as holiday is concerned. Do you like your stay there?

However as an investment it is risky for all the reasons you posted. Also at this economic climate, who do you think will rent the condo?
zacevox
post Nov 1 2008, 06:38 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

unless you going to stay there, but the problem is who going to collect and manage the rental from the tenants? a agent might be the answer but beware they might scam you since they know you not likely return there every month
SUSHighPitched
post Nov 1 2008, 06:40 PM

81 posts

i'd rather invest in SG properties
SUSspitfire2000
post Nov 1 2008, 09:45 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Oct 30 2008, 04:18 PM)
if u have a lot of money to throw away and want to use it for your own stay then not much to worry about. Since it is already completed worse come to worse just use it for your own stay, and maybe if anyone of us come to Jakarta u can rent it out to us at a good price lol Jakarta is my grandparent's hometown but I've yet to visit. Heard many good things from friends as far as holiday is concerned. Do you like your stay there?

However as an investment it is risky for all the reasons you posted. Also at this economic climate, who do you think will rent the condo?
here is maybe a good opportunity for a software developer in the region. malaysia singapore, indonesia, to develope an online paayment system for paying rent.
TSyipwh
post Nov 3 2008, 10:39 AM

234 posts

U will be surprise lor...poor maybe like 95% here. BUt the rich here is like 5%. So far i can see indo is still very much untap market. Remember that, indo has about 190mil ppl. There is a lot of japanese factory here...will be surprise a lot of business moving around here. And software developer in this country is very much back dated. Coz i going here to develop something for them too...charge them kau kau
DannyOP
post Nov 5 2008, 11:49 PM

5,220 posts

yes you are right about that, the rich is really filthy rich. My uni mates in Australia previously have parents who actually own their own banks and hotels among other businesses. Even offered to pay for my masters degree in condition I work for them. Bank interest rates are very high also at the moment, reported around 13%?

0.0170sec    1.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:59 AM